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Connecticut Department of Revenue Services
Connecticut calls outside the Greater Hartford calling area .................................800-382-9463
From anywhere .....................................................................................................860-297-5962
Collection Unit ......................................................................................................860-297-5909
Electronic Funds Transfer .....................................................................................860-297-4973
Forms Unit ............................................................................................................860-297-4753
TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only........................................................... 860-297-4911

Connecticut Department of Labor
Employer Registration ..........................................................................................860-263-6550
Form CT-W4 reporting for new employees ..........................................................860-263-6310

Internal Revenue Service
Tax Assistance .......................................................................................................800-829-1040
Tax Forms and Publications ..................................................................................800-829-3676

Frequently-Used Telephone Numbers 

Form CT-941 .................. Connecticut Quarterly Reconciliation of Withholding 
Form CT-941 HHE ........ Connecticut Reconciliation of Withholding for Household Employers
Form CT-W3 .................. Connecticut Annual Reconciliation of Withholding
Form CT-W3 HHE ........ Connecticut Annual Reconciliation of Withholding for Household Employers
Form REG-1 ................... Application for Tax Registration Number
Form CT-W4 .................. Employee’s Withholding Certifi cate
Form CT-W4NA  ............ Employee’s Withholding Certifi cate – Nonresident Apportionment
Form CT-941X  .............. Amended Connecticut Reconciliation of Withholding
Form CT-8809 ................ Request for Extension of Time to File Informational Returns
Form DRS-EWVR ......... Electronic Filing and Payment Waiver Request

Connecticut Department of Revenue Services (DRS) .......................................... www.ct.gov/DRS
Connecticut Department of Labor (DOL) ................................................................www.ct.gov/dol
Internal Revenue Service (IRS) .................................................................................... www.irs.gov

Related Websites

Connecticut Forms Referenced in This Booklet 
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What’s New

Although these changes affect the income your employees earned 
throughout 2015, there is no requirement for you to do catchup 
withholding to make up for any additional amount of tax employees 
may owe at the end of the year as a result of the following changes. 

Increase in the Number of Income Tax Brackets and 
Income Tax Rates
Effective January 1, 2015, the current 6.7% income tax rate 
increased to 6.9%. There is an additional new income tax rate of 
6.99%. These changes affect taxpayers as follows:
• For taxpayers fi ling single and married fi ling separately, 

with Connecticut taxable income over $250,000 but not over 
$500,000, the tax rate is 6.9%; on any amount over $500,000, 
the tax rate is 6.99%.

This publication is revised to refl ect changes to the tax law pursuant to 2015 Public Act 244 and 
2015 Public Act 5 (June Special Session). These changes affect the income tax withholding for 

taxable year 2015 and the due date for fi ling Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement.
• For taxpayers fi ling as a head of household with Connecticut 

taxable income over $400,000 but not over $800,000, the tax rate 
is 6.9%; on any amount over $800,000, the tax rate is 6.99%.

• For married taxpayers fi ling jointly or qualifying widow(er) 
with Connecticut taxable income over $500,000 but not over 
$1,000,000, the tax rate is 6.9%; on any amount over $1,000,000, 
the tax rate is 6.99%.

• For trusts and estates, the tax rate is 6.99%.

Increase in the Tax Recapture Amount
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, the tax 
recapture amount increased for taxpayers whose Connecticut 
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Calendar of Duties

In this publication, you means the employer, unless otherwise 
specifi ed.
Your Employer Classifi cation Determines When You 
Make Payments to DRS
All forms must be fi led electronically and all payments made by 
electronic funds transfer (EFT).
Weekly remitters: on or before the Wednesday following the 
weekly period during which the wages were paid.
Monthly remitters: on or before the fi fteenth day of the month 
following the month during which the wages were paid.
Quarterly remitters: on or before the last day of the month 
following the quarterly period during which the wages were paid.

See Remitter Classifi cations on Page 13.

Important Dates for Employers
On or Before April 30, July 31, October 31, and 
January 31
You must fi le Form CT-941 even if no tax is due or has been 
withheld for the quarter.
You are required to fi le copies of Form CT-W4, Employee’s 
Withholding Certifi cate, with DRS for certain employees claiming 
“E” (no withholding is necessary).
Mail copies of Forms CT-W4 meeting the conditions listed under 
Reporting Certain Employees to DRS on Page 11 to: Department 
of Revenue Services, PO Box 2931, Hartford CT 06104-2931.

See Employee’s Withholding Certifi cate on Page 11.

On or Before January 31
You must give federal Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, to 
each employee to whom Connecticut wages were paid during the 
preceding calendar year.
You must electronically fi le Form CT-W3, Connecticut Annual 
Reconciliation of Withholding and all federal Forms W-2 reporting 
Connecticut wages paid to employees during the prior calendar 
year. See Electronic Filing Through the Taxpayer Service Center 
(TSC) on Page 7.

State copies of federal Form W-2 are required for all employees 
to whom Connecticut wages were paid during the prior 
calendar year even if no Connecticut income tax was withheld 
during the calendar year.

On or Before February 15
You must obtain a new Form CT-W4 from each employee who 
claimed exempt status (Withholding Code “E”) from Connecticut 
withholding in the prior year.

On or After February 16
You must begin withholding at the highest marginal rate of 6.99%, 
from each employee who claimed exempt status from Connecticut 
income tax withholding in the prior year and who did not provide 
a new Form CT-W4 on or before February 15 of the current year. 
See Employees Claiming Exemption on Page 11.

If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the return will be considered timely if fi led by the next business day.

adjusted gross income (AGI) exceeds the following income 
thresholds:
• For taxpayers fi ling single or married fi ling separately, $90 

for each $5,000 (or a fraction of $5,000), by which the taxpayer’s 
Connecticut AGI exceeds $200,000, up to a maximum amount 
of $2,700, plus an additional $50 for each $5,000 (or a fraction 
of $5,000), by which the taxpayer’s Connecticut AGI exceeds 
$500,000, up to a maximum amount of $450. The maximum 
total recapture amount is $3,150.

• For taxpayers fi ling as head of household, $140 for each 
$8,000 (or a fraction of $8,000), by which the taxpayer’s 
Connecticut AGI exceeds $320,000, up to a maximum amount 
of $4,200, plus an additional $80 for each $8,000 (or a fraction 
of $8,000), by which the taxpayer’s Connecticut AGI exceeds 
$800,000, up to a maximum amount of $720.  The maximum 
total recapture amount is $4,920.

• For married taxpayers fi ling jointly or qualifying widow(er), 
$180 for each $10,000 (or a fraction of $10,000), by which the 
taxpayer’s Connecticut AGI exceeds $400,000, up to a maximum 
amount of $5,400, plus an additional $100 for each $10,000 (or 
a fraction of $10,000), by which the taxpayer’s Connecticut AGI 
exceeds $1,000,000, up to a maximum amount of $900. The 
maximum total recapture amount is $6,300.

Personal Tax Exemption for Single Filers
The scheduled increase in the personal tax exemption for single 
fi lers is delayed by one year.  The personal exemption for single 
fi lers in effect for 2014 will remain in effect for the 2015 taxable 
year.  The scheduled increase will resume in taxable year 2016. 

Personal Tax Credit for Single Filers
The scheduled increase in the personal tax credit for single fi lers 
is delayed by one year.  The personal tax credit for single fi lers in 
effect for 2014 will remain in effect for the 2015 taxable year. The 
scheduled increase will resume in taxable year 2016.

TPG-211, Withholding Calculation Rules for Taxable Year 2015, 
and the 2015 Withholding Tables have been revised to refl ect the 
tax law changes affecting the income tax withholding. You may 
start using them immediately, but no later than August 31, 2015.

Due Date Change
The due date for filing Form CT-W3, Connecticut Annual 
Reconciliation of Withholding, along with the state copy of federal 
Form W-2 has changed from March 31 to January 31. You must 
electronically submit to DRS the state copy of Federal Form W-2 
along with Form CT-W3 by January 31, 2016. This requirement 
also applies to household employers.
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Frequently-Asked Questions

1. Am I an employer?
You are a Connecticut employer only if you have employees to 
whom you pay Connecticut wages whether or not you are required 
to withhold Connecticut income tax. If you do not have employees 
to whom you pay Connecticut wages, you are not required to be 
registered with the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) to 
withhold Connecticut income tax.

2. Does this booklet contain all the information I 
need to withhold Connecticut income tax from my 
employees?

Yes. The instructions, withholding tables, and calculation rules 
are all included in the booklet.

3. Will DRS mail a quarterly reconciliation to every 
employer?

No. You must remit all income tax withholding payments and 
submit all withholding forms electronically.

4. Does DRS publish any information to assist 
employees to calculate the amount to have withheld 
from their paychecks?

Yes. Informational Publication 2015(7.1), Is My Connecticut 
Withholding Correct?, is designed to help individuals decide if 
they are having enough tax withheld. The publication is available 
on the DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS.

5. What is the difference between gross Connecticut 
wages and gross wages?

Gross wages means the sum of wages paid to all your employees 
regardless of where they work. The amount of gross wages you 
report on Form CT-941 for a calendar quarter must correspond 
with the amount reported on federal Form 941 for that quarter. 
Gross Connecticut wages means the sum of:
• All wages paid to resident employees. Connecticut wages 

paid to resident employees are wages paid to resident 
employees regardless of where their services are performed. 
The amount of Connecticut wages paid to a resident employee 
will generally equal the amount of the employee’s wages for 
federal income tax withholding purposes; and

• All wages paid to nonresident employees. Connecticut wages 
paid to nonresident employees are wages paid to nonresident 
employees for services performed in Connecticut.

6. Who is required to file informational returns 
electronically with DRS?

All employers must electronically fi le Forms W-2 reporting 
Connecticut wages, even if no Connecticut tax is withheld.

7. Will failure to electronically fi le informational returns 
result in the assessment of penalties?

Yes. Unless DRS has granted a waiver, employers required to 
electronically fi le are treated as having failed to fi le if they fi le 

paper forms instead of fi ling electronically. A penalty of $5 is 
imposed for each informational return that an employer fails to 
fi le with DRS by the last day of January. The maximum penalty 
imposed is $2,000 for any calendar year.

8. Where can I get information on electronic fi ling of 
Form W-2 with DRS?

Employers should refer to Informational Publication 2015(9), 
Form W-2 Electronic Filing Requirements for Tax Year 2015.

9. How do I request a waiver from fi ling informational 
returns electronically?

To request a waiver, complete and mail Form CT-8508, 
Request for Waiver From Filing Informational Returns 
Electronically, to DRS at least 30 days before the due date. 
Form CT-8508 cannot be fi led electronically. DRS will notify 
you only if your request for waiver is denied.
If a waiver is granted your informational returns must be submitted 
to DRS on CD. See Form CT-6559, Submitter Report for Form 
W-2 CD Filing, and, if applicable, Form CT-6559A, Submitter 
Report for Form W-2 Compact Disc (CD) Filing Continuation 
Sheet.

10. How do I request an extension of time to file 
informational returns?

To request an extension, you must complete and submit Form 
CT-8809, Request for Extension of Time to File Informational 
Returns, on or before January 31. DRS will notify you only if 
your  extension request is denied. Form CT-8809 cannot be fi led 
electronically.

11. Are any paper forms required if I fi le electronically?
No. You do not submit paper copies of any electronically-fi led 
forms.

12. How do I report changes on a previously-filed 
electronic submission?

Amended and supplemental fi lings are made electronically 
through the Taxpayer Service Center (TSC). Amended and 
supplemental fi lings can only be made using the Single Employer 
login, or as a bulk fi ler using the Single Client - Key and Send 
option. See IP 2015(9).

13. How can I submit data when there is a requirement 
for the data to be protected?

Electronic fi ling of informational returns through the TSC is a 
free, fast, easy, and secure way to conduct business with DRS. The 
connection created during your session with the TSC encrypts all 
information sent by you until the information is delivered to DRS, 
thus keeping data secure during transport.
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Electronic Filing and Payment of Income Tax Withholding

Electronic Filing Through the Taxpayer 
Service Center (TSC)
File withholding information through 
the TSC. It is a free, fast, easy, and 
secure way to conduct business with 
the Department of Revenue Services 
(DRS). Go to www.ct.gov/TSC.
Use the TSC to view current account balances, make and 
schedule payments, and amend certain tax returns. Transmit 
the following informational returns through the TSC:
• Federal Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement; and 
• Form CT-W3, Connecticut Annual Reconciliation of 

Withholding. 
Do not fi le paper forms if you fi led through the TSC.

Payment by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)
You are required to fi le all withholding forms electronically 
and pay any associated taxes by electronic funds transfer.

See Informational Publication 2014(15), Filing and Paying 
Connecticut Taxes Electronically.
For more information on payment by EFT, call 860-297-4973.

Waiver of Requirement to File and Pay by EFT
Any person, other than return preparers, required to fi le a 
return electronically or to pay the tax by EFT may request 
a waiver of the requirement. The waiver must be submitted 
using Form DRS-EWVR, Electronic Filing and Waiver 
Request, to the Commissioner at least 30 days before the due 
date of such required fi ling or required payment. 
See IP 2014(15) and Policy Statement 2011(3), Request 
for Waiver of Electronic Filing and Payment Requirements.

Fed/State Employment Taxes Program (FSET)
DRS participates in the FSET program through which you 
can initiate federal taxes, Connecticut withholding and 
unemployment compensation payments, and fi le multiple 
government returns through a single point software 
application. The FSET program utilizes third party software to 
electronically submit returns and payments from the software 
package, directly to the taxing authority. Transmission using 
the FSET system may be made by an individual employer 
or a third party.
If your company is interested in using the FSET application 
for the quarterly fi ling of state and federal tax and wage 
reports and making employment tax payments, see the 

FSET webpage available on the Connecticut Department of 
Revenue Services website at ct.gov/drs/fset.

Electronic Filing of Form W-2
You must fi le Form CT-W3 and every Copy 1 of federal 
Form W-2 electronically. See Informational Publication 
2015(9), Form W-2 Electronic Filing Requirements for Tax 
Year 2015, for electronic reporting specifi cations.

Bulk Filing of Forms W-2 and CT-W3
You or your preparer can use the TSC to key and send or 
upload forms using either of the following fi ling methods:
• Using the bulk fi ling capabilities assigned to their current 

Connecticut tax registration number; or
• Completing an application and being issued a separate Third 

Party Bulk Filer (TPBF) Identifi cation Number. This option 
is available for tax preparers who are fi ling for their clients 
and are not registered with DRS.

With bulk fi ling capabilities, you may then select and begin to 
fi le your informational returns online. After you have entered 
all your W-2s, you must transmit Form CT-W3 to complete 
the fi ling process. The informational returns are not accepted 
until Form CT-W3 has been fi led. You will receive a unique 
confi rmation number for each Form CT-W3 submitted. The 
confi rmation number is your proof of fi ling.

Options for Filing Forms W-2 and CT-W3 Through 
the TSC
Key and Send
You can use the key and send method if you are submitting 
100 or fewer informational returns. This option allows you 
to enter up to 100 Forms W-2 in a single login process. Once 
all Forms W-2 are entered, choose Next. You will be directed 
to Form CT-W3 where the TSC populates many of the fi elds 
based on the information you entered. Verify the Form CT-W3 
information and then complete the quarterly breakout. Your 
Forms W-2 are not successfully transmitted until the TSC 
issues a confi rmation number for Form CT-W3.

Dynamic Web Import (DWI)
DWI is a fi le import process that allows you to defi ne and 
upload your informational returns. The agency’s DWI tool 
does not support the standard electronic fi le formats used 
by the Internal Revenue Services (IRS). Each fi eld in the 
fi le  represents an item from a return you are reporting. You 
can arrange the fi elds in any order by defi ning your own 
customized layout.
If an error or errors are found during the upload process, 
DRS will identify and explain each error. You must correct 
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all errors on your fi le and then upload the fi le again. Once all 
Forms W-2 are successfully uploaded, you will be brought 
to Form CT-W3 where the TSC populates many of the fi elds 
based on the information you entered. Verify the Form
CT-W3 information and then complete the quarterly breakout. 
Your Forms W-2 are not successfully transmitted until the 
TSC issues a confi rmation number for Form CT-W3.

Batch File Import/Upload Utilizing DRS Standard File 
Layout
Batch fi le upload allows you to submit a fi le using the 
standard fi le layouts defi ned in IP 2015(9). Once the fi le 
upload is completed, a results fi le will acknowledge the 
success or failure of your fi le upload. If an error or errors are 
found during the upload process, the results fi le will identify 
and explain each error. You will need to correct and resubmit 
the entire fi le. 
Once you have successfully uploaded all your returns, you 

must return to the withholding main menu. Select Form
CT-W3, choose the period end, and proceed to Form CT-W3. 
Verify the Form CT-W3 information and then complete the 
quarterly breakout. 
Your Forms W-2 are not successfully transmitted until the 
TSC issues a confi rmation number for Form CT-W3.

General Instructions

Who Is Required to Withhold Connecticut 
Income Tax
Anyone who maintains an offi ce or transacts business in 
Connecticut and is considered an employer for federal 
withholding purposes must withhold Connecticut income 
tax whether or not the payroll department is located in 
Connecticut. Any employer required to withhold Connecticut 
income tax must register for withholding tax with DRS.

Income Subject to Connecticut Income Tax 
Withholding
In general, Connecticut law follows the federal law in 
determining what income is subject to withholding. You 
should consult the IRS Circular E, Employer’s Tax Guide, 
and Publication 15-A, Employer’s Supplemental Tax Guide, 
to determine federal withholding rules for specifi c types of 
income.

Wages
In general, all amounts that are wages and subject to federal 
withholding are also wages for Connecticut income tax 
withholding purposes. These amounts include but are not 
limited to fringe benefi ts, supplemental compensation, golden 
parachutes, sick pay, moving expenses, and severance pay.

