Employers: Use either the withholding calculation rules below or the withholding tables to determine the amount of tax to
be withheld from the wages of employees. There is no percentage method available to determine Connecticut withholding.

Withholding Calculation Rules
Effective August 1, 2011
As Affected by Conn. Pub. Acts 11-6
Use the steps below to determine the amount of Connecticut income tax to be withheld from an employee’s wages.

Step

1.
2.

10.

11.

12.

13.

Determine the employee’s wages per pay period.

Determine the number of pay periods in a year (for example:
52, 26, 24, 12).

Determine the annualized salary. Multiply Step 1 by Step 2.

In determining the annualized salary, include any supplemental
compensation previously paid or anticipated to be paid before
the end of the year.

Determine the employee’s withholding code (A, B, C, D, or
F from Line 1 of Form CT-W4).

Use the annualized salary (Step 3) and withholding code
(Step 4) to determine the exemption amount from Table A -
Exemptions.

The personal exemption amount is reduced in increments of
$1,000. For example, an employee with withholding code “F”
and an annualized salary of $26,000 receives an exemption of
$13,000.

Determine the annualized taxable income. Subtract Step 5
from Step 3.

If the annualized taxable income is equal to or less than zero,
the initial withholding amount should equal zero. Proceed to
Step 15.

Determine the withholding tax amount from Table C -
Withholding Tax on Page 3.

Use the annualized salary (Step 3) and withholding code
(Step 4) and go to Table D - 3% Phase-Out to determine the
amount to add back if the 3% tax rate phase-out applies. See
2011 Legislation Affecting Withholding Calculation Rules on
this page.

Use the annualized salary (Step 3) and withholding code
(Step 4) to determine the additional recapture amount from
Table E - Additional Recapture Amount.

Add the withholding amounts from Step 7, Step 8, and
Step 9.

Use the annualized salary (Step 3) and withholding code
(Step 4) to determine the decimal amount from Table B -
Personal Tax Credits.

Multiply the withholding amount from Step 10 by 1.00 minus
the decimal amount (Example: 1.00 - .15 =.85). This is the total
withholding amount.

Subtract the amount of withholding already withheld for the
year from the total withholding amount in Step 12. The amount
already withheld is based on the employee’s withholding code
only. It does not include any additional or reduced withholding
requested by the employee on Form CT-W4,

Step

14. Divide the result from Step 13 by the total number of pay periods
remaining for the year including this pay period.

15. Determine the additional withholding amount per pay period,
if any, from Line 2 of Form CT-W4.

16. Determine the reduced withholding amount per pay period, if
any, from Line 3 of Form CT-W4.

17. Determine the total withholding amount per pay period: Add
Step 14 and Step 15 or subtract Step 16 from Step 14.

For withholding rules for supplemental compensation (such as
bonuses, commissions, overtime pay, sales awards, etc.), refer
to Supplemental Compensation on Page 12 of Informational
Publication 2011(1), Connecticut Employer’s Tax Guide, Circular
CT. For additional information see Informational Publication
2011(10.1), 2011 Income Tax Changes Affecting Withholding
Requirements.

2011 Legislation Affecting Withholding Calculation Rules

Section 107 of Public Act 2011-6 makes the following changes to
the income tax rates effective January 1, 2011:

Increases the number of tax brackets from three to six with
the top marginal income tax rate increased to 6.7%. The new
income tax rates are 3%; 5%; 5.5%; 6.0%; 6.5% and 6.7%. See
Table C

The 3% tax rate is phased out for taxpayers with Connecticut
adjusted gross income over:

» $100,500 for taxpayers filing jointly;

» $56,500 for single filers;

» $78,500 for head of household filers; and

» $50,250 for taxpayers filing separately.

The amount excluded from the 3% rate is taxed at the 5% rate.
See Table D.

Other tax provisions require an additional amount of tax to
be recaptured from taxpayers over certain income brackets
(Table E). The recapture amounts are:

* $150 per $10,000, or fraction thereof, of Connecticut
adjusted gross income over $400,000 for taxpayers filing
jointly, with a maximum total recapture of $4,500;

» $75 per $5,000, or fraction thereof, of Connecticut adjusted
gross income over $200,000 for taxpayers filing single, with
a maximum total recapture of $2,250;

» $120 per $8,000, or fraction thereof, of Connecticut adjusted
gross income over $320,000 for taxpayers filing as head of
household, with a maximum total recapture of $3,600; and

» $75 per $5,000, or fraction thereof, of Connecticut adjusted
gross income over $200,000 for taxpayers filing separately,
with a maximum total recapture of $2,250.



