
Connecticut Department of Energy &  
Environmental Protection 

Boating Division 
P.O. Box 280, 333 Ferry Road 

Old Lyme, CT 06371-0280 
W: (860) 434-8638

APPLICATION FOR MARINE DEALER 
CERTIFICATE OF NUMBER 
Marine Dealer, Yacht Broker, Marine 
Engine Manufacturer, OR  
Marine Surveyor

                 REQUESTING: New Additional RenewalCT. Sales Tax Number:

Business Name: Business Phone No.:

Business Address (No. and Street): City/Town: State: Zip Code:

Marine Dealer Retail New Retail Used

MFG Wholesale Distributor

Marine Engine Manufacturer

MFG Repairs Sales

Yacht Broker Marine Surveyor

Credentials Attached

If renewing, list numbers to be renewed here

Notes: 
(1) Marine Surveyors may be issued only CON/MDRN 
(2) Yacht Brokers may apply for only one CON/MDRN in their first year 
*First-time applicants only. Marine Surveyors do not pay this fee.

Number Number Number

Number Number Number

Number Number

MDRNs

NEW ADDL

QTY

$100

Total

RENEW
$100

EXAMINATION FEE*
$140

TOTAL: Payable to "DEEP"

Name (Last, First, M.I.) Person Signing Below

Residence Address City/Town State Zip Code

  
  
I declare that I am a Marine Dealer, Marine Engine Manufacturer, or Yacht Broker engaged in the business of manufacturing, selling or repairing new or 
used vessels or of manufacturing, selling or repairing or marine engines and that I have an established place of business for the sale, trade, display or repair 
of such vessels or repair of such engines, unless exempted by law from the requirement to have an established place of business. I have complied with the 
requirements and criteria for the issuance of marine dealer registration numbers, and I agree to use and display marine dealer registration number(s) solely 
as specified in the Connecticut General Statutes and the Regulations of the Connecticut State Agencies, as amended from time to time. I also declare under 
the penalties for false statement provided in Connecticut General Statutes that the statements made herein by me are true and correct.

Marine Dealer Marine Engine Manufacturer Yacht Broker Please complete the lower form and sign in the presence of a Notary

Authorized Signature (Owner, Partner, Officer) Sign in the presence of a Notary

Marine Suveryor Attach Current Credentials Please complete the lower form and sign in the presence of a Notary

I declare that I am Marine Surveyor who is certified by the National Association of Marine Surveyors or accredited by the Society of Accredited Marine 
Surveyors and that I am engaged in the business of inspection, survey or examination of vessels or associated equipment to assess, monitor, and report on 
the condition of the vessel or associated equipment. I have complied with the requirements and criteria for the issuance of a marine dealer registration 
number, and I agree to use and display the marine dealer registration number solely as specified in the Connecticut General Statutes and the Regulations of 
Statutes that the statements made herein by me are true and correct.

Authorized Signature (Certified Marine Surveyor) Sign in the presence of a Notary

Title (all applicants) Date (all applicants)

Owner's Date of Birth ( all applicants) Citizenship (all applicants)

Sworn Before (Notary Public, Justice of the Peace, Officer of the Court)



APPLICATION FOR A MARINE DEALER CERTIFICATE OF NUMBER and MARINE DEALER REGISTRATION NUMBERS 
Marine Dealer Registration Numbers (MDRNs) are portable vessel registration numbers that allow a Marine Dealer to operate an 
unregistered vessel on the waters of the state. They consist of two parts: a Certificate of Number (CON) issued by DEEP and identifying a 
unique Marine Dealer Registration Number, and portable placards constructed by the applicant that bear their unique MDRN. 
  

