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  STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES  IP 2014(13) 
25 Sigourney St Ste 2 

Hartford CT 06106‐5032 

    INFORMATIONAL PUBLICATION 

Attorney Occupational Tax and Client Security Fund Fee 
 

 

Purpose: This Informational Publication answers 
frequently-asked questions about the attorney occupational 
tax and the client security fund fee. 
 
 

Effective Date: For calendar years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2014.  
 
 

Statutory Authority: Conn. Gen. Stat. §§12-30, 51-81b, 
and 51-81d. 
 
 

1. Who is subject to the attorney occupational tax? 
Any person admitted as an attorney by the judges of the 
Connecticut Superior Court and who engaged in the 
practice of law in Connecticut during the preceding 
calendar year is subject to the tax and required to file 
Form 472, Attorney Occupational Tax Return. 
 
 

2. What does admitted as an attorney mean? 
For attorney occupational tax purposes, being admitted as 
an attorney means that you were sworn in as an attorney 
by a judge of the Connecticut Superior Court. Being 
admitted as an attorney also includes being admitted: 
 On motion and temporarily permitted to practice law 

in Connecticut; or 
 Pro hac vice by the Superior Court, Appellate Court, 

or Connecticut Supreme Court to appear in a 
Connecticut state court proceeding. 

 
 

3. What does being engaged in the practice of law in 
Connecticut mean?  
For attorney occupational tax purposes, being engaged in 
the practice of law in Connecticut means performing any 
act in Connecticut considered to be the practice of law, as 
defined in Connecticut Practice Book, Section 2-44A, 
Definition of the Practice of Law. 

You are engaged in the practice of law if you are 
employed by an employer that is not a law firm, such as an 
accounting firm or an insurance company, and you are 
employed as an attorney or being an attorney is a factor in 
your employment. 

4. How do I report the attorney occupational tax and 
when is it due? 
Use Form 472 to file and pay the attorney occupational tax.  
For periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014, Form 472 
must be filed and paid electronically through the Department 
of Revenue Services (DRS) Taxpayer Service Center (TSC). 
The TSC allows taxpayers to electronically file, pay, and 
manage state tax responsibilities. Visit www.ct.gov/TSC to 
make electronic transactions or administer your tax account 
online. 

Only taxpayers that must file an amended return or receive a 
waiver from electronic filing from the DRS may file 
Form 472 on paper. 

To request a waiver from the electronic filing requirement 
visit www.ct.gov/drs/TSCfiling and complete Form 
DRS-EWVR, Electronic Filing and Payment Waiver 
Request. 

The return is due January 15 of each year whether or not 
the tax is owed.  If the due date falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday or legal holiday, the return will be considered 
timely if filed by the next business day. 
 
 

5. What if I pay or file late?  
If you are subject to the tax and pay late with a paper 
return, the late payment penalty is $50.  

The following penalties will apply if you remit a late 
electronic funds transfer (EFT) payment: 
 2% of the required tax due for EFT payments not 

more than 5 days late; 
 5% of the required EFT payments more than 5 days 

but not more than 15 days late; and 
 10% of the required EFT payments more than 15 

days late. 
If you fail to file your return and remit payment 
electronically, DRS will impose a non-compliance penalty 
of 10% of the amount you were required to pay 
electronically. 
Late payments are subject to interest at the rate of 1% per 
month or fraction of a month from the due date until the 
tax in paid in full. 
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If you are exempt from the tax but file a paper Form 472 
late, a late filing penalty of $50 may be imposed. 

Your paper return will meet the timely filed and timely 
payment rules if the U.S. Postal Service cancellation date, 
or the date recorded or marked by a designated private 
delivery service (PDS) using a designated type of service, 
is on or before the due date.  Not all services provided by 
these designated PDSs qualify.  See Policy Statement 
2012(2), Designated Private Delivery Services and 
Designated Types of Service. 
 
