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Enforcement
Several law enforcement agencies enforce Connecticut’s state 

statutes, regulations and federal navigational laws. Within their respective 
jurisdictions, the United States Coast Guard, state conservation police 
officers, municipal police officers, town marine officers, lake patrolmen 
and POST-certified harbormasters are empowered to enforce federal, 
state and local boating regulations. These enforcement officers have 
authority to stop and board boats to check for compliance with federal or 
state law or to search without warrant.

State and federal boating laws specify which vessels are allowed or 
required to display flashing lights.  There are four kinds of flashing lights 
to which you should pay special attention.

Law enforcement vessels engaged in enforcement activities will likely 
display a flashing blue light or audible signal.  Flashing blue lights or 
sirens are not allowed on any other vessels.  Because of this, vessel theft 
alarms must be designed in a manner so that it cannot be confused with 
an ordinary warning signal or siren.

Vessels engaged in government sanctioned public safety activities, 
such as fireboats and certain commercial assistance vessels will use 
alternating flashing red and yellow light signals.  An example of a 
commercial vessel displaying alternating flashing red and yellow light 
signals is a commercial assistance towing vessel that is assisting a 
disabled vessel.

High speed ferries, submarines and air cushion vessels (hovercraft) 
display flashing yellow lights as part of the their required navigation 
lights.  Also, a barge, when being pushed in front of or towed alongside 
a work vessel, will display a flashing yellow light on the bow and near its 
centerline.  Finally, a Wing-In-Ground (WIG) vessel will use a high-intensity 
flashing red light when taking off, landing and in flight near the surface.

If you are being approached by a law enforcement or rescue vessel 
using flashing blue lights or alternating flashing red and yellow lights or 
an audible signal, you are required to:

1. immediately slow to a speed just sufficient to maintain steerage 
only; 

2. alter course within your ability to not inhibit or interfere with the 
law enforcement or fire rescue vessel; and, 

3. unless otherwise directed by an officer, proceed at a reduced 
speed until beyond the area of operation of the law enforcement or 
fire rescue vessel.

If you willfully or negligently obstruct or delay a law enforcement or 
fire rescue vessel answering an emergency call or pursuing a fleeing law 
violator, you may be fined up to $200. 

If a vessel operator passes within 200 feet of a stationary law 
enforcement vessel using its lights and audible signal or a fire rescue 
vessel using its lights, the vessel operator is required to slow the 
operator’s vessel to Slow-No-Wake speed until it is more than 200 feet 
away from the law enforcement or fire rescue vessel. If someone fails to 
slow as required, the offender shall be subject to a fine of between $50 
to $200.

Boating
Regulations

PHOTO CREDIT - MARK CHANSKI



22    2020 Connecticut BOATERS GUIDE

B O AT I N G  R E G U L AT I O N S

Definitions of Terms
The following definitions will prove useful in understanding the 

rules and regulations related to boating. 
Regulated Navigational Area. Water area within a defined 

boundary for which regulations for vessels navigating within the 
area have been established under 33 CFR Part 165.

Restricted Visibility. Conditions in which visibility is restricted 
by fog, mist, falling snow, heavy rainstorms, sandstorms or any 
other similar causes.

Safety Zone. A water area, shore area, or water and 
shore area to which, for safety or environmental purposes, 
access is limited to authorized persons, vehicles or vessels. The 
Commissioner of the Department of Energy & Environmental 
Protection is authorized to create temporary safety zones for a 
period not to exceed 72 consecutive hours, unless an emergency 
warrants otherwise.

Security Zone. An area of land, water, or land and water, 
which is designated under 33 CFR Part 165 by the United States 
Coast Guard for such time as is necessary to prevent injury or 
damage to the area or to secure the observance of the rights and 
obligations of the United States.

Slow-No-Wake. A vessel shall not produce more than a 
minimum wake and shall not attain speeds greater than six miles 
per hour over the ground unless a higher minimum speed is 
necessary to maintain steerageway when traveling with a strong 
current. In no case shall the wake produced by the vessel be such 
that it creates a danger or injury to persons, or will damage vessels 
or structures of any kind.

