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 Trout and Salmon Stamp Regulation 
 Effective March 9, 2018

Section 1. The Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies are amended by adding section 26-
48a-4 as follows: 

(NEW) 26-48a-4. Trout and salmon stamp. 

(a) No person required to obtain a license to sport fish under the provisions of section 26-27 of 
the Connecticut General Statutes shall fish in any Trout Management Area, as provided in 
section 26-112-46(c) of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, any Wild Trout 
Management Area, as provided in section 26-112-46(g) of the Regulations of Connecticut State 
Agencies, any Trout Park, as provided in section 26-112-46(i) of the Regulations of Connecticut 
State Agencies, or any Atlantic Salmon Broodstock Area, as provided in section 26-112-46(h) of 
the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, without first obtaining a trout and salmon stamp. 

(b) Except as provided in subsection (c) of this subsection, no person required to obtain a license 
to sport fish under the provisions of section 26-27 of the Connecticut General Statutes or section 
26-28b of the Connecticut General Statutes, shall possess on the waters of the inland district or 
the marine district, or on the shores of such waters, Atlantic Salmon, trout or kokanee without 
first obtaining a trout and salmon stamp. 

(c) No trout and salmon stamp shall be required for any person possessing trout in the waters or 
on the shores of any stream or pond the waters of which have been stocked with trout at no 
expense to the state. 

(d) Trout and salmon stamps shall be issued for a calendar year, and shall expire December 
thirty-first next following the date of issue and shall not be transferable. The fee for a trout and 
salmon stamp shall be five dollars. 



Simple overview and summary 

Cost:  

$5.00 for CT residents who are 18 or older and $3.00 for CT residents who are age 16 or 17. 

Expiration:   

December 31 of each year (a stamp is issued for the calendar year). 

Required: 

For anyone 16 or older who: 

- Harvests (keeps) any trout (wild or stocked) from any water, except for places that are 
stocked with trout at no expense to the state (not paid for by the state). 

- Fishes (regardless of harvest or catch and release) in one of these four designated types of 
waters 

1.

$5.00 for nonresidents who are 16 or older.

2. Trout Management Areas
3. Wild Trout Management Areas (Class 1,2, or 3)
4. Broodstock Atlantic Salmon Areas (on the Naugatuck River and Shetucket River)

Effective: March 8, 2018  

Some common questions: 

1. I am over 65 and have a free license; do I need to buy this stamp?
a. Yes (if you’re keeping trout or salmon, or fishing in those four types of areas listed

above)
2. Does a person 15 or younger need to buy the stamp?

a. No
3. I never keep any trout- do I need to buy this stamp.

a. Maybe, if you fish in one of the 4 areas listed above.  If you are not, then no.
4. I only fish for fish other than trout (bass, walleye, pike, sunfish, or channel catfish), do I

need to buy this stamp?
a. No in most places
b. Yes if you are fishing in one of the 4 areas listed above

5. I only fish for wild trout that are in waters not stocked by the state, do I need to buy this
stamp?

a. Yes if for harvest
b. No for Catch and Release
c. Yes if you are fishing in a Wild Trout Management Area

6. I only keep trout from a privately stocked pond, do I need to buy this stamp?

a. No

Trout Parks



7. If I fish in a fishing derby that is held in a pond that was not stocked by the state, do I need
to buy this stamp?

a. No
8. Do I need to display the stamp?

a. No
9. Is the Trout Stamp a physical stamp, like the Duck Stamp?

a. No, the Trout Stamp will print out as one of the privileges on your license
10. Is the money to support trout/salmon fishing in CT?

a. Yes, it is to provide additional revenue to the Fisheries Division
11. I fish in a trout park, but do not keep any fish, do I need to buy the stamp?

a. Yes – a trout park is one of 4 places where the Trout Stamp is required
12. I am fishing for bass in the Bull’s Bridge Bass Management Area on the Housatonic River

do I need to buy this stamp?
a. Yes – this section of the river is both a Bass Management Area and a Trout

Management Area
13. Does this stamp apply to broodstock Atlantic salmon and Kokanee salmon?

a. Yes –to both
14. Do I need a stamp to fish in a lake or pond that is stocked with trout by the state?

a. No if you are not going to keep any trout
b. Yes, but only if you harvest (keep) trout

15. If I do not have a stamp and accidently catch a trout in a lake and release it unharmed,
could I get in trouble with law enforcement?

a. No
16. How do I purchase the stamp?

a. Through the same way you purchase your fishing license.  The stamp will be an
optional add-on.

17. Can I buy my license now or do I have to wait for the Trout Stamp to take effect?
a. Yes, you can purchase your fishing license at any time to take advantage of current

fishing opportunities.  Once the Trout Stamp takes effect (expected with approval
from the Legislative Regulations Review Committee in late January), you can
reprint your license

18. Where does the stamp go on my fishing license?
a. It will automatically print on your license, no need to do anything special.

19. Will all the revenue from the trout stamp be provided to the Bureau of Natural Resources
for Fisheries programs?

a. Yes.  While all revenue is deposited into the Connecticut General Fund for
accounting, 100% of all revenue from fishing licenses, tags, permits, and stamps
must be provided to the Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental
Protection’s Bureau of Natural Resources.  This is secured through Connecticut
General Statutes 26-15, 26-15a, and 26-15b
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