Department of Revenue Services
‘ State of Connecticut E E Form 0'372 ‘

PO Box 5031 i i Admissions and Dues Taxes Return
Hartford CT 06102-5031 E
[~
(Rev. 07/19)
0372 0719W 01 9999 For period ending
> — —
Form O-372 must be filed and paid electronically. Do not send this paper MM -DD .YV VY
return to the Department of Revenue Services (DRS), unless you have been
granted a waiver by DRS. See Electronic Filing Waiver, on Page 2. Connecticut Tax Registration Number
>
Taxpayer Name Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)
>
Address (number and street), apartment number, PO Box Due date
City, town, or post office State ZIP Code MM -DD-YYYY
1. Amount from motion picture shows subject to admissions tax at 6% rate ...........c.ccccocveeveennnnne 1. .00
2. Admissions tax due at 6% rate: Multiply Line 1 by 6% (.06). ......c.ccueeeiiiiiiiiiiiiiieecc e 2. p .00
3. Amount subject to admissions tax at 10% rate ...........cccooviiiiiiiiiiiei e 3. > .00
4. Admissions tax due at 10% rate: Multiply Line 3 by 10% (:10). ...oeviiiiiiiiiiiiiieicieeeee e 4. p .00
5. Amount subject to admissions tax at 7.5% rate for events at certain venues. See instructions. 5. »> .00
6. Admissions tax due at 7.5% rate: Multiply Line 5 by 7.5% (.075). ....ccccoiiiiiiiiiiiiii e 6. .00
7. Amount subject to admissions tax at 5% rate for events at Dunkin’ Donuts Park. See instructions. 7. B> .00
8. Admissions tax due at 5% rate: Multiply Line 7 by 5% (.05). .....cooiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieec e 8. .00
9. AmOoUNt SUDJECE t0 AUES TAX ...eiiiiiiiiiiiie e 9. .00
10. Dues tax due: Multiply Line 9 by 10% (.10). «ueeiiiiiiieiiiee et 10. .00
11. Total tax due: Add Lines 2, 4, 6, 8, @nd 0. .......uuiiiiieiiiieeeeeee et e e e e e eeaaes 11. .00
12. Interest: 1% of tax due per month or fraction of a month. ..... 12.p .00
13. Penalty: 10% or $50, whichever is greater .............cc.ccccveune. 13. .00
14. Total due: Add Lines 11, 12, @nd 13, ..ottt ae e s 14.p .00
Check here if:
> This is an amended return.

You are no longer required to collect these taxes. Enter last date of liability: - -

You have a new address, trade name, or physical location.
Enter new mailing address:
Enter new physical location (PO Box is not acceptable):
Enter new trade name:
Declaration: | declare under the penalty of law | have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to the best of my knowledge and

belief it is true, complete, and correct. | understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to DRS is a fine of not more than $5,000, imprisonment
for not more than five years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other than the taxpayer is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Taxpayer’s signature Title Date




General Instructions

Form 0-372 must be filed and paid electronically. You must file
a return even if no tax is due. Returns are due the last day of the
month following the end of the period.

If you have permanently discontinued the activities that made you
subject to tax, check the box on the front of this return indicating this
is your final return. Enter the last business date on the line provided.

File Electronically

File this return electronically through the Department of Revenue
Services’ (DRS) Taxpayer Service Center (TSC). The TSC
allows taxpayers to electronically file, pay, and manage state
tax responsibilities. Visit portal.ct.gov/TSC to make electronic
transactions or administer your tax account online.

Electronic Filing Waiver

Only taxpayers thatreceive a waiver from electronicfiling from DRS may
file a paper version of this form. To request a waiver from the electronic
filing requirement visit www.ct.gov/drs/TSCfiling and complete
Form DRS-EWVR, Electronic Filing and Payment Waiver Request.

File a Paper Return

Mail a paper return and payment to the address at the top of the
front page only if you received an authorized electronic filing waiver
from DRS.

Make your check payable to Commissioner of Revenue Services.
To ensure payment is applied to your account, write “Form 0-372”
and your Connecticut Tax Registration Number on the front of your
check. Do not send cash. Do not use staples. DRS may submit your
check to your bank electronically.

Rounding off to Whole Dollars

You must round off cents to the nearest whole dollar on your returns
and schedules. If you do not round, DRS will disregard the cents.
Round down to the next lowest dollar all amounts that include
1 through 49 cents. Round up to the next highest dollar all amounts
that include 50 through 99 cents.

Successor Liability

The purchaser of a business is liable under Conn. Gen. Stat.
§ 12-546 for the taxes of its predecessor to the extent of the purchase
price unless the seller provides Form AU-712AD, Tax Clearance
Certificate for Admissions and Dues Taxes, from DRS.

Responsible Person Liability

Responsible persons may be liable under Conn. Gen. Stat.
§ 12-547a for admissions and dues tax incurred by their businesses.