State and Federal Waters
Federal Waters. Navigable waters of the United States, as 

defined by 33 CFR 2.36(a), within the territorial limits of the state.
State Waters. All waters within the territorial limits of the state 

except federal waters.
Waters of state. All waters, including federal waters, within 

the territorial limits of the state.
Underway. When a vessel is not moored, anchored, made fast 

to the shore, or aground.

Restricted Safety and Security Zones
No person shall operate, allow the operation of a vessel, or 

anchor any vessel on the waters of the state within a safety or 
security zone or a regulated navigational area.

Restricted Operating Distances and Speed Areas
No person shall operate a vessel or cause a water skier to pass 

within one hundred feet of a flag, buoy or other device, marking the 
location of an underwater swimmer or diver.

No person shall operate a motorboat, excluding a personal 
watercraft, at a speed in excess of Slow-No-Wake within 100 feet 
of shore, or a dock, pier, float or anchored or moored vessel, unless 
taking off or landing a water skier.

No person shall operate a personal watercraft at a speed in 

excess of Slow-No-Wake within 200 feet of shore, or a dock, pier, 
float or anchored or moored vessel, unless taking off or landing a 
water skier.

When within 100 feet of buoys marking a restricted swimming 
area or boat access area, vessels shall be operated at Slow-No-
Wake.

Speed Regulations
When no limits are posted, operate the boat so it will not 

endanger others. The boat must be able to stop safely within the 
clear distance ahead. When passing near marinas, fishing areas, 
swimming areas, a vessel at anchor, or similar places, reduce 
speed. Operators are responsible for damage caused by their 
wakes.

In Connecticut, speed is limited by law for certain conditions 
and areas. Comply with posted regulatory signs and the regulations 
printed within this chapter.

Every vessel must, under crowded conditions or in reduced 
visibility, slow down and operate with careful regard for existing 
circumstances and conditions. Actions such as speeding in 
confined or restricted areas or skiing at prohibited times or in 
restricted areas can also be construed as reckless or negligent 
operation.

Reckless Operation
Reckless operation is the failure to exercise the degree of care 

necessary to prevent endangering another person or their property.

Age Restrictions 
No person under the age of 12 may serve as the observer for a 

vessel engaged in water skiing.
No person under the age of 12 may operate a vessel that is 

propelled by greater than 10 horsepower unless accompanied by 
a person who is at least 18 years of age and who has a SBC or 
CPWO.

Every person under the age of 13 must wear a USCG approved 
PFD when the vessel they are aboard is underway, unless that 
person is below deck or in an enclosed cabin.

No person under the age of 16 may operate a PWC or a JAV. 
(Note exception.)

No person under the age of 16 may operate a vessel that is 
engaged in recreational towing activity, such as water skiing or 
tubing.

Age Restrictions - Exceptions
A person under the age of 16 may be permitted to operate a 

vessel, other than a personal watercraft, without first obtaining a 
SBC or CPWO only when under the direct onboard supervision of 
a person at least age 18 who has had a boating certificate for at 
least two years.

A person under the age of 16 may be permitted to operate 
a PWC after obtaining a CPWO only when under the onboard 
supervision of a person at least age 18 who has a CPWO. 
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Age Restrictions, Underage Operation - Owners 
Held Responsible

Owners who knowingly permit an underage person to operate 
their vessel in violation of these rules may be held accountable for 
the actions of the underage person. 

Hazardous Conditions
Enforcement officers can terminate a voyage and require the 

operator of the vessel to return to the nearest mooring if they 
discover a hazardous condition onboard. The operator must then 
correct this condition before proceeding on his or her way.

Mooring to Buoys
The only buoys you are permitted to moor to are mooring 

buoys. Mooring to a navigation buoy or other aid to navigation or 
regulatory marker is illegal.

