STATE OF CONNECTICUT

25 Sigourney Street
Hartford CT 06106-5032

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES

ANNOUNCEMENT

New Restriction on The Use of MTBE as a Gasoline
Additive in Connecticut

Purpose: This Announcement alerts motor vehicle
fuels tax distributors (including “tax-paid” gasoline
distributors) of the impending statutory ban on the use of
methyl tertiary butyl ether (MTBE) as an additive in
gasoline intended for sale to ultimate consumers in
Connecticut on or after January 1, 2004, and the resulting
changes in monthly motor vehicle fuels tax returns being
mailed to distributors by the Department of Revenue
Services (DRS).

Effective Date: January 1, 2004.

Gasohol Tax Return to be Mailed: As there will be a
period of time when distributors may be selling both
gasoline with MTBE and gasohol, DRS will send
distributors both Form O-MF-1, Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax
Return, and Form O-MF-3, Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax
Gasohol Tax Return, for the months of November and
December 2003. If a distributor will not be selling gasohol
(e.g., the distributor will only be selling aviation gas), the
distributor should so indicate on the Form O-MF-3 for
November 2003, and DRS will not mail the distributor that
return in the future.

Statutory Authority: Conn. Gen. Stat. §22a-450a(b), as
amended by 2003 Conn. Pub. Acts 122, §1.

New Restriction: Effective January 1, 2004, it is illegal
for any gasoline intended for sale to ultimate consumers in
Connecticut to contain more than one-half of one percent
(0.5%) by volume of MTBE as a gasoline additive. This
ban is contingent on the state of New York enacting a
similar ban effective January 1, 2004. If the state of New
York does not implement the ban as scheduled, DRS will
advise distributors accordingly.

Bond and Registration Requirements: A
distributor’s current motor vehicle fuels tax distributor bond
will cover its activity as a gasohol distributor. Therefore, a
distributor will not be required to obtain a separate bond to
cover its gasohol tax liability. Additionally, a distributor
will not be required to complete Form REG-5MF,
Application for Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax, in order to be
registered as a gasohol distributor. DRS will handle that
internally.

Effect on Other Documents: None affected.

Ethanol-Based Gasoline Likely to Be Used in Lieu
of MTBE Gasoline: It appears likely that gasoline with
MTBE as an additive will be replaced by ethanol-based
gasoline. If the ethanol-based gasoline consists of a blend
of gasoline and a minimum of ten percent by volume of
ethanol and is commonly referred to as gasohol, it is
gasohol, as defined in Conn. Gen. Stat. §14-1. The sale or
use of such gasohol is taxed at the gasohol tax rate of 24
cents ($0.24) per gallon (one cent less per gallon than
gasoline). Any gasoline containing less than ten percent by
volume of ethanol is not gasohol, as defined in Conn. Gen.
Stat. §14-1. The sale or use of such gasoline will be taxed at
the gasoline tax rate of 25 cents ($0.25) per gallon.

Effect of This Document: Announcements alert
taxpayers to new developments (other than newly
enacted or amended Connecticut or federal laws or newly
released judicial decisions), including new administrative
positions, policies, or practices.

For Further Information on the Motor Vehicle
Fuels Taxes: For further information on the motor
vehicle fuels tax, call the Excise Taxes Unit at
860-541-3224, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00
p.m.
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For Further Information: Call DRS during business
hours, Monday through Friday:

1-800-382-9463 (in-state), or
860-297-5962 (from anywhere)

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may
transmit inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911.

Telephone: Call 860-297-4753 (from anywhere), or
1-800-382-9463 (in-state) and select Option 2 from a
touch-tone phone.

Forms and Publications: Forms and publications are
available anytime by:

Internet: Preview and download forms and

publications from the DRS Web site at
www.ct.gov/DRS
DRS TAX-FAX: Call 860-297-5698 from the

handset attached to your fax machine and select from
the menu.

Paperless Filing Methods (fast, easy, free, and
confidential):

For business returns: Use Fast-File to file sales
and use taxes, business use tax, room occupancy tax,
or withholding tax returns over the Internet or
telephone. Visit the DRS Web site at
www.ct.gov/DRS and click on File Returns
On-Line or call 860-947-1988.

For resident income tax returns: Use WebFile to
file personal income tax returns over the Internet.
Visit the DRS Web site at www.ct.gov/DRS and
click on File Returns On-Line.
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