REGISTRATION & TITLING

ust as you must have a vehicle registration of your car, you
must have a Connecticut Certificate of Number (registration
card with assigned registration number) and two validation
ecals to legally launch, moor or operate your boat. The only
exceptions are:
Non-motorized boats;
Unmotorized sailboats less than 19 ¥ feet in length;
Boats registered in other states using Connecticut waters
for 60 days or less;
Boats documented with the U.S. Coast Guard using
Connecticut waters for 60 days or less;
Boats owned in countries other than the United States
temporarily using the waters of the state; and
Vessels owned by the United States, a state or a political
subdivision of a state being used in the performance of
governmental functions.

Vessel Registration
When you purchase a vessel, you are responsible for
seeing that it is registered. The Department of Motor Vehicles
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(DMV) is the agency that handles boat registrations. Evidence
of ownership must be submitted at the time of registration.
Upon receipt of the application and fee, a Connecticut
Registration Number will be assigned. A Connecticut Certificate
of Number (registration card) and two Connecticut Validation
Decals will be issued. A Certificate of Number is valid until
April 30 of the decal year. Connecticut registration numbers
stay with the boat as long as it is registered in the state. A
vessel is considered properly registered when you have a valid
certificate on board and your numbers and/or current decals
are properly displayed. (Exception: Recently registered boats
operating under a temporary certificate of number need not
display a validation decal until provided by the DMV.)

If you have questions or need more information call, the
DMV Vessel Registration Information directly at 860-263-5718
or visit https://portal.ct.gov/DMV/Watercraft/Watercraft/
helpful-tip/helpful-tip-boats .
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CORRECT SPACING AND PLACEMENT OF REGISTRATION
NUMBER AND VALIDATION DECALS
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Position of Registration
Number and Validation Decals

The Registration Number must be at least three inches high,
contrasting in color to the hull background and in block form. It
must be painted on or attached to both the port and starboard
bow of the vessel and positioned so it is visible and legible from
at least 100 feet away. The registration number must read from
left to right on both sides of the vessel. A Validation Decal must
be placed two inches to the right of and in line with the assigned
registration number. No other letters, numbers or validation
decals (other than the current ones) may be displayed.

Vessels Numbered by
Other States and Reciprocity

Documented vessels and vessels numbered by another
state which are moored, docked or operated more than 60 days
in Connecticut in any calendar year, must obtain a Connecticut
Certificate of Decal from DMV and display a current Connecticut
validation decal (but not a Connecticut registration number) on
both sides of the bow. In addition, the owner must acquire a
boating certificate that is recognized by Connecticut in order
to operate the vessel on Connecticut waters. Connecticut boat
users should check and obey local laws when operating in other
states.

Note: Every entity leasing, renting or otherwise providing
slips, dock space, dry storage, or moorings for vessels not
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registered in Connecticut is required to maintain a list of such
vessels. Transient vessels need not be listed. The list must
be available during normal business hours for inspection by
any boating law enforcement officer. The rules for information
collected differ slightly for those entities that provide such space
by lease and those that provide such space by membership.
If you have any questions, please contact the Boating Division
regulatory section at 860-434-8638. (CGS Section 15-150a)

Connecticut Now Titles Boats
As of January 1, 2016, all motorboats and all sailboats 19.5
feet in length or longer are required to be titled through the
Department of Motor Vehicles IF:
e They have a model year or construction date of 2017 or
later; and
e They are registered in Connecticut where Connecticut is
identified as the state of principal use; and
e They are NOT documented with the United States Coast
Guard or titled in another state.
The fee for titling a vessel is $25.00.
For more information, go to our website www.ct.gov/deep/boating
and click on Boat Registration/Abandoned Boats button
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Certificate to Be On Board

A Certificate of Number or Certificate of Decal must be on
board the vessel whenever the owner or any person authorized
by the owner is aboard, except that rented boats may carry a
rental agreement in lieu of a certificate.

Taxability of Vessels and Trailers

As a general rule, when a Connecticut resident or an
individual who maintains a place of abode in Connecticut buys
a vessel or trailer, Connecticut sales or use tax is due. The sales
tax will be 6.35% of the purchase price for vessels and trailers
used for transporting a vessel with a purchase date before
July 1, 2018. Vessels and trailers used for transporting a
vessel purchased on or after July 1, 22018 will be charged a
tax rate of 2.99 percent.

Out-of-state residents or nonresident entities that have
purchased a vessel with the intent of using it in Connecticut
waters must pay a Connecticut use tax. This Connecticut use
tax liability must be reported on the “Individual Use Tax” line of
the purchaser’s Form CT-1040 NR/PY Connecticut Nonresident
Income Tax Return. This use tax can be offset by documenting
that sales or use tax has been properly paid to another state
or municipality.

For Further Information: Call the Department of Revenue
Services during business hours, Monday through Friday:

1-800-382-9463, or 860-297-5962 TTY, TDD and Test
Telephone users only may transmit inquiries anytime by calling
860-297-4911.

Change of Address/ Change of Ownership/
Change of Registration Status

If you change your address or sell or otherwise dispose of
your vessel, you must, within 15 days and in writing, notify the
Department of Motor Vehicles, Marine Vessel Section, 60 State
St., Wethersfield, CT 06161. In the case of an address change,
keep your Certificate of Number on the boat after updating the
address on the back of the certificate. We recommend that you
send the notification by certified mail and keep a copy of the
cancellation along with any receipts from the post office.

Hull Identification Number (HIN)

The Hull Identification Number (HIN) is a unique, 12 or 14
character string assigned by the manufacturers to vessels built
after 1972. HINs identify one vessel from another. The HIN is
usually found on the starboard side of the boat’s transom. The
HIN should be recorded by the owner and put in a place other
than the boat in case warranty problems arise or the vessel is
lost or stolen. Owners of registered vessels manufactured after
October 1, 1972, that do not have a HIN should call the Boating
Division at 860-434-8638.

CHECK YOUR HIN!

If your boat was made after 1972 then the Hull Identification Number (HIN) on your registrations MUST match the HIN on your
boat or you may have some explaining to do if checked by law enforcement.
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The HIN is typically located on the OUTSIDE of your boat, on the upper right hand corner of the transom. If your boat doesn’t
have a transom, like a canoe or kayak, then the number will be at the rear of the vessel, on the starboard (right hand) side,
near the toprail. If your boat is a pontoon or catamaran, check the back of the starboard pontoon, or aftmost crossmember.

If needed, HIN corrections can be made with the DMV using the DMV form B-96. Be prepared to provide photographs or
rubbings as proof of the actual number.
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