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  STATE OF CONNECTICUT 

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES IP 2008(11) 
25 Sigourney Street 
Hartford CT 06106-5032 

  INFORMATIONAL PUBLICATION 

Exemptions From Admissions Tax  
 

 

Purpose: This Informational Publication describes 
the exemptions from admissions tax. It has been 
updated to reflect legislative changes and a change of 
name for one of the exempt venues. 
 
 
Effective Date: Upon issuance.  
 
 
Statutory Authority: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-541, as 
amended by 2006 Conn. Pub. Acts 186, §75, and 
2007 Conn. Pub. Acts 1, §127 (June Spec. Sess.). 
 
 
Exemptions From Admissions Tax: An 
admissions tax of 10% is imposed on the admission 
charge to any place of amusement, entertainment, or 
recreation including but not limited to theaters, 
motion picture shows, amusement parks, fairgrounds, 
racetracks, dance halls, ball parks, and golf courses. 
For a more comprehensive list, see Conn. Gen. Stat. 
§12-540(3). The taxable admission charge does not 
include any charge for instruction. 

The admissions tax does not apply to: 

• Charges of less than $1. 
• Charges for motion picture shows costing $5 or less.  
• Daily charges entitling patrons to participate in an 

athletic or sporting activity. Charges that qualify 
for this exemption include but are not limited to 
daily or hourly charges for hitting balls at a 
batting cage, golf cage, or range and daily greens 
fees at commercially operated golf courses; hourly 
or daily charges at any commercially operated ice 
or roller skating rinks; hourly charges for open 
time at commercially operated tennis and 
racquetball courts; and hourly charges for 
paintball and laser tag. However, health clubs are 
excluded from the definition of places of 
amusement, entertainment, and recreation and are 
excluded from the admissions tax.  

See Policy Statement 2001(11), Admissions Tax 
Exclusion for Health Clubs. 
• Charges to any event at the XL Center, New 

Haven Coliseum, New Britain Beehive Stadium, 
New Britain Stadium, New Britain Veterans 
Memorial Stadium, Bridgeport Harbor Yard 
Stadium, Stafford Motor Speedway, Lime Rock 
Park, Thompson Speedway, Waterford Speedbowl, 
facilities owned or managed by the Tennis 
Foundation of Connecticut or any successor 
organization, the William A. O'Neill Convocation 
Center, the Connecticut Exposition Center, 
Nature’s Art, the Connecticut Convention Center, 
Dodd Stadium, or the Arena at Harbor Yard.  

• Games of the New Britain Rock Cats, New Haven 
Ravens*, or Waterbury Spirit*. 
* While mentioned in the statute, these teams are 
no longer in existence. 

• Charges to any production featuring live 
performances by actors or musicians presented at 
Gateway's Candlewood Playhouse, Ocean Beach 
Park, or any nonprofit theater or playhouse in 
Connecticut provided the theater or playhouse 
possesses evidence that confirms exemption from 
federal tax under IRC §501. 

• Charges to any carnival or amusement ride. 
Carnival means a traveling amusement show. 
Amusement ride means, for the purposes of the 
admissions tax, a ride confined to a restricted  
area or to a definite enclosure. Examples of 
amusement rides include but are not limited to 
pony rides, miniature autos or trains, ferris wheels, 
whips, merry-go-rounds, water slides, paddle 
boats, and tethered balloon rides. When one price 
is charged that includes admission to the place of 
amusement and admission to all rides, the entire 
amount is taxable unless the admission to the 
place of amusement is exempt from the tax. 
However, if the amusement park separately 
charges for the park and the rides, only the charge 
for admission to the park is taxable.  



Page 2 of 3 

• Charges that would have been subject to the 
cabaret tax under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-542 which 
are exempt from admissions tax. This exemption 
applies to charges to rooms in places where music, 
dancing privileges, or any other entertainment is 
provided to patrons in connection with the serving 
or selling of alcoholic beverages. 

• Charges to events paid for by centers of service 
for the elderly. The exemption does not apply to 
charges to the stadium facility at Rentschler Field. 

