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Declaration: I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this certificate and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. 
I understand the penalty for reporting false information is a fine of not more than $5,000, imprisonment for not more than five years, or both.

First name Ml Last name Social Security Number

Home address (number and street, apartment number, suite number, PO Box) 

City/town State ZIP code 

Payee’s signature Date

Withholding Certificate for
Pension or Annuity Payments 2020 Form CT-W4PDepartment of Revenue Services

State of Connecticut

Claim or identification number (if any) of your 
pension or annuity contract

Withholding 
CodeMarried Filing Jointly

Our expected combined annual gross income is less 
E

 
than or equal to $24,000 or no withholding is necessary 
(i.e., withholding from other income source).
My spouse has income subject to withholding and our 
expected combined annual gross income is greater than A 
$24,000 and less than or equal to $100,500.
My spouse does not have income subject to withholding 
and our expected combined annual gross income C 
is greater than $24,000.
My spouse has income subject to withholding and 
our expected combined annual gross income D 
is greater than $100,500.

I have significant other income and wish to avoid having D 
too little tax withheld.

Purpose: Form CT‑W4P is for Connecticut resident recipients of pensions, annuities, and certain other deferred compensation, to tell 
payers the correct amount of Connecticut income tax to withhold. Your options depend on whether the payment is periodic or nonperiodic. 
Read instructions on Page 2 before completing this form.
Instructions for Periodic Payments, such as a monthly pension payment:

Step 1: (Required) Select the filing status and description of income from the chart below that best matches your situation. Enter the 
corresponding Withholding Code on Line 1.
Step 2: (Optional) To see the amount of tax that will be withheld monthly, go to portal.ct.gov/DRS, select Forms, below the section 
titled Guidance select Calculators, then select Monthly Connecticut Withholding Calculator.
Step 3: (Optional) To increase or decrease the amount that will be withheld, enter an additional amount on Line 2, or a reduction 
amount on Line 3.

Instructions for Nonperiodic Payments, such as an on demand distribution: Do not use the chart below. Either enter Withholding Code “E” 
on Line 1 which will result in $0 withholding; or enter Withholding Code “E” on Line 1 and a dollar amount on Line 2 for a specific amount to be 
withheld. If neither of these options are indicated, your payer will withhold at 6.99%.

 

My expected annual gross income is less than or equal to 
E

 
$24,000 or no withholding is necessary (i.e., withholding 
from other income source).
My expected annual gross income is greater C 
than $24,000.
I have significant other income and wish to avoid having D 
too little tax withheld.

Qualifying Widow(er) Withholding 
Code

My expected annual gross income is less than or equal to 
E

 
$12,000 or no withholding is necessary (i.e., withholding 
from other income source).
My expected annual gross income is greater A 
than $12,000.
I have significant other income and wish to avoid having D 
too little tax withheld.

Married Filing Separately Withholding 
Code

My expected annual gross income is less than or equal to 
E

 
$15,000 or no withholding is necessary (i.e., withholding 
from other income source).
My expected annual gross income is greater F 
than $15,000.
I have significant other income and wish to avoid having D 
too little tax withheld.

Single Withholding 
Code

My expected annual gross income is less than or equal to 
E

 
$19,000 or no withholding is necessary (i.e., withholding 
from other income source).
My expected annual gross income is greater B 
than $19,000.
I have significant other income and wish to avoid having D 
too little tax withheld.

Head of Household Withholding 
Code

Complete the following applicable lines.
1. Withholding Code: See instructions above. ................................................................................................ 1. 

2. Additional withholding amount per payment, if any.  ................................................................................... 2. $

3. Reduced withholding amount per payment, if any. . .................................................................................... 3. $

Submit completed form to the payer of your pension or annuity, not DRS.

https://portal.ct.gov/DRS
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Form CT-W4P Instructions 

Payee General Instructions
Form CT-W4P, Withholding Certificate for Pension or Annuity 
Payments, is for Connecticut resident recipients of pension, 
annuities and certain other deferred compensation subject to 
Connecticut income tax. Form CT‑W4P provides your payer 
with the necessary information to withhold the correct amount of 
Connecticut income tax from your pension or annuity payment 
to ensure that you will not be underwithheld or overwithheld.
Effective January 1, 2018, payers of taxable pension or annuity 
distributions are required to deduct and withhold income tax from 
such distributions. Distributions subject to withholding include 
taxable distributions from the following: an employer pension, 
and annuity, a profit sharing plan, a stock bonus, a deferred 
compensation plan, an individual retirement arrangement (IRA), 
an endowment and a life insurance contract. Taxable distributions 
are distributions that are subject to federal income tax.
The method of withholding depends on whether the payment 
is periodic, nonperiodic, or a distribution of the entire account 
balance. Connecticut uses the federal definition for periodic and 
nonperiodic payments.

