
Form CT-1120 EXT
Application for Extension of Time to File 
Connecticut Corporation Business Tax Return
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State of Connecticut 
(Rev. 12/19)
1120EXT 1219W 01 9999





Corporation/Designated Taxable Member name  Connecticut Tax Registration Number

Number and street PO Box  Federal Employer ID Number (FEIN)

City, town, or post office State ZIP code

See instructions. Complete this form in blue or black ink only. Type or print.

Declaration: I declare under the penalty of law that I have examined this return and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. 
I understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) is a fine of not more than $5,000, imprisonment 
for not more than five years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other than the taxpayer is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

I request an extension of time to November 15, 2020, to file my Connecticut Corporation Business Tax return for calendar year 2019, 
or until (MMDDYYYY) for fiscal year ending  (MMDDYYYY).

June 30 year end filers may request a seven-month extension. All others may request a six-month extension.

 A federal extension has been requested on federal Form 7004, Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File Certain Business Income 

 Tax, Information, and Other Returns, for calendar year 2019 or fiscal year beginning  (MMDDYYYY) and 

ending  (MMDDYYYY). If a federal extension has not been filed, explain why you are requesting the Connecticut 

extension:

Check 
here

Request for extension to file Form CT‑1120, Corporation Business Tax Return or Form CT-1120CU, Combined Unitary Corporation Business 
Tax Return. Each corporation must submit payment of any tax due or believed to be due with this application for an extension of time to file, whether 
or not an application for federal extension has been approved. See instructions.

Are you filing Form CT-1120CU? Yes No
 1. Tentative amount of tax due for this income year; minimum tax $250. See instructions.  ....................... 1. .00
 2. Surtax: See instructions.  ......................................................................................................................... 2. .00
 3. Total tax: Add Line 1 and Line 2. Include tax credit recapture, if applicable.  .......................................... 3. .00
 4. Multiply Line 3 by 49.99% (0.4999) See instructions.  ............................................................................. 4. .00
 5. Multiply the number of taxable members included by $250.  ................................................................... 5. .00
 6. Enter the greater of Line 4 or Line 5.  ...................................................................................................... 6. .00
 7. Tax credit limitation: Subtract Line 6 from Line 3.  ................................................................................... 7. .00
 8. Tax credits: Do not exceed amount on Line 7.  .................................................................................... 8. .00
 9. Balance of tax payable: Subtract Line 8 from Line 3.  ............................................................................. 9. .00
 10. PE credit: See instructions.  ................................................................................................................... 10. .00
 11. Balance of tax payable: Subtract Line 10 from Line 9, but not less than zero (“0”).  ..............................11. .00
 12. Payment(s) of estimated tax.  ................................................................................................................ 12. .00
 13. Overpayment from prior year.  ............................................................................................................... 13. .00
 14. Total payments: Add Line 12 and Line 13.  ......................................................................................... 14. .00
 15. Amount due with this return: Subtract Line 14 from Line 11.  ...................................................... 15. .00

Visit the DRS Taxpayer Service 
Center (TSC) at portal.ct.gov/TSC to 
file and pay this return electronically.

This return MUST be filed electronically!

DO NOT MAIL paper tax return to DRS.

Sign 
Here

Keep a 
copy of 

this return
for your
records.

Corporate officer’s name (print) Corporate officer’s signature Date (MMDDYYYY)

Title Telephone number

Paid preparer’s name (print) Paid preparer’s signature Date (MMDDYYYY) Preparer’s SSN or PTIN

Firm’s name and address Firm’s FEIN Telephone number

Yes NoMay DRS contact the preparer 
shown below about this return?

Enter Income Year Beginning   and Ending    2 0 1 9
M  M  -  D  D  -  Y  Y  Y  Y M  M  -  D  D  -  Y  Y  Y  Y

This return MUST be filed electronically!

