
HHP-2018
Second Hospital User Fee

Return Fiscal Year 2018

Department of Revenue Services 
State of Connecticut 

(New 04/18)

Declaration: I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to the 
best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. I understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to DRS 
is a fine of not more than $5,000, imprisonment for not more than five years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other than the taxpayer 
is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Name of hospital   

Address                      Number and street  PO Box

City, town, or post office  State ZIP Code 

Taxpayer

Type  
or  

Print

Connecticut Tax Registration Number

Federal Employer ID Number (FEIN)

CT Dept. of Public Health License Number

 

Date received (DRS use only)

Complete this return in blue or black ink. The Second Hospital User Fee must be paper filed, but paid electronically.
When to File: Form HHP-2018 is due on or before the last day of April 2018 and July 2018, even if no fee is due. If the due date falls 
on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the return will be considered timely if filed by the next business day. Do not use this return for 
calendar quarters beginning on or after July 1, 2018.
Read instructions before completing this return.

1. Net revenue from inpatient hospital services for federal fiscal year 2016. See instructions 1. 00

2. Inpatient Hospital User Fee due for fiscal year 2018: Multiply Line 1 by 6%. 2. 00

3. Net revenue from outpatient hospital services for federal fiscal year 2016. See instructions. 3. 00

4. Outpatient Hospital User Fee due for fiscal year 2018: Multiply Line 3 by 12.3325%. See instructions. 4. 00

5. Total Hospital User Fee due for fiscal year 2018: Add Line 2 and Line 4. 5. 00

6. Total estimated payments. See instructions. 6. 00

7. Balance due for fiscal year 2018: Subtract Line 6 from Line 5. 7. 00

8. Amount due with return: Multiply line 7 by 50%. 8. 00

9. Add: (a) Interest  $                                      and (b) Penalty  $ 9. 00

10. Total amount due: Add Line 8 and Line 9. 10. 00

Check if applicable:  Amended Return   

May DRS contact the preparer shown below about 
this return?
 Yes  No 

Sign Here

Keep a copy 
of this return

for your 
records.

Authorized agent or officer’s signature Date Telephone number

(         )
Authorized agent or officer’s name (print) Title

Email address

Paid preparer’s signature Date Preparer’s SSN or PTIN

Paid preparer’s name (print) Telephone number

(         )
Firm’s name and address FEIN

For period ending



HHP-2018 Back (New 04/18)

General Instructions
For fiscal year 2018, each hospital must use form HHP-2018, 
Second Hospital User Fee Return Fiscal Year 2018, to file 
and pay the remaining balance due for the fee imposed on 
net revenue from inpatient hospital services and outpatient 
hospital services.
For fiscal year 2018, hospitals were required to make an 
estimated payment of the Second Hospital User Fee due 
for the fiscal year on December 15, 2017 and are required 
to pay the remaining balance due in two equal installments 
on April 30, 2018 and July 31, 2018. This return is to assist 
in reconciling the amounts due on April 30, 2018 and 
July 31, 2018.
Hospitals must file this return by mailing it to the address listed 
below. All payments must be made electronically.
This return should not be used to file for calendar quarters 
commencing on or after July 1, 2018.
Required information: Enter the period date, the Connecticut 
Tax Registration Number, Federal Employer Identification 
Number (FEIN), and the Connecticut Department of Public 
Health Hospital License Number in the spaces provided.
If you are amending a prior return, check the box for Amended 
Return on the return.
Due Date: The return is due on or before the last day of April 
2018 and July 2018 even if no fee is due. If the due date falls 
on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the return will be 
considered timely if filed by the next business day.
Mail return to:

Department of Revenue Services
Audit Division/Public Services Unit
Second Hospital User Fee
450 Columbus Blvd Ste 1
Hartford, CT 06103-1837

You must pay the amount due electronically.

Visit www.ct.gov/TSC to use the Taxpayer Service Center 
(TSC) to pay this return. Using this option 
authorizes the Department of Revenue 
Services (DRS) to electronically withdraw a 
payment from your bank account (checking 
or savings) on a date you select up to the due date.
Pay using the payment instructions in AN 2017(12), 
Preliminary Guidance for December 15, 2017 Estimated 
Payment for New Hospital User Fee. On the Main Menu of 
the TSC select Make Payment Only from the column on the 
lower right side of the screen. Do not select Hospital Tax 
from the File A Return Column on the left side of the screen. 
Select payment dates on or before April 30, 2018 or on or 
before July 31, 2018 for each return filed.
Rounding Off to Whole Dollars: You must round off cents 
to the nearest whole dollar on your return and schedules. If 
you do not round, DRS will disregard the cents. Round down 
to the next lowest dollar all amounts that include 1 through 49 
cents. Round up to the next highest dollar all amounts that 
include 50 through 99 cents.

Line Instructions
Line 1: Enter the audited net revenue from inpatient hospital 
services for federal fiscal year 2016. This is the amount listed 
on the Second Hospital User Fee - Notice of Revised Audited 
Net Revenue sent to each hospital by DRS.
Line 2: Multiply the amount on Line 1 by 6%. Enter the 
Inpatient Hospital User Fee due.
Line 3: Enter the audited net revenue from outpatient hospital 
services for federal fiscal year 2016. This is the amount listed 
on the Second Hospital User Fee - Notice of Revised Audited 
Net Revenue sent to each hospital by DRS. Hospitals exempt 
from the fee imposed on net revenue from outpatient hospital 
services should enter “0”.
Line 4: Multiply the amount on Line 3 by the fee rate imposed 
on net revenue from outpatient hospital services. Public 
Acts 17-4 (June Spec. Sess.), § 2 sets the fee rate for the 
provision of outpatient hospital services at $900,000,000 
less the total inpatient hospital user fee from all hospitals 
divided by the total audited net outpatient hospital revenue 
from all hospitals. The total inpatient hospital user fee is 
$305,527,677. The total audited net outpatient hospital 
revenue is $4,820,354,880. As such, under the formula 
prescribed by law, the fee rate for the provision of outpatient 
hospital services is 12.3325%. Enter the Outpatient Hospital 
User Fee due.
Line 5: Add the amount on Line 2 and the amount on 
Line 4. Enter the total Hospital User Fee due for fiscal year 
2018.
Line 6: Enter the total amount of estimated payments made 
toward the hospital’s Hospital User Fee liability for fiscal year 
2018 including any payments made under the first Hospital 
User Fee for the period ending September 30, 2017. Do not 
include the amount paid in April 2018 on Line 6.
Line 7: Subtract the amount on Line 6 from the amount on 
Line 5 for the total balance due for fiscal year 2018.
Line 8: Multiply Line 7 by 50% for the amount due with this 
return.
Line 9a: Interest is computed at 1% per month or fraction of 
a month, on the underpayment of the fee, from the original 
due date of the return through the date of payment.
Line 9b: Penalty:
Penalty for Failure to Pay Fee When Due: 10% of the fee due 
or $50, whichever is greater.
Penalties for Late Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) 
Payments:
• 2% of the fee due for EFT payments not more than 5 

days late;
• 5% for EFT payments more than 5 days but not more 

than 15 days late; and
• 10% for EFT payments more than 15 days late.
Line 9: Add the amount on Line 9a and the amount of 
Line 9b. Enter the total interest and penalty due.
Line 10: Add the amount on Line 8 and the amount on 
Line 9. Enter the total amount due.