Use these tables in completing the withholding calculation.

Table A - Exemptions*

Withholding Code A

Withholding Code B

Withholding Code C

Withholding Code F

Annual Salary Exemption Annual Salary Exemption Annual Salary Exemption Annual Salary Exemption
More Than Less ThaTr:)or Equal More Than Less Th?rr:)or Equal More Than Less Th?rr:)or Equal More Than Less Th?rr:)or Equal

$0 $24,000 $12,000 $0 $38,000 $19,000 $0 $48,000 $24,000 $0 $26,000 $13,000
$24,000 $25,000 $11,000 $38,000 $39,000 $18,000 $48,000 $49,000 $23,000 $26,000 $27,000 $12,000
$25,000 $26,000 $10,000 $39,000 $40,000 $17,000 $49,000 $50,000 $22,000 $27,000 $28,000 $11,000
$26,000 $27,000 $9,000 $40,000 $41,000 $16,000 $50,000 $51,000 $21,000 $28,000 $29,000 $10,000
$27,000 $28,000 $8,000 $41,000 $42,000 $15,000 $51,000 $52,000 $20,000 $29,000 $30,000 $9,000
$28,000 $29,000 $7,000 $42,000 $43,000 $14,000 $52,000 $53,000 $19,000 $30,000 $31,000 $8,000
$29,000 $30,000 $6,000 $43,000 $44,000 $13,000 $53,000 $54,000 $18,000 $31,000 $32,000 $7,000
$30,000 $31,000 $5,000 $44,000 $45,000 $12,000 $54,000 $55,000 $17,000 $32,000 $33,000 $6,000
$31,000 $32,000 $4,000 $45,000 $46,000 $11,000 $55,000 $56,000 $16,000 $33,000 $34,000 $5,000
$32,000 $33,000 $3,000 $46,000 $47,000 $10,000 $56,000 $57,000 $15,000 $34,000 $35,000 $4,000
$33,000 $34,000 $2,000 $47,000 $48,000 $9,000 $57,000 $58,000 $14,000 $35,000 $36,000 $3,000
$34,000 $35,000 $1,000 $48,000 $49,000 $8,000 $58,000 $59,000 $13,000 $36,000 $37,000 $2,000
$35,000 and up $0 $49,000 $50,000 $7,000 $59,000 $60,000 $12,000 $37,000 $38,000 $1,000
$50,000 $51,000 $6,000 $60,000 $61,000 $11,000 $38,000 and up $0

$51,000 $52,000 $5,000 $61,000 $62,000 $10,000

$52,000 $53,000 $4,000 $62,000 $63,000 $9,000

$53,000 $54,000 $3,000 $63,000 $64,000 $8,000

$54,000 $55,000 $2,000 $64,000 $65,000 $7,000

$55,000 $56,000 $1,000 $65,000 $66,000 $6,000

$56,000 and up $0 $66,000 $67,000 $5,000

$67,000 $68,000 $4,000

$68,000 $69,000 $3,000

$69,000 $70,000 $2,000

$70,000 $71,000 $1,000

$71,000 and up $0

* For Withholding Code D, the exemption is $0

Table B - Personal Tax Credits*

Withholding Code A

Withholding Code B

Withholding Code C

Withholding Code F

Annual Salary Credit % Annual Salary Credit % Annual Salary Credit % Annual Salary Credit %

More Than Less The.lrr:jor Equal More Than Less Thérllor Equal More Than Less Thérllor Equal More Than Less Thérnoor Equal