Resident Wages Subject to Connecticut 
Withholding
All wages of a Connecticut resident are subject to Connecticut 
income tax withholding even if the resident works outside of 

Connecticut. If you are required to withhold income tax for 
services performed in other states, their political subdivisions, 
or the District of Columbia from the resident’s wages, you 
are required to withhold Connecticut income tax as follows:
1. For an employee who is a resident individual and works 

for you in one or more qualifying jurisdictions, but not 
in Connecticut, and you maintain an offi ce or transact 
business both in Connecticut and in the same qualifying 
jurisdiction(s) in which the employee works for you, 
you must fi rst determine the Connecticut income tax that 
would otherwise be required to be deducted and withheld 
from the employee’s total wages and prorate that amount 
between the qualifying jurisdictions where the employee 
works for you. If the prorated tax amount for a qualifying 
jurisdiction exceeds the income tax required to be deducted 
and withheld from the wages for the qualifying jurisdiction, 
you would withhold  the difference and remit it to DRS as 
Connecticut income tax withholding. See Example 4.

2. For an employee who is a resident individual and works 
for you in one or more qualifying jurisdictions and in 
Connecticut, you must fi rst determine the Connecticut 
income tax that would otherwise be required to be deducted 
and withheld from the employee’s total wages and prorate 
that amount between the qualifying jurisdictions in which 
the employee works for you. If the prorated tax amount for 
a qualifying jurisdiction exceeds the income tax required to 
be deducted and withheld from the wages for the qualifying 
jurisdiction, you must withhold the difference and pay 
it over to DRS. You also deduct and withhold from the 
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Nonresident Wages Subject to Connecticut 
Withholding
Wages of a nonresident are subject to Connecticut income 
tax withholding if the wages are paid for services rendered 
in Connecticut. Wages of a nonresident are not subject to 
Connecticut income tax withholding if the wages are paid for 
services performed entirely outside of Connecticut. 

Example 5: Working solely within Connecticut: A resident of 
State X works in Connecticut for an employer doing business 
in Connecticut and in State X. The employer is required to 
withhold Connecticut income tax because the services are 
performed in Connecticut. The employer should contact State 
X for withholding requirements in that state.

Example 6: Working solely outside Connecticut: A resident of 
State Y works in State Y for an employer whose main offi ce, 
including the payroll department, is located in Connecticut. 
The employer is not required to withhold Connecticut income 
tax even though payment is made from a point in Connecticut 
since the employee is a nonresident and performs all his services 
outside Connecticut. The employer should contact State Y for 
withholding requirements in that state.

Example 7: Working partly within and partly outside 
Connecticut: A resident of State Z works partly in Connecticut 
and partly in State Z for an employer who is doing business in 
Connecticut and State Z. The employer is required to withhold 
Connecticut income tax on wages paid to the nonresident 
employee in the same proportion the employee’s wages derived 
from or connected with sources within Connecticut relate to 
the employee’s total wages.

See Determining How Much to Withhold From 
Nonresident Employees Who Work Partly Within
and Partly Outside Connecticut on Page 12 and 

Announcement 2010(3), “14-Day” Withholding Rule for 
Nonresident Employees, included in this publication.

Payments Not Subject to Connecticut Income 
Tax Withholding
In general, income not subject to federal withholding is not 
subject to Connecticut income tax withholding.

Payments Not Subject to Federal Withholding 
Except as noted in Informational Publication 2015(8), 
Connecticut Tax Guide for Payers of Nonpayroll Amounts, 
Connecticut income tax withholding is not required for any 
compensation paid to an employee if the compensation is not 
subject to federal withholding. You should consult the IRS 
Circular E, Employer’s Tax Guide, for federal withholding 
rules for specifi c types of income.

Self-Employed Individuals
If you are the owner of a business that has no employees 
you are not required to register for Connecticut income tax 
withholding. The owner of a business, other than the sole 
shareholder of an S corporation, is not an employee for federal 
or Connecticut withholding purposes.

employee’s wages the prorated tax amount for Connecticut 
and pay over that amount to DRS. The prorated tax amount 
for Connecticut is calculated by subtracting the prorated 
tax amount for each qualifying jurisdiction in which the 
employee works for you from the Connecticut income 
tax that would otherwise be required to be deducted and 
withheld from the employee’s total wages.

Example 1: A Connecticut resident is employed in State X by 
an employer maintaining an offi ce or transacting business both 
in Connecticut and in State X. State X income tax payable on 
the employee’s wages is $100. The Connecticut income tax 
that would otherwise be required to be withheld from the wages 
is $160. The amount of Connecticut income tax required to 
be withheld is $60.

Example 2: A Connecticut resident works in State Y for an 
employer maintaining an offi ce or transacting business both in 
Connecticut and in State Y. The income tax payable to State Y 
on the employee’s wages is $200. The Connecticut income tax 
that would otherwise be required to be withheld from the wages 
is $200. No Connecticut income tax is required to be withheld.

Example 3: A Connecticut resident works in State Z for an 
employer maintaining an offi ce or transacting business both in 
Connecticut and in State Z. The income tax payable to State Z 
on the employee’s wages is $300. The Connecticut income tax 
that would otherwise be required to be withheld from the wages 
is $250. No Connecticut income tax is required to be withheld.

Example 4: A resident individual is employed in New York 
and New Jersey by an employer maintaining an offi ce or 
transacting business in Connecticut, New York, and New 
Jersey. Assume the Connecticut income tax that would be 
required to be deducted and withheld from the employee’s 
total wages for work performed in New York and New Jersey 
is $500. Half of the employee’s wages are for work performed 
in New York and the other half are for work performed in New 
Jersey. Therefore, the prorated tax amount for New York is 
$250 and the prorated tax amount for New Jersey is $250. 
Assuming the New York income tax that would be required 
to be deducted and withheld from the employee’s New York 
wages is $300, no Connecticut income tax would be required 
to be deducted and withheld from the employee’s New York 
wages because the New York income tax required to be 
deducted and withheld from the employee’s wages exceeds 
the prorated tax amount for New York. Assuming the New 
Jersey income tax that would be required to be deducted and 
withheld from the employee’s New Jersey wages is $210, the 
amount of Connecticut income tax that would be required to 
be deducted and withheld from the employee’s New Jersey 
wages is $40. This is the amount by which the prorated tax 
amount for New Jersey ($250) exceeds the New Jersey income 
tax required to be deducted and withheld from the employee’s 
wages. Therefore, the amount of Connecticut income tax 
that would be required to be deducted and withheld from the 
employee’s total wages is $40. 
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Exemption from Connecticut income tax withholding does 
not exempt the income from Connecticut income tax. The 
recipient of taxable income who is not subject to Connecticut 
withholding is required to pay estimated taxes if the 
recipient’s Connecticut taxable income meets the minimum 
fi ling requirements.

See Informational Publication 2011(26), Estimated 
Connecticut Income Taxes.

Example 8: Mary owns her own business and her business 
income is not subject to Connecticut income tax withholding.  
Generally, if Mary will owe $1,000 or more in Connecticut 
income tax for the current year, over and above any 
Connecticut income tax withheld for the current year, she must 
make estimated Connecticut income tax payments.

Interstate Commerce
Compensation paid by interstate rail carriers, interstate motor 
carriers, and interstate motor private carriers to a nonresident 
employee who performs regularly assigned duties in two 
or more states is not subject to Connecticut income tax 
withholding. The compensation is not income derived from 
Connecticut sources even though the employee performed 
services in Connecticut. However, this compensation is 
income derived from sources within the employee’s state 
of residence.

Interstate Air Carriers
Compensation paid by an interstate air carrier to a nonresident 
employee who performs regularly assigned duties on 
an aircraft in two or more states is income derived from 
sources in both the employee’s state of residence and the 
state in which the employee earns more than 50% of the 
compensation. An employee has earned more than 50% of 
the compensation in Connecticut if the scheduled fl ight time 
in Connecticut is more than 50% of the total scheduled fl ight 
time in the calendar year.

See Nonresident Wages Subject to 
Connecticut Withholding on page 9.

Nonresident Seamen
A nonresident seaman’s wages for employment on a ship 
which enters a Connecticut port for the purpose of foreign 
or interstate trade is not subject to Connecticut income tax 
withholding.

Wages Paid by the United States to Armed 
Forces Personnel
Payments made by the United States to nonresident military 
personnel stationed or performing services for the U.S. armed 
forces in Connecticut are not subject to Connecticut income 
tax withholding. In general, payments made by the United 
States to military personnel who are Connecticut residents 

or whose domicile was Connecticut when they entered the 
military, regardless of where they are stationed,  are subject 
to Connecticut income tax withholding.  Certain individuals, 
however, may be entitled to claim exemption from the tax.

Military Spouses Residency Relief Act (MSRRA)
The MSRRA provides that wages paid by Connecticut 
employers to spouses of military members, where a service 
member’s spouse (spouse) is in Connecticut solely to be 
with the service member serving in compliance with military 
orders, will not be deemed to be income derived from or 
connected with Connecticut sources unless the spouse’s state 
of residence is Connecticut.

See Informational Publication 2012(15), Connecticut Income 
Tax Information for Armed Forces Personnel and Veterans.

How to Register for Withholding Tax
If you are not already registered with DRS, including if you 
are an employer starting a new business, you must register to 
withhold Connecticut income tax by completing Form REG-
1, Business Taxes Registration Application. Form REG-1 is 
also used to register a business for most other state taxes, 
including sales and use taxes and corporation business tax.
If you are already registered with DRS for other state taxes 
you are still required to register to withhold Connecticut 
income tax and must complete Form REG-1 to register for 
withholding as an additional tax. 
If you acquired an existing business you must also complete 
Form REG-1 to obtain a Connecticut tax registration number. 
You, the new owner, cannot use the previous owner’s tax 
registration number.
The DRS tax registration number and federal employer 
identification number must appear on all Connecticut 
withholding forms and on all correspondence with DRS. Do 
not use the registration number issued by the Department of 
Labor (DOL) on DRS forms.

Requesting Annual Withholding Filer Status
If you are not required to deduct and withhold any amount 
of Connecticut income tax from wages of employees for all 
four calendar quarters of a calendar year, you may request 
annual fi ler status. Once annual fi ler status is granted, you 
fi le Form CT-941 only for the last calendar quarter of each 
calendar year and report Connecticut wages paid during the 
entire calendar year. 
Submit a written request for annual filer status with a 
completed REG-1. The written request must state that you 
will not have a Connecticut income tax withholding liability. 
If you are already registered to withhold Connecticut income 
tax, you may request annual fi ler status by sending the 
Operations Registration a written request on or before the last 
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day of the calendar quarter of the calendar year to which the 
request pertains. You will receive notice from DRS granting 
or denying permission for annual fi ler status. If permission is 
granted, a new request is not required for succeeding calendar 
years as long as you continue to have no Connecticut income 
tax withholding liability. 

Voluntary Registration to Withhold Tax
If you are not required to register to withhold Connecticut 
income tax, you may register solely for the purpose of 
withholding Connecticut income tax if both you and the 
employee voluntarily agree to have Connecticut income 
tax withheld. Upon registration, you will be treated as an 
employer required to withhold Connecticut income tax 
while the agreement remains in effect. Refer to Seasonal 
Employers, Household Employers, and Agricultural 
Employers on Page 19.

How to Withhold Connecticut Income Tax
You should use the current Connecticut Income Tax 
Withholding Tables and Calculation Rules to determine the 
amount to withhold. To determine how much Connecticut 
income tax to withhold from each employee’s wages, you 
should refer to the most recently completed Form CT-W4 on 
fi le for each employee.
If you have nonresident employees who work partly within 
and partly outside Connecticut, see Page 12.

Employee’s Withholding Certifi cate
You must obtain a completed copy of Form CT-W4, 
Employee’s Withholding Certifi cate, from each new employee 
when hired. The form is effective for the fi rst payroll period 
ending, or the fi rst payment of wages, made on or after the 
date you receive a completed Form CT-W4. Unless the 
employee claims exemption, Form CT-W4 is effective until 
the employee provides you with a new one.
A copy of Form CT-W4 is included in this booklet. You  may 
photocopy as needed.

Employees Claiming Exemption
You are required to obtain a new Form CT-W4 on or before 
February 15 each year from each employee who claimed 
exemption from withholding in the prior year. The Form 
CT-W4 previously given to you expires on February 15 of 
the current year.
If an employee fails to complete a new Form CT-W4 for you, 
you must begin to withhold Connecticut tax at the highest 
marginal rate of 6.99% without allowance for exemption on 
February 16.

Military spouses who are claiming an exemption from 
Connecticut income tax under the Military Spouse Residency 
Relief Act (MSRRA) must provide you with a copy of the 
military spouse’s Leave and Earning Statement (LES) and a 
copy of the military dependent ID card.

Reporting Certain Employees to DRS
Generally, you should not send copies of Form CT-W4 to 
DRS. You must send copies of Forms CT-W4 from employees 
claiming exemption from Connecticut withholding, if:
1. The employee is still employed by you on the last day of 

the quarter; and
2. You reasonably expect:

a. The annual wages of an employee whose fi ling status 
is fi ling separately will exceed $36,000*; 

b. The annual wages of an employee whose fi ling status 
is single will exceed $43,500*; 

c. The annual wages of an employee whose fi ling status 
is head of household will exceed $57,000*; or

d. The annual wages of an employee whose fi ling status is 
fi ling jointly or qualifying widow(er) with dependent 
child will exceed $72,000*.

* This number is three times the maximum personal 
exemption amount available to an employee. You 
should multiply the maximum personal exemption 
amount for the taxable year by a factor of three to 
determine if the Form CT-W4 of an employee must 
be sent to DRS.

Refer to Calendar of Duties on Page 5 for instructions on 
how and when to submit Forms CT-W4 to DRS.

Reporting New or Rehired Employees to DOL
If you have offi ces in Connecticut or transact business in 
Connecticut, you are required to report the name, address, and 
Social Security Number (SSN) of new or rehired employees 
to DOL. Each new employee’s Form CT-W4 must be sent 
to DOL no later than 20 days after the date of hire to assist 
in the enforcement of child support obligations. You should 
verify all employee and employer items have been completed 
legibly before submitting Form CT-W4 to DOL. DOL may 
use information reported on this form in a manner consistent 
with its governmental powers and duties.  

See additional instructions for submitting
copies of this form on Form CT-W4.
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Determining How Much Connecticut Income 
Tax to Withhold From Employees
The amount to withhold from an employee’s wages depends on:
1. Payroll period;
2. Gross taxable wages;
3. Withholding Code; and
4. Additions or reductions to withholding requested by the 

employee on Form CT-W4.

How to Use the Withholding Tables
Use these steps when calculating withholding from the tables 
on Pages 41 through 48:
1. Select the table which is the same as your payroll period 

(weekly, biweekly, monthly, or semimonthly).
2. Use the columns on the left side of the table. Find the 

line on which your employee’s gross taxable wages are 
included. Gross taxable wages are wages subject to federal 
withholding.

3. Select the “Withholding Amount” column on the right side 
of the table which corresponds with the Withholding Code 
selected by your employee on Form CT-W4 (Status A, B, 
C, D, or F).

4. Add to the “Withholding Amount” the amount, if any, on 
Line 2 of Form CT-W4.

5. Subtract from the “Withholding Amount” the amount, if 
any, on Line 3 of Form CT-W4. The amount on Line 3 of 
Form CT-W4 cannot exceed the total withholding amount.

Withholding Rate for Employees Who Do Not 
Return a Completed Form CT-W4
If an employee fails to give you a completed Form CT-W4, 
you must withhold at a fl at rate of 6.99%, without allowance 
for exemption.

Withholding for Daily or Miscellaneous Amounts
For those employees who receive one time or miscellaneous 
payments, see Supplemental Compensation, on Page 13.

Determining How Much to Withhold From 
Nonresident Employees Who Work Partly Within 
and Partly Outside Connecticut
A nonresident employee who performs services partly within 
and partly outside Connecticut is subject to Connecticut 
income tax only on the portion of wages attributable to 
services performed within Connecticut.
For Connecticut income tax withholding purposes, however, 
you must withhold Connecticut income tax on all wages paid 
to the employee unless you can properly allocate the wages 
attributable to services performed in Connecticut by means 
of one of the following:
• The nonresident employee gives you a completed Form 

CT-W4NA, Employee’s Withholding Certificate – 

Nonresident Apportionment, identifying the portion of 
wages subject to Connecticut income tax; or

• You maintain adequate current records to determine the 
amount of wages paid for services performed within 
Connecticut.

If you receive Form CT-W4NA or maintain adequate current 
records from nonresident employees, calculate the amount of 
Connecticut income tax to be withheld for services performed 
within Connecticut as follows:
1. Determine the total “Withholding Amount” on all wages 

paid to a nonresident employee.
2. If the employee has given you Form CT-W4NA, multiply 

the total “Withholding Amount” by the percentage from 
Form CT-W4NA that certifi es the estimated portion of 
services performed in Connecticut during the calendar year. 

If you know or have reason to know that the percentage of 
services estimated on Form CT-W4NA is no longer correct, 
you must make necessary adjustments during the calendar 
year. In making those adjustments, you must determine the 
percentage of wages paid for the performance of services 
within Connecticut by using the same percentage that the 
wages derived from or connected with Connecticut sources 
bears to the total wages.
If the 14-day exception applies, no withholding is required. 
See Announcement 2010(3) for more information.

Alternative to Using Form CT-W4NA 
If you maintain adequate current records to accurately 
determine the amount of a nonresident employee’s wages 
paid for services performed within Connecticut, you may 
withhold Connecticut income tax from the wages based 
on those records whether or not the employee fi les Form 
CT-W4NA. To calculate the amount to withhold, multiply 
the total “Withholding Amount” by a fraction. The numerator 
is the amount of wages paid during the year for services 
performed in Connecticut (as shown by those records) and 
the denominator is the total amount of wages paid during the 
year for services performed, wherever performed.
The following examples refer to the Withholding Tables, 
Effective January 1, 2015, on Pages 42 through 49. 

