
Connecticut Department of
Energy and Environmental Protection

1



Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection

National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for 
Reciprocating Internal Combustion Engines 

(RICE Rule)

40 CFR 63 Subpart ZZZZ
Major Source Existing Non-Emergency Landfill/Digester Gas 

100≤Horsepower≤500
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Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection

What emission standards apply?

•177 ppm CO at 15% O2 

–Compliance with the limit is based on the results of testing the average of three 1-hour runs using 

the testing requirements.

•Comply with emission limits and operating limits at all times

•At all times you must operate/maintain all equipment in a manner consistent with safety 

and good air pollution control practices for minimizing emissions. The general duty to 

minimize emissions does not require you to make any further efforts to reduce emissions if 

levels required by this standard have been achieved. 

NOTE:  Existing stationary RICE ≤500 HP at major sources must burn landfill or digester gas equivalent 

to 10% or more of the gross heat input on an annual basis in order to qualify as a landfill or digester gas 

engine under the rule.  
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Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection

What tests must I perform?

You must perform:
–Initial emission performance test within 180 days after October 19, 2013

•You may not be required to conduct an initial test on units for which a test has been previously conducted, but the 
test must meet the following:

–Test must have been conducted using the required methods, and the methods must have been followed 
correctly.

–Test must not be older than 2 years.

–Test must be reviewed and accepted by EPA.

–Test must be conducted at any load condition within ±10% of 100% load.

–Either no process or equipment changes must have been made since the test was performed, 

or you must be able to demonstrate that the results of the performance test, with or without adjustments, 

reliably demonstrate compliance despite process or equipment changes.

*If your RICE is currently non-operational: 

-Do not startup the engine solely to conduct the performance test; conduct the test when the engine is started up again.
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After the initial test, what tests must I perform?

You are not required to perform subsequent testing.

Photo credit:  EPA
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Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection

What are my testing requirements?

COMPLYING WITH 
THE REQUIREMENT 
TO…

YOU MUST… USING…
ACCORDING TO THE FOLLOWING 
REQUIREMENTS…

Limit the 
concentration of CO 
in the engine exhaust

Select the sampling port location 
and the number of traverse points; 
and

Method 1 or 1A of 40 CFR part 60, appendix A, 40 CFR 
63.7(d)(1)(i)

If using a control device, the sampling site must be 
located at the outlet of the control device.

Determine the O2 concentration of 
the engine exhaust at the sampling 
port location; and

Method 3, 3A or 3B of 40 CFR part 60, appendix A, or 
ASTM Method D6522-00 (Re-approved 2005)a

Measurements to determine O2 concentration must be 
made at the same time and location as the 
measurements for CO concentration.

Measure moisture content of the 
engine exhaust at the sampling port 
location; and

Method 4 of 40 CFR part 60, appendix A, or Test 
Method 320 of 40 CFR part 63, appendix A, or ASTM D 
6348-03a

Measurements to determine moisture content must be 
made at the same time and location as the 
measurements for CO concentration.

Measure CO at the exhaust of the 
engine

Method 10 of 40 CFR part 60, appendix A, ASTM 
Method D6522-00 (2005),a  Method 320 of 40 CFR 
part 63, Appendix A, or ASTM D6348-03a

CO concentration must be at 15% O2, dry basis.  Results 
of this test consist of the average of the three 1-hour or 
longer runs.

a. Incorporated by reference, see 40 CFR 63.14.  You may also obtain copies from University Microfilms International, 300 North Zeeb Road, Ann Arbor, MI 48106. 
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Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection

Testing Procedures

•Conduct 3 separate test runs for each performance test.  Each run must last at least 1 hour. 

•You must normalize the CO concentrations at the inlet and outlet of the control device to a dry basis and to 15% O2, or an 
equivalent percent CO2.  If pollutant concentrations are to be corrected to 15% O2 and CO2 concentration is measured in lieu of O2

concentration measurement, a CO2 correction factor is needed.  Calculate the CO2 correction factor as described in (i) through (iii):

(i) Calculate the fuel-specific FO value for the fuel burned during the test using values obtained from Method 19, section 5.2, and 
the equation: FO = (0.209Fd)/Fc

FO= Fuel factor based on the ratio of O2 volume to the ultimate CO2 volume produced by the fuel at 0% excess air.