Overloading
Never overload your boat with passengers or cargo beyond its 

safe carrying capacity. Capacity labels are required on all vessels 
less than 20 feet manufactured after 1972, and are affixed by 
the manufacturer. Connecticut law forbids altering, defacing or 
removing the plate.

Riding on Decks or Gunwales
While underway in a vessel under power, do not ride on the 

bow, gunwale, transom, or in any position which is obviously 
dangerous. Riding on or hanging over the bow can interfere with 
stability and may restrict the operator’s visibility. No operator of a 
vessel under power shall allow any person to be on a decked-over 
bow of such vessel while underway unless the bow of the vessel 
is equipped with a handrail that encompasses the bow, and all 
persons on the bow are inward of such handrail. On vessels under 
power with open bows not decked-over, no operator shall allow 
any person to sit or stand on the gunwale at the bow of the vessel 
while underway. These provisions shall not apply to persons in or 
on the bow of vessels engaged in anchoring, mooring, or docking 
activities, and when the vessel is proceeding at a dead slow speed.

Diving and Underwater Operations
In Connecticut, anyone involved in underwater swimming or 

diving is required to display a clearly visible red flag with a white 
diagonal stripe. The flag must be two-sided, not less than 13 
inches high and 15 inches long. The white diagonal stripe must 
be reflectorized if the flag is to be used at night. It is extremely 
dangerous and a violation of the law for a diver to surface or swim 
more than 50 feet from this flag. No more than four divers may 
use the same diver flag unless it is displayed from a boat, in which 
case the number of divers must be limited to the legal capacity of 
the boat.

The blue/white ALPHA flag is also used to show underwater 
operations from a vessel in federal waters. It may be used in 
addition to the state’s diver down flag. Boaters must not come 

within 100 feet of the dive flag.
It is illegal to snorkel or SCUBA dive from a state boat launch. 

Water Skiing and Parasailing
In Connecticut, the definition of water skiing includes the 

towing of any person behind a vessel under power whether or not 
they are attached by a rope or any other means.  This definition 
includes all towed water sports including water skiing, tubing, 
wakeboarding, wakesurfing, etc.

Effective October 1, 2015, in order to operate a vessel that 
is engaged in tubing or water skiing you must; (1) be at least 16 
years old; (2) hold a valid U.S. Coast Guard-issued vessel operator 
license or a valid boating certificate issued by CT, MA, NH, NY or 
RI; and (3) have a CT Safe Water Skiing Endorsement issued by 
DEEP.

Exception: If, prior to October 1, 2015, you obtained a valid 
license issued by the USCG or a valid boating certificate issued by CT, 
MA, NH, NY or RI, you are not required to have a Safe Water Skiing 
Endorsement. Persons who are younger than 16 years of age, or who 
do not have a valid license issued by the USCG or a valid boating 
certificate issued by CT, MA, NH, NY or RI, are not eligible to operate 
a vessel engaged in tubing or water skiing.

Persons who obtain one of the above described certificates from 
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a State that has a reciprocal agreement with Connecticut or a U.S 
Coast Guard License, after October 1, 2015, will be able to obtain 
the required Safe Water Skiing Endorsement through an online Safe 
Water Skiing Course. The link to the course is www.ct.gov/deep/
waterskiendorsement.

The online Safe Water Skiing Course will provide the education 
portion free of charge. If a student wishes to take the examination, 
which would result in being eligible to receive the Connecticut Safe 
Water Skiing Endorsement, a fee may be imposed.

The operator of the vessel and the water skier are responsible 
for operating in a manner which does not harm or strike another 
person or vessel. Water skiing is forbidden between 30 minutes 
after sunset until sunrise or when visibility is restricted to less than 
100 yards.

Boats and Personal Watercraft (PWCs) are subject to different 
near-shore, slow-no-wake restrictions; except for the purpose of 
allowing a water skier to take off or land, boats may not exceed 
Slow-No-Wake within 100 feet of shore and PWCs may not 
exceed Slow-No-Wake within 200 feet of shore. This means 
that, depending on the type of vessel that is being operated, a 
waterbody (or portion of waterbody) may simply be too narrow to 
legally waterski or go fast.