Example 9: Form CT-W4NA: A nonresident employee 
performs services partly within and partly outside Connecticut. 
The employee’s taxable wages are $700 per week. The 
employee’s Form CT-W4 indicates Withholding Code “F” 
and Form CT-W4NA fi led by the employee shows 60% as the 
estimated portion of services performed within Connecticut. 
Because 60% of the employee’s work time was performed in 
Connecticut, the employer withholds 60% of the Connecticut 
income tax that would have been due if all wages were 
earned in Connecticut ($22.26 x .60 = $13.36, the amount of 
Connecticut income tax to be withheld).
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Example 10: Employer Maintains Records: A nonresident 
employee performs services partly within and partly outside 
Connecticut. The employee’s taxable wages are $1,000 per 
week. The employee’s Form CT-W4 indicates Withholding 
Code “A.” The employee did not complete Form CT-W4NA, 
but the employer does maintain adequate current records 
showing that in week 1, the employee worked 2 out of 5 
days (40%) in Connecticut. In week 2, the employee worked 
100% of the time in Connecticut. If all work was performed in 
Connecticut, the employer would withhold $45.53 per week; 
therefore, for week 1 the employer withholds $18.21 ($45.53 
x .40) and for week 2 the employer withholds $45.53.

Example 11: No Method of Allocation: An employer has not 
received a Form CT-W4NA from a nonresident employee who 
performs services partly within and partly outside Connecticut 
and the employer does not keep adequate current records 
for the amount of wages paid to the nonresident for services 
performed within Connecticut. The employee’s taxable wages 
are $2,300 biweekly and his Withholding Code shown on 
his  Form CT-W4 is “B.” The employer withholds $91.88 of 
Connecticut income tax from the nonresident’s wages, the same 
amount that would be withheld if all services were performed 
in Connecticut.

A copy of Form CT-W4NA is available on Page 34.
You may photocopy as needed.

Supplemental Compensation
Withholding rules for supplemental compensation (such 
as bonuses, commissions, overtime pay, sales awards, etc.) 
depend on when the supplemental compensation is paid.

Supplemental Compensation Paid at the Same 
Time as Regular Wages
When supplemental compensation is paid at the same time 
as regular wages, the tax withheld should be determined as if 
the total of the supplemental and regular wages were a single 
payment for the regular payroll period.

Example 12: Mary worked fi ve hours of overtime during the 
pay period. In her paycheck, Mary’s employer includes her 
regular pay and her overtime pay. Her employer determines 
the amount to be withheld based upon the total of the regular 
pay plus the overtime.

Supplemental Compensation Paid at a Different 
Time Than Regular Wages
If supplemental compensation is paid at a different time 
than regular wages, the method of withholding depends 
on whether you withheld income tax from the employee’s 
regular wages.
1. No withholding on regular wages
 If you did not withhold income tax from the regular wages, 

the regular and supplemental wages should be added 
together and the tax computed on the whole amount.

2. Withholding on regular wages
 If you did withhold income tax from the employee’s regular 

wages, the employer must compute the tax on the combined 
regular and supplemental wages. The computed tax minus 
the tax withheld from regular wages is the tax to be withheld 
from supplemental wages.

Example 13: An employer pays her employees annual bonuses. 
The bonuses are not included in the employees’ regular 
paychecks, but income tax is withheld from the regular pay. 
The employer must add the bonus to the gross wages for the 
last regular pay period, determine the withholding tax on the 
total of the bonus plus the gross wages, subtract the tax already 
withheld from the regular wages, and withhold the difference 
from the bonus check.

How to Report and Remit Taxes Withheld 
You must fi le all withholding forms and remit all income 
tax withholding payments electronically. See IP 2014(15).

When to Remit Withholding Payments
You are required to withhold Connecticut income tax from 
employee wages at the time wages are paid and are required 
to remit the Connecticut income tax withholding to DRS 
according to your remitter classifi cation. See the requirements 
in Weekly Remitter, Monthly Remitter, or Quarterly Remitter 
on this page and on Page 14.
If the tax liability was deducted and withheld during one 
quarter and paid over in another quarter, you must enter the 
number for the quarter in which the tax liability was deducted 
and withheld. 

Remitter Classifi cations
Each calendar year DRS will classify you either as a 
weekly remitter, monthly remitter, or quarterly remitter. 
The classifi cation relates to how much time you have to 
remit Connecticut income tax withholding to DRS after 
wages are paid to employees and Connecticut income tax is 
deducted and withheld from those wages. Your classifi cation 
is based on your reported liability for Connecticut income 
tax withholding during the 12-month look-back period. The 
12-month look-back period for calendar year 2015 is the 
12-month period that ended on June 30, 2014.
DRS will notify you of your new payment frequency if the 
prior classifi cation has changed. Most new employers will 
be classifi ed as quarterly remitters.

See Special Notice 2004(9), 2004 Legislation Affecting 
Connecticut Income Tax Withholding by Employers on Wages 
Paid On or After January 1, 2005.
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Weekly Remitter
You are a weekly remitter if your reported liability for 
Connecticut income tax withholding during the 12-month
look-back period was more than $10,000. As a weekly 
remitter, you are required to remit Connecticut income 
tax withholding on or before the Wednesday following the 
weekly period during which the wages were paid. Weekly 
period is the seven-day period beginning on a Saturday and 
ending on the following Friday.

Schedule for Weekly Remitters

If the payday falls 
on a Saturday, 
Sunday, Monday, 
or Tuesday

If the payday falls 
on a Wednesday, 
Thursday, or 
Friday

Remit Connecticut income tax 
withholding on or before the 
second Wednesday following 
the payday.

Remit Connecticut income 
tax withholding on or before 
the Wednesday following the 
payday.

Weekly Period Spanning Two Quarterly Periods
If you are a weekly remitter, and you have two or more 
paydays during a weekly period, you are generally required 
to make only one payment for the weekly period to DRS and 
should enter the date of the last payday when making the 
payment. However, if the paydays fall in different quarterly 
periods, you must make separate payments for the separate 
Connecticut income tax withholding liabilities. Any wages 
paid on December 30, 2015, or December 31, 2015, are 
wages paid during calendar year 2015 and must be included 
in the Summary of Connecticut Tax Liability for the Calendar 
Quarter on the back of Form CT-941 fi led for the last quarter 
of the 2015 calendar year.

Monthly Remitter
You are a monthly remitter if your reported liability for 
Connecticut income tax withholding during the 12-month 
look-back period was more than $2,000 but not more than 
$10,000. As a monthly remitter, you are required to remit 
Connecticut income tax withholding by electronic funds 
transfer on or before the fi fteenth day of the month following 
the month during which the wages were paid.

Quarterly Remitter
You are a quarterly remitter if your reported liability for 
Connecticut income tax withholding during the 12-month 
look-back period was $2,000 or less. As a quarterly remitter, 
you are required to remit Connecticut income tax withholding 
with Form CT-941 on or before the last day of the month 
following the quarterly period during which the wages were 
paid. Quarterly period means a period of three calendar 

months that ends on the last day of March, June, September, 
or December.

See Special Notice 2004(9), 2004 Legislation Affecting 
Connecticut Income Tax Withholding by Employers on Wages 
Paid on or After January 1, 2005.

Annual Remitter
Certain employers may request to be classifi ed as annual 
remitters. For more information about annual remitters, see 
Seasonal Employers, Household Employers, and Agricultural 
Employers on Page 19.

New Employers
Most new employers are classifi ed by DRS as quarterly 
remitters. An employer is a new employer for the calendar 
year during which the employer is fi rst registered with DRS 
for Connecticut income tax withholding purposes. For the 
following calendar year, a new employer will either (1) retain 
its remitter classifi cation if it is fi rst registered on or after July 1
of the preceding calendar year, or (2) be classifi ed either as 
a weekly remitter, monthly remitter, or quarterly remitter 
based on the employer’s annualized reported liability for 
Connecticut income tax withholding during the 12-month 
look-back period.

Liability for Taxes Withheld
If you are required to deduct and withhold tax from the wages 
of employees, then you are liable for the payment of the 
required tax whether or not it is collected from the employees. 
For purposes of assessment and collection, amounts required 
to be withheld and remitted to DRS (and any penalties and 
interest) are your liability. You remain liable for the tax even 
if a third party is withholding on your behalf.

Quarterly Reconciliation
Unless you are a seasonal, annual, agricultural, or  household 
employer fi lers, if you are registered for Connecticut income 
tax withholding you must fi le Form CT-941 even if no tax is 
due or has been withheld for a quarter. 
Due dates are:
 First Quarter  ..............................April 30
 Second Quarter  ..........................July 31
 Third Quarter  .............................October 31
 Fourth Quarter  ...........................January 31
This requirement applies to you even if you are not required 
to fi le a quarterly reconciliation for federal withholding 
purposes.

If you make timely withholding payments and owe no 
additional withholding for the quarter, you have ten days 
after the normal due date to fi le Form CT-941.
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Connecticut Employers Must File Form
CT-941 Even If They File Form 944 for Federal 
Employment Taxes
If you receive written notifi cation from the Internal Revenue 
Service (IRS) stating that you must fi le federal Form 944, 
Employer’s Annual Federal Tax Return, rather than federal 
Form 941, Employer’s Quarterly Federal Tax Return, you 
must continue to fi le Form CT-941, Connecticut Quarterly 
Reconciliation of Withholding, for Connecticut withholding 
tax purposes.

Employers Who Report No Withholding for 
All Four Calendar Quarters
If you get permission from DRS, you may fi le one Form 
CT-941, due January 31, reporting Connecticut wages paid 
during the entire calendar year and no Connecticut income 
tax withholding. 

For information on requesting annual filer status, see 
Requesting Annual Withholding Filer Status on Page 11.

Amended Reconciliation of Withholding
If you made an error on a previously-fi led Form CT-941, 
you must fi le an amended return. Amend Form CT-941 
electronically. Only taxpayers that have been granted a waiver 
from electronic fi ling and payment from DRS may fi le a paper 
Form CT-941X, Amended Connecticut Reconciliation of 
Withholding, to amend Form CT-941.

Annual Reconciliation
You must fi le all withholding-related forms electronically. 
Form CT-W3 is due the last day of January 2016 and will be 
completed as part of the electronic fi ling process when you 
upload Copy 1 of federal Forms W-2. Do not mail in Form 
CT-W3. No payment is to be made with this return. If the 
due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the 
next business day is the due date. You must fi le every Copy 
1 of federal Form W-2 with Form CT-W3 even if you didn’t 
withhold any Connecticut income tax. 
If you fi led Form CT-941X for one or more periods during 
the year and you have already fi led Form CT-W3, you must 
amend Form CT-W3. Amend Form CT-W3 electronically.  

The total Connecticut tax withheld, for all four quarters, on 
Form CT-941, Line 3, must agree with the total reported on 
Form CT-W3, Line 1. The total gross Connecticut wages on 
Form CT-941 Line 2, must agree with the total Connecticut 
wages reported on Form CT-W3, Line 2.

See Informational Publication 2015(9), Form W-2 
Electronic Filing Requirements for Tax Year 2015.

Wage and Tax Statement
On or before January 31 of the following calendar year, you 
must give your employee a federal Form W-2, Wage and Tax 
Statement, showing the correct amount of Connecticut wages 
you paid during the calendar year and the correct amount of 
Connecticut income tax you withheld from wages during 
the calendar year.
You must complete the state information in boxes 15, 16, 
and 17 of federal Form W-2 for the calendar year. In box 15,
enter “CT” (two-letter state code for Connecticut) and your 
Connecticut tax registration number. In box 16, enter the total 
wages paid during the calendar year to an employee who is a 
Connecticut resident or, if an employee is a nonresident, the 
wages paid during the calendar year which are attributable 
to services performed in Connecticut by the employee. In 
box 17, enter the total Connecticut income tax withheld from 
wages of the employee during the calendar year.

Penalties and Interest
If you fail to comply with the requirements to withhold 
Connecticut income tax, you will be subject to penalties, 
including:

Late Payment Penalty
The penalty for late payment or underpayment of tax due is 
10% of the amount due on all returns including payments 
made with an electronically-fi led Form CT-WH.

Late Electronic Payment Penalty
The following penalties will apply if an electronic funds 
transfer payment (EFT) is remitted late:
• 2% of the tax due for EFT payments not more than 5 days 

late;
• 5% of EFT payments more than 5 days but not more than 

15 days late; and
• 10% of EFT payments more than 15 days late.
To be considered timely, an EFT payment must be initiated 
on or before the due date of such payment. Any payment 
not considered timely will be subject to interest and late 
payment penalty.

Penalty for Failure to Pay Electronically 
The following graduated penalty amounts will apply if you 
fail to remit payments electronically:
• First offense – 10% penalty on the amount of the required 

tax payment, but not more than $2,500;
• Second offense – 10% penalty, but not more than $10,000; 

and
• Third and subsequent offenses – 10% penalty
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Late Filing Penalty
In the event no tax is due, the Commissioner of Revenue 
Services may impose a $50 penalty for failure to fi le any 
return or report that is required by law to be fi led.

Interest
If you are fi ling a late or amended return, interest is computed 
on the underpayment at the rate of 1% per month or fraction 
of a month from the due date until the date of payment. 

Required Informational Returns
A penalty of $5 per statement (up to a total of $2,000 per 
calendar year) is imposed for failure to provide federal Form 
W-2 to each employee and a copy to DRS, unless such failure 
is due to reasonable cause.

Willful Evasion
A penalty equal to the total amount of the tax evaded, not 
collected, or not paid over is imposed on any responsible 
person for your willful failure to collect or truthfully account 
for income tax or for willfully attempting to evade the tax.

Fraud
In addition to any other penalty that may be imposed, a civil 
penalty of not more than $1,000 is imposed where, with 
fraudulent intent, you fail to pay, deduct, or withhold and 
pay tax or to make or sign any return or supply information.

Criminal Penalties
Any person who willfully fails to pay tax, fi le a return, keep 
records, or supply information is guilty of a misdemeanor. A 
person who willfully fi les with DRS any document known 
to be fraudulent or false in any material manner is guilty of 
a felony.

How to Advise Employees to Have Enough 
Tax Withheld
You should remind employees to check the amount of 
Connecticut income tax withheld. An employee who owes 
$1,000 or more in Connecticut income tax over and above 
what has been withheld may be required to make estimated 
income tax payments and may be liable for an addition 
to tax if those payments are not made. Employees should 
also be advised to check Connecticut withholding by using 
Informational Publication 2015(7.1), Is My Connecticut 
Withholding Correct?

Supplemental Tables for Joint Filers Where 
Both Spouses Work
Employees who fi le a joint income tax return where both 
spouses work and choose Withholding Code “A” on Form 
CT-W4 should refer to the supplemental tables on Form
CT-W4, effective January 1, 2015, to ensure the correct 

amount of tax is withheld. Refer to the Supplemental Table 
of Form CT-W4 on Pages 32 and 33.

You should post Announcement 2012(1), Information for 
Married Individuals Who Are Both Employed and File a Joint 
Connecticut Income Tax Return. See Page 28.

What Records to Keep
You must maintain a current accurate record of all persons 
from whom you withhold tax. DRS has the authority to 
inspect your records at any time. Records should contain all 
of the following applicable information:
• Amounts and dates of all payments subject to withholding 

tax;
• Names, addresses, occupations, and Social Security 

Numbers of persons receiving payments;
• Periods of employment, including periods during which 

compensation is paid while an employee is absent due to 
sickness or injury;

• Amounts paid by pay period;
• Copies of payment coupons, quarterly and annual returns, 

and statements fi led with DRS and IRS;
• Federal Form W-4, Federal Employee Withholding 

Allowance Certifi cate; 
• Form CT-W4, Employee’s Withholding Certifi cate; and
• Form CT-W4NA, Employee’s Withholding Certifi cate – 

Nonresident Apportionment.
You should keep records for at least four years after the date 
the tax becomes due or the date the tax is paid, whichever is 
later. However, you must have on fi le at all times a current, 
accurate copy of Form CT-W4 or Form CT-W4NA.

How to Cancel Registration for Withholding 
Connecticut Income Tax
If you go out of business or permanently stop paying wages, 
you should notify DRS immediately by electronically fi ling 
Form CT-941, Connecticut Quarterly Reconciliation of 
Withholding, for the current quarter. You should check the 
box indicating that you no longer have employees and enter 
the last payroll date, or send written notifi cation to:
 Department of Revenue Services
 Operations Registration
 PO Box 2937
 Hartford CT 06104-2937
You must also electronically fi le Form CT-W3, Connecticut 
Annual Reconciliation of Withholding, issue Forms W-2 to all 
employees showing their wages and withholding, and submit 
copies of all Forms W-2 to DRS.
If your business had employees, you should also contact  the 
Connecticut Department of Labor.
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Private Delivery Services 
If DRS issues you a waiver from fi ling electronically, you 
may use certain private delivery services in addition to the 
U.S. Postal Service when sending forms, returns, or payments 
to DRS. These services satisfy the timely fi led and timely 
payment rules.

See Policy Statement 2012(2), Designated Private
Delivery Services and Designated Types of Service.

Common Filing Errors
Filing errors can result in a failure or delay in processing of 
informational returns or improper crediting of withholding 
payments to your account. Most errors relate to the use 
of incorrect, outdated, or mismatched state and federal 
identification numbers. To avoid these errors and DRS 
inquiries, it is important to verify the following items prior 
to submitting your informational returns.
 Verify that CT-W3 and W-2 forms list the same state and 

federal identifi cation numbers for which you have made 
withholding deposits during the tax year. If you make a 
deposit under one registration number and submit CT-W3 
and W-2 forms with a different registration number, you 
may receive a billing notice based on this discrepancy. 

 If you use a payroll processing company, verify that your 
payroll company has made withholding deposits under your 
company’s registration number and has issued W-2 forms 
using the same number. Payroll companies must use each 
client’s separate identifi cation number for withholding 
deposits and wage reporting for the client’s employees.

 Verify that CT-W3 and W-2 forms list state and federal 
identifi cation numbers that correspond with each other. Use 
of mismatched federal and state identifi cation numbers can 
result in the improper application of withholding deposits 
and further DRS inquiries. Mismatched identification 
numbers often occur when a change in ownership results 
in a change to state and federal identifi cation numbers or 
when a taxpayer operates multiple business entities. 

 If you go out of business or permanently stop paying wages, 
you should notify DRS immediately by fi ling Form CT-941 
for the current quarter. You must check the box indicating 
you no longer have employees and must enter the last 
payroll date. Failure to notify DRS of this event could result 
in collections actions and may subject you to penalties for 
failure to fi le for subsequent tax periods.