$12,000 $15,000 0.75 $19,000 $24,000 0.75 $24,000 $30,000 0.75 $13,000 $16,300 0.75
$15,000 $15,500 0.70 $24,000 $24,500 0.70 $30,000 $30,500 0.70 $16,300 $16,800 0.70
$15,500 $16,000 0.65 $24,500 $25,000 0.65 $30,500 $31,000 0.65 $16,800 $17,300 0.65
$16,000 $16,500 0.60 $25,000 $25,500 0.60 $31,000 $31,500 0.60 $17,300 $17,800 0.60
$16,500 $17,000 0.55 $25,500 $26,000 0.55 $31,500 $32,000 0.55 $17,800 $18,300 0.55
$17,000 $17,500 0.50 $26,000 $26,500 0.50 $32,000 $32,500 0.50 $18,300 $18,800 0.50
$17,500 $18,000 0.45 $26,500 $27,000 0.45 $32,500 $33,000 0.45 $18,800 $19,300 0.45
$18,000 $18,500 0.40 $27,000 $27,500 0.40 $33,000 $33,500 0.40 $19,300 $19,800 0.40
$18,500 $20,000 0.35 $27,500 $34,000 0.35 $33,500 $40,000 0.35 $19,800 $21,700 0.35
$20,000 $20,500 0.30 $34,000 $34,500 0.30 $40,000 $40,500 0.30 $21,700 $22,200 0.30
$20,500 $21,000 0.25 $34,500 $35,000 0.25 $40,500 $41,000 0.25 $22,200 $22,700 0.25
$21,000 $21,500 0.20 $35,000 $35,500 0.20 $41,000 $41,500 0.20 $22,700 $23,200 0.20
$21,500 $25,000 0.15 $35,500 $44,000 0.15 $41,500 $50,000 0.15 $23,200 $27,100 0.15
$25,000 $25,500 0.14 $44,000 $44,500 0.14 $50,000 $50,500 0.14 $27,100 $27,600 0.14
$25,500 $26,000 0.13 $44,500 $45,000 0.13 $50,500 $51,000 0.13 $27,600 $28,100 0.13
$26,000 $26,500 0.12 $45,000 $45,500 0.12 $51,000 $51,500 0.12 $28,100 $28,600 0.12
$26,500 $27,000 0.11 $45,500 $46,000 0.11 $51,500 $52,000 0.11 $28,600 $29,100 0.11
$27,000 $48,000 0.10 $46,000 $74,000 0.10 $52,000 $96,000 0.10 $29,100 $52,000 0.10
$48,000 $48,500 0.09 $74,000 $74,500 0.09 $96,000 $96,500 0.09 $52,000 $52,500 0.09
$48,500 $49,000 0.08 $74,500 $75,000 0.08 $96,500 $97,000 0.08 $52,500 $53,000 0.08
$49,000 $49,500 0.07 $75,000 $75,500 0.07 $97,000 $97,500 0.07 $53,000 $53,500 0.07
$49,500 $50,000 0.06 $75,500 $76,000 0.06 $97,500 $98,000 0.06 $53,500 $54,000 0.06
$50,000 $50,500 0.05 $76,000 $76,500 0.05 $98,000 $98,500 0.05 $54,000 $54,500 0.05
$50,500 $51,000 0.04 $76,500 $77,000 0.04 $98,500 $99,000 0.04 $54,500 $55,000 0.04
$51,000 $51,500 0.03 $77,000 $77,500 0.03 $99,000 $99,500 0.03 $55,000 $55,500 0.03
$51,500 $52,000 0.02 $77,500 $78,000 0.02 $99,500  $100,000 0.02 $55,500 $56,000 0.02
$52,000 $52,500 0.01 $78,000 $78,500 0.01 $100,000  $100,500 0.01 $56,000 $56,500 0.01
$52,500 |  and up 0.00 $78,500 and up 0.00 $100,500 and up 0.00 $56,500 and up 0.00

* For Withholding Code D, the exemption is $0
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Table C - Withholding Tax

Withholding Code A, D, or F

or equal to $10,000:

by .03.

to $50,000:

.05 and add $300. *

to $100,000:

.055 and add $2,300. *

to $200,000:

.06 and add $5,050.

to 250,000:

.065 and add $11,050.

$250,000:

.067 and add $14,300.

If the amount from Step 6 is less than

Multiply the amount from Step 6

If the amount from Step 6 is more
than $10,000, but less than or equal

Multiply the excess over $10,000 by

If the amount from Step 6 is more
than $50,000, but less than or equal

Multiply the excess over $50,000 by

If the amount from Step 6 is more
than $100,000, but less than or equal

Multiply the excess over $100,000 by

If the amount from Step 6 is more
than $200,000, but less than or equal

Multiply the excess over $200,000 by

If the amount from Step 6 is more than

Multiply the excess over $250,000 by

Withholding Code B

If the amount from Step 6 is less than
or equal to $16,000:
Multiply the amount from Step 6
by .03.