0.209= Fraction of air that is O2, percent/100.

Fd= Ratio of the volume of dry effluent gas to the gross calorific value of the fuel from Method 19, dsm3/J (dscf/106 Btu).

Fc= Ratio of the volume of CO2 produced to the gross calorific value of the fuel from Method 19, dsm3/J (dscf/106 Btu).

(ii) Calculate the CO2 correction factor for correcting measurement data to 15% O2, as follows:  XCO2 = 5.9/FO

XCO2= CO2 correction factor, percent.

5.9= 20.9% O2−15% O2, the defined O2 correction value, percent.

(iii) Calculate the CO concentrations adjusted to 15% O2 using CO2 as follows:  Cadj = Cd(XCO2/%CO2)

Cadj= Calculated concentration of CO adjusted to 15% O2.

Cd= Measured concentration of CO, uncorrected.

%CO2= Measured CO2 concentration, dry basis, percent.
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Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection

Testing Procedures

-Engine percent load during a performance test 

must be determined by documenting the 

calculations, assumptions, and measurement 

devices used to measure or estimate the percent 

load in a specific application.  

-A report of the average percent load determination 

must be included in the Notification of Compliance 

Status. The following must be included in the 

report: 
-Engine model #

-Manufacturer

-Year of purchase

-Manufacturer's site-rated brake HP

-Ambient temperature, pressure, and humidity during the performance test

-All assumptions made to estimate or calculate percent load during the test

-If measurement devices such as flow meters, kilowatt meters, beta 

analyzers, stain gauges, etc. are used, the model number of the 

measurement device, and an estimate of its accuracy in percentage of true 

value must be provided.
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Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection

How do I demonstrate initial compliance with the emission limits and operating limits?

Complying with the requirement to limit the concentration of CO in the engine 
exhaust:

• You have demonstrated initial compliance if average CO concentration determined from 
3 test runs is ≤CO emission limit
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Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection

How do I demonstrate initial compliance with the emission limits and operating limits?

Submit the Notification of Compliance Status containing the results of the initial compliance demonstration according 
to the requirements of 40 CFR 63.9(h), summarized below.

Before a Title V permit has been issued, include: 

• Methods used to determine compliance

• Results of any performance tests, CMS performance evaluation, and/or other monitoring procedures or methods 
conducted

• Methods that will be used for determining continuing compliance

• Type and quantity of HAP emitted by the source 

• Description of air pollution control equipment (or method) for each emission point

• Statement by owner/operator as to whether the source has complied with the relevant requirements

• Must be sent before the close of business on the 60th day following the completion of the initial compliance 
demonstration.

After a Title V permit has been issued: 

• Comply with all requirements for compliance status reports contained in the source’s Title V permit
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Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection

Monitoring requirements, continued

-Minimize the engine's time spent at idle during startup and minimize the 

engine's startup time to a period needed for appropriate and safe loading of the 

engine, not to exceed 30 minutes, after which time the emission standards 

applicable to all times other than startup apply.
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Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection

What records must I keep?

Keep records of:

• Each notification/report submitted and all supporting documentation

• Occurrence and duration of each malfunction

• Performance tests and evaluations

• Required maintenance performed on air pollution control and monitoring 
equipment

• Actions taken during malfunctions to minimize emissions and corrective 
actions

•Keep records for 5 years from the date of creation.

12



Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection

What notifications should I submit?

Notification of:

•Applicability (120 days after effective date) or construction/reconstruction – was due 2/16/2011

•Actual Startup (15 days after actual startup)

•Intent to Conduct Performance test (60 days prior to test)

•Compliance Status (60 days after compliance demonstrated)
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What reports should I submit?

Semi-Annual Compliance Report (Annual if Limited use, operating <100 hours/year)
•Due January 31 and July 31 each year:

–First compliance report must cover the period beginning on October 19, 2013 and ending on December 31, 2013, and must be postmarked or 
delivered by January 31, 2014.