Successor Liability
If you are required to deduct and withhold Connecticut 
income taxes and sell the business or stock of goods or quit 
the business, the successor or assignee is required to withhold 
a suffi cient portion of the purchase price to cover any amount 
of withholding plus any interest and penalty, due and unpaid 
as of the time of the sale or quitting of the business. The 
successor or assignee must hold back the amount until you 
(the seller) produce a receipt from DRS showing that the 
taxes, interest and penalties, have been paid, or a certifi cate 
indicating that no taxes are due. Failure to withhold a portion 
of the purchase price makes the purchaser personally liable 
for the amount required to be withheld, to the extent of the 
purchase price. See Informational Publication 2011(16), 
Successor Liability for Sales and Use Taxes, Admissions and 
Dues Tax, and Connecticut Income Tax Withholding.

Six-Year Statute of Limitations for Making a 
Defi ciency Assessment Against Employers
DRS has six years after the date on which you file a 
withholding tax return to make a defi ciency assessment 
against you if you omit from Connecticut wages an amount 
properly includible that is more than 25% of the Connecticut 
wages stated on your Connecticut withholding tax return. Any 
amount which is omitted from the withholding tax return but 
which is disclosed in the return or in a statement attached to 
the return is not taken into account in determining the 25% 
threshold.

Contractor Bond Requirements and 
Procedures
Any unverifi ed subcontractor, upon completion of its work 
under a contract, must submit a written request to DRS for 
a certifi cate of compliance. The certifi cate of compliance 
exonerates such subcontractor from any sales and use tax 
liability and withholding tax liability (under Chapter 229),
but only to the extent that such taxes arise from the activities 
of such subcontractor on the project for which the certifi cate 
is required. See Special Notice 2012(2), 2011 Legislative 
changes to the Procedures Governing Nonresident 
Contractors. 

Direct Deposit Option on Form CT-941
An employer filing Form CT-941, Connecticut Quarterly 
Reconciliation of Withholding, may elect to have any refund amount 
directly deposited into a checking or savings account.
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Seasonal Employers, Household Employers,
and Agricultural Employers

Seasonal Employer
If you are a seasonal employer, you will be classifi ed either 
as a weekly remitter, monthly remitter, or quarterly remitter 
based on your annualized reported liability for Connecticut 
income tax withholding during the 12-month look-back 
period. 
As a seasonal employer, you must file Form CT-941, 
Connecticut Quarterly Reconciliation of Withholding, for 
any quarter that you are listed as active. If you regularly have 
no Connecticut income tax withholding liability for one 
or more calendar quarters each year because you pay no 
Connecticut wages during the same one or more calendar 
quarters, you may request permission to fi le Form CT-941 
only for the one or more calendar quarters during which 
you pay Connecticut wages. A written request indicating the 
calendar quarters during which you pay Connecticut wages 
must be submitted to:
 Department of Revenue Services
 Operations Registration
 PO Box 2937
 Hartford CT 06104-2937
This request must be received on or before the last day of 
a calendar quarter to be effective for that calendar quarter. 
If you are granted seasonal fi ler status, you are not required 
to fi le Form CT-941 for the one or more calendar quarters 
during which you pay no Connecticut wages. Instead, you 
are required to fi le Form CT-941 only for the one or more 
calendar quarters during which you pay Connecticut wages.
If you are not granted permission to become a seasonal 
fi ler, you must continue to fi le Form CT-941 each quarter 
(even if no tax is withheld) as long as you are registered for 
Connecticut income tax withholding.

Household Employer
If you are a household employer, you are not required 
to withhold Connecticut income tax from the wages of 
a household employee(s) but may do so voluntarily by 
agreement between you and the employee(s). If you agree 
to withhold Connecticut income tax, you must register with 
DRS for withholding by submitting a completed Form 
REG-1 indicating you are a household employer and wish to 
register to withhold Connecticut income tax from wages of 
household employee(s). As a household employer registered 
to withhold Connecticut income tax, you should not fi le Form 
CT-941 HHE for each calendar quarter, but instead must 
fi le one Form CT-941 HHE, Connecticut Reconciliation of 
Withholding for Household Employers, for the entire calendar 

year. You must remit income tax withheld from the wages 
of household employees during the entire calendar year with 
Form CT-941 HHE. The due date of Form CT-941 HHE is 
April 15 of the following calendar year.

Agricultural Employer
If you are an agricultural employer, you must register to 
withhold Connecticut income tax from the cash wages of 
agricultural employees if you are required to withhold federal 
income tax from those wages. As an agricultural employer, 
you are required to withhold federal income tax from the cash 
wages of agricultural employees if those wages are subject 
to Social Security and Medicare tax withholding. See IRS 
Publication 51 (Circular A), Agricultural Employer’s Tax 
Guide.
If you are not required to withhold Connecticut income tax 
from the wages of agricultural employees, you may do so 
voluntarily by agreement between you and the employees. 
If you agree to withhold Connecticut income tax, you must 
register with DRS for withholding by submitting a completed 
Form REG-1 and indicate you have only agricultural 
employees and wish to register to withhold Connecticut 
income tax from wages of those employees.
You may request annual fi ler status by submitting a completed 
Form REG-1 indicating you:
• Have only agricultural employees and wish to register to 

withhold Connecticut income tax from the wages of those 
employees;

• File federal Form 943, Employer’s Annual Federal Tax 
Return for Agricultural Employees; and 

• Wish to fi le one Form CT-941 for the entire calendar year. 
If you are granted annual fi ler status, you should not fi le Form 
CT-941 for each calendar quarter, but instead must fi le one 
Form CT-941 for the entire calendar year. The due date of 
Form CT-941 is January 31 of the following calendar year.

Annual Reconciliation for Seasonal, 
Household, or Agricultural Employers
If you are a seasonal, household, or agricultural employer, 
you must fi le with DRS the state copy of federal Form(s) W-2, 
along with Form CT-W3, whether or not you are registered to 
withhold Connecticut income tax from wages of employees, 
and whether or not you have withheld any Connecticut 
income tax. On Form CT-W3, you report Connecticut wages 
paid to employees during the entire calendar year. The due 
date of Form CT-W3 is January 31.
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If you are not registered to withhold Connecticut income 
tax, you should enter the words “Household Employer” 
or “Agricultural Employer” in the space reserved for the 
Connecticut tax registration number on Form CT-W3. The 
due date is the last day of February. Seasonal employers are 
required to register with DRS.

Related Publications
IP 2015(7.1) Is My Connecticut Withholding Correct?
IP 2015(8) Connecticut Tax Guide for Payers of 

Nonpayroll Amounts
IP 2014(15) Paying Connecticut Taxes by Electronic 

Funds Transfer
IP 2014(20) Federal/State Electronic Filing Handbook
IP 2015(9) Form W-2 Electronic Filing Requirements 

for Tax Year 2015
IP 2012(15) Connecticut Income Tax Information for 

Armed Forces Personnel and Veterans
IP 2011(26) Estimated Connecticut Income Taxes
PS 2012(2) Designated Private Delivery Services and 

Designated Types of Service
AN 2010(3) “14-Day”Withholding Rule for Nonresident 

Employees
AN 2012(1) Information for Married Individuals Who 

Are Both Employed and Are Filing a Joint 
Connecticut Income Tax Return

SN 2004(9) 2004 Legislation Affecting Connecticut 
Income Tax Withholding by Employers on 
Wages Paid on or After January 1, 2005

Effective Date
Effective January 1, 2015.
This IP has been revised to refl ect changes to the tax law 
pursuant to 2015 Public Act 244 and 2015 Public Act 5 (June 
Special Session).

Effect on Other Documents
Informational Publication 2015(1), Connecticut Employer’s 
Tax Guide - Circular CT, is modifi ed and superseded and 
may not be relied upon on or after the date of issuance of 
this Informational Publication.

Effect of This Document
An Informational Publication addresses frequently-asked 
questions about a current position, policy, or practice, usually 
in a less technical question and answer format. 

Forms and Publications
Visit the DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS to download and 
print Connecticut tax forms and publications.

Paperless Filing Methods (fast, easy, free, 
and confi dential)
Business and individual taxpayers can use the Taxpayer 
Service Center (TSC) at www.ct.gov/TSC to fi le a variety of 
tax returns, update account information, and make payments 
online.
File Electronically: You can choose to get fi rst-time fi ler 
information and fi ling assistance, or can log directly into the 
TSC to fi le returns and pay taxes.
Pay Electronically: You can pay taxes for tax returns that 
cannot be fi led through the TSC. Log in and select the Make 
Payment Only option. Designate a payment date up to the 
due date of the tax and mail a paper return to complete the 
fi ling process.

DRS E-News Service
Get connected to the latest news from DRS. Receive notifi cation 
by email of changes to legislation, policies, and procedures. 
DRS E-Alerts provide information for employer’s withholding 
tax, News – Press Releases, and Top 100 Delinquency List. 
Visit the DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS and select e-alerts 
from the left navigation bar.
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Comparison of Federal and Connecticut Filing Rules

Complete Form CT-W4 for each employee. Report new or 
rehired employees to the Department of Labor by Internet, 
fax, or mail. See Reporting New or Rehired Employees to 
DOL, Page 11.

Complete federal Form W-4 for 
each employee.

Payments are remitted as required by the employer’s remitter 
classifi cation for Connecticut withholding tax purposes.

Payments are deposited as 
required by the employer’s 
remitter classifi cation for federal 
withholding tax purposes. 

File Form CT-941 for each quarter during the calendar year. File federal Form 941 or federal 
Form 944.

File Form CT-W3 with every state copy of federal Form  
W-2 reporting Connecticut wages paid.

File federal Form W-3 with 
federal Forms W-2.

For New or Rehired 
Employees

Quarterly 
Reconciliation

Annual
Reconciliation

Withholding
Payments

C o n n e c t i c u t F e d e r a l
  Wage Amounts

(for most commonly-fi led withholding forms)

If any due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the return will be considered timely if fi led 
by the next business day.
You may request an extension of time to fi le the informational returns listed in the above chart. See Form CT-8809, Request for 
Extension of Time to File Informational Returns, for additional information.

Due Dates for Filing Informational Returns Required by DRS

Due Date for Federal Informational ReturnsDue Date for CT Informational Returns

Electronically

Federal Form W-3
March 31

Paper Filing

Informational Return Filed for Connecticut Purposes:

Form CT-W3
January 31

Federal Form W-3
February 28

Informational Return Filed for Federal Purposes:

Electronically
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“14-Day” Withholding Rule for Nonresident Employees

STATE OF CONNECTICUT
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES AN 2010(3)

25 Sigourney Street
Hartford CT 06106-5032

  ANNOUNCEMENT

Purpose: The purpose of this Announcement is to notify 
employers of a de minimis withholding rule applicable to 
nonresident employees.

Effective Date: Upon issuance.

“14-Day” Withholding Rule: Under the “14-Day” 
rule employers are not required to withhold Connecticut 
income tax from wages/compensation paid to nonresident 
employees for services performed in Connecticut provided 
said employees are assigned to a primary work location 
outside of Connecticut and work in Connecticut 14 or fewer 
days during a calendar year.

This “14-day” rule does not, however, exclude the wages/
compensation earned by nonresident employees from 
Connecticut income tax.  To the contrary, even though 
employers are not required to withhold Connecticut income 
tax on wages/compensation paid to nonresident employees 
who perform services in Connecticut for 14 or fewer days 
during a calendar year, such nonresident employees are 
required to report such wages/compensation as Connecticut 
source income and pay Connecticut income tax on such 
wages/compensation.

What is a Connecticut Day for Purposes of the 
“14-Day” Rule? For purposes of the “14-day” rule, any 
part of a day spent performing services in Connecticut will 
be considered a full day. 

How Does the “14-Day” Rule Apply When an 
Employer Expects a Nonresident Employee to 
Work More Than 14 Days in Connecticut During a 
Calendar Year? If an employer expects that a nonresident 
employee will work more than 14 days in Connecticut 
during a calendar year, the employer must withhold on all 
wages/compensation paid to the employee.

How Does the “14-Day” Rule Apply When a 
Nonresident Employee Who Was Not Expected to 
Work More Than 14 Days in Connecticut During a 
Calendar Year Actually Works More Than 14 Days? 
If a nonresident employee who was reasonably expected 
to work 14 or fewer days in Connecticut during a calendar 
year actually works more than 14 days in Connecticut 
during said calendar year, the employer must withhold on 
all wages/compensation paid to such employee after the 
fourteenth day.

Is an Employer Required to Report the Wages/
Compensation Paid to a Nonresident Employee 
Who Works Less Than 14 days in Connecticut 
During a Calendar Year? Yes. Even though employers 
are not required to withhold Connecticut income tax from 
wages/compensation paid to nonresident employees who 
work less than 14 days in Connecticut during a calendar 
year, employers are required to report such wages /
compensation. Even if no Connecticut income tax was 
withheld, employers report wages/compensation on 
Form CT-941, Connecticut Quarterly Reconciliation of 
Withholding, and in the state wages, tips, etc. box of federal 
Form W-2. Employers are required to fi le copies of every 
federal Form W-2 reporting Connecticut wages paid (even 
if no Connecticut income tax was withheld) during the 
calendar year with DRS. Employers submit these copies 
with Form CT-W3, Connecticut Annual Reconciliation 
of Withholding.

The “14-Day” Rule Does Not Apply to Nonresident 
Athletes and Entertainers: The “14-day” rule does 
not apply to payments made to nonresident athletes and 
entertainers for services performed in Connecticut. For 
more information on the withholding tax requirements for 
nonresident athletes and entertainers, please see Policy 
Statement 2011(2), Income Tax Withholding for Athletes 
or Entertainers.

DRS
epartment of

evenue
ervices
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Effect on Other Documents: This publication 
supersedes Announcement 2009(9), New “14-Day” 
Withholding Rule for Nonresident Employees.

Effect of This Document: Announcements alert 
taxpayers to new developments (other than newly enacted 
or amended Connecticut or federal laws or newly released 
judicial decisions), including new administrative positions, 
policies, or practices.

For Further Information: Call DRS during business 
hours, Monday through Friday:
• 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater 
Hartford calling area only); or
• 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).
TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit 
inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911.

Forms and Publications: Visit the DRS website at www.
ct.gov/DRS to download and print Connecticut tax forms 
and publications.

Paperless Filing/Payment Methods (fast, easy, 
free, and confi dential): 
Business and individual taxpayers can use the Taxpayer 
Service Center (TSC) at www.ct.gov/TSC to fi le a variety 
of tax returns, update account information, and make 
payments online.
File Electronically: You can choose to get fi rst-time fi ler 
information and fi ling assistance, or can log directly into 
the TSC to fi le returns and pay taxes.
Pay Electronically: You can pay taxes for tax returns that 
cannot be fi led through the TSC. Log in and select the Make 
Payment Only option. Designate a payment date up to the 
due date of the tax and mail a paper return to complete the 
fi ling process.

DRS E-News Service: Get connected to the latest news 
from DRS. Receive notifi cation by email of changes to 
legislation, policies, and procedures. DRS E-Alerts provide 
information for employer’s withholding tax, News – Press 
Releases, and Top 100 Delinquency List. Visit the DRS 
website at www.ct.gov/DRS and select e-alerts from the 
left navigation bar. 

AN 2010(3)
Income Tax
Issued: 1/11/2010



General Instructions
Form CT-W3 must be fi led electronically.
Do not send this paper return to the Department of Revenue 
Services (DRS), unless you have been granted a waiver from 
electronic fi ling of informational returns. See Electronic Filing 
Waiver of Informational Returns, on back.
Do not make a payment with this return.
Household employers should not use this form to fi le 
their annual reconciliation of withholding see Household 
Employers, on back.

Agricultural employers not registered with DRS see 
Agricultural Employers, on back.

When to File
Form CT-W3 is due January 31, 2016 and will be completed 
as part of the electronic fi ling process when you upload Copy 
1 of federal Forms W-2.
Do not mail in Form CT-W3.
If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, 
the the return will be considered timely if fi led by the next 
business day.
Employers must fi le every Copy 1 of federal Form W-2 with 
Form CT-W3 even if Connecticut income tax was not 
withheld.

Electronic Filing Requirement
Employers are required to fi le Form CT-W3 and every Copy 1
of federal Form W-2 electronically.
Use the Taxpayer Service Center (TSC) to 
electronically fi le this return. See Taxpayer 
Service Center (TSC) on back.

Connecticut taxpayers can either key in or upload their Form 
CT-W3 and Forms W-2 electronically through the TSC.
Electronic reporting requirements are available on the DRS 
website at www.ct.gov/DRS/ew2 and in Informational 
Publication 2015(9) , Form W-2 Electronic Fil ing 
Requirements for Tax Year 2015.

Line Instructions
Line 1
Enter total Connecticut income tax withheld from wages 
during the 2015 calendar year. This should equal the Total 
line on the back of this return.

Line 2
Enter total Connecticut wages reported during the 2015 
calendar year. Connecticut wages are all wages paid to 
employees who are residents of Connecticut, even if those 
wages are paid for work performed outside Connecticut by 
those resident employees, and wages paid to employees who 
are nonresidents of Connecticut if those wages are paid for work 
performed in Connecticut by those nonresident employees.

Line 3
Enter the number of W-2 forms submitted.

Rounding Off to Whole Dollars
You must round off cents to the nearest whole dollar on your 
returns and schedules. If you do not round, the DRS will 
disregard the cents. Round down to the next lowest dollar all 
amounts that include 1 through 49 cents. Round up to the next 
highest dollar all amounts that include 50 through 99 cents.

Form CT-W3
Connecticut Annual Reconciliation of Withholding

Complete this return in blue or black ink only.

Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut
PO Box 2930
Hartford CT 06104-2930
(Rev. 08/15)

2015

Enter name and address below. Please print or type.

I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this return (including any accompanying 
schedules and statements) and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, 
and correct.  I understand the penalty for willfully delivering a false return or document to 
DRS is a fi ne of not more than $5,000, or imprisonment for not more than fi ve years, or both.

Signature  __________________________________________________________

Title ______________________________________  Date  ___________________  

1. Connecticut tax withheld from wages   1.

2. Total Connecticut wages reported   2.

3. Number of W-2s submitted  3.

00

00

Connecticut Tax Registration Number Federal Employer ID Number Due date


CT-W3     Connecticut Annual Reconciliation of Withholding   2015

Name

Address

City State ZIP code

Separate here and mail return to DRS. Make a copy for your records. Do not mail this form if fi ling electronically. 

