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Department of Revenue Services Form S-2
State of Connecticut

CT Succession Tax File Number, if known

Inheritance Tax Section Succession Tax Return
PO Box 2972 For decedents dying on or after July 1, 2004
Hartford CT 06104-2972 Amended Return
(Rev. 10/04) Important: This return must be filed in duplicate with the appropriate Probate Court.
The Probate Court will issue the Certificate of No Tax, if applicable. Please read all
Identification instructions prior to completing this return.
Decedent’s Name (last, first, middle initial) Decedent’s Date of Death Probate Court

Decedent’s Residence at Date of Death (street address)

Decedent’s Social Security Number

City State ZIP Code Was the decedent a Connecticut resident?
Yes No
Type of Estate If testate, was will admitted to Probate Court?
Testate Intestate Tax Purposes Only Yes No

Is the value of the decedent’s gross
estate, including life insurance

proceeds and real estate outside of
Connecticut, more than $1,000,000?

| Yes No

If yes, the estate may be required to
file Form CT-706 (June 2004 rev.).

Schedule 1 — Recapitulation | You must complete Schedules 2, 3, and 4, if required, before you complete Schedule 1. |

Beneficiary Class: For Classes A, B, and C, refer to Form C-107, Tax Tables for
Succession and Transfer Taxes, to determine the exemption amount allowed per
class as of the decedent’s date of death. Only one exemption is allowed per
class, not per beneficiary.

Column |
Totals From
Schedule 3

Column 1l
Totals From
Schedule 4

Column 1l

(Col. I +Col. )

Class AA: husband or wife

Class A: parent, grandparent, adoptive parent, and any natural or adopted
descendent (for example: daughter, son, grandchild, great-grandchild)

Class B: brother or sister (full or half); adopted brother or sister; any natural or
adopted descendent of a brother or sister, including a niece or nephew related by
blood; stepchild; and spouse or unremarried widow(er) of natural or adopted child.

Class C: all other persons, associations, or corporations not mentioned in Class AA,
A, or B (for example: cousins, uncles, aunts, sisters-in-law, brothers-in-law,
stepbrother, stepsister, step-grandchild, or niece or nephew related by marriage).

Exempt: charitable, educational, literary, scientific, historical, religious, and
government-related organizations.

Total: This is the total amount passing to all classes.

The Commissioner of Revenue Services reserves the right to require the filing of Form S-1 if all the required information has not been

provided or if, in the Commissioner’s opinion, a succession tax may be due.

Declaration: | declare under penalty of law that | have examined this return and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is a true, complete, and correct
statement of the gross taxable estate of the decedent named above, and of the decedent’s beneficiaries, as required by the statutes of the State of
Connecticut. | understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return to DRS is a fine or not more than $5,000, or imprisonment for not more than five
years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other than the taxpayer is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Fiduciary’s Name Attorney or Authorized Representative’s Name

Signature of Fiduciary Date Signature of Attorney or Authorized Representative Date
Address Firm Name and Address

City State ZIP City State ZIP
Telephone Number Telephone Number

Certification to Commissioner of Revenue Services (For Probate Court Use Only)

The within and foregoing is a true and attested copy of the tax return on file with the Probate Court for the district

named below.

District of Date Signature Judge
Clerk
Asst. Clerk
Certificate of Opinion of No Tax (For Probate Court Use Only) To be used if no tax is due.
Apportionment A A B c Exempt
by Class $ $ $ $ $
Remarks:

Probate Court Seal

| have examined this return and have calculated, as shown above, the taxable value of transfers reported for each class of beneficiary. | find that this value is less for each
class than the exemption applicable to that class. In my opinion, therefore, there will be no succession tax due on account of transfers reported on this return and | so certify.

Date Signature of Judge

GO TO PAGE 2




Schedule 2 — General Questions: Read carefully. Check the appropriate box for each question below. Failure to attach the applicable supporting
documentation may delay processing and result in an objection being filed. If the decedent was not a resident of Connecticut, answer Questions 1
through 4 for any Connecticut real or tangible personal property.

1.

At the time of death, did the decedent own or have an interest in any of
the following sole ownership property? If Yes, report the property on

Schedule 3.

