
Connecticut’s 
Trout & Salmon Stamp

Trout & Salmon Stamp Facts:

Frequently Asked Questions can be found on the Fish-

eries Web Page at www.ct.gov/deep/fishing, or con-

tact us via email at deep.inland.fisheries@ct.gov or by 

phone at 860-424-FISH. 

The stamp has a fee of $5.00  ($3.00 for CT residents 

age 16-17) and expires at the end of each calendar 

year. 

A trout stamp is required for anyone age 16 or older, 

including those age 65 and over who: 

 Harvests Trout, Kokanee, or Atlantic Salmon

(except as described in 26-48c).

AND/OR 

 Fishes in one of these four trout/salmon waters

1. Trout Management Areas

2. Wild Trout Management Areas

3. Trout Parks

4. Broodstock Atlantic Salmon Areas

Connecticut Department of Energy and 
Environmental Protection  
Fisheries Division  
860-424-FISH (3474) 
www.ct.gov/deep/fishing 

The Regulation 

(NEW) 26-48a-4. Trout and salmon stamp. 

(a) No person required to obtain a license to sport 
fish under the provisions of section 26-27 of the 
Connecticut General Statutes shall fish in any 
Trout Management Area, as provided in section 26
-112-46(c) of the Regulations of Connecticut State 
Agencies, any Wild Trout Management Area, as 
provided in section 26-112-46(g) of the Regula-
tions of Connecticut State Agencies, any Trout 
Park, as provided in section 26-112-46(i) of the 
Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, or any 
Atlantic Salmon Broodstock Area, as provided in 
section 26-112-46(h) of the Regulations of Con-
necticut State Agencies, without first obtaining a 
trout and salmon stamp. 

(b) Except as provided in subsection (c) of this 
subsection, no person required to obtain a license 
to sport fish under the provisions of section 26-27 
of the Connecticut General Statutes or section 26-
28b of the Connecticut General Statutes, shall 
possess on the waters of the inland district or the 
marine district, or on the shores of such waters, 
Atlantic Salmon, trout or kokanee without first ob-
taining a trout and salmon stamp. 

(c) No trout and salmon stamp shall be required 
for any person possessing trout in the waters or on 
the shores of any stream or pond the waters of 
which have been stocked with trout at no expense 
to the state. 

(d) Trout and salmon stamps shall be issued for a 
calendar year, and shall expire December thirty-
first next following the date of issue and shall not 
be transferable. The fee for a trout and salmon 
stamp shall be five dollars. 
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Funding Trout and Salmon Fishing 
for Future Generations 

Brook Trout (Salvelinus fontinalis) 



Trout Fishing in Connecticut 

Trout fishing in Connecticut is steeped in 

tradition and as such the Fisheries Divi-

sion works to provide quality fishing 

through diverse opportunities appealing 

to just about every angler and their pref-

erences—wading or floating, harvest or 

catch and release, fly, lure, or bait, 

stocked, or wild. 

 Statewide Stocked Waters 

 Trout Management Areas and Lakes 

 Wild Trout Management Areas (Class 1,2, & 3) 

 Trophy Trout Sections 

 Trout Parks 

 Community Fishing Waters 

 Kokanee Lakes 

 Broodstock Atlantic Salmon Areas 

Getting the Word Out 

The Angler’s Guide lists all designations 
and regulations for our diverse trout fish-
ing opportunities.  Follow us on Facebook 
for daily stocking posts, subscribe to the 
weekly fishing report, visit our interactive 
trout stocking map, and find new places 
to fish via “CT is Fishy” - all on our web 
page at www.ct.gov/DEEP/Fishing

The pursuit of trout means many things to many people, from creating a 

lifetime of memories with family to becoming absorbed by the water 

and obsessed with the fish.  It can be as simple or complex as you want 

to make it.  It is truly a great escape into nature.  Connecticut’s Trout 
and Salmon Stamp will help ensure the future of our trout fishing

tradition.

-William Hyatt, Chief, Bureau of Natural Resources

THANK YOU!! 

You are important to the future of fishing. 

100% of your investment in a Trout and Salmon Stamp and a Fishing License goes to support

Fisheries Programs within the DEEP Bureau of Natural Resources.  Your investment is 

protected by law (CGS 26-15, 26-15a, 26-15b). 