Do not send payment with this return.
Mail to: Department of Revenue Services
 PO Box 2930
 Hartford CT 06104-2930

This return MUST be fi led electronically!
DO NOT MAIL paper return to DRS.

This return MUST be fi led electronically!
DO NOT MAIL paper return to DRS.

January 31, 2016



 Period Connecticut Income 
  Tax Withheld From Wages

Amended Returns
Amend Form CT-W3 electronically.
See Informational Publication 2015(9), Form W-2 
Electronic Filing Requirements for Tax Year 2015.

Taxpayer Service Center (TSC)
The TSC allows taxpayers to electronically fi le, pay, and 
manage state tax responsibilities. To make 
electronic transactions or administer your 
tax account online visit www.ct.gov/TSC 
and select Business.

Complete for Each Period
Electronic Filing Requirements: Taxpayers are required 
to fi le Form CT-W3 and every Copy 1 of federal Form W-2 
electronically. You may request a waiver of the electronic 
fi ling requirements by completing Form CT-8508, Request 
for Waiver from Filing Informational Returns Electronically,  
at least 30 days before the due date.
Electronic reporting requirements are available on the DRS 
website at www.ct.gov/DRS/ew2 and in Informational 
Publication 2015(9), Form W-2 Electronic Fil ing 
Requirements for Tax Year 2015.

This should equal Line 1 on the front of this return.



CT-W3 Back (Rev. 08/15)

January 1 -
March 31 1st Quarter

April 1 -
June 30 2nd Quarter

July 1 - 
September 30 3rd Quarter

October 1 -
December 31 4th Quarter

            Total 00

Electronic Filing Waiver of Informational 
Returns
To request a waiver from the informational return electronic 
filing requirement complete Form CT-8508, Request for 
Waiver from Filing Informational Returns Electronically, at 
least 30 days before the due date.
If a waiver is granted, your infomational returns must be 
submitted to DRS on CD. See Form CT-6559, Submitter 
Report for Form W-2 Compact Disc (CD) Filing.

Household Employers
Household employers do not use this form. Instead, use 
Form CT-W3 HHE, Connecticut Annual Reconciliation of 
Withholding for Household Employers.

Agricultural Employers
An agricultural employer not registered with DRS to withhold 
Connecticut income tax should write the words “Agricultural 
Employer” in the space reserved for the Connecticut Tax 
Registration Number on this return.

Separate here and mail return to DRS. Make a copy for your records. Do not mail this form if fi ling electronically. 



Section 2 - Summary of Connecticut Tax Liability for the Calendar Quarter: See Instructions on back.

Form CT-941
Connecticut Quarterly Reconciliation of Withholding

Complete this return in blue or black ink only.

Department of Revenue Services
PO Box 2931
Hartford CT 06104-2931
CT-941 (Rev. 12/14)

2015

General Instructions
Form CT-941 must be paid and fi led electronically. Do not send this paper return to the Department of Revenue Services (DRS), 
unless you have been granted a waiver from DRS. See Electronic Filing Waiver, on Page 3.
Form CT-941 is used to reconcile quarterly Connecticut income tax withholding from wages only. Payers of nonpayroll amounts 
must use Form CT-945, Connecticut Annual Reconciliation of Withholding for Nonpayroll Amounts.
Do not use this form to amend a previously fi led Form CT-941. See Amended Returns, on Page 4.

Connecticut Tax Registration Number

Federal Employer ID Number (FEIN)

Enter reporting quarter (1, 2, 3, or 4)

Due date





Section 1

I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this return (including any accompanying schedules and statements) and, to the best of my knowledge 
and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. 
Signature Date

Title Telephone number
(         )

A
First Month

B
Second Month

C
Third Month

 1.

 2.

 3.

 4.

 5.

 6.

 7. Totals

 8. Total liability for the quarter: Add Line 7, Columns A, B, and C. Enter total.

Pay
Period

 1. Gross wages .......................................................................................................................... 1 00
 2. Gross Connecticut wages ...................................................................................................... 2 00
 3. Connecticut tax withheld .................................................................................................... 3 00
 4. Credit from prior quarter  ....................................................................................................... 4 00
 5. Payments made for this quarter............................................................................................. 5 00
 6. Total payments: Add Line 4 and Line 5. ................................................................................ 6 00
 7. Net tax due (or credit): Subtract Line 6 from Line 3. ............................................................. 7 00
 8a. Penalty: ......................................................................... 8a 00
  8b. Interest: ......................................................................... 8b 00
 8 Total penalty and interest: Add Line 8a and Line 8b.  ............................................................... 8 00
 9. Amount to be credited ........................................................................................................... 9 00
 10. Amount to be refunded  ......................................................................................................... 10 00
  For faster refund, use Direct Deposit by completing Lines 10a, 10b, and 10c.
 10a. Checking   Savings   10b.  Routing number 
 10c. Account number    
 10d.  Will this refund go to a bank account outside the U.S.?   Yes

 11. Total amount due: Add Line 7 and Line 8. ..........................................................................11 00

Name

Number and street PO Box

City or town State ZIP code

Taxpayer
Please 

type
or print.

Check here   if you no longer have employees in Connecticut
and enter date of last payroll:

M M        D D        Y Y Y Y
/ /

This return MUST be fi led electronically!

DO NOT MAIL paper return to DRS.

This return MUST be fi led electronically!
DO NOT MAIL paper return to DRS.
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Form CT-941, Instructions 

When to File
Due Dates
First quarter, April 30, 2015; second quarter, July 31, 2015; third 
quarter, October 31, 2015; and fourth quarter, January 31, 2016.
An employer who makes timely withholding payments and 
owes no additional withholding for the quarter has ten days 
after the normal due date to fi le Form CT-941.
If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, 
the return will be considered timely if fi led by the next business 
day.
Employers who are registered for Connecticut income tax 
withholding (other than household employers, agricultural 
employers granted annual fi ler status, and seasonal fi lers) 
are required to fi le Form CT-941 for each calendar quarter 
even if no tax is due or if no tax was required to be withheld.
Household employers who are registered to withhold 
Connecticut income tax from wages of their household 
employees should not fi le Form CT-941 for each calendar 
quarter, but instead must file one Form CT-941 HHE,
Connecticut Annual Reconciliation of Withholding for 
Household Employers, for the entire calendar year. See 
Informational Publication 2015(1), Connecticut Employer’s 
Tax Guide, Circular CT.
Seasonal and annual fi lers, including agricultural employers, 
may request permission from the Department of Revenue 
Services (DRS) to fi le Form CT-941 for only the calendar 
quarters in which they pay Connecticut wages. Certain 
agricultural employers may request permission to fi le one
Form CT-941 for the entire calendar year. See IP 2015(1).

Requirement to File and Pay Electronically
Form CT-941 must be paid and fi led electronically.
Generally, a payment made electronically is a payment 
made by electronic funds transfer (EFT). See Informational
Publication 2014(15), Filing and Paying Connecticut Taxes 
Electronically.
Only taxpayers that receive a waiver from electronic fi ling 
from DRS may fi le paper withholding forms. See Electronic
Filing Waiver, below.
Use the Taxpayer Service Center (TSC) to 
electronically fi le this return. See Taxpayer 
Service Center (TSC) on Page 4.

Electronic Filing Waiver
To request a waiver from the electronic fi ling requirement visit
www.ct.gov/drs/TSCfi ling and complete Form DRS-EWVR,
Electronic Filing and Payment Waiver Request.
If you received a waiver from electronic fi ling and payment 
from DRS, make check payable to Commissioner of 
Revenue Services. Write your Connecticut Tax Registration 
Number and the calendar quarter to which the payment 
applies on your check.

Mail the completed return and payment, if applicable, to the 
address on the return.

Section 1 - Line Instructions
Line 1: Enter gross wages, for federal income tax withholding 
purposes, paid to all employees during this quarter.
Line 2: Enter gross Connecticut wages paid during this 
quarter. Connecticut wages are all wages paid to employees 
who are residents of Connecticut even if those wages 
are paid for work performed outside Connecticut by those 
resident employees and wages paid to employees who are 
nonresidents of Connecticut if those wages are paid for work 
performed in Connecticut by those nonresident employees.
Line 3: Enter total Connecticut income tax withheld on wages 
during this quarter. This should equal Section 2, Line 8.
Line 4: Enter credit from your prior quarter Form CT-941,
Line 9. However, if any portion of that amount was 
overwithheld from employees during a prior quarter and not 
repaid to those employees prior to the end of that quarter or 
prior to fi ling the return for that quarter, whichever is earlier, 
subtract the portion not repaid from Line 9 of your prior quarter 
Form CT-941. Enter the difference.
Line 5: Enter the sum of all payments made for this quarter. 
Line 6: Add Line 4 and Line 5. This is the total of your 
payments and credits for this quarter.
Line 7: Subtract Line 6 from Line 3 and enter the difference. 
If Line 3 is more than Line 6, complete Line 8a and Line 8b if 
necessary, then go to Line 11. If Line 6 is more than Line 3,
complete Line 9 and Line 10.
Line 8: Enter penalty on Line 8a, interest on Line 8b, and 
the total on Line 8.
Late Payment Penalty
The penalty for paying all or a portion of the tax late is 10% 
of the tax paid late.
Late Electronic Payment Penalty
The following penalties will apply if an electronic funds transfer 
(EFT) payment is remitted late:
• 2% of the tax due for EFT payments not more than 5 days 

late;
• 5% of EFT payments more than 5 days but not more than 

15 days late; and
• 10% of EFT payments more than 15 days late.
Penalty for Failure to Pay Electronically
The following graduated penalty amounts will apply if you fail 
to remit payments electronically:
• First offense – 10% penalty on the amount of the tax 

payment, but not more than $2,500;
• Second offense – 10% penalty, but not more than 

$10,000; and
• Third and subsequent offenses – 10% penalty.

Form CT-941 Instructions (Rev. 12/14) Page 3 of 4
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Late Filing Penalty
If no tax is due, DRS may impose a $50 penalty for the late 
fi ling of this return.
Interest
Interest is computed on the tax paid late at the rate of 1% per 
month or fraction of a month.
Line 9 and Line 10: Enter the amount from Line 7 you want 
credited to the next quarter on Line 9. Enter the amount from 
Line 7 you want refunded on Line 10.
However, if any portion of the amount on Line 7 was 
overwithheld from your employee(s) during calendar year 
2015 and not repaid to your employee(s) prior to the end 
of calendar year 2015 or prior to fi ling the fourth quarter 
return, whichever is earlier, the amount not repaid must be 
subtracted from the amount on Line 7. Enter the difference 
on Line 9 or Line 10.
If you overwithheld Connecticut income tax from your 
employee(s), the amount overwithheld should be reimbursed 
to the employee in the same calendar year the overcollection 
occurred.
Lines 10a through 10c: Get the refund faster by choosing 
direct deposit. Complete Lines 10a, 10b, and 10c to have the 
refund directly deposited into a checking or savings account.
Enter the nine-digit bank routing number and the bank account 
number in Lines 10b and 10c. The bank routing number is 
normally the fi rst nine-digit number printed on the check or 
savings withdrawal slip. The bank account number generally 
follows the bank routing number. Do not include the check 
number as part of the account number. Bank account numbers 
can be up to 17 characters.

Routing Number

Name of Depositor
Street Address
City, State, Zip Code
Pay to the
Order of

No. 101

Name of your Bank
Street Address
City, State, Zip Code

092125789    091 025 025413 0101

$

Date

Account Number

If any of the bank information supplied for direct deposit does 
not match, or the applicable bank account is closed prior to the 
deposit of the refund, the refund will automatically be mailed.
Line 10d: Federal banking rules require DRS to request 
information about foreign bank accounts when the taxpayer 
requests the direct deposit of a refund into a bank account. 
If the refund is to be deposited into a bank account outside 
of the United States, DRS will mail the refund.
Line 11: If the amount on Line 7 is net tax due, add Line 7 
and Line 8. This is the total amount due.

Rounding off to whole dollars
You must round off cents to the nearest whole dollar on 
your returns and schedules. If you do not round, DRS will 
disregard the cents.
Round down to the next lowest dollar all amounts that include 
1 through 49 cents. Round up to the next highest dollar all 
amounts that include 50 through 99 cents. However, if you 
need to add two or more amounts to compute the amount 
to enter on a line, include cents and round off only the total.

Example: Add two amounts ($1.29 + $3.21) to compute the 
total ($4.50) to enter on a line. $4.50 is rounded to $5.00 
and entered on the line.

Section 2 - Summary of Connecticut Tax Liability 
for the Calendar Quarter
Enter Connecticut income tax withheld for each pay period. 
Add Lines 1 through 6 for each column and enter column 
totals on Line 7. Add Line 7, Columns A, B, and C. Enter 
total liability on Line 8. Line 8 should equal Form CT-941, 
Section 1, Line 3.

Amended Returns
Amend Form CT-941 electronically. See Taxpayer Service 
Center, below. Only taxpayers that have been granted a 
waiver from electronic fi ling and payment from DRS may fi le 
a paper Form CT-941X, Amended Connecticut Reconciliation 
of Withholding, to amend Form CT-941.

Forms and Publications
Visit the DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS to download and 
print Connecticut tax forms and publications.

Taxpayer Service Center (TSC)
The TSC allows taxpayers to electronically fi le, 
pay, and manage state tax responsibilities. To 
make electronic transactions or administer your tax account 
online, visit www.ct.gov/TSC and select Business.

Form CT-941 Instructions (Rev. 12/14) Page 4 of 4



Information for Married Individuals Who Are Both Employed and
File a Joint Connecticut Income Tax Return

Purpose: This Announcement alerts married individuals 
who are both employed and fi le a joint Connecticut income 
tax return that it may be necessary to increase or decrease 
the amount of Connecticut income tax withheld from one 
spouse’s wage income to avoid the underwithholding or 
overwithholding that may result when both incomes are 
combined. You may be overwithheld if your combined 
annual income is between $200,000 but less than $700,000 
and your Connecticut fi ling status is fi ling jointly. See 
Informational Publication 2012(7), Is My Connecticut 
Withholding Correct?, to help determine if your withholding 
is correct.

When to Use the Supplemental Table to Adjust Your 
Withholding: If you and your spouse are both employed, 
intend to fi le a joint Connecticut income tax return, and 
select Withholding Code “A” on Form CT-W4, Employee’s 
Withholding Certifi cate, the amount of Connecticut income 
tax withheld from one spouse’s wages may need to be 
adjusted. Although the Connecticut withholding tables 
provide the accurate amount of Connecticut withholding for 
each spouse’s own wage income, when a joint Connecticut 
income tax return is fi led the application of the personal 
exemption and credit is based upon the combined income 
of both spouses. Therefore, the amount of combined 
withholding as determined by the tables may not be enough 
to cover the total Connecticut income tax liability. If you 
do not have enough Connecticut income tax withheld 
throughout the year, you may be required to make estimated 
Connecticut income tax payments and may be subject to 
interest if insuffi cient estimated tax payments are made.
To minimize this problem, use the Supplemental Table for 
Married Couples Filing Jointly to help you adjust your 
withholding. The table is included on Pages 3 and 4 of Form 
CT-W4, which is available from your employer or on the 
DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS. If you need to adjust 
your withholding, complete a new Form CT-W4 and give 
it to your employer as soon as possible.

Other Method to Help You Adjust Your Connecticut 
Withholding: The supplemental table is a quick and easy 
tool to help you adjust your Connecticut withholding, but the 
results may not match your required withholding exactly. For 
example, if you or your spouse, or both, have nonwage income 
(such as income from a sole proprietorship, partnership, 
trust or estate, S corporation, interest, dividends, capital 
gains, pension, annuity, or gambling winnings), you should 
take this other income into account when adjusting your 
withholding. See IP 2012(7).

Effect on Other Documents: Announcement 2011(1), 
Information for Married Individuals or Civil Union Partners 
Who Are Both Employed and File a Joint Connecticut 
Income Tax Return, is modifi ed and superseded and may 
not be relied upon after the date of this Announcement.

Effect of This Document: Announcements alert 
taxpayers to new developments (other than newly enacted 
or amended Connecticut or federal laws or newly released 
judicial decisions), including new administrative positions, 
policies, or practices.

For Further Information: Call DRS during business 
hours, Monday through Friday:
• 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater 

Hartford calling area); or 
• 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit 
inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911.

STATE OF CONNECTICUT
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES AN 2012(1)

25 Sigourney Street
Hartford CT 06106-5032

  ANNOUNCEMENT

DRS
epartment of

evenue
ervices



Forms and Publications: Visit the DRS website at 
www.ct.gov/DRS to download and print Connecticut tax 
forms and publications.

Paperless Filing/Payment Methods (fast, easy, 
free, and confi dential): 
Business and individual taxpayers can use the Taxpayer 
Service Center (TSC) at www.ct.gov/TSC to fi le a variety 
of tax returns, update account information, and make 
payments online.

File Electronically: You can choose to get fi rst-time fi ler 
information and fi ling assistance, or can log directly into 
the TSC to fi le returns and pay taxes.

Pay Electronically: You can pay taxes for tax returns that 
cannot be fi led through the TSC. Log in and select the Make 
Payment Only option. Designate a payment date up to the 
due date of the tax and mail a paper return to complete the 
fi ling process.

DRS E-News Service: Get connected to the latest news 
from DRS. Receive notifi cation by email of changes to 
legislation, policies, and procedures. DRS E-Alerts provide 
information for employer’s withholding tax, News – Press 
Releases, and Top 100 Delinquency List. Visit the DRS 
website at www.ct.gov/DRS and select e-alerts from the 
left navigation bar. 

AN 2012(1)
Income Tax Withholding
Information for Married Individuals Filing a Joint Connecticut Income Tax Return
Issued: 12/28/2012



Employees: See Employee General Instructions on Page 2. Sign and return Form CT-W4 to your employer. Keep a copy for your records.
1. Withholding Code: Enter Withholding Code letter chosen from above. ....................... 1. 

