
REG-3-MC
Application for

Motor Carrier Road Tax 

Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut
PO Box 2937
Hartford CT 06104-2937
(Rev. 12/19)
Do not use this application to request International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) decals.  
Complete CT-IFTA-2, Application for International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) License 
Connecticut Carrier, for IFTA decals.
Complete this form in blue or black ink only. Please see the instructions before completing this form.  

 Check if your mailing address has changed and 
indicate new address.

Calendar Year 2020
If registered, enter  

Connecticut Tax Registration Number



 8. Type of ownership:  Other:  ______________________

    Sole proprietor  General partnership  Limited partnership  Corporation  S corporation

    Limited liability company (LLC) 	  Single member LLC    8a. Organized under laws of what state?
    Check if taxed as a corporation 	  Check if taxed as a corporation 

 9. Are you currently registered with the Connecticut Department of Revenue Services (DRS)?  Yes  No
  If Yes, enter your Connecticut Tax Registration Number in the space provided in the upper right corner of this application.

 10. Describe in detail the type of business you operate.

You are applying for identification decals for calendar year 2020. Your decals will expire December 31, 2020.

Declaration: The undersigned represents that: (1) All of the applicant’s qualified motor vehicles will be operated solely within Connecticut during calendar year 2020; 
(2) All of the motor fuel to be used in operating such vehicles will be purchased solely within Connecticut during calendar year 2020; and (3) Connecticut motor vehicle 
fuels tax will be paid on all such purchases during calendar year 2020. The undersigned agrees to report immediately to DRS if any of these three representations 
are no longer true or accurate. I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this application (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, 
to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. I understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to DRS is a fine 
of not more than $5,000, or imprisonment for not more than five years, or both. I understand motor carrier road tax decals may not be transferred by me to another 
person or from one vehicle to another. 

Signature of owner, partner, LLC member, or corporate officer     Title    Date

Email address of owner, partner, LLC member, or corporate officer

Make check payable to Commissioner of Revenue Services

 Decals are not transferable from vehicle to vehicle or from company to company

11. List lessors who lease vehicles to you. Attach additional sheets if needed.
Name                                                                                                               Address



 Fee Amount due
  X $10 = 

Enter total number of motor vehicles requiring decals: 


12. Fees: All applicants must 
complete this section.

 1. Reason for applying
     New account     Registration of additional vehicles     Other (Explain)

 2. Name of owner, partnership, corporation, or LLC Federal Employer ID Number (FEIN), 
if applicable

 3. Trade name or registered name, if different from Line 2

 4. Physical location of this business: PO Box is not acceptable Telephone number

– –
 5. Business mailing address, if different from Line 4 United States DOT Number

 6. Name and home address of owner (sole proprietor), partner, LLC member, or corporate officer Social Security Number (SSN)

 7. Name and home address of other partner, LLC member, or corporate officer SSN



REG-3-MC Back (Rev. 12/19)

REG-3-MC
Instructions

Complete this form in blue or black ink only. Do not use staples.
Complete form REG-3-MC, Application for Motor Carrier Road 
Tax, to apply for calendar year 2020 motor carrier decals. Two 
numbered decals will be issued for each qualified motor 
vehicle. One decal must be placed on the lower rear exterior of 
the passenger side cab door and the matching decal must be 
placed on the lower rear exterior of the driver side cab door for 
each vehicle.
Please note that each form is year specific. To prevent any delay 
in processing your application, the correct year’s form must be 
submitted to the Department of Revenue Services (DRS).
Qualified motor vehicles subject to the Connecticut motor 
carrier road tax are those used, designed, or maintained for 
transportation of persons or property and:
• Have two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross 

vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds or 11,797 kilograms; 
• Have three or more axles regardless of weight; or
• Are used in combination and the combined gross vehicle weight 

or registered gross vehicle weight exceeds 26,000 pounds or 
11,797 kilograms.

For Connecticut motor carrier road tax purposes, the term 
qualified motor vehicle does not include recreational vehicles not 
used in connection with any trade or business.
Do not use this motor carrier road tax application to request 
International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) decals. To request IFTA 
decals, complete CT-IFTA-2, Application for International Fuel 
Tax Agreement (IFTA) License Connecticut Carrier. You may 
not transfer motor carrier decals to another person or from one 
vehicle to another.

Instructions

Line 1 - Indicate new account, registration of additional vehicles, 
or other reason (renewal, replacement decals, or 
change of ownership). If there has been any change 
of identity or form of ownership or organization, such 
as the addition of a new partner or the incorporation of 
the business, you must use form REG-3-MC to apply 
for a new Connecticut Tax Registration Number. If you 
are registered with DRS, enter your Connecticut Tax 
Registration Number in the upper right corner of this 
form.

Line 2 -  Print the name of the owner, partnership, limited liability 
company (LLC), or corporate name. Enter the name 
of the owner if a sole proprietorship. Enter the Federal 
Employer Identification Number (FEIN), if applicable.

Line 3 - Print the trade or registered name if different from 
Line 2. A trade or registered name is the name 
under which business is done, but not necessarily 
the owner’s name. Example: If John Travel is the 
proprietorship entered on Line 2, but John T. Trucker 
Co. is the name chosen by John Travel for his business, 
then John T. Trucker Co. is the name he would enter 
on Line 3.

Line 4 - Print the physical location of the business. A PO Box 
is not accepted as a physical location.

Line 5 - Print the mailing address of the business if different 
from the physical location of this business (Line 4).

Line 6 - Print the name and home address of owner (sole 
proprietor), partner, LLC member, or corporate 
officer. Identify the name entered as owner, if a sole 
proprietorship; partner if a partnership; LLC member 
if an LLC; or officer if a corporation. Include the Social 
Security Number (SSN) in the space provided.

Line 7 - Print the name and home address of other partner, 
LLC member, or corporate officer. Identify the name 
entered as partner if a partnership; LLC member if an 
LLC; or officer if a corporation. Include the SSN in the 
space provided.

Line 8 - Check the appropriate box to indicate the type of 
ownership. Enter the FEIN in the space provided on 
Line 2, if applicable. If type of ownership is “Other”, 
explain on the line provided. 

Line 8a - Enter the name of the state under the laws of which 
the business is organized.

Line 9 - Indicate whether you are registered with DRS. If you 
checked Yes on Line 9, enter your Connecticut Tax 
Registration Number in the space provided in the upper 
right hand corner of this form.

Line 10 - Describe in detail the type of business you operate.
Line 11 - Provide the names and addresses of the lessors you 

lease vehicles from.
Line 12 - Indicate the number of motor vehicles requiring decals, 

multiply by $10 and enter the result in amount due.
This application must be signed by an owner, partner, LLC 
member, or corporate officer.
Failure to complete all items on this application may result in a 
delay in processing your application.
Make check payable to Commissioner of Revenue Services. 
DRS may submit your check to your bank electronically. Do not 
send cash. Return the completed application with full payment.
Mail to: Department of Revenue Services
   State of Connecticut

 PO Box 2937
 Hartford CT 06104-2937

If you need assistance or additional information about applications 
or registering your vehicle(s), call DRS at 860-297-4870, Monday 
through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit 
inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911. Taxpayers may also 
call 711 for relay services. A taxpayer must tell the 711 operator 
the number he or she wishes to call. The relay operator will dial 
it and then communicate using a TTY with the taxpayer.
Forms and Publications:  Visit  the DRS website at 
portal.ct.gov/DRS to download and print Connecticut tax forms 
and publications.

https://portal.ct.gov/DRS