The operator of the boat is required to have a responsible 
observer at least 12 years of age facing the skier to assist the 
operator and monitor the progress of the water skier. The water 
skier, the observer, and the boat operator should practice and use 
hand signals for communication. 

In Connecticut, water skiers are required by law to wear a U.S. 
Coast Guard approved personal flotation device (life jacket) while 
engaged in water skiing, except for those skiers who are engaged 
in barefoot water skiing and are wearing a specifically designed 
“barefoot wetsuit” and those skiers who are engaged in trick water 
skiing and are wearing standard double trick skis at least eight 
inches wide and not over 46 inches long, and being towed at not 
more than 20 mph using a tow rope longer than 50 feet long. A 
life jacket must be made readily available aboard the tow vessel for 
each skier electing not to wear one under the above exceptions. 
Ski belts and inflatable life jackets are not permitted.

The maximum length of a towline measured from the tow post 
to the water skier’s tow handle is 100 feet. No elastic component 
may be part of the towline. Towing of a person or persons on an 
inner tube without handholds is prohibited.

Except when the vessel is engaged in towing a water skier 
and at least one person onboard the vessel is using it for training 
purposes, the rigid metal tow pole, often used for barefoot skiing, 
may either be removed from the boat or must be dismantled or 
folded and placed inside of the gunwale and parallel to the center 
line of the boat.

Kite-skiing and parasailing are prohibited anywhere water 
skiing is prohibited or subject to special regulations. Kite-skiers 
and parasailers shall not fly over or under obstructions such as 
utility lines and bridges; nor shall they fly over dams, locks, docks, 
launching ramps, swim areas, marinas or congested areas.

Self-propelled waterskis and surfboards, and remote 
control devices which tow water skiers, are prohibited in 
Connecticut.

All waterski jumps and slalom courses require a permit. 
Contact the Boating Division or visit www.ct.gov/deep/boating 
for information.

A quick summary of the water skiing and parasailing section:
•	 Boaters operating a boat while engaged in towed water 

sports must carry their endorsement.
•	 Boaters may not waterski or operate the towing vessel so 

as to endanger persons or property.
•	 The number of persons in a towing boat plus the number 

of persons being towed may not exceed the legal capacity 
of the boat, except by Marine Event Permit.

•	 Police may terminate the water skiing activity of a 
given vessel for the remainder of a given day if anyone 
on or being towed by that vessel violates water skiing 
regulations.

•	 Two water skiing violation convictions in one year will 
mean the loss of endorsement for the remainder of that 
year and the year that follows. Restoration is available only 
upon completion of the suspension period and passing the 
water skiing class.

•	 Teak surfing and platform dragging is prohibited.
•	 Violation of this section is now an infraction.

Wing-In-Ground (WIG) Vessels
A wing-in-ground (WIG) effect vessel must be approved by the 

DEEP before operating recreationally and by the U.S. Coast Guard 
before operating for commercial or for research purposes.

Marine Event Permits
On state waters, all marine parades, regattas, races, 

tournaments, fireworks over water, exhibitions, or other activities 
requiring exclusive use of a portion of a water body, use of a 
state boat launch, or modification or suspension of any laws or 
regulations require a permit issued by the DEEP. Applications must 
be received by the DEEP Boating Division at least 45 days prior to 
the event.

For details visit the DEEP website www.ct.gov/deep/boating 
and select “Laws / Requirements / Permits”.

NOTE: If your event is on tidal waters, contact the USCG Sector 
Long Island Sound Marine Events Coordinator by phone: (203) 
468-4565 or Email: D01-SMB-SECLISSPWMarineEvents@uscg.mil
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Marker (Buoy or Beacon) Permits 
All markers (buoys or beacons) other than a diver’s flag require 

a permit from the DEEP. This includes markers placed for swim 
areas, speed zones, navigation, information, and water ski courses 
or jumps. Visit the DEEP website at www.ct.gov/deep/boating 
and select “Laws / Requirements / Permits” for more details.

