
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

  * 

IN THE MATTER OF: * ORDER TO CEASE AND DESIST 

 * 

V & R RECOVERY  * AND 

 * 

 (“Respondent”) * ORDER IMPOSING CIVIL PENALTY 

  * 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

 

I.  PRELIMINARY STATEMENT 

 

 WHEREAS, the Banking Commissioner (“Commissioner”) is charged with the administration of  

Part XII of Chapter 669, Sections 36a-800 to 36a-814, inclusive, of the Connecticut General Statutes, 

“Consumer Collection Agencies”, and the regulations promulgated thereunder, Sections 36a-809-6 to 

36a-809-17, inclusive, of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies (“Regulations”); 

 WHEREAS, the Commissioner, through the Consumer Credit Division of the Department of 

Banking (“Department”), conducted an investigation of the activities of Respondent, pursuant to the 

authority granted by Section 36a-17 of the Connecticut General Statutes, as amended by Public Act 

18-173, to determine if it had violated, was violating or was about to violate the provisions of the 

Connecticut General Statutes or Regulations within the jurisdiction of the Commissioner; 

 WHEREAS, on October 22, 2018, the Commissioner, acting pursuant to Section 36a-804(b) of the 

Connecticut General Statutes, as amended by Public Act 18-173, and Sections 36a-52(a) and 36a-50(a) of 

the 2018 Supplement to the General Statutes, issued a Notice of Intent to Issue Order to Cease and Desist, 

Notice of Intent to Impose Civil Penalty and Notice of Right to Hearing (collectively “Notice”) against 

Respondent, which Notice is incorporated herein by reference; 
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 WHEREAS, on October 25, 2018, the Notice was caused to be mailed by certified mail, return 

receipt requested, to Respondent (Certified Mail No. 70123050000069995613); 

 WHEREAS, the Notice provided Respondent with the opportunity for a hearing, and stated that if 

a hearing was not requested by Respondent within 14 days of its receipt or if Respondent failed to appear 

at any such hearing, the allegation would be deemed admitted, and the Commissioner would issue an 

order that Respondent cease and desist from violating Section 36a-801(a) of the 2018 Supplement to the 

General Statutes, as amended by Public Act 18-173, and may order a civil penalty in an amount not to 

exceed One Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000) per violation be imposed upon Respondent; 

 WHEREAS, on October 31, 2018, Respondent received the Notice and failed to request a hearing 

within the prescribed time period; 

 WHEREAS, the Commissioner alleged in the Notice, with respect to the activity described therein, 

that Respondent’s acting within this state as a consumer collection agency without a consumer collection 

agency license constitutes a violation of Section 36a-801(a) of the 2018 Supplement to the General 

Statutes, as amended.  Such violation forms the basis to issue an order to cease and desist pursuant to 

Section 36a-804(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, as amended, and Section 36a-52(a) of the 2018 

Supplement to the General Statutes, and to impose a civil penalty pursuant to Section 36a-804(b) of the 

Connecticut General Statutes, as amended, and Section 36a-50(a) of the 2018 Supplement to the General 

Statutes; 

 WHEREAS, Section 36a-52(a) of the 2018 Supplement to the General Statutes provides, in 

pertinent part, that “[i]f the person does not request a hearing within the time specified in the notice or 

fails to appear at the hearing, the commissioner shall issue an order to cease and desist against the person.  

No such order shall be issued except in accordance with the provisions of chapter 54”; 

 WHEREAS, Section 36a-50(a)(2) of the 2018 Supplement to the General Statutes provides, in 

pertinent part, that “[i]f such person does not request a hearing within the time specified in the notice or 

fails to appear at the hearing, the commissioner may, as the facts require, order that a civil penalty not 

exceeding one hundred thousand dollars per violation be imposed upon such person”; 
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 WHEREAS, Section 36a-50(a)(3) of the 2018 Supplement to the General Statutes provides that 

“[e]ach action undertaken by the commissioner under this subsection shall be in accordance with the 

provisions of chapter 54”; 

 AND WHEREAS, Section 36a-1-31(a) of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies provides, 

in pertinent part, that “[w]hen a party fails to request a hearing within the time specified in the notice, the 

allegations against the party may be deemed admitted.  Without further proceedings or notice to the party, 

the commissioner shall issue a final decision in accordance with section 4-180 of the Connecticut General 

Statutes and section 36a-1-52 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies”. 

 

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 

 1.  The Commissioner finds that the matters asserted, as set forth in paragraphs 1 through 6, 

inclusive, of Section II of the Order and Notice, shall constitute findings of fact within the meaning of 

Section 4-180(c) of the Connecticut General Statutes, and that the conclusions, as set forth in Section III 

of the Order and Notice, shall constitute conclusions of law within the meaning of Section 4-180(c) of the 

Connecticut General Statutes and Section 36a-1-52 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies. 

 2.  The Commissioner finds that Respondent has engaged in acts or conduct which, pursuant to 

Section 36a-804(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, as amended, and Section 36a-52(a) of the 2018 

Supplement to the General Statutes, forms the basis to issue an order to cease and desist against 

Respondent, and, pursuant to Section 36a-804(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, as amended, and 

Section 36a-50(a) of the 2018 Supplement to the General Statutes, forms the basis to impose a civil 

penalty upon Respondent. 

 3.  The Commissioner finds that the Notice was given in compliance with Sections 36a-52(a) and 

36a-50(a) of the 2018 Supplement to the General Statutes and Section 4-177 of the Connecticut General 

Statutes. 
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III.  ORDER 

 

 Having read the record, I HEREBY ORDER, pursuant to Section 36a-804(b) of the Connecticut 

General Statutes, as amended, and Sections 36a-52(a) and 36a-50(a) of the 2018 Supplement to the 

General Statutes, that: 

 1. V & R Recovery CEASE AND DESIST from violating Section 36a-801(a) of the 2018 

Supplement to the General Statutes, as amended; 

 

 2. A CIVIL PENALTY of One Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000) be imposed upon 

V& R Recovery, to be remitted to the Department of Banking by wire transfer, cashier’s 

check, certified check or money order, made payable to “Treasurer, State of Connecticut”, 

no later than thirty (30) days from the date this Order is mailed; and 

 

 3. This Order shall become effective when mailed. 

 

 

 

Dated at Hartford, Connecticut, 

this 27th day of December 2018. ____________/s/____________________________ 

  Jorge L. Perez 

  Banking Commissioner 

 

 

 

This Order was sent by certified mail, 

return receipt requested, to  

Respondent on December 31, 2018. 

 

 

V & R Recovery Certified Mail No. 7016 2710 0000 5896 9339 

239 S. Dearborn Street, 5th Floor 

Chicago, Illinois 60604 

 

 