–Covers the period from January 1-June 30 or July 1-December 31

–Report must contain:

•Statement by responsible official certifying the accuracy of the report

•If any malfunctions occurred during the reporting period, including the number, duration, and a brief description for each type of 
malfunction which occurred and which caused or may have caused any limits to be exceeded.  Also include actions taken during 
malfunction to minimize emissions and correct malfunctions.

•If no deviations occurred, a statement indicating so.

•If there were no periods during which the CMS  was out-of-control, a statement indicating so.

•For each deviation that occurs where you are NOT using a CMS, the report must include:
•Statement by responsible official certifying the accuracy of the report

•Any malfunctions that occurred during the reporting period, including the number, duration, and a brief description for each type of 
malfunction which occurred and which caused or may have caused any limits to be exceeded.  Also include actions taken during malfunction to 
minimize emissions and correct malfunctions.

•Total operating time of the engine at which the deviation occurred

•Information on the number, duration, and cause of deviations, and the corrective action taken. 
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Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection

What reports should I submit?

Semi-Annual Compliance Report

For each deviation that occurs where you are using a CMS, the report must include:

•Statement by responsible official certifying the accuracy of the report

•Any malfunctions that occurred during the reporting period, including the number, duration, and a brief description for each type of malfunction 
which occurred and which caused or may have caused any limits to be exceeded.  Also include actions taken during malfunction to minimize 
emissions and correct malfunctions.

•Date and time each malfunction started and stopped.

•Date, time, and duration that each CMS was inoperative, except for zero (low-level) and high-level checks.

•Date, time, and duration that each CMS was out-of-control, using the information in 40 CFR 63.8(c)(8).

•Date and time that each deviation started and stopped, and whether each deviation occurred during a period of malfunction or during another period.

•Summary of the total duration of the deviation during the reporting period, and the total duration as a percent of the total source operating time during 
that reporting period.

•Breakdown of the total duration of the deviations during the reporting period into those that are due to control equipment problems, process problems, 
other known causes, and other unknown causes.

•Summary of the total duration of CMS downtime during the reporting period, and the total duration of CMS downtime as a percent of the total operating 
time of the engine at which the CMS downtime occurred during that reporting period.

•Identification of each parameter and pollutant (CO) that was monitored at the engine.

•Brief description of the engine and CMS.

•Date of the latest CMS certification or audit.

•Description of any changes in CMS, processes, or controls since the last reporting period.
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What reports should I submit?

Semi-Annual Compliance Report (Annual if Limited use, operating <100 hours/year)

•Report each instance in which you did not meet each emission limit or operating limit.  

•Report each instance in which you did not meet the requirements of any of the General Provisions

•If your source has a Title V Operating Permit, you must report all deviations in the Title V Semi-Annual Monitoring Report.
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Where do I send notifications and reports?

EPA REGION 1:

US Environmental Protection Agency

5 Post Office Square, Suite 100, Mail code: OES04-2

Boston, MA 02109-3912 

Attention: Air Clerk
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By when must I comply with the rule?

Your compliance date is:  October 19, 2013

Photo credit:  EPA
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Visit the EPA RICE Compliance Page

www.epa.gov/ttn/atw/icengines

 Fact sheets

 Regulations 

 Example notifications

 Announcements

 Q & A documents

 Testing advice

 Recorded webinars

 …and more!
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Take Aways

Engine Type:

Existing non-emergency spark-ignition landfill/digester gas engine with a site rating of 100≤HP≤500 at a major source

Emission Standard:

177 ppm CO at 15% O2 

Testing Requirements:

Initial emission performance test within 180 days after 10/19/2013

Monitoring/Recordkeeping:

-Keep records of:

•Notifications and reports, supporting documents

•Malfunctions

•Testing

•Maintenance

•Actions taken during malfunctions

-Retain records for 5 years
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Take Aways

Reporting:

-Submit Notification of:

•Applicability – was due 2/16/2011

•Actual Startup 

•Intent to Conduct Performance Test 

•Compliance Status 

-Submit Semi-Annual Compliance Report (Annual if engine is limited use)

Compliance Date:

October 19, 2013
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