MARINE DEALERS, YACHT BROKERS, MARINE ENGINE MANUFACTURERS 
PREREQUISITES TO RECEIVING MARINE MDRNS (SEE CGS SECTION 15-145 AND RCSA SECTION 15-121-B5) 
 1. The applicant must have an established place of business facility with at least 144 square feet of office space, plus on-site or remote vessel   
display space, and must be open to the public. 
 2. There must be signage of at least 250 square inches identifying the business facility and visible to the public.    
 3. There must be a phone number in the business name listed with the phone company.  
 4. The applicant must maintain a records retention system to allow retention and inspection of sales records for at least four years.  
 5. The applicant must apply on this DEEP form, and must sign the form attesting to the fact that these conditions have been met.  
 6. YACHT BROKERS ONLY  - Items No. 1 and No. 2 do not apply.  Yacht Brokers are required to display on any vessel that bears the broker's MDRN a 
"For Sale By Broker" sign identifying the broker. The sign must be at least 144 square inches in size and legible from not less than fifty feet.    
  
PREREQUISITES TO RENEWING MDRNS (SEE CGS SECTION 15-145 AND RCSA SECTION 15-121-B5) 
The Commissioner may renew a MDRN if satisfied that the Marine Dealer continues to meet the prerequisites for receiving MDRNs and at 
least one of the following criteria during the year prior to the application for renewal: 
 1. Manufacturer or sale of more than five vessels required to be numbered or registered; 
 2. Manufacturer or sale of two to five vessels required to be numbered or registered pursuant to Section 15-152 of the general 
statutes, of not less than $50,000 total gross value where the gross value credited by any vessel towards the $50,000 minimum is no more 
than $25,000; 
 3. Not less than fifty percent of the adjusted gross income of a Marine Dealer is derived from vessel sales; 
 4. The manufacturer, sale or repair of more than five marine engines by a Marine Engine Manufacturer. 
  

MARINE SURVEYORS 
Marine Surveyors may apply for and be issued one restricted-use CON/MDRN. Evidence of current certification or accreditation must be 
presented at the time of initial application and when renewing. Marine Surveyors should note that certain recordkeeping requirements 
apply uniquely to Marine Surveyors. A Marine Surveyor may not loan a CON/MDRN, and may only operate a vessel with their CON/MDRN 
while the vessel is being inspected, surveyed or examined, and only when a written contract for such work is carried onboard. 
  

ALL APPLICANTS 
INSTRUCTION FOR PREPARATION OF APPLICATION 
  
Please type or print application. This application may be used to order a CON/MDRN for the first time, renew a CON/MDRN, or request 
additional CON/MDRNs. Please check the appropriate box at the top of the form accordingly. 
 1. Business name and address - These will be printed on certificate(s). 
 2. Connecticut sales tax no. - Number under which sales tax collected on vessels will be submitted. 
 3. Select ONE of the Marine Dealer/Marine Engine Manufacturer/Yacht Broker/Marine Surveyor options. 
 4. Enter the quantity of new or additional certificates requested in the boxes provided and multiply these numbers by the $100.00 
fee. All first-time applicants (except Marine Surveyors) must include a $140.00 examination fee. Existing Marine Dealers that have 
changed ownership or business name must reapply as a first-time applicant. All fees are to be made payable to "DEEP".  
 5. Name of Owner, Partner, or Authorized Officer signing application - The name of the individual signing the application Must 
appear here. RESIDENCE ADDRESS IS REQUIRED. For corporate officers also give titles. 
 6. Signature and title - DO NOT TYPE. An applicant must sign his/her usual signature. An officer must sign for a firm, company or 
corporation and indicate his/her title. This application is an oath-hearing form and MUST BE NOTARIZED. 
  
REQUIREMENTS FOR DISPLAYING MDRNS (SEE RCSA SECTIONS 15-121-B4 AND 15-121-B5A) 
  
MDRNs must be painted on or attached to a removable sign, and displayed in a manner similar to other registered vessels. The MDRN sign 
must be temporarily attached to the vessel. If such a temporary display is unsafe or impracticable, the dealer may request the 
Commissioner's approval of an alternative way to display the numbers. Whenever a MDRN is displayed on a vessel that is on the water, the 
operator must carry the CON. 
  
  

  
 

All applicants are responsible for knowing the laws and regulations applicable to their MDRN/Certificate of Number. See: 
  
Connecticut General Statutes (CGS) Section 15-145: Marine dealer's, marine engine manufacturer's and marine surveyor's registration 
numbers. Regulations. Fees. Availability and renewaal of certificates. Use of vessels. Restrictions. 
  