 

6. What is the amount of the attorney occupational tax? 
The attorney occupational tax is $565 per calendar year. If 
you were admitted as an attorney and engaged in the 
practice of law in Connecticut but not for the entire calendar 
year, the tax due is $565. No proration of the tax is 
authorized. If you were admitted as an attorney and engaged 
in the practice of law in Connecticut for the entire calendar 
year, and were subject to tax for part of the year and exempt 
from the tax for the rest of the year, the tax due is $565. 
 
 

7. Is a person who is an authorized house counsel under 
Connecticut Practice Book Section 2-15A, Authorized 
House Counsel, subject to the attorney occupational tax? 
Yes. A person who is an authorized house counsel is 
subject to the attorney occupational tax and is required to 
file Form 472 because he or she is both certified as house 
counsel in Connecticut under Section 2-15A by the 
Superior Court and engaged in the practice of law in 
Connecticut.  Under Section 2-15A, effective January 1, 
2008, a person who wishes to be certified as authorized 
house counsel is required to file an application with the 
Bar Examining Committee. Upon recommendation of the 
Bar Examining Committee, the Superior Court may certify 
the applicant as authorized house counsel. 
 
 

8. Is a person who is authorized to provide legal services on 
a temporary basis in Connecticut under Connecticut 
Practice Book, Rules of Professional Conduct, Rule 5.5 
subparagraph (c)(3) or (4), Unauthorized Practice of Law, 
subject to the attorney occupational tax?  
No. Although a person authorized to provide legal services 
on a temporary basis in Connecticut under Rule 5.5, 
subparagraph (c)(3) or (4) is engaged in the practice of law 
in Connecticut, he or she is not admitted as an attorney by 
the judges of the Superior Court and, therefore, is not 
subject to the attorney occupational tax and is not 
required to file Form 472. 

Subparagraphs (c)(3) and (4) of Rule 5.5 are effective 
January 1, 2008. A person wishing to obtain the privileges 
described in subparagraph (c)(3) or (4) of Rule 5.5 is 
required to notify the Statewide Bar Counsel. 
 
 

9. Who is exempt from the attorney occupational tax?  
Even if you were admitted as an attorney and were 
engaged in the practice of law in Connecticut, you may be 
exempt from the tax if one of the following exemptions 
applies to you. Form 472 must be filed on or before the 
due date even if you claim one of the following 
exemptions. 

A. Your name was removed from the roll of attorneys 
maintained by the Clerk of the Superior Court for the 
Judicial District of Hartford. If your name was removed 
from the roll anytime during the calendar year, even on 
December 31, you are exempt from the tax for that year. 

Attorneys who die are considered to have had their names 
removed from the roll as of the date of death and are 
exempt for the calendar year during which their death 
occurs. 

Attorneys who are disbarred are considered removed from 
the roll and exempt for the calendar year disbarment 
occurs. A disbarred attorney who is subsequently 
readmitted to practice law in Connecticut is subject to the 
tax for the year the readmission occurs. 

Attorneys suspended from the practice of law for a definite 
period are not considered removed from the roll and are 
subject to the tax. 

B. You engaged in the practice of law in Connecticut, 
but not as an occupation, and received less than $1,000 
from the practice of law in Connecticut. The 
requirements of this exemption are conjunctive. You must 
have been engaged in the practice of law in Connecticut, 
but not as an occupation, and the compensation you 
received from the practice of law in Connecticut must have 
been less than $1,000 during the calendar year. 

Engaged in the practice of law, but not as an occupation, 
means you are primarily engaged in an occupation other 
than law and being an attorney is not a factor in your 
employment. For example, you may have been employed 
as a school teacher, physician, or law enforcement officer 
while admitted as an attorney in Connecticut. If you were 
employed in an occupation other than law and you 
received less than $1,000 from performing legal work, you 
qualify for the exemption. 

If you engaged in the practice of law in Connecticut as an 
occupation, you do not qualify for this exemption even if 
you received less than $1,000 during the calendar year 
from the practice of law in Connecticut. 
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C. You were a judge, senior judge, or referee and did 
not otherwise engage in the practice of law in 
Connecticut. This exemption applies to all Connecticut 
state court judges including family support magistrates 
authorized under Conn. Gen. Stat. §46b-231, magistrates 
appointed under Conn. Gen. Stat. §51-193l et seq., probate 
court judges, and federal judges who worked exclusively 
as judges or magistrates and did not otherwise engage in 
the practice of law in Connecticut during the calendar year. 

