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Public Act No. 13-120 – An Act Concerning Gasoline Vapor Recovery Systems 
Fact Sheet 

 

Regulation  Public Act No. 13-120  
 

Effective Date  June 18, 2013 
 

What it Means Public Act No. 13-120 repealed the previous version of Connecticut General Statute 
Section 22a-174e, which required the Connecticut Department of Energy & 
Environmental Protection (DEEP) to adopt regulations pertaining to the installation and 
testing of Stage II vapor recovery systems, and replaced it with language that mandates 
the decommissioning of all Stage II systems by July 1, 2015.   

 

Overview  Immediate implications 
On or after June 18, 2013, no owner of any Gasoline Dispensing Facility (GDF) shall 
install a Stage II vapor recovery system. 

 
The owner of any GDF with a Stage I vapor recovery system shall perform a pressure 
decay test of such system annually.  Annually means the test has to be conducted once 
per calendar year. The Act also requires a Decay test to be conducted this year, 2013.  
Testing done for decommissioning purposes or for a Stage II test will satisfy the annual 
testing requirement for that year.  

 
On or before July 1, 2015, the owner of any GDF shall decommission any installed Stage 
II vapor recovery equipment. 

 

Act Requirements Decommissioning 
Must be completed on or before July 1, 2015 and it must be in accordance with 
subsection (c) of the Act, which requires: 

 The owner shall notify the commissioner of their intent to decommission at 
least 30 days prior to decommissioning on a form provided by the commissioner 

 Perform decommissioning in accordance with Section 14 of the 2009 
“Recommended Practices for Installation and Testing of Vapor Recovery 
Systems at Vehicle Refueling Sites” of the Petroleum Equipment Institute 
Document (PEI/RP 300-09) 

 Complete decommissioning within 100 days from initiation, unless the 
commissioner grants an extension of time for good cause 

 Conduct testing as required in sections 14 (Decommissioning) and 8 (Decay 
Test) of the PEI/RP 300-09 document, and submit testing notification 7 business 
days prior to the test on a form provided by the commissioner, and 

 Submit a final Decommissioning Report within 10 days of the testing date, on a 
form provided by the commissioner 
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Annual Testing 

 The owner of any GDF with a Stage I vapor recovery system shall perform an 
annual pressure decay test of such system.  

 The DEEP must be notified at least 7 business days prior to a scheduled test on a 
form provided by the commissioner 
 

GDF Obligations Operate and Maintain 
GDF owners that currently have Stage II systems installed must continue to maintain 
and operate the Stage II systems in accordance with the manufacturer’s 
recommendations, CARB, any federal requirements, and/or section 30, unless they 
initiate the decommissioning process prescribed in the public act.    
  
Stage II Testing 
Owners of GDF’s that currently are due for Stage II testing or will be prior to July 1, 2015 
must still perform testing unless the owners initiate the decommissioning process 
prescribed in the Act, prior to their testing date. 

    

Contact Info  Kathleen Rankin 
(860) 424-3473 
Engineering and Enforcement Division 
Bureau of Air Management 
Department of Energy and Environmental Protection 
79 Elm Street 
Hartford, CT 06106-5127 

 

 

This overview is designed to answer general questions and provide basic information. You should refer to the appropriate Public Act for 
the specific regulatory language.  

 

 

 

 