D Yes D No
D Yes D No
D Yes I:l No
|:| Yes I:I No

At the time of death, did the decedent own or have an interest in any of
the following property owned jointly with right of survivorship? If Yes,

report the property on Schedule 4.
I:l Yes |:| No

I:l Yes D No
D Yes D No
I:l Yes |:| No

Are any amounts due to a beneficiary or this decedent’s estate from a
pension, stock-bonus or profit-sharing plan, or an annuity? If Yes, report

that amount on Schedule 4.
D Yes I:lNo

Did the decedent create any trusts, including trustee bank accounts,
during his or her life? If Yes, attach a copy of the trust(s) and report the
value of the trust(s) on Schedule 4.

I:l Yes I:lNo

a. Real estate

b. Securities

c. Bank accounts

d. Other personal property

a. Real estate

b. Securities

c. Bank accounts

d. Other personal property

. Was a disclaimer filed in this estate?

5. Did the decedent have an interest in life insurance on the life of another?

If Yes, report the cash surrender value on Schedule 3.

EI Yes DNO

. During his or her life, did the decedent make any transfers of real property

to another, retaining a life use for himself or herself; or where he or she
continued to have any use in the property? If Yes, report the fair market
value of the property on the date of death on Schedule 4.

D Yes I:INO

. Within three years of death, did the decedent make any gifts required to

be reported on Form CT-709, Connecticut Gift Tax Return, to any person?
If Yes, report to whom, relationship, nature of the gift, and the date of the

gift on Schedule 4.
I:l Yes DNO

If Yes, submit a copy of each

|:| Yes I:INO

disclaimer.

. Are any of the heirs in this estate nieces or nephews related by marriage?

If Yes, report transfers to those nieces or nephews as transfers to

Class C beneficiaries.
D Yes DNo

Schedule 3 — Solely Owned Property

Description of Property

Name of Beneficiary
and Relationship to Decedent

Fair Market Value
Attributed to Estate

Beneficiary
Class

Schedule 4 — Jointly Owned Property and Property Passing Other Than by Will or Laws of Intestacy

Description of Property

Name of Survivor or Beneficiary
and Relationship to Decedent

Conceded Value
Attributed to Estate

Total Value
at Death

Beneficiary
Class

Attach additional sheets if necessary to provide the required information for Schedules 3 and 4.
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Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut

Inheritance Tax Section

PO Box 2972

Hartford CT 06104-2972

(Rev. 10/04)

General Information

Form S-2, Succession Tax Return, is used by those estates where it
appears no succession tax will be due because the gross value of
property passing to any class of beneficiary is less than the exemption
for the class as of the decedent’s date of death. Refer to Form
C-107, Tax Tables for Succession and Transfer Taxes, to determine
whether succession tax is due.

Who Must Sign and File the Return

The administrator(s) or executor(s) of the decedent’s estate must
sign and file Form S-2. If there is no administrator or executor, then
the survivor or transferee must file Form S-2. If there is more than
one fiduciary, all must sign the return.

Form S-2 must be filed for each decedent who, at the time of death,
was a Connecticut resident. Form S-2 must also be filed for each
decedent who, at the time of death, was a nonresident of Connecticut
but who owned real or tangible personal property located in
Connecticut. If the decedent is claimed to be a nonresident of
Connecticut, and the estate is required to file Form CT-706,
Connecticut Estate Tax Return, then the estate must also complete
and file Form C-3, Domicile Declaration, with DRS.

When and Where to File

The return must be filed in duplicate with the Probate Court within six
months of the decedent’s death.

If the decedent was, at the time of death, a Connecticut resident, the
return must be filed in the Probate Court for the district in which the
decedent resided at death. If the decedent was, at the time of death,
a nonresident of Connecticut at death, the return must be filed with
the Probate Court for the district within which reportable property is
located.

Extension for Filing

To request an extension to file Form S-2, submit a written request to
DRS. In your request, include the estate name, the Connecticut
succession tax file number, if known, and the date you expect to file
that return. This should be submitted no later than six months from
the date of death. You will be notified only if your extension request
is denied.

Schedule 2 — General Questions

Answer all questions and determine the appropriate schedule on
which to report property that is passing or being transferred. Solely-
owned property passing by will or laws of intestacy should be reported
on Schedule 3. Jointly-owned survivorship property or property
passing other than by will or laws of intestacy should be reported on
Schedule 4. Attach supporting documentation as required.

