
 
Garment Care Fact Sheet 

        

 
 
Legal Requirements  
In Connecticut, any oil or petroleum product, chemical or waste that is released in any manner 
constitutes a spill [CGS Section 22a-452c]. Spills also include leaks from underground and 
above ground tanks. Any size spill must be reported to the CT DEP’s Oil and Chemical Spill 
Response Division. 
 
What Immediate Actions Should be Taken? 
In case of a spill, stop the flow, contain the spill, call 911, report the spill to CT DEP, and then 
report to the National Response Center if necessary.  
 
When Should a Spill be Reported to the CT DEP? 
In Connecticut, any size spill of oil or petroleum product, any chemical, or waste, must be 
reported to the CT DEP. The party causing the spill or pollution and the property owner are 
responsible for: 

Ø Immediately reporting the spill to the CT DEP's Oil and Chemical 
Spill Response Division at (860) 424-3338, and beginning the 
appropriate containment and cleanup efforts, which must be 
performed by a licensed contractor [CGS Section 22a-454]. The 
telephone number is staffed 24-hours/seven days a week. 

Ø Completing a written “Report of Petroleum or Chemical Product 
Discharge, Spillage, Seepage, Filtration” and mailing it to CT DEP 
within 24 hours. Contact the CT-DEP at (860) 424-3377 for the form 

         or it may be downloaded – www.dep.state.ct.us/wst/oilspill/spillrep.pdf.  

Connecticut law establishes what is called “strict liability” for spills of most pollutants into the 
environment. This means that the person or business causing the spill and the owner of the 
property where the pollution occurred are financially responsible for clean up, regardless of fault. 
All spills must be reported and dealt with quickly. 
 
When Should an Oil Spill be Reported to the Federal Government?   
Section 311 of the Clean Water Act disallows the discharge of oil into or upon the navigable 
waters of the United States, their adjoining shorelines, or where natural resources may be 
affected [33 USC 1321, 40 CFR 110].  
 
You must report an oil spill to the National Response Center at (800) 424-8802 if: 

1. the spill is to navigable waters or the adjoining shoreline, or 

2. water quality standards could be violated, or 

3. the spill causes a sheen or discoloration, or 

4. the spill causes a sludge or emulsion. 

When you call the National Response Center to report an oil spill or release, the staff person will 
ask you the following questions: 

Spill Reporting 

http://www.dep.state.ct.us/wst/oilspill/spillrep.pdf


1. Name, location and telephone number; 
2. Name and address of the party responsible for the incident; 
3. Date and time of the incident; 
4. Location of the incident; 
5. Source and cause of the release or spill; 
6. Types of materials released or spilled; 
7. Quantity of material released or spilled; 
8. Danger or threat posed by the release or spill; 
9. Number and type of injuries (if any); 
10. Weather conditions at the incident location; and 
11. Any other information that may help emergency personnel respond to the incident. 

 
When Should a Hazardous Chemical Spill be Reported to the Federal 
Government?  
You must report a hazardous chemical spill to the National Response Center at (800) 424-8802 if 
the release could threaten human health off the property. 

When you call the National Response Center to report a hazardous chemical spill, the staff 
person will ask you the following questions: 

♦ The chemical name; 
♦ An indication of whether the substance is extremely hazardous; 
♦ An estimate of the quantity released into the environment; 
♦ The time and duration of the release; 
♦ Whether the release occurred into air, water, and/or land; 
♦ Any known or anticipated acute or chronic health risks associated with the emergency, 

and where necessary, advice regarding medical attention for exposed individuals; 
♦ Proper precautions, such as evacuation or sheltering in place; and 
♦ Name and telephone number of contact person. 

The facility owner or operator is also required to provide a written follow-up emergency notice 
as soon as practicable after the release. The follow-up notice or notices must: 

♦ Update information include in the initial notice, and 
♦ Provide information on actual response actions taken and advice regarding medical 

attention necessary for exposed individuals. 

Did you know?   In the case of spill, the CT DEP will give you the opportunity to hire a 
licensed environmental contractor.  If you do not make immediate proper arrangements, the CT 
DEP may make direct arrangements for the clean up, billing you later for the cost.  You have 30 
days to pay from the date that the CT DEP demands payment. After that time, interest and 
administration costs start to accrue.    
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