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Background

» Mercury Thermostats banned from sale in
Connecticut in 2004.

» Many thermostats remain in service and need
to be properly managed.

» Typically 3-5 grams of mercury in a
thermostat

» Legislation needed to prevent mercury
thermostats from entering the waste stream




Manufacturer Responsibility

» Requires manufacturers to establish a
program for collection and recycling of
mercury thermostats by April of 2013

» Provide a collection container to any
wholesaler, qualified contractor, retailer or
municipality that requests one. May charge a
one-time fee of up to $75 for a container




Manufacturer Responsibility

» Provide educational material on proper
management of mercury thermostats to
participating collectors.

» Report to the Department, by April 1, 2014
and annually thereafter, the number of
thermostats collected, self-evaluation of the
effectiveness, list of participating collectors,
and a cost accounting of administrative costs.

» May not sell any thermostats after July 1,
2014 if they are not in compliance with this
act.




Wholesaler Responsibility

» By July 1, 2014, all wholesalers selling
thermostats must participate in the program
oy serving as a collection point.

» Post visible signs of participation in the
orogram

» Any wholesaler that does not participate as of
July 1, 2014 may not sell any kind of
thermostat.

» Shall not sell a thermostat from a non-
compliant manufacturer




Retailer Responsibility

» May serve as a collection point. Manufacturer
must provide them with a container if they
request one.

» Post signage about the program if they
decide to participate as a collection point.




Qualified Contractor
Responsibilities

» “Qualified” defined as any contractor who
employs seven or more service technicians or
installers or who is located in an area outside
of an urban area.

» May participate as a collection point as of
April 1, 2013 if they request a container.
Program may charge a one time fee of $75.

» Must serve as a collection point as of July 1,
2014.

» Does not need to post visible signs as a
collection point.




Qualified Contractor
Responsibilities

» May not sell any kind of thermostat after July
1, 2014 if they are not serving as a collection
point

» May not sell or distribute any thermostat
from a non-compliant manufacturer




Disposal Ban
» Currently no regulated generator may dispose

of a mercury thermostat in a solid waste
facility in Connecticut

» As of July 1, 2014, all mercury thermostats,
including residential, are banned from
disposal

» No person can demolish a building without
removing the mercury thermostats.

» Solid waste facilities are not in violation if
they make a “good faith effort” to comply,

post signage and informs haulers of disposal

prohibition




Miscellaneous Provisions

» Department shall post a list of participating
collection sites on our website

» Municipalities may participate as a collection
noint

» Department reports to legislature on
nerformance of the program on January 1,
2017 and shall make recommendations to

improve the program including statutory
changes




Contact information:

Tom.metzner@ct.gov

(860) 424-3242
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