Schedules 3 and 4 — General Information

List property on the appropriate schedule. Provide the names of
survivors or beneficiaries, their relationship to the decedent, and
their beneficiary class. Indicate the value of the property. If the
decedent owned less than a full interest in the property, indicate the
decedent’s percentage of ownership and the full fair market value in
the Description column. Enter the value of the decedent’s percentage
in the Fair Market Value Attributed to the Estate column. Make

Instructions for Form S-2
Succession Tax Return

descriptions brief, but sufficient to accurately identify the property
being reported, and state the decedent’s interest in the property,
such as, full interest, one-half interest, one-third interest, etc.

Add property listed on Schedules 3 and 4 by beneficiary class. For
more information on how to determine the beneficiary class, refer to
the Determination of Beneficiary Class section of the instructions.
Carry totals to the appropriate row and column of Schedule 1.

Reportable Assets: All property in which the decedent had any interest
must be reported on the return at its fair market value on the date of
death. Assets which must be reported on the return include:

A. If the decedent was a resident of Connecticut:

e Tangible personal property* located in Connecticut;
e Real property located in Connecticut**; and
¢ All intangible personal property*** wherever located.

B) Ifthe decedent was not a resident of Connecticut:

e Real property located in Connecticut**; and
e Tangible personal property™* located in Connecticut.

* Tangible personal property includes, for example: antiques, art
collections, automobiles, boats, clothing, coin collections, household
furniture and furnishings, jewelry, stamp collections, etc.

** The description of the real estate should include the dimensions or
number of acres; and whether it is a home, rental, commercial, farm, or
vacant land.

*** Intangible personal property includes, for example: bank accounts,
cash, stocks, bonds, pensions, copyrights, interest in estates of other
decedents, royalties, mortgages, notes, partnerships, remainder
interest in trusts and estates, unincorporated businesses, etc.

Exceptions

e Insurance on the life of the decedent is not subject to the
succession tax. Insurance owned by the decedent on the life of
another is taxable.

e Proceeds of a wrongful death action are not subject to the
succession tax.

Values: All property must be reported at its fair market value on the
date of death. For real estate, the fair market value may be determined
through a written appraisal by a realtor or by using sales figures for
comparable properties. For stocks quoted on a stock exchange, use
the mean between the high and the low or bid and asked price at the
date of death. For bank accounts, be sure that all interest has been
posted as of the date of death. For U.S. Savings Bonds, use the
value at death, not the face amount.

If the decedent owned less than a full interest in real property and the
property was subject to a mortgage, or both, report the percentage of
ownership in the property, the full value of the property, and the full
unpaid balance of the mortgage under Description of the Property
and the value of decedent’s interest in the equity under Fair Market
Value Attributed to Estate. On Schedule 4, enter the value of the
property, less the unpaid balance of the mortgage, under Total Value
at Death.
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If the decedent owned property that cannot be readily valued, such
as a sole proprietorship, a partnership interest, or stock in a closely
held corporation, Form S-1, Succession Tax Return, should be filed.

Schedule 3 — Solely Owned Property

On this schedule, report all solely owned property passing by will or
laws of intestacy.

Schedule 4 — Jointly Owned Property and Property
Passing Other Than by Will or Laws of Intestacy

On this schedule, report all property held jointly with a right of
survivorship and all property passing other than by will or laws of
intestacy.

Jointly Owned Property Conceded Fully Taxable: When property
is owned in survivorship and is conceded to be for the benefit of the
decedent alone, and was funded in a large percentage by the decedent,
report its full value under the Conceded Value Attributed to Estate
column.

Jointly Owned Property Conceded Fractionally Taxable: When
property is owned in survivorship and is claimed fractionally taxable,
and was funded in large percentage by the survivor, or the decedent
resided together with the survivor, report the following:

e Date made joint; and
e Percentages of direct contribution by the decedent and survivor(s).

Report the full value of the item under Total Value at Death column
and the decedent’s fractional interest under Conceded Value
Attributed to Estate column.

If the property consists of survivorship bank accounts or U.S. Savings
Bonds, or both, and is claimed fractionally taxable, deduct the special
$5,000 exemption from the aggregate value under Total Value at Death
and then report the decedent’s fractional interest in the balance under
Conceded Value Attributed to Estate.

