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STATE OF CONNECTICUT

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES

450 COLUMBUS BOULEVARD, SUITE 1

HARTFORD, CONNECTICUT 06103-1837

You are now registered for the business entity tax (BET).

The BET is a $250 tax due every other taxable year and is imposed on certain business types.

What do you need to do?

File Form OP-424, Business Entity Tax Return, and pay
the $250 tax for each two-year taxable period or partial
period that the entity is required to be registered with
or obtain a certificate of authority from the Connecticut
Secretary of the State.

How do you file?

Form OP-424 can quickly and easily be filed and
paid electronically.

The Departmentof Revenue Services (DRS) encourages
you to file and pay Form OP-424 electronically through
the DRS Taxpayer Service Center (TSC). The TSC
allows taxpayers to electronically file, pay, and manage
state tax responsibilities. Visit www.ct.gov/TSC to
make electronic transactions or administer your account
online.

To file a paper return, complete the return and mail it
to:

Department of Revenue Services

State of Connecticut

PO Box 2936

Hartford CT 06104-2936

If you file a paper return, it must be postmarked on or
before the due date.

Make your check payable to Commissioner of
Revenue Services. To ensure your payment is applied
to your account, write “Form OP-424" and the entity’s
Connecticut Tax Registration Number on the front of
your check. Sign check and paper clip it to the front of
the return. Do not send cash. DRS may submit your
check to your bank electronically.

When is the tax return due?

Form OP-424 is due on or before the fifteenth day
of the fourth month (April 15 for calendar year filers)
following the close of every other taxable year of the
business entity. A business entity’s taxable year is
its taxable year for federal income tax purposes and
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includes any short taxable year. If the due date falls
on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the return will
be considered timely if filed by the next business day.

The BET is due even if the entity:

* Never conducted business;

e Is no longer actively conducting business;
e Had no income; or

e Had a loss.

Penalty and Interest

The penalty for late payment of the tax is $50. If the
tax is not paid by the due date, interest is computed on
any unpaid tax at the rate of 1% per month or fraction
of a month until the tax is paid in full.

When does the entity’s obligation to file
Form OP-424 and pay the BET end?

An entity is liable for the BET until it ceases to transact
business in Connecticut and officially dissolves/
withdraws with the Connecticut Secretary of the State.

An entity is also liable for the BET for the two-year
taxable period in which it officially dissolves/withdraws
with the Connecticut Secretary of the State. If an entity
is liable for any portion of the two-year taxable period,
the entire tax is due and cannot be prorated. You can
dissolve the entity with the Connecticut Secretary of
the State by:

« Calling 860-509-6003; or

« Visiting www.concord-sots.ct.gov

Once the entity is dissolved with the Connecticut
Secretary of the State, DRS will be notified and we
will close the BET account as of the dissolution or
withdrawal date.

Additional Information

See Informational Publication 2016(14), Q & A on
the Business Entity Tax. Visit the DRS website at
www.ct.gov/DRS.