Regulations of the Connecticut State Agencies (RCSA) Sec. 15-121-B4  Display of a number and validation decal, Sec. 15-121-B5 
Criteria for the issuance of marine dealer registration numbers, Sec. 15-121-B5a Marine dealer registration numbers: application and 
display.


STATE OF CONNECTICUT
alane
D:20111130133501Z
D:20120719120133- 04'00'
Connecticut Department of Energy & 
Environmental Protection
Boating Division
P.O. Box 280, 333 Ferry Road
Old Lyme, CT 06371-0280
W: (860) 434-8638
APPLICATION FOR MARINE DEALER CERTIFICATE OF NUMBER
Marine Dealer, Yacht Broker, Marine Engine Manufacturer, OR 
Marine Surveyor
REQUESTING:
Marine Dealer
Marine Engine Manufacturer
Yacht Broker
Marine Surveyor
If renewing, list numbers to be renewed here
Notes:
(1) Marine Surveyors may be issued only CON/MDRN
(2) Yacht Brokers may apply for only one CON/MDRN in their first year
*First-time applicants only. Marine Surveyors do not pay this fee.
MDRNs
QTY
$100
Total
RENEW
$100
EXAMINATION FEE*
$140
 
 
I declare that I am a Marine Dealer, Marine Engine Manufacturer, or Yacht Broker engaged in the business of manufacturing, selling or repairing new or used vessels or of manufacturing, selling or repairing or marine engines and that I have an established place of business for the sale, trade, display or repair of such vessels or repair of such engines, unless exempted by law from the requirement to have an established place of business. I have complied with the requirements and criteria for the issuance of marine dealer registration numbers, and I agree to use and display marine dealer registration number(s) solely as specified in the Connecticut General Statutes and the Regulations of the Connecticut State Agencies, as amended from time to time. I also declare under the penalties for false statement provided in Connecticut General Statutes that the statements made herein by me are true and correct.
Please complete the lower form and sign in the presence of a Notary
Authorized Signature (Owner, Partner, Officer)
Sign in the presence of a Notary
Attach Current Credentials
Please complete the lower form and sign in the presence of a Notary
I declare that I am Marine Surveyor who is certified by the National Association of Marine Surveyors or accredited by the Society of Accredited Marine Surveyors and that I am engaged in the business of inspection, survey or examination of vessels or associated equipment to assess, monitor, and report on the condition of the vessel or associated equipment. I have complied with the requirements and criteria for the issuance of a marine dealer registration number, and I agree to use and display the marine dealer registration number solely as specified in the Connecticut General Statutes and the Regulations of Statutes that the statements made herein by me are true and correct.
Authorized Signature (Certified Marine Surveyor)
Sign in the presence of a Notary
Title (all applicants)
Date (all applicants)
Owner's Date of Birth ( all applicants)
Citizenship (all applicants)
Sworn Before (Notary Public, Justice of the Peace, Officer of the Court)
APPLICATION FOR A MARINE DEALER CERTIFICATE OF NUMBER and MARINE DEALER REGISTRATION NUMBERS
Marine Dealer Registration Numbers (MDRNs) are portable vessel registration numbers that allow a Marine Dealer to operate an unregistered vessel on the waters of the state. They consist of two parts: a Certificate of Number (CON) issued by DEEP and identifying a unique Marine Dealer Registration Number, and portable placards constructed by the applicant that bear their unique MDRN.
 
MARINE DEALERS, YACHT BROKERS, MARINE ENGINE MANUFACTURERS
PREREQUISITES TO RECEIVING MARINE MDRNS (SEE CGS SECTION 15-145 AND RCSA SECTION 15-121-B5)
         1. The applicant must have an established place of business facility with at least 144 square feet of office space, plus on-site or remote vessel                                                                                                                               display space, and must be open to the public.
         2. There must be signage of at least 250 square inches identifying the business facility and visible to the public.   
         3. There must be a phone number in the business name listed with the phone company. 
         4. The applicant must maintain a records retention system to allow retention and inspection of sales records for at least four years. 
         5. The applicant must apply on this DEEP form, and must sign the form attesting to the fact that these conditions have been met. 
         6. YACHT BROKERS ONLY  - Items No. 1 and No. 2 do not apply.  Yacht Brokers are required to display on any vessel that bears the broker's MDRN a "For Sale By Broker" sign identifying the broker. The sign must be at least 144 square inches in size and legible from not less than fifty feet.   
 