New Owners

Do not use the previous owner’s form to file your return. Any change
in ownership requires a new Connecticut Tax Registration Number.

Display of Certificate

You must conspicuously display your certificate of registration,
Admissions and Dues Taxes Certificate, at the place for which it
was issued.
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Line Instructions

Fill in all relevant lines, including Totals. Missing lines may
delay the processing of your return.

Line 1 - Motion picture show admission charges

Enter the amount charged for admissions to motion picture shows.
The admissions tax rate on motion picture shows is 6%. Motion
picture show admission charges of not more than $5 are exempt.
Do not enter these amounts on Line 1, or elsewhere on this return.

Line 2 - Admissions tax on motion picture shows
Multiply the amount entered on Line 1 by the 6% tax rate.

Line 3 - Admission charges at 10%

Enter the amount charged for access to a place where amusement,
entertainment, or recreation is provided. Exclude any charges
for instruction and charges exempt from admissions tax. See
Informational Publication 2018(3), Exemptions From Admissions
Tax, for additional information.

The following are exempt from admissions tax:
¢ Any admission charge of less than one dollar;

» Daily admission charges to participate in an athletic or sporting
activity;

¢ Admission charges to any event where all proceeds benefit
an entity exempt from federal income tax under the Internal
Revenue Code (IRC) provided the entity assumes the financial
risk associated with presentation of the event. The exemption
does not apply to admission charges to the stadium facility at
Rentschler Field;

e Admission charges to any event that in the Commissioner’s
opinion is held to raise funds for an entity exempt from federal
income tax under the IRC provided the net profit benefiting that
entity exceeds the admissions tax that would have been charged.
The exemption does not apply to admission charges to the stadium
facility at Rentschler Field;

* Admission charges to any interscholastic athletic event held at
the stadium facility at Rentschler Field;

* Admission charges paid by centers of service for elderly persons
described in Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17b-425(d). The exemption does
not apply to taxable admission charges to the stadium facility at
Rentschler Field;

¢ Admission charges to productions featuring live performances
by actors and musicians at Gateway’s Candlewood Playhouse,
Ocean Beach Park, or any nonprofit theater in Connecticut exempt
from federal tax under IRC § 501;

* Admission charges to any carnival or amusement ride; and

* Admission charges including cover charges to establishments
where the admission charge was previously subject to the cabaret
tax.

Line 4 - Admission charges at 10%
Multiply the amount entered on Line 3 by the 10% tax rate.
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Line 5 - Admission charges at 7.5%

Enter the total amount charged for admission to the following venues
and events, effective July 1, 2019:

» Any event at the XL Center in Hartford;
» Any event at Dillon Stadium in Hartford;

* Any athletic event presented by a member team of the Atlantic
League of Professional Baseball at the New Britain Stadium;

* Any event at the Webster Bank Arena in Bridgeport;

* Any event at the Harbor Yard Amphitheater in Bridgeport;
* Any event at Dodd Stadium in Norwich;

* Any event at the Oakdale Theatre in Wallingford; and

* Any event other than an interscholastic athletic event at the
stadium facility at Rentschler Field.

Line 6 - Admission charges at 7.5%
Multiply the amount entered on Line 5 by the 7.5% tax rate.

Line 7 - Admission charges at 5%

Enter the total amount charged for admission to any event at the
Dunkin’ Donuts Park in Hartford, effective July 1, 2019.

Line 8 - Admission charges at 5%
Multiply the amount entered on Line 7 by the 5% tax rate.

Line 9 - Club dues and initiation fees

Enter the total amount paid as dues or initiation fees to any social,
athletic, or sporting club excluding charges for instruction, certain
special assessments, and exemptions from dues tax.

The following are exempt from dues tax:

¢ A club where the annual dues and any initiation fee of a fully
privileged member are each $100 or less;

e A club sponsored and controlled by a charitable or religious
organization, governmental agency, or nonprofit educational
institution;

* Any society, order, or association operating under the lodge
system or any local fraternal organization among students of a
college or university;

e Lawn bowling clubs; and
¢ Charges for locker rentals.
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Line 10 - Club dues and initiation fees
Multiply the amount entered on Line 9 by the 10% tax rate.

Line 11 - Total tax due
Add Lines 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10 and enter the total.

Line 12 - Interest
If this is a late payment or amended return, enter interest of 1%
of the tax due per month or fraction of a month from the due date.

Line 13 - Penalty

If this is a late return, enter a penalty of 10% of the tax due or $50,
whichever is greater.

Line 14 - Total due
Add Lines 11, 12, and 13 and enter the total.

Additional Information
Call DRS during business hours, Monday through Friday, at
800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater Hartford calling
area only) or 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).

Forms and Publications

Visit the DRS website at portal.ct.gov/DRS to download and print
Connecticut tax forms and publications.
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