Death Benefits, Annuities, Pension Plans, Retirement Benefits:
Generally, the value to the beneficiary at death of the right to receive
pension profit sharing and like plans is taxable. However, if a plan
was a qualified plan under the provisions of the Internal Revenue
Code, only that proportion of the value of the plan attributable to
contributions made to the plan by the decedent is subject to tax.
Please note that when the proceeds of an exempt qualified plan are
rolled over into an Individual Retirement Account, this exemption is
lost and the entire amount becomes subject to succession tax.

Reportable transfers include the following:

¢ Individually purchased policies:
1. Annuity policies;
2. Retirement annuity policies;
3. Matured endowment policies;
4

. Supplementary contracts; For example, if the decedent elected
to leave the proceeds of insurance he received as a beneficiary
with the insurer under terms where the balance will be paid
after his death to persons he designated;

5. IRA, deferred compensation, and similar plans; and
6. Private annuities.

¢ Pension profit-sharing and like plans:

1. Payments under an employees’ trust or plan forming part of a
pension, stock bonus, or profit sharing plan;

2. Payments under a contract purchased by an employees’ trust
or plan forming part of a pension, stock bonus, or profit sharing,
thrift, or similar plan; and

3. Payments under a retirement annuity contract purchased by
an employer under a plan.

e Bonuses and death benefits received from employers after death.

Schedule 1 — Recapitulation

You must complete Schedules 2, 3, and 4, if required, before you
complete Schedule 1. Carry the totals for each beneficiary class from
Schedules 3 and 4 to the appropriate row and column of Schedule 1.
Add columns across and down. Enter the total amount passing to all
classes in the Total box.

Intestate property: When a decedent does not have a will and
property is not in a trust, in survivorship, or in some form of retirement
plan, etc., but is in the decedent’s name alone, that property is referred
to as intestate property. The property passes by the laws of descent
and distribution found in Chapter 802b of the Connecticut General
Statutes.

Contingency compromise: The necessity for this type of compromise
arises when, because of language in a will or a trust instrument, the
taking party or an amount to be received by a taking party cannot be
determined as of the date of death, but must await the outcome of
certain contingencies that are to happen sometime in the future. If
any and all possible contingencies would result in a nontaxable estate,
file Form S-2. Ifthe result of certain contingencies would result in a
taxable estate, file Form S-1.

Supporting Documentation

A copy of the death certificate must be attached to each copy of the tax
return. If real estate is reported, DRS may request a copy of the deed
and the assessed value or a written appraisal. Refer to Schedule 2 of
the tax return for additional supporting documentation requirements.

Certificate of Opinion of No Tax

Generally, the Probate Court is responsible for issuing the Certificate
of Opinion of No Tax.

Release of Lien and Consents to Transfer

Generally, the Probate Court issues the release of lien on real property.
Under Connecticut law, a consent to transfer (or waiver) on intangible
personal property is not required. See Special Notice 2001(8), 2001
Legislation Affecting Succession Tax, for more information.

Determination of Beneficiary Class

You may determine the beneficiary class by reading the information
below or by referring to the Alphabetical Listing of Relationship of
Beneficiary to Decedent. A person is a:

Class AA beneficiary if he or she is the decedent’s spouse. The
marriage must be recognized according to Connecticut law.

Class A beneficiary if he or she is the decedent’s parent, grandparent,
adoptive parent, and a natural or adopted descendent of the decedent
such as a daughter, son, grandchild, or great-grandchild.

Class B beneficiary if he or she is the decedent’s brother or sister
(full or half), a natural or adopted descendant of the decedent’s brother
or sister (niece or nephew related to decedent by blood or adoption),
stepchild, or a spouse or unremarried widow(er) of the decedent’s
natural or adopted child.
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Class C beneficiary if he or she is not a Class AA beneficiary, a Class
A beneficiary, or a Class B beneficiary. For example, a Class C
beneficiary may include the decedent’s cousin, uncle, aunt, sister-in-
law, brother-in-law, stepbrother, stepsister, or step-grandchild, niece
or nephew related by marriage, as well as unrelated individuals, and
associations or corporations that do not qualify as an exempt
organization.

