25 Sigourney Street
Hartford CT 06106-5032

ANNOUNCEMENT

New Restrictions on Transporting Cigarettes
to Persons in Connecticut

Purpose: This Announcement alerts persons (including
contract and common carriers) who transport cigarettes
that recently enacted legislation imposes civil and
criminal sanctions on them if they knowingly transport
cigarettes to any residential dwelling in Connecticut or to
any person in Connecticut other than a lawful recipient,
as defined in this Announcement.

Effective Date: July 1, 2003.

Criminal law sanctions: If you knowingly violate this
law, you are guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and, for a
second or subsequent violation, are guilty of a Class D
felony. A person convicted of a Class A misdemeanor
may be fined not more than $2,000 or imprisoned not
more than one year, or both. A person convicted of a
Class D felony may be fined not more than $5,000 or
imprisoned not less than one year nor more than five
years, or both.

Statutory Authority: 2003 Conn. Pub. Acts 271, §1.

New restrictions: Whether or not you are a contract or

common carrier, it is illegal for you to transport cigarettes to:

e Any residential dwelling in Connecticut, or

e To any person in Connecticut unless the person is a
lawful recipient.

As used in this Announcement, a lawful recipient is a

person who is:

e Licensed as a cigarette dealer by the Department of
Revenue Services (DRS) or a person whose name
appears on a list of licensed dealers published by
DRS (See Names and Addresses to Be Published
on DRS Internet Website below.);

e Licensed as a cigarette distributor by DRS or a
person whose name appears on a list of licensed
distributors published by DRS (See Names and
Addresses to Be Published on DRS Internet
Website below.);

e Issued a permit to engage in business as an export
warehouse proprietor by the Internal Revenue
Service under 26 U.S.C. §5713;

e Operating a Customs bonded warehouse under
§311 or 555 of the Tariff Act of 1930 (19 U.S.C.
§1311 or 1555); or

e An officer, employee, or agent of the U.S.
Government, Connecticut State Government, or
political subdivision of either, when the person
is acting in his or her official capacity.

Civil law sanctions: If you knowingly violate this
law, you are subject to a civil penalty of not more than
$5,000 for each violation. The Attorney General, upon
request by DRS, may bring an action in the Superior
Court against you to collect the penalty and to seek
injunctive or equitable relief. If the Attorney General
brings an action, the State will be entitled, if it prevails,
to recover from you the costs of investigation, expert
witness fees, costs of the action, and reasonable
attorneys’ fees.

Cigarettes, and the Motor Vehicle Transporting
Them, Are Contraband Goods Subject to
Search, Seizure, and Confiscation: If you
knowingly violate this law, the cigarettes being transported
in violation of this law, and the motor vehicle being used to
transport the cigarettes, are contraband goods. The motor
vehicle and the cigarettes being transported in violation of
this law may be searched, seized, and confiscated as
provided in Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-305.

Containers to Be Plainly and Visibly Marked
With the Word “Cigarettes”: When any person
engaged in the business of selling cigarettes requests you
transport  cigarettes other than in the cigarette
manufacturer’s original shipping container to any person in
Connecticut who is a lawful recipient, the container must be
plainly and visibly marked with the word cigarettes.
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Names and Addresses to Be Published on DRS
Internet Website: On the first business day of each
month, DRS will publish on its Internet website
(www.ct.gov/DRS) a list, compiled on the twenty fifth day
of the preceding month, identifying the name of each person
who has been licensed by DRS as a cigarette distributor or
as a cigarette dealer, and the address of the premises covered
by the license. The preceding month’s list will then be
deleted from the website.

Is the person on the current list? You are expected to
review the current list, as often as necessary, to determine
whether any person to whom you would transport cigarettes
is on the list.

On the current list. If a person to whom you would
transport cigarettes is on the current list, you may transport
the cigarettes to the person.

Not on the current list. If a person to whom you would
transport cigarettes is not on the current list, you may not
transport the cigarettes to the person unless the person has
been licensed by DRS as a cigarette distributor or as a
cigarette dealer since the current list was published. You
will be able to verify if this is the case by inspecting the
person’s cigarette distributor’s license or cigarette dealer’s
license, which Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-286(b) requires to be
conspicuously displayed on the premises covered by the
license. Otherwise, you will not be able to transport
cigarettes to the person unless the person proves that he or
she is an export warehouse proprietor, the operator of a
Customs bonded warehouse, or a federal or Connecticut
Government officer, employee, or agent acting in his or her
official capacity.

DRS hopes to provide more information in the near future
concerning how a person may prove to you that he or she is
an export warehouse proprietor or the operator of a Customs
bonded warehouse.

For Further Information on the Cigarette
Taxes: For further information on the cigarette taxes,
call the Excise Taxes Unit at 860-541-3224, Monday
through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

For Further Information: Call DRS during business
hours, Monday through Friday:

e 1-800-382-9463 (in-state), or
e 860-297-5962 (from anywhere)

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may
transmit inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911.

Forms and Publications: Forms and publications

are available anytime by:

e Internet: Preview and download forms and
publications from the DRS Web site at
www.ct.gov/DRS

e DRS TAX-FAX: Call 860-297-5698 from the
handset attached to your fax machine and select from
the menu.

e Telephone: Call 860-297-4753 (from anywhere), or
1-800-382-9463 (in-state) and select Option 2 from a
touch-tone phone.

Effect on Other Documents: None affected.

Effect of This Document: Announcements alert
taxpayers to new developments (other than newly
enacted or amended Connecticut or federal laws or newly
released judicial decisions), including new administrative
positions, policies, or practices.

Paperless Filing Methods (fast, easy, free, and
confidential):

e For business returns: Use Fast-File to file sales
and use taxes, business use tax, room occupancy tax,
or withholding tax returns over the Internet or
telephone. Visit the DRS Web site at
www.ct.gov/DRS and click on File Returns
On-Line or call 860-947-1988.

o For resident income tax returns: Use WebFile to
file personal income tax returns over the Internet.
Visit the DRS Web site at www.ct.gov/DRS and
click on File Returns On-Line.
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