
HHP‑2020
Second Hospital User Fee

Return Fiscal Year 2020

Department of Revenue Services 
State of Connecticut 

(New 01/20)

Declaration: I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to the 
best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. I understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to DRS 
is a fine of not more than $5,000, imprisonment for not more than five years, or both. The declaration of a paid preparer other than the taxpayer 
is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Name of hospital   

Address                      Number and street  PO Box

City, town, or post office  State ZIP code 

Taxpayer
Type  

or  
Print

Connecticut Tax Registration Number

Federal Employer ID Number (FEIN)

CT Dept. of Public Health License Number

 

Date received (DRS use only)

Complete this return in blue or black ink. The Second Hospital User Fee must be paper filed, but paid electronically.
When to File: Form HHP‑2020 is due on or before the last day of January 2020, April 2020, and July 2020, even if no fee is due. If the 
due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the return will be considered timely if filed by the next business day. Do not use 
this return for calendar quarters beginning on or after July 1, 2020.
Read the instructions before completing this return.

1. Net revenue from inpatient hospital services for federal fiscal year 2016. See instructions 1. 00

2. Inpatient Hospital User Fee due for fiscal year 2020: Multiply Line 1 by 6%. 2. 00

3. Net revenue from outpatient hospital services for federal fiscal year 2016. See instructions. 3. 00

4. Outpatient Hospital User Fee due for fiscal year 2020: Multiply Line 3 by 12.0942%. See instructions. 4. 00

5. Total Hospital User Fee due for fiscal year 2020: Add Line 2 and Line 4. 5. 00

6. Payment made for the quarter ending September 30, 2019 6. 00

7. Balance due for fiscal year 2020: Subtract Line 6 from Line 5. 7. 00

8. Amount due with return: Divide Line 7 by 3. 8. 00

9. Add: (a) Interest  $                                      and (b) Penalty  $ 9. 00

10. Total amount due: Add Line 8 and Line 9. 10. 00

Check if applicable:  Amended Return   

May DRS contact the preparer shown below about 
this return?
 Yes  No 

Sign Here

Keep a copy 
of this return

for your 
records.

Authorized agent or officer’s signature Date Telephone number

Authorized agent or officer’s name (print) Title

Email address

Paid preparer’s signature Date Preparer’s SSN or PTIN

Paid preparer’s name (print) Telephone number

Firm’s name and address FEIN

For period ending

 – –

 – –



HHP-2020 Back (New 01/20)

General Instructions
For fiscal year 2020, each hospital must use form HHP‑2020, 
Second Hospital User Fee Return Fiscal Year 2020, to file 
and pay the remaining balance due for the fee imposed on 
net revenue from inpatient hospital services and outpatient 
hospital services.
For fiscal year 2020, hospitals are required to treat the 
payment of the Second Hospital User Fee made for the period 
ending September 30, 2019, as an estimated payment, and 
are required to pay the remaining balance due in three equal 
installments on or before January 31, 2020, April 30, 2020, 
and July 31, 2020. This return is to assist in reconciling the 
amounts due on each of these dates.
Hospitals must file this return by mailing it to the address listed 
below. All payments must be made electronically.
This return should not be used to file for calendar quarters 
beginning on or after July 1, 2020.
Required information: Enter the period date, the Connecticut 
Tax Registration Number, Federal Employer Identification 
Number (FEIN), and the Connecticut Department of Public 
Health Hospital License Number in the spaces provided.
If you are amending a prior return, check the box for Amended 
Return on the return.
Due Date: The return is due on or before January 31, 2020, 
April 30, 2020, and July 31, 2020, even if no fee is due. If the 
due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the 
return will be considered timely if filed by the next business 
day.
Mail return to:

Department of Revenue Services
Audit Division/Public Services Unit
Second Hospital User Fee
450 Columbus Blvd Ste 1
Hartford, CT 06103-1837

You must pay the amount due electronically.

Visit portal.ct.gov/TSC to use the Taxpayer Service Center 
(TSC) to pay this return. Using this option 
authorizes the Department of Revenue 
Services (DRS) to electronically withdraw a 
payment from your bank account (checking 
or savings) on a date you select up to the due date.

How to make a payment: On the Main Menu of the TSC, 
select Make Payment Only from the column on the lower 
right side of the screen. Do not select Hospital User Fee 
from the File A Return column on the left side of the screen. 
Select payment dates on or before January 31, 2020, 
April 30, 2020, and July 31, 2020, for each return filed.

Rounding Off to Whole Dollars: You must round off cents 
to the nearest whole dollar on your return and schedules. If 
you do not round, DRS will disregard the cents. Round down 
to the next lowest dollar all amounts that include 1 through 49 
cents. Round up to the next highest dollar all amounts that 
include 50 through 99 cents.

Line Instructions
Line 1: Enter the audited net revenue from inpatient hospital 
services for federal fiscal year 2016. This is the amount listed 
on the Exhibit 2 of the Settlement Agreement the hospitals 
entered into with the state.
Line 2: Multiply the amount on Line 1 by 6%. Enter the 
Inpatient Hospital User Fee due.
Line 3: Enter the audited net revenue from outpatient hospital 
services for federal fiscal year 2016. This is the amount listed 
on the Exhibit 2 of the Settlement Agreement the hospitals 
entered into with the state. Hospitals exempt from the fee 
imposed on net revenue from outpatient hospital services 
should enter zero (“0”).
Line 4: Multiply the amount on Line 3 by the fee rate imposed 
on net revenue from outpatient hospital services. 2019 Conn.
Pub. Acts 19-1 (Dec. Spec. Sess.), § 1 sets the fee rate for 
the provision of outpatient hospital services at $890,000,000 
less the total inpatient hospital user fee from all hospitals 
divided by the total audited net outpatient hospital revenue 
from all hospitals. As provided in 2019 Conn.Pub. Acts 19-1 
(Dec. Spec. Sess.), § 1, under the formula prescribed by law, 
the effective fee rate for the provision of outpatient hospital 
services is 12.0942%. Enter the Outpatient Hospital User 
Fee due.
Line 5: Add the amount on Line 2 and the amount on Line 4. 
Enter the total Hospital User Fee due for fiscal year 2020.
Line 6: Enter the total amount of the payment of Second 
Hospital User Fee the hospital made for the quarter ending 
September 30, 2019, exclusive of penalty and interest. If the 
hospital did not make a timely payment because it was on 
extension, please follow the directions in the Notice that you 
received.
Line 7: Subtract the amount on Line 6 from the amount on 
Line 5 for the total balance due for fiscal year 2020.
Line 8: Divide Line 7 by 3 for the amount due with this return.
Line 9a: Interest is computed at 1% per month or fraction of 
a month, on the underpayment of the fee, from the original 
due date of the return through the date of payment.
Line 9b: Penalty for Failure to Pay Fee When Due: 10% of 
the fee due or $50, whichever is greater.
Line 9: Add the amount on Line 9a and the amount on Line 9b. 
Enter the total interest and penalty due.
Line 10: Add the amount on Line 8 and the amount on Line 9. 
Enter the total amount due.

https://portal.ct.gov/TSC