2. Additional withholding amount per pay period: If any, see Page 3 instructions. . ......... 2. $

3. Reduced withholding amount per pay period: If any, see Page 3 instructions. ............ 3. $

Form CT-W4
Employee’s Withholding Certifi cate

Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut
(Rev. 08/15)

Effective January 1, 2015

Employee Instructions
• Read instructions on Page 2 before completing this form.
• Select the fi ling status you expect to report on your Connecticut 

income tax return. See instructions.

• Choose the statement that best describes your gross income. 
• Enter the Withholding Code on Line 1 below.

Check if you are claiming
the MSRRA exemption 
and enter state of legal 
residence/domicile:
_____________________



Employers: See Employer Instructions on Page 2.

Complete this form in blue or black ink only.

Declaration: I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this certifi cate and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and 
correct. I understand the penalty for reporting false information is a fi ne of not more than $5,000, imprisonment for not more than fi ve years, or both.

Is this a new or rehired employee? No Yes  Enter date hired:
mm/dd/yyyy

(        )

* If you are claiming the Military Spouses Residency Relief Act (MSRRA) exemption, see instructions on Page 2.

Our expected combined annual gross income is less than or
equal to $24,000 or I am claiming exemption under the Military ESpouses Residency Relief Act (MSRRA)* and no withholding 
is necessary.

My spouse is employed and our expected combined annual 
gross income is greater than $24,000 and less than or equal A
to $100,500. See Certain Married Individuals, Page 2.

My spouse is not employed and our expected combined Cannual gross income is greater than $24,000.

My spouse is employed and our expected combined Dannual gross income is greater than $100,500.

I have signifi cant nonwage income and wish to avoid having Dtoo little tax withheld.

I am a nonresident of Connecticut with substantial other income. D

Withholding 
Code

My expected annual gross income is less than or equal to
$24,000 or I am claiming exemption under the MSRRA* and E
no withholding is necessary.

My expected annual gross income is greater than $24,000. C
I have signifi cant nonwage income and wish to avoid having too Dlittle tax withheld.

I am a nonresident of Connecticut with substantial other income. D

Withholding 
CodeQualifying Widow(er) With Dependent Child

Married Filing Jointly My expected annual gross income is less than or equal to 
$12,000 or I am claiming exemption under the MSRRA* and E
no withholding is necessary.

My expected annual gross income is greater than $12,000. A
I have signifi cant nonwage income and wish to avoid having Dtoo little tax withheld.

I am a nonresident of Connecticut with substantial other income. D

Withholding 
Code

My expected annual gross income is less than or equal to E$14,500 and no withholding is necessary.

My expected annual gross income is greater than $14,500. F
I have signifi cant nonwage income and wish to avoid having Dtoo little tax withheld.

I am a nonresident of Connecticut with substantial other income. D

Withholding 
Code

My expected annual gross income is less than or equal to E$19,000 and no withholding is necessary.

My expected annual gross income is greater than $19,000. B
I have signifi cant nonwage income and wish to avoid having Dtoo little tax withheld.

I am a nonresident of Connecticut with substantial other income. D

Withholding 
Code

Married Filing Separately

Single

Head of Household

First name Ml Last name Social Security Number

Home address (number and street, apartment number, suite number, PO Box)

City/town State ZIP code 

Employee’s signature Date

Employer’s business name   Federal Employer Identifi cation Number

Employer’s business address

City/town State ZIP code

Contact person   Telephone number



Employee General Instructions
Form CT-W4, Employee’s Withholding Certifi cate, provides your 
employer with the necessary information to withhold the correct 
amount of Connecticut income tax from your wages to ensure that 
you will not be underwithheld or overwithheld.
You are required to pay Connecticut income tax as income is earned 
or received during the year. You should complete a new Form CT-W4 
at least once a year or if your tax situation changes.
If your circumstances change, such as you receive a bonus or your 
fi ling status changes, you must furnish your employer with a new 
Form CT-W4 within ten days of the change.
Gross Income
For Form CT-W4 purposes, gross income means all income from 
all sources, whether received in the form of money, goods, property, 
or services, not exempt from federal income tax, and includes any 
additions to income from Schedule 1 of Form CT-1040, Connecticut 
Resident Income Tax Return or Form CT-1040NR/PY, Connecticut 
Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Return.
Filing Status
Generally, the fi ling status you expect to report on your Connecticut 
income tax return is the same as the fi ling status you expect to report 
on your federal income tax return. However, special rules apply to 
married individuals who fi le a joint federal return but have a different 
residency status. Nonresidents and part-year residents should see 
the instructions to Form CT-1040NR/PY. 
Check Your Withholding
You may be underwithheld if any of the following apply:
• You have more than one job;
• You qualify under Certain Married Individuals and do not use the 

Supplemental Table on Page 3 and Page 4; or
• You have substantial nonwage income.
If you are underwithheld, you should consider adjusting your 
withholding or making estimated payments using Form CT-1040ES, 
Estimated Connecticut Income Tax Payment Coupon for Individuals. 
You may also select Withholding Code “D” to elect the highest level 
of withholding.
If you owe $1,000 or more in Connecticut income tax over and above 
what has been withheld from your income for the prior taxable year, 
you may be subject to interest on the underpayment at the rate of 1% 
per month or fraction of a month. 
To help determine if your withholding is correct, see Informational 
Publication 2015(7.1), Is My Connecticut Withholding Correct? 

Nonresident Employees Working Partly Within and Partly 
Outside of Connecticut
If you work partly within and partly outside of Connecticut for the same 
employer, you should also complete Form CT-W4NA, Employee’s 
Withholding or Exemption Certifi cate - Nonresident Apportionment, 
and provide it to your employer. The information on Form CT-W4NA 
and Form CT-W4 will help your employer determine how much to 
withhold from your wages for services performed within Connecticut. 
To obtain Form CT-W4NA, visit the Department of Revenue Services 
(DRS) website at www.ct.gov/DRS or request the form from your 
employer. Any nonresident who expects to have no Connecticut 
income tax liability should choose Withholding Code “E.”
Certain Married Individuals
If you are a married individual fi ling jointly and you and your spouse 
both select Withholding Code “A,” you may have too much or too 
little Connecticut income tax withheld from your pay. This is because 
the phase-out of the personal exemption and credit is based on your 
combined incomes. The withholding tables cannot refl ect your exact 
withholding requirement without considering the income of your 
spouse. 

Form CT-W4 (Rev. 07/15)

To minimize this problem, use the Supplemental Table on Page 3 and 
Page 4 to adjust your withholding. You are not required to use this 
table. Do not use the supplemental table to adjust your withholding 
if you use the worksheet in IP 2015(7.1).
Armed Forces Personnel and Veterans
If you are a Connecticut resident, your armed forces pay is subject 
to Connecticut income tax withholding unless you qualify as a 
nonresident for Connecticut income tax purposes. If you qualify as 
a nonresident, you may request that no Connecticut income tax be 
withheld from your armed forces pay by entering Withholding Code 
“E” on Line 1. 

Military Spouses Residency Relief Act (MSRRA)
If you are claiming an exemption from Connecticut income tax under 
the MSRRA, you must provide your employer with a copy of your 
military spouse’s Leave and Earnings Statement (LES) and a copy 
of your military dependent ID card. 
See Informational Publication 2012(15), Connecticut Income Tax 
Information for Armed Forces Personnel and Veterans.
Employer Instructions
For any employee who does not complete Form CT-W4, you are required 
to withhold at the highest marginal rate of 6.99% without allowance for 
exemption. You are required to keep Form CT-W4 in your fi les for each 
employee. See Informational Publication 2015(1.1), Connecticut 
Employer’s Tax Guide, Circular CT, for complete instructions.

Report Certain Employees Claiming Exemption From Withholding 
to DRS
Employers are required to fi le copies of Form CT-W4 with DRS for 
certain employees claiming “E” (no withholding is necessary). See
IP 2015(1.1). Mail copies of Forms CT-W4 meeting the conditions 
listed in IP 2015(1.1) under Reporting Certain Employees to: 
 Department of Reveunue Services
 PO Box 2931
 Hartford CT 06104-2931

Report New and Rehired Employees to the Department of Labor 
New employees are workers not previously employed by your 
business, or workers rehired after having been separated from your 
business for more than sixty consecutive days.
Employers with offi ces in Connecticut or transacting business in 
Connecticut are required to report new hires to the Department of 
Labor (DOL) within 20 days of the date of hire. 
New hires can be reported by:
• Using the Connecticut New Hire Reporting website at

www.ctnewhires.com;
• Faxing copies of completed Forms CT-W4 to 800-816-1108; or 
• Mailing copies of completed Forms CT-W4 to:
 Department of Labor
 Offi ce of Research, Form CT-W4 
 200 Folly Brook Boulevard
 Wethersfi eld CT 06109
For more information on DOL requirements or for alternative reporting 
options, visit the DOL website at www.ctdol.state.ct.us or call DOL 
at 860-263-6310.
For More Information
Call DRS during business hours, Monday through Friday:
• 800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the Greater Hartford 

calling area only); or  
• 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).
TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit inquiries 
anytime by calling 860-297-4911.
Forms and Publications
Visit the DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS to download and print 
Connecticut tax forms and publications. 
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  2,000 4,000 6,000 8,000 10,000 12,000 14,000 16,000 18,000 20,000 22,000 24,000 26,000
 3,000 0 0 0 0 0 0 (15) (42) (99) (156) (248) (318) (485)
 6,000 0 0 0 0 0 0 (15) (42) (99) (141) (225) (295) (414)
 9,000 0 0 0 0 0 0 (15) (35) (77) (119) (182) (192) (308)
 12,000 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 (12) (54) (48) (60) (106) (249)
 15,000 (23) (23) (23) (23) (15) 0 0 9 27 36 (24) (70) (162)
 18,000 (99) (99) (99) (84) (69) (54) (6) 54 36 18 (42) 20 (111)
 21,000 (203) (195) (180) (165) (129) (54) (3) 9 (9) 24 27 10 (87)
 24,000 (325) (310) (295) (232) (145) (106) (82) (70) 20 14 0 0 (12)
 27,000 (586) (550) (475) (409) (370) (331) (256) (181) (170) (142) (113) (6) 25
 30,000 (792) (705) (666) (627) (588) (441) (405) (347) (319) (206) (87) 20 18
 33,000 (956) (917) (878) (788) (686) (618) (548) (447) (312) (156) (75) 20 18
 36,000 (1,167) (1,128) (981) (930) (845) (760) (605) (414) (279) (156) (75) 20 18
 39,000 (1,193) (1,091) (1,023) (938) (810) (618) (420) (267) (144) (21) 60 155 153
 42,000 (1,200) (1,115) (1,030) (860) (642) (450) (285) (132) (9) 114 195 290 288
 45,000 (1,208) (1,080) (888) (675) (495) (315) (150) 3 126 249 330 425 423
 48,000 (1,130) (912) (720) (540) (360) (180) (15) 138 261 384 465 560 468
 51,000 (1,110) (930) (750) (570) (390) (210) (45) 108 231 354 390 395 303
 54,000 (1,120) (940) (760) (580) (400) (220) (55) 98 221 254 245 250 158
 57,000 (1,035) (855) (675) (495) (315) (135) 30 138 171 204 195 200 108
 60,000 (950) (770) (590) (410) (230) (50) 25 88 121 154 145 150 58
 63,000 (885) (705) (525) (345) (210) (120) (45) 18 51 84 75 80 (12)
 66,000 (800) (620) (440) (350) (260) (170) (95) (32) 1 34 25 30 (62)
 69,000 (715) (580) (490) (400) (310) (220) (145) (82) (49) (16) (25) (20) (112)
 72,000 (720) (630) (540) (450) (360) (270) (195) (132) (99) (66) (75) (70) 18
 75,000 (770) (680) (590) (500) (410) (320) (245) (182) (149) (116) (36) 153 298
 78,000 (800) (710) (620) (530) (440) (350) (275) (212) (179) 34 213 370
 81,000 (830) (740) (650) (560) (470) (380) (305) (153) 64 334
 84,000 (860) (770) (680) (590) (500) (410) (155) 96 281
 87,000 (890) (800) (710) (620) (441) (167) 145
 90,000 (920) (830) (740) (470) (192) 50
 93,000 (950) (771) (497) (170)
 96,000 (800) (552) (280)
 99,000 (500)

Supplemental Table 
Married Couples Filing Jointly - Effective January 1, 2015

For married couples who both select Withholding Code “A” on Form CT-W4 (combined income is $100,500 or less).

Form
 C

T-W
4 E

ffective January 1, 2015

Instructions
1.   Reading across the top of the table, select the approximate annual wage income of one spouse. Reading down the left 

column, select the approximate annual wage income of the other spouse.  See Page 4 for the continuation of this table.
2. At the intersection of the two numbers is an adjustment amount.  This is a yearly adjustment amount.
3. To calculate the adjustment for each pay period, complete the following worksheet.
  A. Adjustment amount 3A.________________
  B. Pay periods in a year: See pay period table. 3B.________________
  C. Pay period adjustment: Divide Line 3A by Line 3B. 3C.________________
4. If the adjustment is positive, enter the adjustment amount from Line 3C on Form CT-W4, Line 2, of one spouse. If the  

adjustment is negative, enter the adjustment amount in brackets from Line 3C on Form CT-W4, Line 3, of one spouse.

Pay Period Table
 If you are paid: Pay periods
   in a year:

 Weekly  .......................52
 Biweekly  .......................26
 Semi-monthly ................24
 Monthly  .......................12

(Rev. 07/15)

This table joins the table on Page 4.

Annual Salary
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Form
 C

T-W
4 E

ffective January 1, 2015

Supplemental Table 
Married Couples Filing Jointly - Effective January 1, 2015

For married couples who both select Withholding Code “A” on Form CT-W4 (combined income is $100,500 or less).

(Rev. 07/15)

Annual Salary 28,000 30,000 32,000 34,000 36,000 38,000 40,000 42,000 44,000 46,000 48,000 50,000 52,000
 3,000 (647) (752) (866) (1,007) (1,148) (1,148) (1,136) (1,158) (1,163) (1,125) (1,023) (992) (1,031)
 6,000 (525) (666) (807) (948) (981) (1,020) (1,025) (1,030) (950) (822) (720) (722) (761)
 9,000 (467) (608) (698) (776) (888) (893) (855) (753) (630) (540) (450) (452) (491)
 12,000 (408) (441) (570) (665) (760) (680) (552) (450) (360) (270) (180) (182) (221)
 15,000 (258) (370) (465) (518) (506) (383) (293) (203) (113) (23) 68 66 26
 18,000 (224) (319) (329) (291) (279) (189) (99) (9) 81 171 261 259 220
 21,000 (158) (146) (113) (113) (113) (23) 68 158 248 338 428 426 341
 24,000 8 20 20 20 20 110 200 290 380 470 560 468 339
 27,000 7 7 7 7 7 97 187 277 367 412 412 320 191
 30,000 0 0 0 0 0 90 180 270 270 270 270 178 49
 33,000 0 0 0 0 0 90 135 135 135 135 135 43 (86)
 36,000 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 (92) (221)
 39,000 135 135 135 90 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 (92) (221)
 42,000 270 270 180 90 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 (92) (221)
 45,000 360 270 180 90 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 (92) (132)
 48,000 360 270 180 90 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 88 147
 51,000 195 105 15 (75) (165) (165) (165) (165) (165) (76) 108 253
 54,000 50 (40) (130) (220) (310) (310) (310) (310) (130) 58 210
 57,000 0 (90) (180) (270) (360) (360) (271) (87) 150
 60,000 (50) (140) (230) (320) (410) (230) (42) 110
 63,000 (120) (210) (300) (301) (207) 30
 66,000 (170) (260) (170) (72) (10)
 69,000 (131) (37) 110
 72,000 98 160 This table joins the table on Page 3.
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Form CT-W4NA
Employee’s Withholding Certifi cate

Nonresident Apportionment

Do not mail this form to the Department of Revenue Services (DRS). Give the certifi cate to your employer.

Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut
(Rev. 12/14)

Effective January 1, 2015

Purpose: Complete Form CT-W4NA if you are a nonresident who 
performs services partly within and partly outside of Connecticut for 
the same employer. Form CT-W4NA, in addition to Form CT-W4,
Employee’s Withholding Certifi cate, will assist your employer in 
withholding the correct amount of Connecticut income tax from your 
wages for services performed in Connecticut.

How Your Employer Will Calculate Your Withholding
If you are a nonresident, your employer is required to withhold 
Connecticut income tax on all wages paid to you unless: 
1. You have fi led Form CT-W4NA with your employer; or
2. Your employer maintains adequate current records to accurately 

determine the amount of wages paid to you for the services 
performed within Connecticut. 

If you have filed Form CT-W4NA, your employer will withhold 
Connecticut income tax from your wages based on the percentage of 
your services you estimate you will perform in Connecticut during the 
calendar year.  Your employer will make necessary adjustments during 
the calendar year if your employer knows or has reason to know that 
the percentage of services you estimated on Form CT-W4NA is no 
longer correct. In making the adjustments, your employer will determine 
the percentage of wages paid to you for the performance of services 
within Connecticut by using the same percentage your wages derived 
from or connected with Connecticut sources bears to your total wages. 

Your employer may determine the percentage of wages paid to you for 
services performed within Connecticut based on your Form CT-W4NA 
on fi le from the preceding calendar year.  If reasonable, your employer 
will make any necessary adjustments during the calendar year if your 
employer knows or has reason to know that the percentage shown on 
Form CT-W4NA is no longer correct.

Your fi rst name and middle initial  Last name  Your Social Security Number

Home address (number and street), apartment number, PO box   

City, town, or post offi ce    State    ZIP code

...
.

...
.

Employee Apportionment Worksheet - Complete Lines 1 through 5 when the income from employment is earned both inside and outside 
Connecticut.

1. Estimated total working days inside and outside of Connecticut at this job: 
Total days in the year less nonworking days (holidays, weekends, etc.)  1.

