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What do I need to know about the
Stage I Vapor Recovery Regulation’

On July 8, 2015, the new Stage | Vapor Recovery regulation, Section 22a-174-30a of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies (RCSA) be-
came effective. The new regulation replaces former RCSA Section 22a-174-30, the Dispensing of Gasoline/Stage | and Stage Il Vapor Recovery
regulation, and updates the existing requirements relating to the control of VOC emissions from Gasoline Dispensing Facilities (GDFs) set out in
2013 by the Connecticut General Statutes (CGS) Public Act No. 13-120. Complying with the Stage | Vapor Recovery Regulation is essential to
protect both your community’s health and the environment. To help you get started, we’ve included a summary of requirements under this rule.

For additional information, please visit www.ct.gov/deep/stagel. If you have any questions, please contact Kathleen Rankin at 860-424-3473
or kathleen.rankin@ct.gov.

Summary of Requirements for Stage I Vapor Recovery at a Gasoline Dispensing Facility (GDF)

Applicability Applicability is now based on a GDF’s monthly gasoline throughput, which is calculated by adding the
quantity of gasoline dispensed in any consecutive 365 day period and dividing by 12.

e GDFs with a monthly gasoline throughput of more than 10,000 gallons since 7/1/2014 are subject to
the new Stage I requirements.

e  GDFs with a monthly gasoline throughput of less than 10,000 gallons per month are required to keep a
chronological register of daily gasoline throughput to demonstrate this section does not apply. Such
records shall be kept for 5 years from the date of creation.


http://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Browse/RCSA?id=Title%2022a|22a-174|22a-174-30a|22a-174-30a
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2013/act/pa/pdf/2013PA-00120-R00HB-06534-PA.pdf
http://www.ct.gov/deep/stageI
mailto:kathleen.rankin@ct.gov

Equipment
Requirements

Annual Testing

Notification
Requirements

(Forms available at
www.ct.gov/deep/stagel)

Recordkeeping
Requirements

Additional
Requirements

GDFs must have CARB-approved swivel fill adapters, and each storage tank vent pipe must have a
pressure/vacuum (P/V) vent valve. P/V vent valves installed after 7/1/2015 must be CARB-approved.

Equip all storage tanks with a two-point Stage I vapor recovery system in which the exit port is de-
signed and maintained to seal when the vapor return line is disconnected in order to prevent the dis-
charge of gasoline vapors. If a port is not available to install a two-point system, one must be installed
when the tank is replaced or the product in the tank is switched from any other fuel to gasoline.

Conduct pressure decay, vapor space tie-in, and P/V vent valve tests at least once per calendar year in ac-
cordance with the following:

Pressure decay, vapor space tie-in, and P/V vent valve tests must be done according to the current
version of respective CARB test procedures, TP-201.3, TP-201.3C, and TP-201.1E.

Pressure, vacuum, and leak rate tests must be conducted for each P/V vent valve. The positive crack-
ing pressure range has been widened to 2.5 to 6.0 inches of water, the negative cracking pressure
range is 6.0 to 10.0 inches of water. Combined total leak rate of all P/V vent valves, including con-
nections, shall not exceed 0.17 cubic foot/hour at a pressure of 2.0 inches of water and 0.63 cubic foot/
hour at a vacuum of 4.0 inches of water.

Stations newly constructed or modified after 7/1/2015 must conduct the tests listed above within 60
days of initial operation or completion of modification.

If you have installed a pressure management or vapor control device on a storage tank with a capacity
of 250 gallons or greater, other than a device that is required to be installed and tested by this section,
test such device annually. Submit a test protocol for approval at least 60 days prior to such test.

If a GDF fails a pressure decay, vapor space tie-in or P/V vent cap test, take corrective actions and
retest no later than 60 days after failing the test.

Notify the Department in writing of the time and location of a required test at least 7 business days in
advance. Submit notifications to air.vapor.program@ct.gov with the following in the subject line:
“Pressure Decay Test Notification, Station Name, Street Address, Town, and Retail Gasoline Dealer’s
License #”.

Submit all test reports (on the form provided) to air.vapor.program@ct.gov with the following in the
subject line: “Stage I Test Results, Station Name, Street Address, Town, and Retail Gasoline Dealer’s
License #”.

Maintain the following records: licenses to construct/operate the GDF, results of tests performed pur-
suant to RCSA Section 22a-174-30(a), records of maintenance and repairs conducted on the Stage I
system, and a chronological file of all inspection reports, compliance records and a register of daily
throughput.

Maintain records for 5 years and make available to the Commissioner no later than 3 business days
after receiving such a request.

Display the address where records are maintained in a conspicuous location.

For stations with a monthly throughput of 100,000 gallons or more per month:

Equip all vapor line connections on storage tanks with closures that seal upon disconnect.

Stage I system shall be designed such that the pressure in the delivery vehicle does not exceed 18
inches water pressure or 5.9 inches water vacuum during product transfer.

Vapor recovery adaptors, product adaptors and the method of connection with the delivery elbow shall
be designed to prevent overtightening or loosening of fittings during normal delivery operations.
Gauge wells shall be equipped with a submerged drop tube extending the same distance from the bot-
tom of the storage tank as the fill pipe, if separate from the fill tube.

Equip liquid fill connections and vapor couplings with vapor-tight caps.

Stage I system must be capable of meeting the static pressure performance requirement when pressure
decay testing is performed.

Please Note - This fact sheet does not address any requirements you may have or be subject to for the DEEP Underground
Storage Tank (UST) Program. If you have any questions relating to those requirements, please contact the UST Program at (860) 424-

3374.


http://www.ct.gov/deep/cwp/view.asp?a=2692&q=322600&deepNav_GID=1652
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