DO NOT MAIL paper tax return to DRS.

https://portal.ct.gov/TSC
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Form CT-1120 EXT Instructions 
Complete this form in blue or black ink only. Do not use staples.
Please note that each form is year specific. To prevent any 
delay in processing your return, the correct year’s form must 
be submitted to the Department of Revenue Services (DRS). 
Use Form CT-1120 EXT, Application for Extension of Time to 
File Corporation Business Tax Return, to request a six-month 
extension (seven-month extension for corporations with a 
June 30 fiscal year end) to file Form CT-1120, Corporation 
Business Tax Return, or Form CT-1120CU, Combined Unitary 
Corporation Business Tax Return. It is not necessary to include 
a reason for the Connecticut extension request if an extension 
on federal Form 7004, Application for Automatic Extension of 
Time to File Certain Business Income Tax, Information, and 
Other Returns, was filed with the Internal Revenue Service.
If federal Form 7004 was not filed, the corporation may apply 
for an extension to file the Connecticut Corporation Business 
Tax return if there is reasonable cause for the request.
To get a Connecticut filing extension the corporation 
MUST:
• Complete Form CT-1120 EXT in its entirety; 
• File it on or before the fifteenth day of the month following 

the due date of the company’s corresponding federal 
income tax return for the income year (May 15 for calendar 
year taxpayers); and

• Pay the amount shown on Line 15.
Form CT-1120 EXT extends only the time to file the Connecticut 
Corporation Business Tax return. Form CT-1120 EXT does not 
extend the time to pay the amount of tax due.

When to File
File Form CT-1120 EXT on or before the fifteenth day of the 
month following the due date of the company’s corresponding 
federal income tax return for the income year (May 15 for 
calendar year taxpayers).
If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, 
the return is considered timely if filed on the next business 
day.

Electronic Filing and Payment Requirements
Form CT-1120 and Form CT-1120CU must be filed and paid 
electronically, and all corporations must file and pay their 
estimated taxes (Forms CT-1120 ESA, ESB, ESC and ESD) 
and extension requests (Form CT-1120 EXT) electronically.
See Informational Publication 2017(15), Filing and Paying 
Connecticut Taxes Electronically.
To request a waiver from the electronic filing requirement visit 
www.ct.gov/drs/TSCfiling and complete Form DRS-EWVR, 
Electronic Filing and Payment Waiver Request.
The following graduated penalty amounts will apply if you fail 
to remit payments electronically:
• First offense – 10% penalty on the amount of the tax 

payment, but not more than $2,500;
• Second offense – 10% penalty, but not more than $10,000; 

and
• Third and subsequent offenses – 10% penalty.

Pay by Mail: If you have received a waiver from the 
electronic payment requirement, make your check payable 
to Commissioner of Revenue Services. To ensure payment 
is applied to your account, write “2019 Form CT-1120 EXT” 
and the corporation’s Connecticut Tax Registration Number 
on the front of the check. Be sure to sign your check and 
paper clip it to the front of your return. Do not send cash. DRS 
may submit your check to your bank electronically.
Mail paper return with payment to: 

Department of Revenue Services 
State of Connecticut 
PO Box 2974 
Hartford CT 06104-2974.

Mail paper return without payment to:
Department of Revenue Services 
State of Connecticut 
PO Box 150406 
Hartford CT 06115-0406.

Payment Options
Pay Electronically: Visit the DRS Taxpayer 
Service Center (TSC) at portal.ct.gov/TSC 
to make a direct tax payment. After logging 
into the TSC, select the Make Payment Only 

option and choose a tax type from the drop down box. Using 
this option authorizes DRS to electronically withdraw a 
payment from your bank account (checking or savings) on a 
date you select up to the due date. As a reminder, even if you 
pay electronically you must still file your return on or before 
the due date. Tax not paid on or before the due date will be 
subject to penalty and interest.
Pay by Credit Card or Debit Card: You may elect to pay 
your tax liability using a credit card (American Express®, 
Discover®, MasterCard®, or VISA®) or comparable debit card. 
A convenience fee will be charged by the service provider. You 
will be informed of the amount of the fee and you may elect to 
cancel the transaction. At the end of the transaction you will be 
given a confirmation number for your records.
Visit www.officialpayments.com and select State Payments. 
Your payment is effective on the date you make the charge.
Do not send in Form CT-1120 EXT if payment is made 
through the credit card service provider. If your payment 
is late, DRS will notify you in writing that your request for 
extension of time to file is denied.