PREREQUISITES TO RENEWING MDRNS (SEE CGS SECTION 15-145 AND RCSA SECTION 15-121-B5)
The Commissioner may renew a MDRN if satisfied that the Marine Dealer continues to meet the prerequisites for receiving MDRNs and at least one of the following criteria during the year prior to the application for renewal:
         1. Manufacturer or sale of more than five vessels required to be numbered or registered;
         2. Manufacturer or sale of two to five vessels required to be numbered or registered pursuant to Section 15-152 of the general statutes, of not less than $50,000 total gross value where the gross value credited by any vessel towards the $50,000 minimum is no more than $25,000;
         3. Not less than fifty percent of the adjusted gross income of a Marine Dealer is derived from vessel sales;
         4. The manufacturer, sale or repair of more than five marine engines by a Marine Engine Manufacturer.
 
MARINE SURVEYORS
Marine Surveyors may apply for and be issued one restricted-use CON/MDRN. Evidence of current certification or accreditation must be presented at the time of initial application and when renewing. Marine Surveyors should note that certain recordkeeping requirements apply uniquely to Marine Surveyors. A Marine Surveyor may not loan a CON/MDRN, and may only operate a vessel with their CON/MDRN while the vessel is being inspected, surveyed or examined, and only when a written contract for such work is carried onboard.
 
ALL APPLICANTS
INSTRUCTION FOR PREPARATION OF APPLICATION
 
Please type or print application. This application may be used to order a CON/MDRN for the first time, renew a CON/MDRN, or request additional CON/MDRNs. Please check the appropriate box at the top of the form accordingly.
         1. Business name and address - These will be printed on certificate(s).
         2. Connecticut sales tax no. - Number under which sales tax collected on vessels will be submitted.
         3. Select ONE of the Marine Dealer/Marine Engine Manufacturer/Yacht Broker/Marine Surveyor options.
         4. Enter the quantity of new or additional certificates requested in the boxes provided and multiply these numbers by the $100.00 fee. All first-time applicants (except Marine Surveyors) must include a $140.00 examination fee. Existing Marine Dealers that have changed ownership or business name must reapply as a first-time applicant. All fees are to be made payable to "DEEP". 
         5. Name of Owner, Partner, or Authorized Officer signing application - The name of the individual signing the application Must appear here. RESIDENCE ADDRESS IS REQUIRED. For corporate officers also give titles.
         6. Signature and title - DO NOT TYPE. An applicant must sign his/her usual signature. An officer must sign for a firm, company or corporation and indicate his/her title. This application is an oath-hearing form and MUST BE NOTARIZED.
 
REQUIREMENTS FOR DISPLAYING MDRNS (SEE RCSA SECTIONS 15-121-B4 AND 15-121-B5A)
 
MDRNs must be painted on or attached to a removable sign, and displayed in a manner similar to other registered vessels. The MDRN sign must be temporarily attached to the vessel. If such a temporary display is unsafe or impracticable, the dealer may request the Commissioner's approval of an alternative way to display the numbers. Whenever a MDRN is displayed on a vessel that is on the water, the operator must carry the CON.
 
 
 
 
All applicants are responsible for knowing the laws and regulations applicable to their MDRN/Certificate of Number. See:
 
Connecticut General Statutes (CGS) Section 15-145: Marine dealer's, marine engine manufacturer's and marine surveyor's registration numbers. Regulations. Fees. Availability and renewaal of certificates. Use of vessels. Restrictions.
 
Regulations of the Connecticut State Agencies (RCSA) Sec. 15-121-B4  Display of a number and validation decal, Sec. 15-121-B5 Criteria for the issuance of marine dealer registration numbers, Sec. 15-121-B5a Marine dealer registration numbers: application and display.
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