Alphabetical Listing of Relationship of Beneficiary to Decedent

Class of
Relationship Beneficiary
AdOPLIVE PATENE ...ovitiiiiiiieceeeeec e A
adopted descendant (child, grandchild, great-grandchild) ... A
AUINT oottt ettt ettt ettt et ettt ene e C
brother (full or half) .......ccoooiiiiiieii e, B
brother-in-1aw .........cocooiiiiiiiee C
child (natural or adopted daughter or SON) ......c.ccevevvereenenne A
COUSIIL totntiiteteetete sttt ettt ettt ettt ettt be b et be e C
daughter-in-law (spouse, or unremarried widower
of the decedent’s SON) .....cceecvieviieiiieiieeieeee e B
TIENA e C
grandchild, great-grandchild .............ccooiiiiiiiiiniii A
GIaNAPATENLS ...oveeiiieeieiieiieie ettt ee e A
nephew or niece of decedent
(related to decedent by blood or adoption) ..........cceceeeeeneene. B
nephew or niece of decedent’s spouse
(related to decedent by marriage) .......oceevveveneeeeeeienieeienee, C
PATENL 1ottt A
sister (half or full) .......cooveiiiiiei e, B
SISEET-TN=1AW ..ottt e C
son-in-law (spouse or unremarried widower
of the decedent’s daughter) ........cccoevevieiiniiniininininencns B
spouse (husband or Wife) .......cccoooveiiiiiiniiiiiic, AA
stepbrother or StePSISTEr.......cevuiriirieiiiieiiecec e C
SEEPCHILA e B
step-grandchild ..., C
STEPPATENT .veeiiieiiieeiieeiee ettt ete e reeteeereesaeeenbeeseeeeseenseeas C
UNCLE 1.ttt C

Note: Spouses of blood relatives, as well as relatives of the decedent’s
spouse, are not blood relatives.

Tax Tables

For the most current tax tables for each beneficiary class, refer to
Form C-107, Tax Tables for Succession and Transfer Taxes.

Exempt Organizations: The tax tables do not cover the net taxable
estate passing to any charitable, educational, literary, scientific
historical, religious, or government-related organization, which is
exempt from succession tax.

Amended Return

If you are filing an amended return, check the Amended Return box
on the front of the return and complete the return with the corrected
figures.

Connecticut Estate Tax

For estates of decedents dying on or after July 1,2004, and before
January 1, 2005: The estates of decedents dying on or after July 1,
2004, and before January 1, 2005, are subject to a special Connecticut
estate tax, rather than to the regular Connecticut estate tax under
Chapter 217 of the Connecticut General Statutes.

The special Connecticut estate tax is computed by using the applicable
exclusion amount (and the applicable credit amount) under I.R.C.
§2010(c):

e Asifadecedent dying on or after July 1, 2004, and before January
1,2005, had died during calendar year 2002; and

e Applying .R.C. §2010(c) as it was in effect for the estate of a
decedent dying during calendar year 2002.

See Special Notice 2004(1.1), Special Estate Tax on Estates of
Decedents Dying On or After July 1, 2004, and Before January I,
2005, for more information.

For estates of decedents dying before July 1, 2004: Whenever a
resident estate is required to file federal Form 706, United States
Estate (Generation-Skipping Transfer) Tax Return, the estate is
required to file Form CT-706, Connecticut Estate Tax Return.
Whenever a nonresident estate owning real property or tangible
personal property, or both, located in Connecticut is required to file
federal Form 706, the estate is required to file Form CT-706.

The Connecticut estate tax is a transfer tax that absorbs the credit
allowable for state death taxes on federal Form 706, thereby shifting
a portion of the federal estate tax to Connecticut by picking up the
credit allowed for state death taxes under the Internal Revenue Code.

For estates of decedents dying on or after January 1, 2005: The
Connecticut estate tax does not apply to estates of decedents dying
on or after January 1, 2005.

How to Get Help

If you have any questions, contact the Inheritance/Estate Tax Section
from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday at 860-297-5737.

Forms and Publications are available anytime by:
e Internet: Preview and download forms and publications from the
DRS Web site at www.ct.gov/DRS

e (all 860-297-5698 from the handset attached to your fax machine
and select from the menu. Only forms (not publications) are
available through TAX-FAX.

The forms mentioned in these instructions are also available from
Connecticut probate courts.
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