D. You were a Connecticut state employee employed as 
an attorney and did not otherwise engage in the 
practice of law in Connecticut. This exemption applies 
only if you were a Connecticut state employee employed 
as an attorney for the entire year, or for the entire portion of 
the year during which you were admitted to practice in 
Connecticut, and did not otherwise engage in the practice of 
law in Connecticut during the calendar year.  

If you worked as a contractor or vendor to the State of 
Connecticut, such as a per diem advocate for the Juvenile 
Court or a special public defender, you were not a state 
employee for purposes of this exemption.  Employees of 
the Probate Court Administrator are state employees for 
purposes of this exemption. Employees of a Connecticut 
Probate Court, see Exemption G, below. 

If you were employed by the State of Connecticut, but not 
as an attorney, you do not qualify for this exemption. 

E. You were a federal government employee employed 
as an attorney and did not otherwise engage in the 
practice of law in Connecticut. This exemption applies 
only if you were a federal government employee employed 
as an attorney by the federal government for the entire 
calendar year, or for the entire portion of the year during 
which you were admitted to practice in Connecticut, and 
did not otherwise engage in the practice of law in 
Connecticut during the calendar year. 

If you were employed by the federal government, but not 
as an attorney, you do not qualify for this exemption. 

F. You were an employee of a Connecticut political 
subdivision employed as an attorney and did not 
otherwise engage in the practice of law in Connecticut. 
This exemption applies only if you were a Connecticut 
political subdivision employee employed as an attorney for 
the entire year or for the entire portion of the year during 
which you were admitted to practice in Connecticut and 
did not otherwise engage in the practice of law in 
Connecticut during the calendar year. 

If you worked as a contractor or vendor to a Connecticut 
political subdivision, you were not an employee of a 
Connecticut political subdivision for purposes of this 
exemption. 

A Connecticut political subdivision is any Connecticut city 
or town, any tax district within a Connecticut city or town, 
or any district comprised of two or more Connecticut cities 
or towns. 

G. You were an employee of a Connecticut Probate 
Court, employed as an attorney, and did not otherwise 
engage in the practice of law in Connecticut. This 
exemption applies only if you were a Connecticut Probate 
Court employee employed as an attorney for the entire 
year, or for the entire portion of the year during which you 
were admitted to practice in Connecticut, and did not 
otherwise engage in the practice of law in Connecticut 
during the calendar year. 

If you worked as a contractor or vendor to a Connecticut 
Probate Court, you were not an employee of a Connecticut 
Probate Court for purposes of this exemption. 

H. You engaged in the practice of law exclusively 
outside Connecticut. This exemption does not apply if 
you performed any act in Connecticut that is considered to 
be the practice of law, as defined in Connecticut Practice 
Book Section 2-44A, during the calendar year. This is true 
whether or not you received remuneration for the act or the 
act was connected with your employment as an attorney 
outside Connecticut. 

Examples of acts considered to be the practice of law in 
Connecticut include but are not limited to: 
 Entering an appearance in a case in Connecticut court 

or Connecticut federal district court; 
 Meeting with a client in Connecticut; or 
 Witnessing a document or taking an acknowledgment as 

a Commissioner of the Superior Court in Connecticut. 

This exemption does not apply to any person authorized to 
provide legal services on a temporary basis in Connecticut 
under Connecticut Practice Book, Rules of Professional 
Conduct, Rule 5.5 subparagraph (c)(3) or (4), Unauthorized 
Practice of Law. Any such person is not subject to the 
attorney occupational tax and is not required to file 
Form 472. See Question 8 on Page 2.  

I. You did not work, or were not employed as an 
attorney in Connecticut. This exemption applies only if 
you did not work, or were not employed as an attorney in 
Connecticut, and performed no act in Connecticut in your 
capacity as an attorney during the calendar year. 

