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 STATE OF CONNECTICUT  AN 2015(5) 
 DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES 
 

25 Sigourney Street Ste 2 
Hartford CT 06106‐5032 

    ANNOUNCEMENT 

Obligation of Dry Cleaners and Dry Cleaning Drop Stores for the 
Dry Cleaning Establishment Surcharge and Business Use Tax 

 

 

 

Dry Cleaning Establishment Registration: 
Beginning October 1, 2015, dry cleaning 
establishments must renew their registration with the 
Department of Revenue Services (DRS) each 
October 1. Failure to renew your registration with 
DRS will result in a $200 penalty. 
 
DRS will mail renewal applications to registered dry 
cleaners each year. Businesses must list each of their 
Connecticut locations on their renewal application. 
You must register each location with DRS and 
display a Dry Cleaning Establishment Surcharge 
Certificate in order to legally conduct business in the 
state. Locations not registered with DRS must submit 
an REG-1, Business Taxes Registration Application, 
and an REG-1 Addendum B, Dry Cleaning 
Establishment Surcharge, to receive a Dry Cleaning 
Establishment Surcharge Certificate.  
 
Dry cleaning establishments already doing business 
in Connecticut that currently are not registered with 
DRS must register by October 1, 2015, or be subject 
to a $1,000 penalty.  Dry cleaning establishments that 
do not renew their permit or do not register for the 
surcharge may not engage in or transact business. 
 

 

What Is Dry Cleaning? Dry cleaning includes (but 
not limited to) the use of the following chemical 
solvents: 
 

 Perchloroethylene, Trichlorotrifluoroethane, 
Stoddard, 140F; 

 Organic processes using DF-2000 solvent 
(Petroleum-Based) classified by the EPA as a 
neurotoxin, Solvon K4; 

 Green Earth processes using D5 (Silicone-
Based). 

 

 

Dry Cleaning Establishment Surcharge: A dry 
cleaning establishment surcharge of 1% is imposed 
on the total amount of all retail dry cleaning service 

receipts. The surcharge is imposed upon the dry 
cleaning establishment, not the customer. 
 
A dry cleaning establishment is subject to the Dry 
Cleaning Surcharge if: 
 
 The business is engaged in the cleaning of 

clothing or other fabrics using tetrachlorethylene, 
stoddard solvent or other chemicals for retail sale 
except sales for resale in the regular course of 
business.    

 
 The business accepts clothing or other fabrics for 

dry cleaning services at retail to be cleaned by 
another establishment using tetrachlorethylene, 
Stoddard solvent or other chemicals, also referred 
to as a drop store. 

 
Sales for resale by dry cleaning establishments to 
drop stores are not subject to the 1% surcharge at the 
dry cleaning establishment level.  However, the drop 
store is required to impose the 1% surcharge on the 
total amount of all of its retail dry cleaning service 
receipts.    
  
 

Wet Cleaners Are Not Subject to the Dry 
Cleaning Surcharge: Wet Cleaning refers to 
cleaning processes using water as the solvent 
(Aqueous Solvents-Detergents/Conditioners).  Refer 
to the web site wetcleanersusa.com for certified wet 
cleaners. 
 
See SN 94(16), Dry Cleaner Establishment 
Surcharge, for additional information.  
 

 

Business Use Tax on Dry Cleaning 
Establishments: Business Use Tax applies to 
goods or services purchased by your company on 
which sales tax was not collected.   
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Examples of purchases subject to use tax are: 
 

 Transfer machines, 
 washers, 
 extractors,  
 dry-to-dry machines, 
  reclaiming dryers,  
 solvents, tanks,  
 detergents,  
 condensers,  
 separators,  
 muck cookers,  
 carbon adsorption units,  
 cartridge filters, pipes,  
 flanges, and pumps,  
 hangers,  
 soap,  
 shrink-wrap,  
 cleaning supplies,  
 packing slips,  
 clothing identifiers,  
 furniture, instruments,  
 appliances,  
 computers,  
 computer software,  
 office supplies,  
 paper,  
 stationery items, 
  certain publications, and  
 books. 

 

 

Services Subject to the Use Tax: Taxable 
services include but are not limited to: 
 

 repairs to tangible personal property,  
 janitorial, business analysis,  
 computer services, landscaping, alarm systems, 
 exterminating, 
 locksmith, 
 maintenance, 
 refuse removal, 
 services to existing real property, 
 sign installation, 
 snow plowing/removal, 
 ventilation systems, and  
 window cleaning.    

 
See IP 2003(31), Connecticut Use Tax for Businesses 
and Professions, for additional information.  

 

Effective Date: July 1, 2015  
 

 

Statutory Authority: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-263m(b). 
 

 

Effect on Other Documents: None. 
 

 

Effect of This Document: Announcements alert 
taxpayers to new developments (other than newly 
enacted or amended Connecticut or federal laws or 
newly released judicial decisions), including new 
administrative positions, policies, or practices. 
 

 

For Further Information: Call DRS during 
business hours, Monday through Friday: 

 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the 
Greater Hartford calling area only); or 

 860-297-5962 (from anywhere). 

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may 
transmit inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911. 
 

 

Forms and Publications: Visit the DRS website at 
www.ct.gov/DRS to download and print Connecticut 
tax forms and publications. 
 

 
Paperless Filing/Payment Methods (fast, 
easy, free, and confidential):  

Taxpayers can use the Taxpayer Service Center 
(TSC) at www.ct.gov/TSC to file a variety of tax 
returns, update account information, and make 
payments online. 

File Electronically: Follow the prompts to log into 
the TSC to file returns and pay taxes. 

Pay Electronically: Use the TSC to make payments 
for most Connecticut taxes, even ones that cannot be 
filed electronically. 
 

 

Want DRS E-Alerts? Get connected to the latest 
news from DRS. Receive notification by email of 
changes to legislation, policies, and procedures. 

DRS E-Alerts provide information for employer’s 
withholding tax, News – Press Releases, and Top 100 
Delinquency List. Visit the DRS website at 
www.ct.gov/DRS and select Sign up for e-alerts 
under How Do I? on the gold navigation bar. 
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