
Form REG-14
Application for Commercial Fisherman 

Tax Exemption Permit
Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(40)

Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut
450 Columbus Blvd Ste 1
Hartford CT 06103-1837
(Rev. 04/19)

— — —   — —   — — — —

Name of vessel Telephone number

Home port

DMV vessel registration number US Coast Guard documentation number DEEP license number

Please correct 
name and  
address if 
shown  
incorrectly.





Federal Employer ID Number (Other)

Check one: Check one:

 Commissioner’s
 	 authorized agent  

 	 Title   __________________________________________Date 

For DRS Use Only

Social Security Number (Individual)

Declaration: I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this application (including any accompanying schedules and statements) 
and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. I understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return 
or document to DRS is a fine of not more than $5,000, imprisonment for not more than five years, or both.

 Signature of owner, partner, LLC member, or corporate officer Title Date

For DRS Use Only
Connecticut Tax Registration Number

DRS Entry Number

Commercial Fisherman Tax Exemption Permit valid from _______________  until ______________
Complete the application in blue or black ink only.

 Approved

 Disapproved

 New
 Renewal
 Start-up
 Business 
 structure 
 changed

	Individual
	Partnership
	Corporation
	LLC
	LLP
	Fiduciary

 – –

Form REG-14, Application for Commercial Fisherman Tax Exemption 
Permit, must be completed and filed with the Department of Revenue 
Services (DRS) by June 1 so that DRS can make a determination 
and issue a permit by the effective date. Your 2019 Fisherman Tax 
Exemption Permit is valid from July 1, 2019, until June 30, 2021. If this 
application is submitted after June 1, the permit is valid on the date 
indicated on the permit. The expiration date for a permit issued to a 
start-up fisherman is 24 months from the date the permit is issued.

To qualify for a fisherman tax exemption permit, an applicant engaged 
in commercial fishing as a trade or business must certify that:
• At least 50% of last year’s gross income was derived from 

commercial fishing; or
• On average, for the two preceding taxable years, at least 50% of 

your gross income was derived from commercial fishing.

Enclose a copy of the applicant’s federal income tax return and 
all accompanying schedules for the prior year; or if you meet the 
50% gross income requirement by using the average of the prior 
two years, enclose copies of the federal income tax returns and all 
accompanying schedules for the prior two years.

To qualify for a fisherman tax exemption permit, a start-up fisherman 
must satisfy the following requirements:
• A tax exemption permit as a start-up fisherman must not have 

been issued previously;
• The fisherman intends to carry on commercial fishing as a trade 

or business for at least two years after the exemption permit is 
issued; and

• For the second year or, on average, for the two years after the tax 
exemption permit is issued, not less than 50% of the fisherman’s 
gross income as reported for federal income tax purposes will be 
derived from commercial fishing.

If the start-up fisherman does not meet all of these requirements, the 
fisherman is liable for the sales or use tax that would have been due 
without the exemption.

A start-up fisherman is a person who:
• Was not engaged in commercial fishing as a trade or business in 

the preceding taxable year; or
• For the immediately preceding taxable year or, on average, for 

the two immediately preceding taxable years, less than 50% of 
the fisherman’s gross income as reported for federal income tax 
purposes was derived from commercial fishing.

See Informational Publication 2009(14), Fisherman’s Guide to Sales 
and Use Taxes and Estimated Income Tax. Visit the DRS website 
at portal.ct.gov/DRS to download and print Connecticut tax forms 
and publications. 

Return this application to:
Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut
Operations Division
450 Columbus Blvd Ste 1
Hartford CT 06103-1837

If you operate more than one vessel, attach a separate sheet listing 
the name, home port, Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) vessel 
registration number, and Department of Energy and Environmental 
Protection (DEEP) license number for each vessel. If you are not 
a Connecticut resident and are not required to have a DMV vessel 
registration or a DEEP license number, leave these lines blank and 
enter your US Coast Guard documentation number.

https://portal.ct.gov/DRS