If the amount from Step 6 is more
than $16,000, but less than or equal
to $80,000:
Multiply the excess over $16,000 by
.05 and add $480. *

If the amount from Step 6 is more
than $80,000, but less than or equal
to $160,000:
Multiply the excess over $80,000 by
.055 and add $3,680. *

If the amount from Step 6 is more
than $160,000, but less than or equal
to $320,000:
Multiply the excess over $160,000 by
.06 and add $8,080.

If the amount from Step 6 is more
than $320,000, but less than or equal
to $400,000:
Multiply the excess over $320,000 by
.065 and add $17,680.

If the amount from Step 6 is more than
$400,000:
Multiply the excess over $400,000 by
.067 and add $22,880.

Withholding Code C

If the amount from Step 6 is less than
or equal to $20,000:
Multiply the amount from Step 6
by .03.

If the amount from Step 6 is more
than $20,000, but less than or equal
to $100,000:
Multiply the excess over $20,000 by
.05 and add $600.

If the amount from Step 6 is more
than $100,000, but less than or equal
to $200,000:
Multiply the excess over $100,000
by .055 and add $4,600. *

If the amount from Step 6 is more
than $200,000, but less than or equal
to $400,000:
Multiply the excess over $200,000
by .06 and add $10,100.

If the amount from Step 6 is more
than $400,000, but less than or equal
to $500,000:
Multiply the excess over $400,000
by .065 and add $22,100.

If the amount from Step 6 is more
than $500,000:
Multiply the excess over $500,000
by .067 and add $28,600.

* See 2011 Legislation Affecting Withholding Calculation Rules on Page 1.
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Table D - 3% Phase-Out

Withholding Code A or D Withholding Code B Withholding Code C Withholding Code F
Annual Salary 3% Rate Annual Salary 3% Rate Annual Salary 3% Rate Annual Salary 3% Rate

Less Than A?;ifl;éo Add Less Than A?;!I;;éo Add Less Than A?;ilzﬁjéo Add Less Than A—‘r)ﬂl:t;éo Add
More or Income ~ Backto [ more or Income  Backto [ More or Income ~ Backto More or Income ~ Backto
Than Equal To UpTo  CTTax | Than Equal To UpTo  CTTax|  Thap Equal To UpTo  CTTax Than | Equal To UpTo  CTTax
$ 0 $50,250 $10,000 $ O |$ 0 $78,500 $16,000 $ 0 |$ 0 $100,500 $20,000 $ O |$ 0 $56,500 $10,000 $ O
50,250 52,750 9,000 20 78,500 82,500 14,400 32 100,500 105,500 18,000 40 56,500 61,500 9,000 20
52,750 55,250 8,000 40 82,500 86,500 12,800 64 105,500 110,500 16,000 80 61,500 66,500 8,000 40
55,250 57,750 7,000 60 86,500 90,500 11,200 96 110,500 115,500 14,000 120 66,500 71,500 7,000 60
57,750 60,250 6,000 80 90,500 94,500 9,600 128 115,500 120,500 12,000 160 71,500 76,500 6,000 80
60,250 62,750 5,000 100 94,500 98,500 8,000 160 120,500 125,500 10,000 200 76,500 81,500 5,000 100
62,750 65,250 4,000 120 98,500 102,500 6,400 192 125,500 130,500 8,000 240 81,500 86,500 4,000 120
65,250 67,750 3,000 140 102,500 106,500 4,800 224 130,500 135,500 6,000 280 86,500 91,500 3,000 140
67,750 70,250 2,000 160 106,500 110,500 3,200 256 135,500 140,500 4,000 320 91,500 96,500 2,000 160
70,250 72,750 1,000 180 110,500 114,500 1,600 288 140,500 145,500 2,000 360 96,500 101,500 1,000 180
Over $72,750 0 200 Over $114,500 0 320 Over $145,500 0 400 Over $101,500 0 200

Table E - Additional Recapture Amount

Withholding Code A, D, or F

Withholding Code B

Withholding Code C

Phase-In Starting Point:
Annual Salary
(From Step 3) Over

$200,000

$320,000

$400,000

Recapture Amount

$75 per $5,000, or fraction
thereof, of the annual salary
over the starting point

$120 per $8,000, or fraction
thereof, of the annual salary
over the starting point

$150 per $10,000, or fraction
thereof, of the annual salary
over the starting point

Maximum Total
Recapture Amount

$2,250

$3,600

$4,500
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