
Form 211 CATV 
Community Antenna Television System Companies 

Gross Earnings Tax Return

Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut
PO Box 2990
Hartford CT 06104-2990
(Rev. 12/12)

  Amended return   Change of address

Signature of treasurer, authorized agent, or officer               Date Telephone number

Print name of treasurer, authorized agent, or officer   Title

Paid preparer’s signature  Date Preparer’s SSN or PTIN

Firm’s name and address  FEIN

Declaration: I declare under the penalty of law that I have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to 
the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. I understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to 
the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) is a fine of not more than $5,000, imprisonment for not more than five years, or both. The declaration 
of a paid preparer other than the taxpayer is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Sign Here

Keep a copy 
of this return

for your 
records.

Taxpayer

Type  
or  

print

When to File: Form 211 CATV is due on or before the last day of April, July, October, and January for the preceding calendar quarter 
even if no tax is due. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the next business day is the due date.
Complete the return in blue or black ink only. Read instructions on back before completing this return.
Visit www.ct.gov/TSC to make an electronic payment using the Taxpayer Service Center (TSC).

(         )

Part I - Computation of Tax

12. Total miles of lines operated by the company inside Connecticut on the first 
day of the calendar quarter  12. 

13. Total miles of lines operated by the company inside Connecticut on the last  
day of the calendar quarter  13. 

14. Add Line 12 and Line 13.  14. 

15. Total miles of lines operated by the company both inside and outside Connecticut   
on the first day of the calendar quarter  15. 

16. Total miles of lines operated by the company both inside and outside Connecticut   
on the last day of the calendar quarter  16. 

17. Add Line 15 and Line 16.  17.

18. Divide Line 14 by Line 17. Carry to six decimal places. Enter here and in Part I, Line 2. 	18. .

Part II - Apportionment

 1. Total amount of gross earnings from lines, facilities, apparatus, and auxiliary 
equipment used in operating a community antenna television system  1. $ 00   

 2. Apportionment fraction: Enter decimal from Part II, Line 18.  2.  .

 3. Multiply Line 1 by Line 2.  3. $ 00   

 4. Multiply Line 3 by 5% (.05). 	4.  $  00

 5. Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) assessment credit   5.  $ 00

 6. Subtract Line 5 from Line 4.   6. $ 00

 7. Connecticut business tax credit(s): Attach Form CT-1120K, Business Tax 
Credit Summary. See instructions on back.   7. $ 00 

 8. Subtract Line 7 from Line 6. If zero or less, enter “0.”   8. $  00

 9. If late, enter penalty. See instructions.  9. $   00

10. If late, enter interest. See instructions.  10. $  00

11. Total amount due: Add Lines 8, 9, and 10.  11. $ 00

Name of company   

Address                      Number and street PO Box  

City, town, or post office  State ZIP code 

 Connecticut Tax Registration Number


 For calendar quarter ending


 Federal Employer ID Number (FEIN)


 Date received (DRS use only)
  



Complete the return in blue or black ink only.

Address Change: To change your company’s address, check 
the Change of address box on the front of this return. Clearly 
print the new information.

Rounding Off to Whole Dollars
You must round off cents to the nearest whole dollar on your 
return and schedules. If you do not round, the Department of 
Revenue Services (DRS) will disregard the cents.
Round down to the next lowest dollar all amounts that include 1 
through 49 cents. Round up to the next highest dollar all amounts 
that include 50 through 99 cents. However, if you need to add 
two or more amounts to compute the amount to enter on a line, 
include cents and round off only the total.
Example: Add two amounts ($1.29 + $3.21) to compute the 
total ($4.50) to enter on a line. Round $4.50 to $5.00 and enter 
$5.00 on the line.

Line Instructions
Line 1: Enter the total amount of gross earnings from lines, 
facilities, apparatus, and auxiliary equipment within Connecticut 
for this tax year. Gross earnings cannot be reduced by 
commissions, rebates, or other payments, but may be reduced 
by the amount of refunds issued as the result of errors or 
overcharges.

Line 2: If carrying on the community antenna television system 
business wholly inside Connecticut during the calendar quarter, 
enter 1.00 and do not complete Part II.

If carrying on the community antenna television system business 
both inside Connecticut and outside Connecticut during the 
calendar quarter, enter the decimal from Part II, Line 18.

Line 5: Enter the amount of any assessment actually paid 
during the calendar quarter to the Department of Energy and 
Environmental Protection (DEEP) under Conn. Gen. Stat. §16-49.

Line 7: Your company may be eligible to claim certain 
Connecticut business tax credits. For information on Connecticut 
business tax credits that your company may be eligible to claim, 
see Informational Publication 2010(13), Guide to Connecticut 
Business Tax Credits. If your company claims Connecticut 
business tax credits, complete and attach Form CT-1120K, 
Business Tax Credit Summary, to the return.

Line 9: Penalty
Late Payment Penalty: The penalty for paying all or a portion 
of the tax late is 10% of the tax due or $50, whichever is greater.
Late Filing Penalty: The Commissioner of Revenue Services 
may impose a $50 penalty for failure to file any return or report 
that is required by law to be filed. Form 211 CATV, Community 
Antenna Television System Companies Gross Earnings Tax 
Return, must be filed even if no tax is due. 

Form 211 CATV Back (Rev. 12/12)

Form 211 CATV 
Instructions

Line 10: Interest: If the tax is not paid when due, you will owe 
interest at the rate of 1% per month or fraction of a month until 
the tax is paid in full. To compute interest due, multiply Line 8 by 
the number of months or fraction of a month late, then by 1%. 

Signature: The treasurer of the company or an authorized agent 
or officer of the company must sign Form 211 CATV.

Paid Preparer Signature: A paid preparer must sign and date 
Form 211 CATV. Paid preparers must also enter their Social 
Security Number (SSN) or Preparer Tax Identification Number 
(PTIN) and their firm’s Federal Employer Identification Number 
(FEIN) in the spaces provided.

Payment Options
Pay Electronically: Visit www.ct.gov/TSC to use the Taxpayer 
Service Center (TSC) to make a direct tax payment. After 
logging into the TSC, select the Make Payment 
Only option and choose a tax type from the drop 
down box. Using this option authorizes DRS to 
electronically withdraw a payment from your 
bank account (checking or savings) on a date you select up to 
the due date. As a reminder, even if you pay electronically you 
must still file your return on or before the due date. Tax not paid 
on or before the due date will be subject to penalty and interest. 

Pay by Mail: Make check payable to Commissioner of 
Revenue Services. To ensure payment is applied to your 
account, write the calendar quarter ending date of the return, 
“Form 211 CATV”, and your Connecticut Tax Registration 
Number on the front of your check. Be sure to sign your check 
and paper clip it to the front of your return. Do not send cash. 
DRS may submit your check to your bank electronically.

Where to File 
Mail to: Department of Revenue Services
 State of Connecticut 
 PO Box 2990 
 Hartford CT 06104-2990

For More Information
Call DRS during business hours, Monday through Friday:
• 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater 

Hartford calling area only); or
• 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).
TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit 
inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911.

Forms and Publications: Visit the DRS website at 
www.ct.gov/DRS to download and print Connecticut tax 
forms and publications.