Periodic Payments: Withholding from periodic pension 
and annuity payments, such as monthly pension payments, is 
calculated using the same method that an employer uses to 
determine the amount to withhold from wages. 
Complete Form CT‑W4P by selecting a withholding code based 
on the filing status you expect to report on your Connecticut 
income tax return and the statement that best describes your 
annual gross income.
For the purpose of determining your withholding code, your 
annual gross income is your total income from all sources, but 
you may exclude the following amounts:
• If you receive Social Security benefits, and your filing status 

is single or married filing separately and your federal adjusted 
gross income is less than $75,000; or married filing jointly, 
qualifying widow(er), or head of household and your federal 
adjusted gross income is less than $100,000, do not include 
the amount of your Social Security. If your federal adjusted 
gross income is above these limits for your filing status, then 
do not include 75% of your total Social Security benefits.

• If you receive payments from the Teachers’ Retirement 
System, do not include 25% of the amounts received.

• If you receive pension and annuity income from a defined 
benefit plan, a 401(k), 403(b) or a 457 plan, do not include 
14% of those amounts. See the What’s New section in the 
2019 Form CT‑1040 return instructions.

Failure to give your payer a properly completed Form 
CT‑W4P will result in 6.99% withholding from your payment(s).

Nonperiodic Payments: Your payer must withhold 
6.99% from the taxable amount of nonperiodic payments 
(see Distribution of the entire account balance, on this page) 
unless you complete Form CT‑W4P using one of the following 
options. Distributions from an IRA that are payable on demand 
are treated as nonperiodic payments. Do not use the chart 
on Page 1. Either enter:
• Withholding Code “E” on Line 1 which will result in $0 

withholding; or 
• Withholding Code “E” on Line 1 and a dollar amount on 

Line 2 for a specific amount to be withheld. 

You may not choose any other withholding code.
Form CT‑W4P will remain in effect until you submit a new one. 
You should complete a new Form CT‑W4P if your tax situation 
changes, such as your filing status changes. You should furnish 
your payer with a new Form CT‑W4P.

Distribution of the entire account balance: The 
withholding rate for lump sum distribution of the entire account 
balance is 6.99% without allowance for exemption, unless any 
portion of the lump sum distribution was previously subject to tax, 
or the lump sum distribution is a trustee‑to‑trustee transfer, or is 
a direct roll over in the form of a check made payable to another 
qualified account. You cannot claim exemption from withholding. 
Don’t give Form CT‑W4P to your payer.

Check Your Withholding
You may be underwithheld if any of the following apply:
• You have more than one source of income;
• If your filing status is married filing jointly and you or your 

spouse, or both, have more than one source of income; or
• You have substantial other income such as interest, 

dividends or capital gains.
If you are underwithheld, you should consider adjusting 
your withholding or making estimated payments using Form 
CT-1040ES, Estimated Connecticut Income Tax Payment 
Coupon for Individuals.
If you owe $1,000 or more in Connecticut income tax over and 
above what has been withheld from your income for the prior 
taxable year, you may be subject to interest on the underpayment 
at the rate of 1% per month or fraction of a month.
To help determine if your withholding is correct, see 
Informational Publication 2020(7), Is My Connecticut 
Withholding Correct?

Payer Instructions
For any payee who does not complete Form CT‑W4P, you 
are required to withhold at the highest marginal rate of 6.99% 
without allowance for exemption. You are required to keep Form 
CT‑W4P in your files for each payee.
For additional instructions, see Informational Publication 2019(10), 
Connecticut Tax Guide for Payers of Nonpayroll Amounts.

Forms and Publications
Visit the DRS website at portal.ct.gov/DRS to download and 
print Connecticut tax forms and publications.

For More Information
Call DRS during business hours, Monday through Friday:
• 800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls from outside the Greater 

Hartford calling area only); or
• 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).
TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit 
inquiries anytime by calling 860‑297‑4911.Taxpayers may also 
call 711 for relay services. A taxpayer must tell the 711 operator 
the number he or she wishes to call. The relay operator will 
dial it and then communicate using a TTY with the taxpayer.

https://portal.ct.gov/DRS