Abandoned Boats
If your boat is missing, report it to the police and check the 

Abandoned Boat website www.ct.gov/deep/abandonedboats 
in case it has been found and posted as abandoned.

If you find an abandoned vessel free floating and unattended 
you must contact law enforcement to report the find - it may be 
the only clue that an emergency is underway.  Move the vessel 
only after law enforcement gives you permission. Under the law a 
boat is abandoned when it is:

• Free floating and unattended for more than 24 hours;
• Left on property without permission for more than 24 hours;
• Left at a mooring without payment;
• Left at a commercial facility for over a year without full 

payment; or,
• Improperly registered and left on the waters of the state.
If you are dealing with an abandoned boat:
· Submit a Notice of Abandoned Vessel to the Commissioner 

along with a $20 processing fee
· Wait 45 days
· If the owner does not collect the boat in 45 days, you will be 

issued a Notice of assumed Ownership. You can then do what you 
wish with the boat.

The abandoned boat process is a closed process. Only the 
legal owner of an abandoned boat can “claim” an abandoned boat 
from the table listed on the abandoned boat website.

The fine for abandoning a boat is $440.00, and under the 
abandoned boat law the last registered owner can be held liable 
for all costs associated with processing the abandoned boat.

To help avoid possible fines, cancel your registration in writing 
within 15 days of selling or destroying your registered boat. It’s 
the law! Send a cancellation note under your signature to the DMV 
Marine Vessel Section, 60 State Street, Wethersfield, CT 06161.

Complete instructions, rules, and necessary forms are available 
online at www.ct.gov/deep/abandonedboats.

Personal Watercraft Restrictions
Personal Watercraft are subject to the following operation 

restrictions (for age restrictions, see page 22):
• No person shall operate a personal watercraft between 

sunset and sunrise or during periods of reduced visibility.

Tubing is a great water sport. Please 
remember that riders do not have the 
directional control that water skiers have. 
Take these special precautions to ensure 
fun.

• Riders are required to wear a USCG 
approved life jacket.

• By law you must have an observer 
(or spotter) at least 12 years old to watch 
for tuber safety.

• Make sure the vessel operator, 
observer and tubers are alert and sober.

• Follow manufacturer’s recommen-
dations – regarding capacity in terms of 
passenger weight, number of riders, age 
limit and maximum towing speeds.

• Securely fasten the line – use a 
heavy duty line designed for towing tubes; 
check condition regularly.

• Know the area ahead of time – 
maintain a safe distance between the 
tube and other boats, piers and floating 
platforms.

• Learn how to balance weight – 
properly position tubers based on the 
tube’s characteristics; some ride better 
with weight back, some need tubers to 
ride belly down.

• Turn off the engine and count to 10 
before allowing a person into the water – 
the propeller continues to spin after the 
engine is shut off.

• Make sure the tuber and the 
observer understand and communicate 
hand signals; always listen to the tuber; 
use the spotter – the boat operator should 
not be watching the tuber.

• Use caution when making turns – 
tube speed increases during a turn and 
riders can fall off or be thrown; never 
have the tuber on the inside of a turn; 
plan ahead of the turn to make sure tube 
will have room to safely pass other boats 
or docks. 

• Slow the boat speed when need-
ed – when crossing wakes to avoid back 

injuries; when pulling more than one tube 
(and be extra vigilant) to prevent tuber 
collisions.

• Approach with caution on the 
operator side of the boat into the wind or 
current – then turn the engine off; keep 
engine off for re-boarding.

• Never back up to a person or allow 
them to use the propeller to re-board.

• Securely stow all gear and tube – at 
the end of the day before throttling up; 
never have someone coil the line for tube 
if the boat is in gear and the tube is still 
in the water or has any chance of flying 
out of the boat.

• Vessel operator should ensure that 
all participants are not entangled in the 
tow line prior to accelerating.