J. You were on active duty with the U.S. armed forces 
for more than six months during the calendar year. 
You may claim this exemption even if you were otherwise 
engaged in the practice of law in Connecticut during the 
portion of the calendar year when you were not on active 
duty. 
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K. You retired from the practice of law. This exemption 
applies if you were placed on retirement status at any time 
during the calendar year and filed a written notice of 
retirement with the Clerk of the Superior Court for the 
Judicial District of Hartford. For example, if you were 
placed on retirement status on December 31, you may 
claim the exemption for the entire calendar year if you 
notified the Clerk of the Superior Court for the Judicial 
District of Hartford of your retirement in writing. 
Complete Form JD-CL-68, Attorney Retirement-Written 
Notice, and return the original and two copies to the 
Clerk’s Office. The form is effective the date it is filed 
with the Clerk’s Office. To obtain Form JD-CL-68: 
 Call the Clerk’s Office at 860-548-2700, Ext. 3723; 
 Call the Office of the Client Security Fund Committee at 

860-568-3450; or 
 Download it from the Judicial Branch’s website at 

www.jud.ct.gov. 
You are not required to file a written notice of retirement 
when you retire from the practice of law; however, if you 
do not do so, you do not qualify for this exemption. 
 
 

10. If I am otherwise exempt from the attorney 
occupational tax, does performing pro bono legal services 
affect my exempt status?  
If you are otherwise exempt from the attorney occupational 
tax, performing pro bono legal services in Connecticut for 
no consideration, rather than for reduced consideration, does 
not change your exempt status. 

For example, an attorney who is admitted as an attorney in 
New York and Connecticut, and who is engaged in the 
practice of law exclusively in New York except for 
performing pro bono legal services in Connecticut, is not 
subject to the tax. 

Providing free legal services to friends or relatives is not 
considered pro bono work. 
 
 

11. What if my address changes?  
If your address changes, you should notify both DRS and 
the Statewide Grievance Committee. Notifying only DRS 
does not constitute compliance with Connecticut Practice 
Book Section 2-26 or 2-27(d).   

To change your address with DRS, fax a written notice of 
the change including your Connecticut Tax Registration 
Number (not your juris number or Social Security 
Number) as it appears on Form 472 to 860-297-4797, or 
mail the notice to: 

Department of Revenue Services 
Operations Bureau/Registration 
PO Box 2937 
Hartford CT 06104-2937 

You may also change your address using the TSC at 
www.ct.gov/TSC. Enter your Connecticut Tax 
Registration Number and follow the prompts to complete 
the process. 

To change your address with the Statewide Grievance 
Committee, make the changes online through Judicial 
Branch E-Services or download Form JD-GC-10, Attorney 
Registration—Change of Information, from the Judicial 
branch website at www.jud.ct.gov. Form JD-GC-9, 
Attorney Registration, which is sent to you annually by the 
Statewide Grievance Committee, also contains space to 
indicate your change of address. Contact the Statewide 
Grievance Committee with questions about Form JD-GC-9 
by sending an email to attorney.registration@jud.ct.gov or 
by calling 860-568-5157. 
 
 

12. How do I obtain a juris number? 
The Judicial Branch assigns and mails your juris number to 
you after you have been sworn in to the bar. You can inquire 
about your juris number by:  

 Internet: Visit the Judicial Branch website at  
http://www.jud.ct.gov (Select Attorneys, then Look-
up (Attorneys & Cases), then Attorney/Firm Look-up);  

 Telephone: Call the Statewide Grievance Committee at 
860-568-5157; or  

 Email: Statewide.Grievance@jud.ct.gov. 

Do not call DRS to obtain your juris number. 
 
 

13. What is the Client Security Fund?  
The Client Security Fund was established by the judges of 
the Superior Court to promote public confidence in the 
judicial system and the integrity of the legal profession. The 
fund reimburses clients for losses resulting from dishonest 
conduct, as defined in Connecticut Practice Book Section 
2-69, of attorneys practicing law in Connecticut. Each 
attorney admitted to practice law in Connecticut and each 
judge, judge trial referee, state referee, family support 
magistrate, family support referee, and workers 
compensation commissioner must pay an annual fee to 
finance the Client Security Fund. See Connecticut Practice 
Book Section 2-70. 