Interest and Penalty
Interest is assessed at 1% per month or fraction of a month 
on any underpayment of tax computed from the due date 
of the return. The penalty for underpayment of tax is 10% 
of the tax due or $50, whichever is greater. If no tax is due, 
the Commissioner of Revenue Services may impose a $50 
penalty for the late filing of any return or report that is required 
by law to be filed.

https://www.ct.gov/drs/TSCfiling
https://portal.ct.gov/TSC
https://www.officialpayments.com
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If a request for a filing extension has been granted, a 
corporation may avoid a penalty for failure to pay the full 
amount due by the original due date if it pays:
• At least 90% of the tax shown to be due on the return on 

or before the original due date of the return; and
• The balance due with the filing of Form CT-1120, or Form  

CT-1120CU on or before the extended due date.

Credit Against Estimated Payments
An overpayment of tax liability for 2019 will be applied 
against the first installment of estimated tax due in 2020 if 
the taxpayer timely files a completed Form CT-1120 or Form 
CT-1120CU and elects to apply an overpayment from 2019 
against its 2020 estimated tax. 

Limit on Credits
The amount of tax credits allowable against the Corporation 
Business Tax for any income year may not exceed 50.01% 
of the tax due prior to the application of the tax credits.
Each taxable member included in Form CT-1120CU applies 
tax credits on a separate company basis, which are then 
aggregated and applied against the combined unitary tax 
liability.
See Special Notice 2016(1), Combined Unitary Legislation, 
for more information on tax credit usage by members of a 
unitary group.
No tax credit allowed against the Corporation Business Tax 
shall reduce a company’s minimum tax to an amount less 
than $250.

Tax Credit Recapture
If the corporation is subject to recapture of tax credits, include 
the tax credit recapture amount in the total tax for the current 
income year.

Surtax
Companies whose gross income equals or exceeds $100 
million or who file as part of a combined unitary return must 
pay a surtax of 10% of the tax without regard to credits 
and tax credit recapture. The surtax does not apply to the 
minimum tax of $250.

Special Instructions - Combined Unitary Tentative 
Corporation Business Tax Return
The Designated Taxable Member should file one Form 
CT-1120 EXT on behalf of all members of the combined 
unitary group included in Form CT-1120CU.
All payments should be made under the Designated Taxable 
Member’s Connecticut Tax Registration Number.
For groups filing their first Form CT-1120CU in 2019, the group 
will select a Designated Taxable Member when it files its Form 
CT-1120CU. If the parent company does not have nexus in 
Connecticut, any other member with nexus may be selected 
as the Designated Taxable Member. If a payment is made 
by a member other than the Designated Taxable Member, it 
will be treated as made by the Designated Taxable Member 
when the combined unitary return is filed. Any extension of 
time to file approved for any member of the group will be a 
valid extension of time to file for all members of the group.

Signature
An officer of the corporation must sign this form.

Paid Preparer Signature
A paid preparer must sign and date Form CT-1120 EXT. 
Paid preparers must also enter their Social Security Number 
(SSN) or Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) and their 
firm’s FEIN in the spaces provided.

Others Who May Sign
Anyone (including attorneys, accountants, and enrolled 
agents) with a signed Power of Attorney may sign for the 
corporation in place of a corporate officer.

Line Instructions
Line 1 - Enter the tax due for the current income year 
without regard to surtax or recapture. Combined unitary filers 
aggregate each taxable member’s tax and enter the total.
Line 2 - Enter the surtax amount due.
Form CT‑1120 filers: If Line 1 is $250, enter zero (“0”).  
Otherwise, if gross income (from federal Form 1120, Line 11, 
amount in box at the top of Form CT-1120) is $100 million or 
more, multiply Line 1 by 10% and enter the result.
Form CT‑1120CU filers: Each taxable member included 
in Form CT-1120CU computes its surtax on a separate 
company basis. For any taxable member whose tax exceeds 
$250, multiply the tax by 10% and enter the total of the surtax 
amounts.
Line 3 - Add Line 1 and Line 2. Include tax credit recapture, 
if applicable.
Line 4 - Multiply Line 3 by 49.99% (0.4999).
Line 5 - Form CT-1120 filers, enter $250. Form CT-1120CU 
filers, multiply the number of taxable members included in 
the return by $250 and enter the result.
Line 10 - Enter the amount of Pass-Through Entity (“PE”) tax 
credit that will be reported on Form CT-1120PE, Pass‑Through 
Entity Tax Credit. Combined Unitary filers may aggregate 
the PE credit available to each member. Do not exceed the 
balance of tax payable reported on Line 9.


