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Raw milk is not pasteurized; pasteurization destroys 
organisms that may be harmful to human health. 

Dairy and Frozen Desserts Requirements  
 

 
Dairy products are one of the most regulated foods and must be handled properly at all 
stages of production, distribution and use in order to be safe for human consumption. The 
following recommendations are critical in maintaining safe, quality product. 
 
Milk 
Refrigeration is the single most important factor in maintaining the quality of milk. By 
law, Grade A milk must be maintained at a temperature below 40°F. to prevent the 
growth of spoilage bacteria.  It is critical that these temperatures be maintained through 
warehousing, distribution, delivery, handling and storage. It is wise to refrigerate milk 
promptly after purchase and each use. Properly refrigerated, milk should last 3-5 days 
beyond the sell date. The colder milk is kept the longer it lasts.  
 
According to Section 22-133-132 of the Regulations of the State of Connecticut, each 
raw milk container that is not pasteurized and is offered for retail sale must bear a label 
that conspicuously and legibly bears the exact language below in letters no less than 1/8 
inch in height and be of a color that contrasts with the rest of the label:  
 

 
 
 
 
Licenses 
The following licenses are required in the state of Connecticut: 

 
Retail Raw Milk, Raw Milk Cheese Mfg 
If you produce, retail raw milk and/or manufacture raw milk cheese 
 
Milk Dealer License  
If you want to process or distribute milk, yogurt, egg nog, cheese, and dry milk 
 
Cheese Manufacturer 
If you pasteurize milk and manufacture cheese 
 
Milk, Distributor 
If you want to distribute (only) fluid milk and/or yogurt 
 
Milk, Retail Store License 
If you sell fluid milk and milk products at retail 

 
Cheeses  
Fresh (un-aged) and soft and semi-soft cheeses must be maintained at a temperature 
below 40°F. and must be made from pasteurized milk. Any cheeses produced from raw 
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milk must be aged for a minimum of 60 days and maintained at a temperature less than 
45°F. Proper labeling for all cheeses is required 
 
Milk, Soft and Semi Soft Cheese 
 
C.G.S. § 22-194 applies to fluid milk and milk products such as milk, flavored milk, 
cream, sour cream and yogurt, these products must be maintained at a temperature below 
40°F to retard the growth of spoilage bacteria and in the case of Retail Raw Milk this 
temperature will also retard the growth of most pathogens. Soft spreadable cheese and 
semi-soft cheese are manufactured from pasteurized milk, sold as a fresh product and 
must be stored at the temperatures prescribed in the Food Code (below 45°F). Any ice 
used to maintain refrigeration temperatures must be made from potable water. Care must 
be taken not to contaminate the pouring lip of containers. Coolers must be cleaned and 
disinfected before each use. It is critical that these temperatures be maintained through 
warehousing, distribution, delivery, handling and storage. Consumers should be advised 
to refrigerate milk promptly after purchase and each use. Properly refrigerated, milk 
should last 3-5 days beyond the sell date. Refrigeration is the single most important factor 
in maintaining the quality of dairy products.  
 
Aged and Hard Cheeses 
 
These cheeses are characterized by their moisture content, texture, pH, water activity and 
aging. The relative safety of these cheeses at certain temperatures and their storage 
requirements vary considerably based on these characteristics. All cheeses are required to 
be maintained at 45oF or below, unless approved by the local health department based on 
adequate laboratory data submitted to the health authority for review. Long 
term storage of these products such as overnight storage must comply with the Food 
Code (below 45°F) as well as cheese lacking the documentation cited above. Per the 
Code of Federal Regulations and R.C.S.A. § 22-133-128 any cheese manufactured from 
unpasteurized milk must be aged for a minimum of 60 days before being offered for sale. 
Proper labeling for all cheeses is required. Consumers should be advised as to the best 
handling and storage practices for each type of cheese. 
 
Frozen desserts  
Anyone manufacturing frozen desserts for wholesale or retail sale must be licensed by the 
Department of Consumer Protection. Examples of frozen desserts are soft serve ice 
cream, batch made ice cream, shakes, and popsicles. 
 
For more information concerning dairy products (other than frozen desserts) contact the 
following: 
 
Department of Agriculture 
Bureau of Inspection and Regulation – Dairy Division 
165 Capitol Avenue, G8A 
Hartford, CT 06106 
(860) 713-2508 
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FAX: (860) 713-2515 
 
Statutory Reference: 
Sec. 22-127 through 22-203z. 
 
For more information on frozen desserts contact: 
 
Department of Consumer Protection 
Division of Food and Standards  
165 Capitol Avenue 
Hartford, CT 06106 
(860) 713-6160 
FAX: 860-713-7237 
 
Statutory Reference: 
Sec. 21a-48 through 21a-58 
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