2. Estimated number of days physically present in Connecticut for employment-related activities  2.

3. Estimated number of days in Connecticut attributed to ancillary activities: See instructions.  3.

4. Estimated Connecticut working days: Subtract Line 3 from Line 2.  4.

5. Estimated Connecticut percentage of services performed in Connecticut: Divide Line 4 by Line 1.  5. %
Employee Declaration: I certify that I am not a resident of Connecticut and my residence is as stated above. I further certify that the percentage 
of my services performed in Connecticut during the calendar year is accurately estimated above. I will notify my employer within ten days of any 
change in the percentage of my services performed within Connecticut or of a change in my status from nonresident to resident of Connecticut. 
I declare under penalty of law that I have examined this certifi cate and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, complete, and correct. 
I understand the penalty for reporting false information is a fi ne of not more than $5,000, imprisonment for not more than fi ve years, or both.

Employer Declaration: I certify that I am an authorized representative of the employer and that I have direct knowledge of the duties and 
work locations of the employee submitting this form. To the best of my knowledge the information provided by the employee is a reasonable
estimate of the proportion of time and duties this employee will perform within Connecticut. 

Signature of employee Date

Employer name and address Connecticut Tax Registration Number

Signature of authorized representative Date

Employer: You must withhold the applicable amount of Connecticut 
income tax from wages paid to employees who fi le this certifi cate. You 
must make necessary adjustments during the calendar year if you know 
or have reason to know the percentage of services your nonresident 
employee estimated on Form CT-W4NA is no longer correct. In making 
those adjustments, you must determine the percentage of wages paid 
to the employee for the performance of services within Connecticut 
by using the same percentage the employee’s wages derived from 

or connected with Connecticut sources bears to the employee’s 
total wages. If you maintain adequate current records to accurately 
determine the amount of the nonresident employee’s wages paid to 
the employee for services performed within Connecticut, you may 
withhold Connecticut income tax from your employee’s wages based 
on those records whether or not your employee fi les Form CT-W4NA. 
Refer to Informational Publication 2015(1), Connecticut Employer’s 
Tax Guide - Circular CT. Keep this certifi cate with your records.



When to File Form CT-W4NA
You must complete Form CT-W4NA if any of the following is true for 
the calendar year:
• You are a nonresident who performs services partly within and 

partly outside of Connecticut for the same employer; or
• The percentage of services you perform within Connecticut has 

changed from the percentage you indicated on the most recent 
Form CT-W4NA on fi le with your employer; or

• Your residency status has changed from resident to nonresident.

General Instructions: Before you complete Form CT-W4NA, review 
the information you have provided on Form CT-W4 and make any 
necessary changes. If you have not completed Form CT-W4, you 
must complete and fi le it with your employer before you complete 
Form CT-W4NA.  

Complete the certifi cate, sign it, and return it to your employer.

Employee Apportionment Worksheet
A nonresident or part-year resident who is employed in Connecticut 
during the nonresidency period is required to use the Employee 
Apportionment Worksheet on Page 1 to estimate the percentage of 
time spent performing services in Connecticut if the employer does not 
maintain adequate current records to accurately determine the amount 
of wages paid for services performed within the state.

The apportionment must be a reasonable estimate of your time spent 
performing services in Connecticut. If you discover later that the 
percentage originally reported to your employer is no longer accurate,
you must complete and provide a new Form CT-W4NA to your employer.

Regardless of the estimated percentage computed on this 
worksheet, you must file Form CT-1040NR/PY, Connecticut 
Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return, for the 
taxable year and report your Connecticut-sourced wages based 
on the actual days worked in Connecticut and the actual income 
received. The percentage indicated on this form does not determine 
the amount of Connecticut income tax that may be due when fi ling your 
Form CT-1040NR/PY.

Line Instructions for Employee Apportionment Worksheet
Line 1: Enter the estimated total number of days you expect to work 
inside and outside of Connecticut during the calendar year. A work day 
does not include days on which you are not required to work, such as 
holidays, sick days, vacations, paid or unpaid leave, but does include 
days in which you perform activities that are ancillary to your primary 
work duties. 

Line 2: Enter the number of days you expect to be physically present in 
Connecticut for any employment-related activities including duties that 
may be considered ancillary to your primary work duties. If you spend 
a working day partly inside and partly outside of Connecticut, treat the 
day as having been spent entirely inside Connecticut.

Line 3: Enter the estimated number of days in Connecticut that you 
expect to perform activities that are ancillary to your primary work duties.

An activity performed in Connecticut may be considered ancillary if the 
activity is secondary to your primary work duties normally performed 
at a base of operations outside of Connecticut. Days on which you 
perform ancillary activities are not considered Connecticut working 
days in calculating the estimated percentage of services performed 
in Connecticut during the calendar year.

For More Information: Call the Department of Revenue Services 
(DRS) during business hours, Monday through Friday:
• 800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls from outside the Greater Hartford 

calling area only); or
• 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may transmit inquiries
anytime by calling 860-297-4911.

Forms and Publications: Visit the DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS
to download and print Connecticut tax forms and publications.

Form CT-W4NA (Back) (Rev. 12 /14)
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1. Determine the employee’s wages per pay period.
2. Determine the number of pay periods in a year (for example: 52, 26, 24, 12).
3. Determine the annualized salary. Multiply Step 1 by Step 2.
4. Determine the employee’s withholding code (A, B, C, D, or F from Form CT-W4, Line 1).
5. Use the annualized salary (Step 3) and employee’s withholding code (Step 4) to determine the exemption amount from 

Table A - Personal Exemptions.
6. Determine the annualized taxable income. Subtract Step 5 from Step 3.
 If the annualized taxable income is equal to or less than zero, the initial withholding amount should equal zero. Proceed to 

Step 14.
7. Determine the withholding tax amount from Table B - Withholding Tax Calculation.
8. Use the annualized salary (Step 3) and employee’s withholding code (Step 4) and go to Table C - 3% Tax Rate Phase-Out 

Add-Back to determine the amount to add back if the 3% tax rate phase-out applies.
9. Use the annualized salary (Step 3) and employee’s withholding code (Step 4) to determine the tax recapture amount from 

Table D - Tax Recapture.
10. Add the withholding amounts from Step 7, Step 8, and Step 9.
11. Use the annualized salary (Step 3) and employee’s withholding code (Step 4) to determine the decimal amount from

Table E - Personal Tax Credits.
12. Multiply the withholding amount (Step 10) by 1.00 minus the decimal amount (Step 11). Example: 1.00 - .15 = .85. This is 

the total withholding amount. 
13. Divide the result from Step 12 by the number of pay periods in the year (Step 2). This is the withholding amount per pay period.
14. Determine the additional withholding amount per pay period, if any, from Form CT-W4, Line 2.
15. Determine the reduced withholding amount per pay period, if any, from Form CT-W4, Line 3.
16. Determine the total withholding amount per pay period: Add Step 13 and Step 14 or subtract Step 15 from

Step 13. The result cannot be less than zero (0).
For withholding rules for supplemental compensation (such as bonuses, commissions, overtime pay, sales awards, etc.), refer to 
Informational Publication 2015(1), Connecticut Employer’s Tax Guide, Circular CT, Supplemental Compensation.

Employers: Use either the withholding calculation rules above or the withholding tables to determine the amount of tax to 
be withheld from the wages of employees. There is no percentage method available to determine Connecticut withholding.

$5,000 (or a fraction of $5,000), by which the taxpayer’s Connecticut AGI 
exceeds $500,000, up to a maximum amount of $450. The maximum total 
recapture amount is $3,150.

• For taxpayers fi ling as head of household (Withholding Code B): $140 
for each $8,000 (or a fraction of $8,000), by which the taxpayer’s 
Connecticut AGI exceeds $320,000, up to a maximum amount of 
$4,200, plus an additional $80 for each $8,000 (or a fraction of $8,000), 
by which the taxpayer’s Connecticut AGI exceeds $800,000, up to a 
maximum amount of $720. The maximum total recapture amount is 
$4,920.

• For married taxpayers fi ling jointly or qualifying widow(er) 
(Withholding Code C): $180 for each $10,000 (or a fraction of $10,000), 
by which the taxpayer’s Connecticut AGI exceeds $400,000, up to a 
maximum amount of $5,400, plus an additional $100 for each $10,000 
(or a fraction of $10,000), by which the taxpayer’s Connecticut AGI 
exceeds $1,000,000, up to a maximum amount of $900. The maximum 
total recapture amount is $6,300.

4. Table E
The scheduled increase in the personal tax credit for single fi lers is
delayed by one year. The personal tax credit for single fi lers (Withholding 
Code F) in effect for 2014 will remain in effect for the 2015 taxable year. 
The scheduled increase will resume in taxable year 2016.
Note: Table C remains unchanged.

Withholding Calculation Rules - Effective January 1, 2015 under P.A. 15-244

Use the steps below to determine the amount of Connecticut income tax to be withheld from an employee’s wages.

1. Table A
The scheduled increase in the personal tax exemption for single fi lers is 
delayed by one year. The personal exemption for single fi lers (Withholding 
Code F) in effect for 2014 will remain in effect for the 2015 taxable year. 
The scheduled increase will resume in taxable year 2016.
2. Table B
The current marginal tax rate of 6.7% increases to 6.9%, and there is a 
seventh highest marginal income tax rate of 6.99% applicable as follows:
• For taxpayers fi ling single or married fi ling separately (Withholding 

Code A, D, or F), with Connecticut taxable income over $250,000 but 
not over $500,000 the tax rate is 6.9%; over $500,000 is 6.99%.

• For taxpayers fi ling as a head of household (Withholding Code B),
with Connecticut taxable income over $400,000 but not over $800,000 
the tax rate is 6.9%; over $800,000 is 6.99%.

• For taxpayers fi ling as married fi ling jointly or as a surviving spouse 
(Withholding Code C), with Connecticut taxable income over $500,000 
but not over $1,000,000 is 6.9%; over $1,000,000 is 6.99%.

3. Table D
New tax recapture amounts:
• For taxpayers fi ling single or married fi ling separately (Withholding Code 

A, D, or F): $90 for each $5,000 (or a fraction of $5,000), by which the 
taxpayer’s Connecticut adjusted gross income (AGI) exceeds $200,000, 
up to a maximum amount of $2,700, plus an additional $50 for each 

Employers can begin using the new tables immediately but no later than August 31, 2015. New legislation in 2015 Conn. Pub. Acts 
244 affects the tables used in determining the required amount of withholding for taxable year 2015 as follows:

Step
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Table A - Personal Exemptions*

* For Withholding Code D, the Personal Exemption is $0

Use these tables in completing the withholding calculation.

  Less than or  More than  Exemption  equal to
  Less than or  More than  Exemption  equal to

  Less than or  More than  Exemption  equal to
  Less than or  More than  Exemption  equal to

 Withholding Code A Withholding Code B Withholding Code C Withholding Code F
 Annualized Salary Annualized Salary Annualized Salary Annualized Salary

 $         0 $24,000 $12,000 $         0 $38,000 $19,000 $         0 $48,000 $24,000 $         0 $29,000 $14,500
 $24,000 $25,000 $11,000 $38,000 $39,000 $18,000 $48,000 $49,000 $23,000 $29,000 $30,000 $13,500
 $25,000 $26,000 $10,000 $39,000 $40,000 $17,000 $49,000 $50,000 $22,000 $30,000 $31,000 $12,500
 $26,000 $27,000 $  9,000 $40,000 $41,000 $16,000 $50,000 $51,000 $21,000 $31,000 $32,000 $11,500
 $27,000 $28,000 $  8,000 $41,000 $42,000 $15,000 $51,000 $52,000 $20,000 $32,000 $33,000 $10,500
 $28,000 $29,000 $  7,000 $42,000 $43,000 $14,000 $52,000 $53,000 $19,000 $33,000 $34,000 $  9,500
 $29,000 $30,000 $  6,000 $43,000 $44,000 $13,000 $53,000 $54,000 $18,000 $34,000 $35,000 $  8,500
 $30,000 $31,000 $  5,000 $44,000 $45,000 $12,000 $54,000 $55,000 $17,000 $35,000 $36,000 $  7,500
 $31,000 $32,000 $  4,000 $45,000 $46,000 $11,000 $55,000 $56,000 $16,000 $36,000 $37,000 $  6,500
 $32,000 $33,000 $  3,000 $46,000 $47,000 $10,000 $56,000 $57,000 $15,000 $37,000 $38,000 $  5,500
 $33,000 $34,000 $  2,000 $47,000 $48,000 $  9,000 $57,000 $58,000 $14,000 $38,000 $39,000 $  4,500
 $34,000 $35,000 $  1,000 $48,000 $49,000 $  8,000 $58,000 $59,000 $13,000 $39,000 $40,000 $  3,500
 $35,000 and up $         0 $49,000 $50,000 $  7,000 $59,000 $60,000 $12,000 $40,000 $41,000 $  2,500
 $50,000 $51,000 $  6,000 $60,000 $61,000 $11,000 $41,000 $42,000 $  1,500
 $51,000 $52,000 $  5,000 $61,000 $62,000 $10,000 $42,000 $43,000 $     500
 $52,000 $53,000 $  4,000 $62,000 $63,000 $  9,000 $43,000 and up $         0
 $53,000 $54,000 $  3,000 $63,000 $64,000 $  8,000
 $54,000 $55,000 $  2,000 $64,000 $65,000 $  7,000
 $55,000 $56,000 $  1,000 $65,000 $66,000 $  6,000
 $56,000 and up $         0 $66,000 $67,000 $  5,000
 $67,000 $68,000 $  4,000
 $68,000 $69,000 $  3,000
 $69,000 $70,000 $  2,000
 $70,000 $71,000 $  1,000
 $71,000 and up $         0
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Withholding Code A, D, or F
If the amount from Step 6 is:
Less than or equal to: ................................................... $  10,000  ........3.00%
More than $10,000, but less than or equal to ............... $  50,000  ........$300 plus 5.0% of the excess over $10,000
More than $50,000, but less than or equal to ............... $100,000  ........$2,300 plus 5.5% of the excess over $50,000
More than $100,000, but less than or equal to ............. $200,000  ........$5,050 plus 6.0% of the excess over $100,000
More than $200,000, but less than or equal to ............. $250,000  ........$11,050 plus 6.5% of the excess over $200,000
More than $250,000, but less than or equal to ............. $500,000 .........$14,300 plus 6.9% of the excess over $250,000
More than $500,000 ..............................................................................$31,550 plus 6.99% of the excess over $500,000

Withholding Code B
If the amount from Step 6 is:
Less than or equal to: ................................................... $  16,000  ........ 3.00%
More than $16,000, but less than or equal to ............... $  80,000  ........ $480 plus 5.0% of the excess over $16,000
More than $80,000, but less than or equal to ............... $160,000  ........ $3,680 plus 5.5% of the excess over $80,000
More than $160,000, but less than or equal to ............. $320,000  ........ $8,080 plus 6.0% of the excess over $160,000
More than $320,000, but less than or equal to ............. $400,000  ........ $17,680 plus 6.5% of the excess over $320,000
More than $400,000, but less than or equal to ............. $800,000 ......... $22,880 plus 6.9% of the excess over $400,000
More than $800,000 .............................................................................. $50,480 plus 6.99% of the excess over $800,000

Withholding Code C
If the amount from Step 6 is:
Less than or equal to: ................................................... $  20,000  ........ 3.00%
More than $20,000, but less than or equal to ............... $100,000  ........ $600 plus 5.0% of the excess over $20,000
More than $100,000, but less than or equal to ............. $200,000  ........ $4,600 plus 5.5% of the excess over $100,000
More than $200,000, but less than or equal to ............. $400,000  ........ $10,100 plus 6.0% of the excess over $200,000
More than $400,000, but less than or equal to ............. $500,000  ........ $22,100 plus 6.5% of the excess over $400,000
More than $500,000, but less than or equal to .......... $1,000,000 ......... $28,600 plus 6.9% of the excess over $500,000
More than $1,000,000 ........................................................................... $63,100 plus 6.99% of the excess over $1,000,000

Table B - Withholding Tax Calculation
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Table C - 3% Tax Rate Phase-Out Add-Back

 $          0 $50,250 $    0 $          0 $ 78,500 $    0 $          0 $100,500 $    0 $          0 $ 56,500 $    0
 $50,250 $52,750 $  20 $ 78,500 $ 82,500 $  32 $100,500 $105,500 $  40 $ 56,500 $ 61,500 $  20
 $52,750 $55,250 $  40 $ 82,500 $ 86,500 $  64 $105,500 $110,500 $  80 $ 61,500 $ 66,500 $  40
 $55,250 $57,750 $  60 $ 86,500 $ 90,500 $  96 $110,500 $115,500 $120 $ 66,500 $ 71,500 $  60
 $57,750 $60,250 $  80 $ 90,500 $ 94,500 $128 $115,500 $120,500 $160 $ 71,500 $ 76,500 $  80
 $60,250 $62,750 $100 $ 94,500 $ 98,500 $160 $120,500 $125,500 $200 $ 76,500 $ 81,500 $100
 $62,750 $65,250 $120 $ 98,500 $102,500 $192 $125,500 $130,500 $240 $ 81,500 $ 86,500 $120
 $65,250 $67,750 $140 $102,500 $106,500 $224 $130,500 $135,500 $280 $ 86,500 $ 91,500 $140
 $67,750 $70,250 $160 $106,500 $110,500 $256 $135,500 $140,500 $320 $ 91,500 $ 96,500 $160
 $70,250 $72,750 $180 $110,500 $114,500 $288 $140,500 $145,500 $360 $ 96,500 $101,500 $180
 $72,750 and up $200 $114,500 and up $320 $145,500 and up $400 $101,500 and up $200

Withholding Code A or D Withholding Code B Withholding Code C Withholding Code F
Annualized Salary Annualized Salary Annualized SalaryAnnualized Salary

3%
Phase-Out

3%
Phase-Out

3%
Phase-Out

3%
Phase-Out

More Than Less Than
or 

Equal To

More Than Less Than
or 

Equal To

More Than More Than Less Than
or 

Equal To

Less Than
or 

Equal To



Page 5 of 6 TPG-211, 2015 Withholding Calculation Rules (Rev. 08/2015)

Withholding Code A, D, or F Withholding Code B Withholding Code C
Annualized Salary Annualized Salary Annualized Salary

