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State of Connecticut 
Department of Energy & Environmental Protection 

Boating Division
P.O. Box 280, 333 Ferry Road

Old Lyme, CT 06371-0280 

EQUIVALENCY EXAM INFORMATION SHEET

The Equivalency Examination may be taken as one of the prerequisites for the issuance of the Certificate of
Personal Watercraft Operation. 

Note: Taking an approved combination boating/personal watercraft/waterskiing course is 
recommended.

The Equivalency Examination is written for the experienced boaters who knows the rules and regulations for
safe boating on all Connecticut waters. 

The examination covers general information and safety topics, including, but not limited to: 
1. Registration 11. Boating Under the Influence 
2. Certification 12. Aquatic Nuisances 
3. Towing 13. Rules of the Nautical Road 
4. Anchoring 14. Safety Equipment 
5. PFD Requirements and Fit 15. Aids to Navigation 
6. Visual Distress Equipment 16. Speed Regulations 
7. Fire Prevention 17. Age Restrictions 
8. Sound Signals 18. Water Sports 
9. Carbon Monoxide 19. The Operation of all recreational vessels 
10. Hypothermia including personal watercraft (i.e.jet-skies) 
                                                                                        canoes and kayaks 

* Most, but not all, of the questions are covered in the Connecticut Boater's Guide (which can be picked up at
your town hall, DMV offices, local DEEP offices, public libraries or downloaded from the internet at
 www.ct.gov/deep/boatersguide 

* The Exam covers all aspects of a basic boating/personal watercraft/waterskiing course. 
  * A score of 80% or better is required to pass. A score of 78% or below is a failing score and the examinee

would then be required to take an eight (8) hour course that is approved by the State of Connecticut and the
   National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA). 
   The equivalency exam may only be taken once.  *

CONSERVATION ID NUMBER:
You must have a Conservation ID Number before taking the exam. If you do not have a Conservation
ID Number, you can apply for one (free of charge) at: https://www.ct.wildlifelicense.com/internetsales

FEES:
* $75.00 to take the Equivalency Exam (check or money order made payable to the "DEEP" mailed to

the address above). The exam fee is payable when submitting the completed Equivalency Exam Application. 
NO CASH OR CREDIT CARD ACCEPTED VIA MAIL.

* $50.00 fee for the Certificate of Personal Watercraft Operation. 

REFUND:
Refunds will be issued by submitting a written request. 

TEST DATES, TIME AND LOCATION:
Please mail your application package, exam date and payment to the address above. If the requested exam
date is available, a confirmation letter will be e-mailed, faxed or mailed to you. The confirmation letter and 
valid photo identification are required for entrance into the exam..

www.ct.gov/deep/boatersguide


State of Connecticut
Department of Energy & Environmental Protection

Boating Division
P.O. Box 280, 333 Ferry Road

Old Lyme, CT 06371-0280

Dept. of Energy & Environmental Protection rev. 10/19

APPLICATION FOR EQUIVALENCY EXAM

REQUIRED FIELDS 
PLEASE PRINT LEGIBLY

*Last Name: *First Name: *Middle Initial: 

* Mailing Address: 

*City/Town: *State: *Zip Code: 

*Day Time Telephone: * E-mail Address: 

*Birthdate: Conservation Id:

*Have you previously taken the Equivalency Exam?   Yes No 

If yes, prior testing date and location: 

Anyone who requires auxiliary aids may call Jerry Desmond at (860) 447-4350 or TDD at (860) 424-3000. 

Office Use Only

Exam Date: Exam Time: Exam Location:

Type of Payment: Check# Money Order#

Amount of payment: $75.00 

Signature



State of Connecticut
Department of Energy & Environmental Protection

Boating Division
P.O. Box 280, 333 Ferry Road

Old Lyme, CT 06371-0280

Dept. of Energy & Environmental Protection rev. 10/19 

ALL EQUIVALENCY EXAMS ARE GIVEN BY APPOINTMENT ONLY

The following list of exam dates are for Marine Headquarters in Old Lyme. The exam day is Friday from April
 to September. All exams start promptly at 8:30am. 