The fee amount is established by the judges of the Superior 
Court based on the analysis and recommendation of the 
Client Security Fund Committee. Currently, the fee is 
$75.00. 

For more information, contact the Office of the Client 
Security Fund Committee by: 
 Email: Security.Fund@jud.ct.gov; 
 Telephone: 860-568-3450; or  
 Internet: Frequently Asked Questions   

www.jud.ct.gov/CSF/FAQ.htm#FundFee. 
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14. If I am exempt from the attorney occupational tax, 
am I exempt from the Client Security Fund fee? 
No. You may be exempt from the attorney occupational 
tax but not exempt from the Client Security Fund fee. 

You are exempt from the Client Security Fund fee if 
during the calendar year for which the fee is assessed you: 
 Served on active duty in the armed forces of the 

United States for a period of more than six months; 
 Retired from the practice of law by filing the 

notice, with the Clerk of the Superior Court for the 
Judicial District of Hartford, required by Connecticut 
Practice Book Section 2-55;  

 Resigned from the bar; or 
 Were disbarred. 

If during the calendar year for which the fee is assessed 
you do not engage in the practice of law in Connecticut as 
an occupation and receive less than $1,000 in legal fees or 
other compensation for services involving the practice of 
law in Connecticut, you are partially exempt from the 
client security fund fee and you are required to pay one-
half of the fee amount.  To claim the full or partial 
exemption, file Form JD-GC-14E, Claim of Exemption. 
You may download this form from the Judicial Branch 
website at www.jud.ct.gov. 
 
 

15. Is a person who is an authorized house counsel 
under Connecticut Practice Book Section 2-15A subject 
to the Client Security Fund fee?  
Yes. See Connecticut Practice Book §2-15A 
subparagraph (d)(3).   
 
 

16. Is a person who is authorized to provide legal services 
on a temporary basis in Connecticut under Connecticut 
Practice Book, Rules of Professional Conduct, Rule 5.5 
subparagraph (c)(3) or (4), subject to the Client Security 
Fund Fee?  
No. 
 
 

Effect on Other Documents: This Informational 
Publication 2014(13), Attorney Occupational Tax and Client 
Security Fund Fee, modifies and supersedes Informational 
Publication 2009(31), Attorney Occupational Tax and Client 
Security Fund Fee, which may no longer be relied upon on 
after the issuance date of this publication. 

Effect of This Document: An Informational Publication 
issued by the DRS addresses frequently-asked questions 
about a current position, policy, or practice, usually in a 
less technical question and answer format. 
 
 

Forms and Publications: Visit the DRS website at 
www.ct.gov/DRS to download and print Connecticut tax 
forms and publications. 
For More Information: Call DRS during business hours, 
Monday through Friday: 
 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater 

Hartford calling area only); or  
 860-297-5962 (from anywhere). 

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit 
inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911. 
 
 

Paperless Filing/Payment Methods (fast, easy, free, and 
confidential):  
Business and individual taxpayers can use the TSC at 
www.ct.gov/TSC to file a variety of tax returns, update 
account information, and make payments online. 

File Electronically: You can choose first-time filer 
information and filing assistance or log directly into the 
TSC to file returns and pay taxes. 

Pay Electronically: You can pay taxes for tax returns that 
cannot be filed through the TSC. Log in and select the 
Make Payment Only option. Designate a payment date up 
to the due date of the tax and mail a paper return to 
complete the filing process. 
 
 

DRS E-News Alerts Service: Get connected to the latest 
news from DRS. Receive notification by email of changes to 
legislation, policies, and procedures. DRS E-News Alerts 
provide information for employer’s withholding tax, News – 
Press Releases, and Top 100 Delinquency List. Visit the DRS 
website at www.ct.gov/DRS and select e-alerts from the 
left navigation bar. 
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