For additional safe water skiing 
information and our online water skiing 
course, visit www.ct.gov/deep/water-
skiendorsement

TUBING SAFETY TIPS
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• No passenger shall ride in front of the operator on a 
personal watercraft.

• No passenger shall ride upon a personal watercraft 
unless the passenger is able to securely hold onto the person 
in front of them or to the handholds on the personal watercraft, 
and is able to keep both feet on the deck of the personal 
watercraft so as to maintain balance while the personal 
watercraft is in operation.

• All persons aboard a personal watercraft shall wear a 
United States Coast Guard approved 
Type I, II, III or V personal flotation 
device, and no operator of a personal 
watercraft shall allow any person to 
be aboard who is not wearing such a 
device. Inflatable life jackets are not 
allowed.

• No person shall operate a 
personal watercraft at a speed in 
excess of Slow-No-Wake within 
200 feet of shore or of a dock, pier, 
float or anchored or moored vessel, 
unless said personal watercraft is 
approaching such float, dock or shore 
for the purpose of enabling a person 
engaged in water skiing to take off or 
land.

• No person shall operate a 
personal watercraft towing a water 
skier without satisfying the Safe Water 
Skiing Endorsement requirements 
(See page 12) and no person 
shall waterski while being towed 
by a personal watercraft unless: 
(1) a capacity label affixed by the 
manufacturer indicates a carrying 
capacity of at least three persons: 
the operator, the observer and the 
skier; (2) minimum overall length of 119 inches, minimum 
overall width of 46 inches, minimum horizontal seat length of 
39 inches [at least 13 inches additional seat length per person 
for greater than three person capacity]; (3) handholds at or 
near the rear of the seat suitable for use by a rearward-facing 
observer; and (4) an observer age 12 or older facing the skier 
at all times. The boat operator, observer and water skier must 
obey all other waterski rules.

• No person operating a personal watercraft shall cross or 
jump the wake of another vessel, when within 100 feet of the 
vessel creating such wake, in such a manner that the hull of 
the personal watercraft jumping the wake completely leaves 
the water.

• A “shut-off lanyard,” if so equipped, must be attached to 
the operator, his clothing, or his personal flotation device in a 
manner which will shut off the engine in the event the operator 
is ejected from the personal watercraft while underway.

Boating Under the Influence (BUI)
No person may operate a boat while under the influence of 

alcohol or drugs.
A person shall be considered to be under the influence of 

intoxicating liquor if the ratio of alcohol 
in the blood is eight-hundredths (.08) 
of one percent or more of alcohol, by 
weight, or if the person is under 21 
years of age, the level is .02.

The penalty for a first violation may 
be: a fine between $500 and $1,000; 
one year suspension of boating 
privileges, six months (at least 48 
hours of which cannot be suspended 
or reduced) in jail or suspended 
plus probation requiring 100 hours 
community service.

The penalty for a second violation 
within 10 years may be: a fine 
between $1,000 and $4,000; three 
years suspension of boating privileges, 
two years (at least 120 days of which 
cannot be suspended or reduced) in 
jail and probation requiring 100 hours 
of community service.

The penalty for a third violation 
and subsequent violations within 
10 years may be: a fine between 
$2,000 and $8,000, suspension of 
boating privileges for life, three years 
(at least one year of which cannot 
be suspended or reduced) in jail and 
probation requiring 100 hours of 

community service.
Penalties for refusal to submit to a chemical test are more 

substantial than failing the test.

Boating Accidents and Reporting
All operators of vessels involved in an accident must remain 

at the scene and assist any other vessel or person involved, if 
possible, without endangering their own vessel or the people 
aboard. The operator must also give his/her name, address and 
vessel identification number to the other operator(s) or owner of 
the damaged property.