April 17, 2020 May 8, 2020 June 12, 2020

July 10, 2020 August 7, 2020 September 4, 2020

All equivalency exams are given by appointment only. The confirmation letter and valid photo identification are
required for entrance into the exam. If you have any questions, please contact Wendy Flynn at
(860) 434-8638 or via e-mail at 

Applications must be received at least two weeks before the requested exam date.

gwendolynn.flynn@ct.gov.

mailto:gwendolynn.flynn@ct.gov?subject=Equivalency%20Exam%20Question
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State of Connecticut 
Department of Energy & Environmental Protection 
Boating Division
P.O. Box 280, 333 Ferry Road
Old Lyme, CT 06371-0280 
EQUIVALENCY EXAM INFORMATION SHEET
The Equivalency Examination may be taken as one of the prerequisites for the issuance of the Certificate of
Personal Watercraft Operation. 
Note: Taking an approved combination boating/personal watercraft/waterskiing course is 
recommended.
The Equivalency Examination is written for the 
experienced 
boaters who knows the rules and regulations for
safe boating on all Connecticut waters. 
The examination covers general information and safety topics, including, but not limited to: 
1.
Registration 
11. Boating Under the Influence 
2.
Certification 
12. Aquatic Nuisances 
3.
Towing 
13. Rules of the Nautical Road 
4.
Anchoring 
14. Safety Equipment 
5.
PFD Requirements and Fit 
15. Aids to Navigation 
6.
Visual Distress Equipment 
16. Speed Regulations 
7.
Fire Prevention 
17. Age Restrictions 
8.
Sound Signals 
18. Water Sports 
9.
Carbon Monoxide 
19. The Operation of 
all 
recreational vessels 
10.
Hypothermia 
including personal watercraft (i.e.jet-skies) 
                                                                                        canoes and kayaks 
*
Most, but not all, of the questions are covered in the 
Connecticut Boater's Guide 
(which can be picked up at
your town hall, DMV offices, local DEEP offices, public libraries or downloaded from the internet at
 www.ct.gov/deep/boatersguide 
* The Exam covers all aspects of a basic boating/personal watercraft/waterskiing course. 
  *
A score of 80% or better is required to pass. A score of 78% or below is a failing score and the examinee
would then be required to take an eight (8) hour course that is approved by the State of Connecticut and the
   National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA).
   The equivalency exam may only be taken once.
  *
CONSERVATION ID NUMBER:
You must have a Conservation ID Number before taking the exam. If you do not have a Conservation
ID Number, you can apply for one (free of charge) at
:
 https://www.ct.wildlifelicense.com/internetsales
FEES:
*
$75.00 to take the Equivalency Exam (
check or money order made payable to the "DEEP" mailed to
the address above
). The exam fee is payable when submitting the completed Equivalency Exam Application. 
NO CASH OR CREDIT CARD ACCEPTED VIA MAIL.
*
$50.00 fee for the Certificate of Personal Watercraft Operation. 
REFUND:
Refunds will be issued by submitting a written request. 
TEST DATES, TIME AND LOCATION:
Please mail your application package, exam date and payment to the address above. If the requested exam
date is available, a confirmation letter will be e-mailed, faxed or mailed to you. 
The confirmation letter and 
valid photo identification are required for entrance into the exam
..
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APPLICATION FOR EQUIVALENCY EXAM
* 
REQUIRED FIELDS 
PLEASE PRINT LEGIBLY
*Last Name: 
*First Name: 
*Middle Initial: 
* Mailing Address: 
*City/Town: 
*State: 
*Zip Code: 
*Day Time Telephone:
* E-mail Address: 
*Birthdate:
*Conservation ID Number:
Conservation Id:
*Have you previously taken the Equivalency Exam? 
  Yes 
No 
If yes, prior testing date and location: 
Anyone who requires auxiliary aids may call Jerry Desmond at (860) 447-4350 or TDD at (860) 424-3000. 
Office Use Only
Exam Date: 
Exam Time: 
Exam Location:
Type of Payment: Check# 
Money Order#
Amount of payment: $75.00 
Signature
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ALL EQUIVALENCY EXAMS ARE GIVEN BY APPOINTMENT ONLY
The following list of exam dates are for Marine Headquarters in Old Lyme. The exam day is Friday from 
April
 to
September
. All exams start promptly at 
8:30am
. 
April 17, 2020
May 8, 2020
June 12, 2020
July 10, 2020
August 7, 2020
September 4, 2020
All equivalency exams are given by appointment only. The confirmation letter and valid photo identification are
required for entrance into the exam. If you have any questions, please contact Wendy Flynn at
(860) 434-8638 or via e-mail at 
Applications must be received at least two weeks before the requested exam date.
gwendolynn.flynn@ct.gov.
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