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DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES AN 2001(11)

ANNOUNCEMENT

Implementation of Roll-Your-Own Tobacco Legislation Delayed

Purpose: This Announcement aerts taxpayers and
tax practitioners that, until further notice, roll-your-
own tobacco will continue to be subject to the tobacco
products tax rather than to the cigarette tax.

Effective Date: Effective January 1, 2002.

Statutory Authority: Conn. Gen. Stat. §812-285(b)
and 12-330a, as amended by 2001 Conn. Pub. Acts 6,
8827 and 28 (June Spec. Sess.) (“2001 legislation”).

Implementation Delayed: The 2001 legislation
treats each 0.09 ounce of roll-your-own tobacco as a
cigarette subject to the cigarette tax rather than to the
tobacco products tax. As a conseguence, unless
implementation of this legislation is delayed, each
package of roll-your-own cigarette tobacco would be
required, as of January 1, 2002, to have Connecticut
cigarette tax stamps affixed to it and to contain no less
than 1.8 ounces of roll-your-own cigarette tobacco.

The Department of Revenue Services (DRS) has
decided that implementation of the 2001 legislation
should be delayed until further notice. As a result of
this decision, taxpayers and tax practitioners should be
aware of the following:

e First, the delay in implementation prevents
packages of roll-your-own tobacco in the inventory
of licensed tobacco product distributors as of
January 1, 2002, from being subject both to the
tobacco products tax and to the cigarette tax.
Packages in the inventory of licensed tobacco
product distributors as of January 1, 2002, remain
subject only to the tobacco products tax, and
packages purchased on or after January 1, 2002,
continue to be subject to the tobacco products tax
unless and until DRS announces that packages
purchased on or after a specified date will be

subject to the cigarette tax and not to the tobacco
products tax. DRS will provide notice of a change
at least 60 days in advance.

* Second, the delay in implementation permits
packages containing less than 1.8 ounces of roll-
your-own tobacco (the equivalent of 20 cigarettes)
to be sold. Because of the delay, it is not unlawful
to sell packages containing less than 1.8 ounces of
roll-your-own tobacco unless and until DRS
announces that packages containing less than 1.8
ounces of roll-your-own tobacco may not be sold
on or after a specified date. DRS will provide
notice of a change at least 60 days in advance.

e Third, the delay in implementation permits
packages of roll-your-own tobacco to be sold
without having Connecticut cigarette tax stamps
affixed to them. Unstamped packages in the
inventory of licensed tobacco product distributors
as of January 1, 2002, may be sold, and unstamped
packages purchased on or after January 1, 2002,
may be sold unless and until DRS announces that
unstamped packages may not be sold on or after a
specified date. DRS will provide notice of a
change at least 60 daysin advance.

The current requirements imposed on licensed tobacco
products distributors to report roll-your-own tobacco
held for sale on Form OP-300, Tobacco Products Tax
Return, and to pay tobacco products tax on these
products held for sale remain unchanged unless and
until DRS announces otherwise.

Effect on Other Documents: None affected.

Effect of This Document: Announcements alert
taxpayers to new developments (other than newly
enacted or amended Connecticut or federal laws or
newly released judicial decisions), including new
administrative positions, policies, or practices.
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For Further Information on the Cigarette or Forms and Publications: Forms and publications
Tobacco Products Taxes: Call the Excise/Public are available al day, seven days a week:
Services Taxes Subdivision at 860-541-3225 during  « |nternet: Preview and download forms
business hours, 8:00 am. to 5:00 p.m., Monday and publications from the DRS Web site:
through Friday. www.drs.state.ct.us
« DRS TAX-FAX: Cal 860-297-5698 from the
handset attached to your fax machine and select
from the menu.
» Telephone: Call 860-297-4753 (from anywhere),
or 1-800-382-9463 (toll-free within Connecticut)
and select Option 2 from a touch-tone phone.
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Cigarette Tax
Tobacco Products Tax
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