
If you need additional information or assistance regarding the alcoholic beverages tax, see IP 2019(8) or call the Excise Taxes Unit 
at 860-541-3224, Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Make certified check payable to Commissioner of Revenue Services.
Mail to: Department of Revenue Services, State of Connecticut, Excise Taxes Unit, 450 Columbus Blvd Ste 1, Hartford CT 06103‑1837

 Name  __________________________________________________________  Social Security Number     _______________________________
 
 Address  ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

                ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 Date of birth  ___________________   You must be 21 years of age or older to bring or import alcoholic beverages into Connecticut.

Number and street 

City/Town State ZIP Code

Telephone number 

You must complete Schedule A on the reverse side of this form in order to compute the total amount of tax due.

Purpose: Use this form to report and pay Connecticut use tax and Connecticut alcoholic beverages tax on alcoholic beverages you have 
brought into Connecticut that you purchased or were given outside of Connecticut or on alcoholic beverages that you are having shipped 
into Connecticut. For more information on the importation of alcoholic beverages into Connecticut, see Informational Publication 2019(8), 
Bringing or Importing Alcoholic Beverages into Connecticut.

I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to the best of 
my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. I understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return to the Department 
of Revenue Services (DRS) is a fine of not more than $5,000, imprisonment for not more than five years, or both. The declaration of a 
paid preparer other than the taxpayer is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

For DRS Use Only
Reviewed by:  ______________________________________________ Approved:  ________________________________________________



Department of Revenue Services
Excise Taxes Unit
450 Columbus Blvd Ste 1
Hartford CT 06103‑1837
(Rev. 10/19) 

Form S & BT
Alcoholic Beverages Tax

Payment of Taxes Due on  
the Importation of Alcoholic Beverages

Date Received

 Check here if BT-100 is attached.

 Check here if BT-101 is attached.







For DRS use only

– –

Taxpayer signature Title Date

Print taxpayer name Telephone number
– –

Taxpayer SSN

Paid preparer signature Preparer’s address Preparer’s SSN or PTIN

A
Type of Alcoholic Beverage

B
No. of Gallons

C
Tax Rate

D
Alcoholic Beverage Tax

E
Purchase Price

1. Beer  X $  .24  $  $

2. Cider  X $  .26  $  $

3. Distilled liquor  X $5.94  $  $

4. Still wines not in excess of 21%  X $  .79  $  $

5. Still wines over 21% & sparkling wines  X $1.98  $  $

6. Liquor cooler not over 7% alcohol  X $2.71  $  $

7. Totals   $  $

8. Amount subject to use tax: Add totals from Line 7, Column D and Column E.  $

9. Use tax: Multiply the amount entered in Column E, Line 8, by 6.35% (.0635).  $

10. Sales or use tax paid to other jurisdictions, if any: Enter total from Schedule A, Column E.  $

11. Use tax due: Subtract Line 10 from Line 9. If less than zero, enter “0.”  $

12. Total Amount Due: Add Line 11 and the amount entered in Line 7, Column D.  $



Form S & BT  Back (Rev. 10/19) 

Schedule A

Total: This amount should agree with Line 7, Column E, on the front of this form. $

Total: Enter this amount in Line 10, Column E, on the front of this form. $

B

Description  of Alcoholic Beverage Imported

Enter brand name and type.

A

Quantity

D

 Purchase Price
Include shipping and 

handling charges.

C

Date of 
Purchase

E

Sales or Use Tax Paid
Enter amount and 

jurisdiction to which paid.

General Instructions
Use this form to report and pay Connecticut use tax and 
Connecticut alcoholic beverage tax on alcoholic beverages you:
• Brought into Connecticut that you purchased or were given 

outside of Connecticut; or
• Are having shipped into Connecticut that you purchased or 

were given outside of Connecticut.
For more information on the importation of alcoholic beverages 
into Connecticut, see IP 2019(8). You must complete this form 
and file it with DRS at the address on the front, together with 
either Form BT-100, Application for Permission to Import 
Alcoholic Beverages From Within the United States for Personal 
Consumption, or Form BT-101, Application for Permission to 
Import Alcoholic Beverages From Outside the United States 
for Personal Consumption, to import alcoholic beverages into 
Connecticut.

 Instructions for Completing Form S&BT
• You must complete Schedule A (below) first in order to 

complete the total amount of tax due on the front of this form. 
• On  the front of this form, Lines 1 through 6, Column E, enter 

the amount you paid for the untaxed alcoholic beverages 
including shipping and handling charges.  

• If you paid sales or use tax to another jurisdiction on your 
purchase of untaxed alcoholic beverages, enter on Line 10 
on the front of this form the amount of sales or use tax paid 
to the other jurisdiction as long as the invoice or slip shows 
the amount of tax paid to the other jurisdiction. 

• You must attach an original or a photocopy of the invoice or 
numbered slip issued at the time of purchase to this form.