Operators involved in a boating accident which results in 
any of the circumstances noted below shall immediately notify 
the nearest law enforcement agency with jurisdiction in the 
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Cust.
Weight

100
lbs

125
lbs

150
lbs

175
lbs

200
lbs

225
lbs

NUMBER OF DRINKS

 1

.036

.030

.025

.020

.016

.014

2

.076

.060

.050

.040

.036

.028

3

.105

.090

.075

.060

.050

.043

4

.140

.120

.100

.085

.070

.065

5

.180

.150

.120

.105

.090

.080

6

.220

.180

.150

.130

.105

.100

7

.250

.210

.170

.145

.120

.110

REMEMBER: The liver removes the equivalent of one ounce of 80 proof alcohol per hour. One ounce 
of 80 proof alcohol, 12 ounces of beer, or 6 ounces of table wine all have the same effect on the 
body. As a professional bartender, you MUST know your state’s Blood Alcohol Content laws!
All states have set their BAC to .08% as federally mandated.

DISclaIMER: Counting drinks is an accepted method of determining a customer’s BAC level. 
The server of alcohol MUST make a judgement based on counting drinks, as well as observing 
the customers behavior and appearance. The above chart will not be accurate if a customer 
has consumed alcohol prior to your serving them, or if the alcohol is not measured accurately. 
Professional Bartending Schools of America has developed the above chart as a guideline to help in 
determining the customers BAC level. The server of alchohol assumes all liability for their decisions 
in the serving alchohol. Professional Bartending Schools of America accepts no liability for any 
server’s decision based on use of the above chart.

Drink Counting MethoD
blood Alcohol Content
In a One Hour Period

area and, not later than 48 hours after the accident, report 
the matter on a form provided by the Department of Energy & 
Environmental Protection, (DEEP) Boating Division:

1. The death of any person from whatever cause.
2. The disappearance of any person from on board.
3. The injury of any person sufficient to require medical 

attention beyond simple first aid.

Any accident in which the total damages to all property 
affected is in excess of $500 must be reported by the operator 
not later than five days after the accident on forms provided by 
the DEEP. The form can be downloaded on our website: www.
ct.gov/deep/boating select Laws/Requirements/Permits.

The operator of the vessel must make out the report, if they 
cannot do so, the owner or a survivor of the accident must 
initiate the report. (Page 65)

Rules for Jet Packs and Flyboards

Public Act 16-187 set forth rules for Water Jet Packs and 
Flyboards, known as Jetted Articulated Vessels (JAVs).

• You must be 16 years of age or older to operate a (JAVs).
• You must have a valid Certificate of Personal Watercraft 

Operation to operate a JAV.
• Anyone who can turn the JAV on or off, or who can 

influence the thrust, speed or direction of the JAV is considered 
to be an operator of the JAV. Under these rules it is possible for 
a JAV to have more than one operator.

• You are not allowed to use a JAV in a Slow-No-Wake area 
or within 200 feet of any dock, shore, pier or fixed structure 
or within 100 feet of any vessel except to transit the area: NO 
TRICKS ALLOWED!

Boat Disposal
If you are the registered owner and have 

documentation to show this, then you can simply 
dispose of the boat. CGS Sec. 15-147 requires 
that you notify the DMV within 15 days of transfer, 
destruction, theft, loss or abandonment.

Below are some organizations that accept 
donated boats. You are encouraged to look online 
for additional organizations 

• Boats with Causes: 1-888-228-7320
www.boatswithcauses.org/ct-boat-donation.htm
•  Vehicle Disposal Recycling Center: 888-
495-5886
www.givecars.com
• Boat Angel: 1-800-227-2643
www.boatangel.org
• Boats 4 Heros: 240-750-9899
https://boats4heroes.org/boat-donations
• American Cancer Society: 1-888-227-5500
https://www.cancer.org/involved/donate/more-
ways-to-give/cars-for-a-cure.html

If you wish to dispose of your vessel at your 
local transfer station, contact them first to see if 
they accept vessels. Some require that the vessels 
be cut into pieces and have all liquids removed. 
Please properly dispose of all liquids. 

If you encounter an abandoned boat, see the 
guidance on the DEEP - Boating Division website 
www.ct.gov/deep/abandonedboats.

All states have set their BAC to .08% as federally mandated.
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