• Charges to events where all the proceeds are paid 
exclusively to an entity that is exempt from 
federal income tax under the Internal Revenue 
Code if the entity actively engages in and assumes 
the financial risk associated with presenting the 
event. The exemption does not apply to charges to 
the stadium facility at Rentschler Field. 

• Charges to events conducted primarily to raise 
funds for federally exempt organizations. See 
Events Conducted Primarily to Raise Funds for 
Federally Exempt Organizations below for details 
on qualifying for this exemption. The exemption 
does not apply to charges to the stadium facility at 
Rentschler Field. 

 
 
Events Conducted Primarily to Raise Funds 
for Federally Exempt Organizations: To 
qualify for the exemption from the admissions tax for 
charges to events conducted primarily to raise funds 
for federally exempt organizations under Conn. Gen. 
Stat. §12-541(4), a taxpayer must follow a two-step 
procedure. 

Step One: Three weeks before the event, the 
taxpayer must submit to the Department of Revenue 
Services (DRS) in writing the date, location of the 
fundraising event, and the name of the exempt 
organization(s) for which the fundraiser is being held. 
After reviewing the information, DRS will issue a 
conditional exemption letter, if applicable. Mail 
information to: 

Department of Revenue Services 
Taxpayer Services Division 
Admissions Tax Exemption 
25 Sigourney Street 
Hartford CT 06106-5032 

Step Two: Taxpayers must furnish to DRS no later 
than 30 days after the event is held: 
• A copy of the federal determination letter for the 

nonprofit organization for which the fundraiser was 
held stating that the organization is exempt from 
federal income tax under the Internal Revenue 
Code; and 

• A financial statement showing the income and 
distribution of income and profit from the 
fundraising event.  

DRS will review the financial statement and issue a 
letter of exemption for the event if the amount of net 
profit given to the exempt organization exceeds the 
amount of tax that would have been charged. 

DRS will issue a letter of exemption if the taxpayer 
submits the documentation requested and the 
documentation supports the requirements of Conn. 
Gen. Stat. §12-541(4). If the required documentation 
is not submitted, DRS may subject the taxpayer to an 
assessment of the tax under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-548 
and penalties under Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-551. 
 
 
Effect on Other Documents: This Informational 
Publication modifies and supersedes Special Notice 
2001(4), Exemptions from Admissions Tax. 
 
 
Effect of This Document: An Informational 
Publication issued by the DRS addresses frequently 
asked questions about a current position, policy, or 
practice, usually in a less technical question and 
answer format. 
 
 
For Further Information: Call DRS during 
business hours, Monday through Friday: 
• 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the 

Greater Hartford calling area only); or 
• 860-297-5962 (from anywhere). 
TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may 
transmit inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911. 
 
 
Forms and Publications: Forms and publications 
are available anytime by: 
• Internet: Visit the DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS 

to download and print Connecticut tax forms; or 
• Telephone: Call 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls 

outside the Greater Hartford calling area only) and 
select Option 2 from a touch-tone phone, or call 
860-297-4753 (from anywhere). 
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Paperless Filing/Payment Methods (fast, 
easy, free, and confidential):  
• For business returns, tax payments, and 

electronic bill payments: Use the Taxpayer 
Service Center (TSC) to file a variety of tax 
returns and extensions, as well as to pay taxes or 
bills over the Internet. Visit the DRS website at 
www.ct.gov/DRS and click on the TSC logo or on 
File/Register OnLine for a complete list of taxes 
that can be electronically filed and paid. 

• For income tax returns, extensions, estimated 
payments, and electronic bill payments: Use the 
Taxpayer Service Center (TSC) to file personal 
income tax returns and extensions, or to make 
estimated payments and electronic bill payments 
over the Internet. Visit the DRS website at 
www.ct.gov/DRS and click on the TSC logo or on 
File/Register OnLine. 

DRS E-News Service: Get connected to the latest 
news from DRS. Receive notification by email of 
changes to legislation, policies, and procedures. DRS 
E-News is easy to sign up for – visit 
www.ct.gov/DRS and follow the directions. 
Subscription services are available for employer’s 
withholding tax, TSC-BUS Online Filing Alerts, 
News – Press Releases, and Top 100 Delinquency List. 
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