
Form AU-351
Tax Return for Persons in 

Possession of Untaxed 
Electronic Cigarette Products

Department of Revenue Services
Excise Taxes Unit
450 Columbus Blvd Ste 1
Hartford CT 06103-1837
(New 09/19) 

Declaration: I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this declaration (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to the 
best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. I understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to DRS is a 
fine of not more than $5,000, imprisonment for not more than five years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other than the taxpayer is based on all 
information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

If you did not file this return on or before the last day of the month following the month in which the purchase(s) was made, you must add interest 
and penalty as indicated on Line 7 and Line 8. Make check or money order payable to Commissioner of Revenue Services.
If you need additional information or assistance, call the DRS Audit Division, Excise Taxes Subdivision at 860-541-3224, Monday through Friday, 
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Visit the DRS website at portal.ct.gov/DRS to download and print Connecticut tax forms.

 Taxpayer’s signature   Title Date

 Paid Preparer’s signature Print Preparer’s name   Preparer’s SSN or PTIN Date

 Preparer’s address    Preparer’s Telephone #
– –

General Instructions
Persons who import, or cause to be imported, untaxed electronic cigarette 
products into Connecticut for their own personal use and consumption 
must file Form AU-351, Tax Return for Persons in Possession of Untaxed 
Electronic Cigarette Products, to report their purchases of untaxed 
electronic cigarette products.
Electronic cigarette products mean electronic nicotine delivery systems, 
electronic liquid containers, vapor products and electronic cigarette liquids 
containing nicotine. Untaxed electronic cigarette products are products 
on which the Connecticut electronic cigarette products tax has not been paid.
In addition to the electronic cigarette products tax, untaxed electronic 
cigarette products are also subject to Connecticut sales and use taxes. 
You must attach the original, or a copy of the invoice or numbered slip 
issued at the time of purchase.
Due Date: The return is due on or before the last day of the month following 
the month in which the purchase(s) was made. If the due date falls on a 

Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the return will be considered timely if 
filed by the next business day.
Rounding Off to Whole Dollars: You must round off cents to the nearest 
whole dollar on your returns and schedules. If you do not round, the 
Department of Revenue Services (DRS) will disregard the cents. Round down 
to the next lowest dollar all amounts that include 1 through 49 cents. Round 
up to the next highest dollar all amounts that include 50 through 99 cents.

Line Instructions
Line 7: Late Payment Penalty: If a tax is due, the penalty for late payment 
of the tax is 10% of the tax due or $50, whichever is greater.
Line 8: Interest: In general, interest applies to any portion of the tax not 
paid on or before the original due date of the return. If you do not pay the 
tax when due, you will owe interest at the rate of 1% per month or fraction 
of a month until the tax is paid in full.

Tax Computation
1. Total milliliters of electronic cigarette liquid purchased for any electronic cigarette products (ex. cartridges 

and pods) that are pre‑filled, manufacturer‑sealed and not intended to be refillable.  1.
2. Tax per milliliter ($.40) 2. $0.40
3. Tax amount due: Multiply Line 1 by Line 2.  3. .00
4. Total wholesale sales price of electronic cigarette products (other than pre‑filled and manufacturer‑sealed 

products) purchased untaxed from wholesalers, dealers, retailers, and persons.  4. .00
5. Tax amount due: Multiply Line 4 by 10% (.10).  5. .00
6. Total Electronic Cigarette Products Tax due: Add Line 3 and Line 5.  6. .00
7. Penalty (See instructions.)  7. .00
8. Interest (See instructions.)  8. .00
9. Purchase price: Include shipping and handling charges.  9. .00

10. Subtotal: Add Line 6 and Line 9.  10. .00
11. Calculated use tax: Multiply Line 10 by 6.35% (.0635).  11. .00
12. Sales tax paid to other jurisdictions (if any).  12. .00
13. Use tax due: Subtract Line 12 from Line 11. If less than zero, enter “0”.  13. .00
14. Total amount due: Add Lines 6, 7, 8, and 13.  14. .00

_______  / _______  / ___________

Taxpayer’s name (Print) 

Date and time you came into possession of untaxed electronic cigarette products Telephone number Social Security Number (SSN)

Mailing address Number and street City, town, or post office State ZIP code 

Physical location Number and street City, town, or post office State ZIP code 





Date Received
(DRS use only)

Date of purchase 

– –

https://portal.ct.gov/DRS

