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Form AU-620 
Direct Payment Permit Application 

  

Business name  

D/B/A  

CT Tax Registration Number  

 

Business address 
 

 

Name of owner, partners,

 
 

corporate officers, LLC members

 

 

  

Contact person 

Title Telephone number          ―          ― 

Describe the business in detail 

 

 

Multiple Business Locations: Complete this section if multiple locations are reported on one Form OS-114, Connecticut 
Sales and Use Tax Return. Include complete information for all sub-number locations previously approved by the Department 

of Revenue Services (DRS) to be included under the primary number. Attach additional sheets as needed. 

1. Business name and address 2. Business name and address 

    Mailing address     Mailing address 

    CT Tax Registration Number     CT Tax Registration Number 

 

Please answer the following questions: 

 Does the business' accounting system maintain separate general ledger accounts for sales tax  
 collected from customers and/or use tax accrued?  Yes  No 

 Can the business' accounting system isolate purchases for your Connecticut location(s)?  Yes  No 

 Does the business have a large volume of purchases in which determining taxability is complex or 
is not determinable at the time of the transaction?  Yes  No 

 Does DRS regularly audit the business for sales and/or use taxes?  Yes  No 

 If you are regularly audited, have you complied with DRS’ audit guidance and the audit findings 
to improve reporting compliance?   Yes  No 

 Has DRS or the IRS imposed a penalty on the business in the last six years, whether or not  Yes  No 
the penalty was waived? If yes, attach an explanation. 

 Has the business, or any related company, filed for bankruptcy within the last ten years?   Yes  No 

 Does the business agree to have the company listed as a direct payment permit holder on the DRS website?  Yes No 

 

Enclose a $20 permit fee with this application. Make check payable to Commissioner of Revenue Services. 

Declaration: As an authorized representative (owner, partner, corporate officer, or LLC member), I declare under penalty of law 

I have examined this document (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to the best of my knowledge and 
belief, it is true, correct, and complete. I understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to DRS is a fine 
of not more than $5,000, or imprisonment for not more than five years, or both. 

I also agree the business name may be published as a direct payment permit holder on the DRS website, in any related 
publication and in any other manner disclosed for tax administration purposes. 

Signature of authorized representative Print name  

   

Title Date  



Form AU-620 Instructions 

Use Form AU-620, Direct Payment Permit 
Application, to apply for a direct payment permit 
from the Department of Revenue Services (DRS). 

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-409a allows the Commissioner 
of Revenue Services, in the Commissioner’s 
discretion, to issue direct payment permits. Within 
120 days from the postmark date of the 
application, the Commissioner will review the 
completed application. At the end of the review 
process, a letter of approval or denial will be sent 
to the taxpayer. The Commissioner retains sole 
discretion in the approval, denial, and revocation 
of direct payment permits. The application will not 
be considered unless complete. Incomplete 
applications will be returned. 

This direct payment permit application is valid for 
the primary Connecticut Tax Registration Number 
listed on the front. The direct payment permit 
includes all sub-numbers previously approved by 
DRS to be filed under this primary tax registration 
number. (See Multiple Business Locations, on front.) 

If the multiple locations file separate sales and 
use tax returns, then a direct payment permit 
application and $20 permit fee must be submitted 
for each location. 

Upon approval, DRS will send you Form AU-621, 
Direct Payment Permit, by certified mail. A direct 
payment permit is valid until you surrender it or 
DRS revokes it. If the direct payment permit is 
surrendered or revoked, the holder must promptly 
notify, in writing, all vendors from whom tangible 
personal property or services have been 
purchased or leased. 

Should this application be rejected, you will be 
notified by certified mail. 

Mail the completed application and enclose a 
$20 permit fee with this application. If your 
application is approved, the $20 permit fee will 
be deposited; if denied, the fee will be returned. 
Make the check payable to Commissioner of 
Revenue Services. 

Mail to: Department of Revenue Services 
Sales Tax Audit Division Chief, 8th Floor 
450 Columbus Blvd Ste 1 
Hartford CT 06103-1837 

If you have any questions, please email 
Carol.Andrews@po.state.ct.us. 
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