Recapture
Amount

Recapture
Amount

Recapture
Amount

More Than Less Than
or 

Equal To

More Than Less Than
or 

Equal To

More Than Less Than
or 

Equal To

Table D - Tax Recapture

 $           0 $200,000 $       0 $ 0 $320,000 $       0 $ 0 $400,000 $       0
 $200,000 $205,000 $     90 $320,000 $328,000 $   140 $400,000 $410,000 $   180
 $205,000 $210,000 $   180 $328,000 $336,000  $   280 $410,000 $420,000 $   360
 $210,000 $215,000 $   270 $336,000 $344,000  $   420 $420,000 $430,000 $   540
 $215,000 $220,000 $   360 $344,000 $352,000  $   560 $430,000 $440,000 $   720
 $220,000 $225,000 $   450 $352,000 $360,000  $   700 $440,000 $450,000 $   900
 $225,000 $230,000 $   540 $360,000 $368,000  $   840 $450,000 $460,000 $1,080
 $230,000 $235,000 $   630 $368,000 $376,000  $   980 $460,000 $470,000 $1,260
 $235,000 $240,000 $   720 $376,000 $384,000  $1,120 $470,000 $480,000 $1,440
 $240,000 $245,000 $   810 $384,000 $392,000  $1,260 $480,000 $490,000 $1,620
 $245,000 $250,000 $   900 $392,000 $400,000  $1,400 $490,000 $500,000 $1,800
 $250,000 $255,000 $   990 $400,000 $408,000  $1,540 $500,000 $510,000 $1,980
 $255,000 $260,000 $1,080 $408,000 $416,000  $1,680 $510,000 $520,000 $2,160
 $260,000 $265,000 $1,170 $416,000 $424,000  $1,820 $520,000 $530,000 $2,340
 $265,000 $270,000 $1,260 $424,000 $432,000  $1,960 $530,000 $540,000 $2,520
 $270,000 $275,000 $1,350 $432,000 $440,000  $2,100 $540,000 $550,000 $2,700
 $275,000 $280,000 $1,440 $440,000 $448,000  $2,240 $550,000 $560,000 $2,880
 $280,000 $285,000 $1,530 $448,000 $456,000  $2,380 $560,000 $570,000 $3,060
 $285,000 $290,000 $1,620 $456,000 $464,000  $2,520 $570,000 $580,000 $3,240
 $290,000 $295,000 $1,710 $464,000 $472,000  $2,660 $580,000 $590,000 $3,420
 $295,000 $300,000 $1,800 $472,000 $480,000  $2,800 $590,000 $600,000 $3,600
 $300,000 $305,000 $1,890 $480,000 $488,000  $2,940 $600,000 $610,000 $3,780
 $305,000 $310,000 $1,980 $488,000 $496,000  $3,080 $610,000 $620,000 $3,960
 $310,000 $315,000 $2,070 $496,000 $504,000  $3,220 $620,000 $630,000 $4,140
 $315,000 $320,000 $2,160 $504,000 $512,000  $3,360 $630,000 $640,000 $4,320
 $320,000 $325,000 $2,250 $512,000 $520,000  $3,500 $640,000 $650,000 $4,500
 $325,000 $330,000 $2,340 $520,000 $528,000  $3,640 $650,000 $660,000 $4,680
 $330,000 $335,000 $2,430 $528,000 $536,000  $3,780 $660,000 $670,000 $4,860
 $335,000 $340,000 $2,520 $536,000 $544,000  $3,920 $670,000 $680,000 $5,040
 $340,000 $345,000 $2,610 $544,000 $552,000  $4,060 $680,000 $690,000 $5,220
 $345,000 $500,000 $2,700 $552,000 $800,000  $4,200 $690,000 $1,000,000 $5,400
 $500,000 $505,000 $2,750 $800,000 $808,000  $4,280 $1,000,000 $1,010,000 $5,500
 $505,000 $510,000 $2,800 $808,000 $816,000  $4,360 $1,010,000 $1,020,000 $5,600
 $510,000 $515,000 $2,850 $816,000 $824,000  $4,440 $1,020,000 $1,030,000 $5,700
 $515,000 $520,000 $2,900 $824,000 $832,000  $4,520 $1,030,000 $1,040,000 $5,800
 $520,000 $525,000 $2,950 $832,000 $840,000  $4,600 $1,040,000 $1,050,000 $5,900
 $525,000 $530,000 $3,000 $840,000 $848,000  $4,680 $1,050,000 $1,060,000 $6,000
 $530,000 $535,000 $3,050 $848,000 $856,000  $4,760 $1,060,000 $1,070,000 $6,100
 $535,000 $540,000 $3,100 $856,000 $864,000  $4,840 $1,070,000 $1,080,000 $6,200
 $540,000 and up $3,150 $864,000 and up  $4,920 $1,080,000 and up $6,300
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Table E - Personal Tax Credits

* For Withholding Code D, the Personal Tax Credit is 0.00.

 $12,000 $15,000 .75 $19,000 $24,000 .75 $24,000 $30,000 .75 $14,500 $18,100 .75
 $15,000 $15,500 .70 $24,000 $24,500 .70 $30,000 $30,500 .70 $18,100 $18,600 .70
 $15,500 $16,000 .65 $24,500 $25,000 .65 $30,500 $31,000 .65 $18,600 $19,100 .65
 $16,000 $16,500 .60 $25,000 $25,500 .60 $31,000 $31,500 .60 $19,100 $19,600 .60
 $16,500 $17,000 .55 $25,500 $26,000 .55 $31,500 $32,000 .55 $19,600 $20,100 .55
 $17,000 $17,500 .50 $26,000 $26,500 .50 $32,000 $32,500 .50 $20,100 $20,600 .50
 $17,500 $18,000 .45 $26,500 $27,000 .45 $32,500 $33,000 .45 $20,600 $21,100 .45
 $18,000 $18,500 .40 $27,000 $27,500 .40 $33,000 $33,500 .40 $21,100 $21,600 .40
 $18,500 $20,000 .35 $27,500 $34,000 .35 $33,500 $40,000 .35 $21,600 $24,200 .35
 $20,000 $20,500 .30 $34,000 $34,500 .30 $40,000 $40,500 .30 $24,200 $24,700 .30
 $20,500 $21,000 .25 $34,500 $35,000 .25 $40,500 $41,000 .25 $24,700 $25,200 .25
 $21,000 $21,500 .20 $35,000 $35,500 .20 $41,000 $41,500 .20 $25,200 $25,700 .20
 $21,500 $25,000 .15 $35,500 $44,000 .15 $41,500 $50,000 .15 $25,700 $30,200 .15
 $25,000 $25,500 .14 $44,000 $44,500 .14 $50,000 $50,500 .14 $30,200 $30,700 .14
 $25,500 $26,000 .13 $44,500 $45,000 .13 $50,500 $51,000 .13 $30,700 $31,200 .13
 $26,000 $26,500 .12 $45,000 $45,500 .12 $51,000 $51,500 .12 $31,200 $31,700 .12
 $26,500 $27,000 .11 $45,500 $46,000 .11 $51,500 $52,000 .11 $31,700 $32,200 .11
 $27,000 $48,000 .10 $46,000 $74,000 .10 $52,000 $96,000 .10 $32,200 $58,000 .10
 $48,000 $48,500 .09 $74,000 $74,500 .09 $96,000 $96,500 .09 $58,000 $58,500 .09
 $48,500 $49,000 .08 $74,500 $75,000 .08 $96,500 $97,000 .08 $58,500 $59,000 .08
 $49,000 $49,500 .07 $75,000 $75,500 .07 $97,000 $97,500 .07 $59,000 $59,500 .07
 $49,500 $50,000 .06 $75,500 $76,000 .06 $97,500 $98,000 .06 $59,500 $60,000 .06
 $50,000 $50,500 .05 $76,000 $76,500 .05 $98,000 $98,500 .05 $60,000 $60,500 .05
 $50,500 $51,000 .04 $76,500 $77,000 .04 $98,500 $99,000 .04 $60,500 $61,000 .04
 $51,000 $51,500 .03 $77,000 $77,500 .03 $99,000 $99,500 .03 $61,000 $61,500 .03
 $51,500 $52,000 .02 $77,500 $78,000 .02 $99,500 $100,000 .02 $61,500 $62,000 .02
 $52,000 $52,500 .01 $78,000 $78,500 .01 $100,000 $100,500 .01 $62,000 $62,500 .01
 $52,500 and up .00 $78,500 and up .00 $100,500 and up .00 $62,500 and up .00

Withholding Code A Withholding Code B Withholding Code C Withholding Code F

Annualized Salary Annualized Salary Annualized SalaryAnnualized Salary
Decimal 
Amount

Decimal 
Amount

Decimal 
Amount

Decimal 
Amount

More Than Less Than
or 

Equal To

More Than Less Than
or 

Equal To

More Than More Than Less Than
or 

Equal To

Less Than
or 

Equal To



State of Connecticut
 2015 Withholding Tables

 (Effective January 1, 2015 under P.A. 15-244) 
Weekly Payroll Period

$0 $19 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $0.29 $0.00
$19 $38 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $0.86 $0.00
$38 $57 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $1.43 $0.00
$57 $76 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $2.00 $0.00
$76 $96 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $2.58 $0.00
$96 $115 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $3.17 $0.00

$115 $134 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $3.74 $0.00
$134 $153 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $4.31 $0.00
$153 $173 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $4.89 $0.00
$173 $192 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $5.48 $0.00
$192 $211 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $6.23 $0.00
$211 $230 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $7.18 $0.00
$230 $250 $0.07 $0.00 $0.00 $8.15 $0.00
$250 $269 $0.22 $0.00 $0.00 $9.13 $0.00
$269 $288 $0.36 $0.00 $0.00 $10.08 $0.00
$288 $298 $0.56 $0.00 $0.00 $10.80 $0.11
$298 $307 $0.75 $0.00 $0.00 $11.28 $0.18
$307 $317 $0.97 $0.00 $0.00 $11.75 $0.25
$317 $326 $1.22 $0.00 $0.00 $12.23 $0.32
$326 $336 $1.50 $0.00 $0.00 $12.70 $0.39
$336 $346 $1.82 $0.00 $0.00 $13.20 $0.47
$346 $355 $2.16 $0.00 $0.00 $13.68 $0.64
$355 $365 $2.52 $0.00 $0.00 $14.15 $0.85
$365 $375 $2.72 $0.03 $0.00 $14.65 $1.09
$375 $384 $2.90 $0.11 $0.00 $15.13 $1.36
$384 $394 $3.32 $0.18 $0.00 $15.60 $1.65
$394 $403 $3.77 $0.25 $0.00 $16.08 $1.97
$403 $413 $4.25 $0.32 $0.00 $16.55 $2.32
$413 $423 $4.77 $0.39 $0.00 $17.05 $2.71
$423 $432 $5.09 $0.47 $0.00 $17.53 $2.90
$432 $442 $5.50 $0.54 $0.00 $18.00 $3.08
$442 $451 $5.90 $0.61 $0.00 $18.48 $3.27
$451 $461 $6.30 $0.68 $0.00 $18.95 $3.45
$461 $471 $7.55 $0.91 $0.03 $19.45 $3.93
$471 $480 $7.95 $1.16 $0.10 $19.93 $4.49
$480 $490 $9.28 $1.44 $0.18 $20.40 $5.17
$490 $500 $9.82 $1.75 $0.25 $20.90 $5.92
$500 $509 $11.20 $2.09 $0.32 $21.38 $6.32
$509 $519 $11.75 $2.45 $0.39 $21.85 $6.72
$519 $528 $13.17 $2.85 $0.46 $22.33 $7.13
$528 $538 $13.60 $3.27 $0.54 $22.80 $7.53
$538 $548 $14.92 $3.46 $0.61 $23.30 $7.96
$548 $557 $15.34 $3.65 $0.68 $23.78 $8.36
$557 $567 $16.64 $3.83 $0.75 $24.25 $9.58
$567 $576 $17.06 $4.02 $0.82 $24.73 $9.99
$576 $586 $18.36 $4.20 $1.08 $25.20 $11.34
$586 $596 $18.81 $4.40 $1.36 $25.70 $11.91
$596 $605 $20.10 $4.58 $1.67 $26.18 $13.31
$605 $615 $20.53 $4.77 $2.00 $26.65 $13.88
$615 $625 $21.84 $4.97 $2.38 $27.15 $15.35
$625 $634 $22.27 $5.15 $2.77 $27.63 $15.78
$634 $644 $23.56 $5.34 $3.19 $28.10 $17.07
$644 $653 $23.99 $5.52 $3.65 $28.58 $17.50
$653 $663 $25.28 $6.14 $3.83 $29.05 $18.79
$663 $673 $25.73 $6.81 $4.03 $29.55 $19.24
$673 $682 $27.03 $7.56 $4.21 $30.03 $20.54
$682 $692 $27.45 $8.44 $4.40 $30.50 $20.96
$692 $701 $27.88 $8.84 $4.58 $30.98 $22.26
$701 $711 $28.31 $9.25 $4.77 $31.45 $22.68
$711 $721 $28.76 $9.67 $4.96 $31.95 $24.00
$721 $730 $29.19 $10.07 $5.15 $32.43 $24.43
$730 $740 $29.61 $11.30 $5.33 $32.90 $25.72
$740 $750 $30.06 $11.72 $5.53 $33.40 $26.17
$750 $759 $30.49 $12.94 $5.71 $33.88 $27.46
$759 $769 $30.92 $13.35 $5.90 $34.35 $27.89
$769 $778 $31.35 $14.57 $6.55 $34.83 $29.18
$778 $788 $31.77 $14.97 $7.23 $35.30 $29.61
$788 $798 $32.22 $16.21 $7.96 $35.80 $30.93
$798 $807 $32.65 $16.62 $8.69 $36.28 $31.35
$807 $817 $33.08 $17.84 $8.94 $36.75 $32.65

Withholding Amount

Greater Than Less Than
Or Equal To A B C D F 

Weekly Wages

Withholding Code F has changed, the withholding amounts revert back to 2014 taxable year amounts. See TPG-211, Withholding 
Calculation Rules – Effective January 1, 2015 under P.A. 15-244.
Rev (08/15)



State of Connecticut
 2015 Withholding Tables

 (Effective January 1, 2015 under P.A. 15-244) 
Weekly Payroll Period

Withholding Amount

Greater Than Less Than
Or Equal To A B C D F 

Weekly Wages

$817 $826 $33.51 $18.24 $9.18 $37.23 $33.07
$826 $836 $33.93 $19.46 $9.42 $37.70 $33.93
$836 $846 $34.38 $19.89 $9.68 $38.20 $34.38
$846 $855 $34.81 $21.36 $9.99 $38.68 $34.81
$855 $865 $35.24 $22.02 $10.40 $39.15 $35.24
$865 $875 $35.69 $23.56 $10.82 $39.65 $35.69
$875 $884 $36.12 $24.25 $11.22 $40.13 $36.12
$884 $894 $36.54 $25.81 $11.63 $40.60 $36.54
$894 $903 $36.97 $26.24 $12.03 $41.08 $36.97
$903 $913 $37.40 $27.53 $12.44 $41.55 $37.40
$913 $923 $37.85 $27.98 $12.86 $42.05 $37.85
$923 $932 $38.70 $29.28 $14.08 $42.53 $38.28
$932 $942 $39.56 $29.70 $14.49 $43.00 $38.70
$942 $951 $40.44 $31.00 $15.71 $43.48 $39.13
$951 $961 $41.32 $31.42 $16.11 $43.95 $39.56
$961 $971 $42.25 $32.74 $17.56 $44.48 $40.03
$971 $980 $43.57 $33.17 $18.17 $45.38 $40.50
$980 $990 $44.53 $34.46 $19.65 $45.91 $40.97
$990 $1,000 $45.53 $34.91 $20.32 $46.46 $41.46

$1,000 $1,009 $46.51 $36.20 $21.84 $46.98 $41.93
$1,009 $1,019 $47.50 $36.63 $22.26 $47.50 $42.40
$1,019 $1,038 $48.68 $38.15 $23.78 $48.68 $43.12
$1,038 $1,057 $49.73 $39.87 $25.50 $49.73 $44.06
$1,057 $1,076 $51.16 $41.59 $27.22 $51.16 $45.00
$1,076 $1,096 $52.23 $43.33 $28.97 $52.23 $45.97
$1,096 $1,115 $53.30 $44.21 $30.71 $53.30 $47.28
$1,115 $1,134 $54.73 $45.06 $32.43 $54.73 $48.76
$1,134 $1,153 $55.78 $45.92 $34.15 $55.78 $50.80
$1,153 $1,173 $57.23 $46.80 $35.89 $57.23 $52.91
$1,173 $1,192 $58.31 $47.67 $37.64 $58.31 $55.07
$1,192 $1,211 $59.35 $48.53 $39.36 $59.35 $57.62
$1,211 $1,230 $60.78 $49.38 $41.08 $60.78 $59.24
$1,230 $1,250 $61.85 $50.26 $42.82 $61.85 $60.32
$1,250 $1,269 $63.31 $51.14 $44.56 $63.31 $61.39
$1,269 $1,288 $64.36 $51.99 $46.28 $64.36 $62.43
$1,288 $1,307 $65.40 $52.85 $48.00 $65.40 $63.86
$1,307 $1,326 $66.83 $53.70 $49.72 $66.83 $64.91
$1,326 $1,346 $67.90 $54.58 $51.47 $67.90 $65.98
$1,346 $1,365 $69.36 $55.46 $53.21 $69.36 $67.05
$1,365 $1,384 $70.41 $56.31 $54.93 $70.41 $68.10
$1,384 $1,403 $71.45 $57.17 $55.78 $71.45 $69.53
$1,403 $1,423 $72.91 $58.05 $56.66 $72.91 $70.60
$1,423 $1,442 $73.98 $59.58 $57.54 $73.98 $71.67
$1,442 $1,461 $75.02 $61.77 $58.39 $75.02 $72.72
$1,461 $1,480 $76.07 $64.00 $59.25 $76.07 $73.76
$1,480 $1,500 $77.14 $66.30 $60.13 $77.14 $75.22
$1,500 $1,519 $78.21 $68.63 $61.00 $78.21 $76.29
$1,519 $1,538 $79.26 $70.89 $61.86 $79.26 $77.34
$1,538 $1,557 $80.30 $71.88 $62.71 $80.30 $78.38
$1,557 $1,576 $81.35 $72.93 $63.57 $81.35 $79.43
$1,576 $1,596 $82.42 $74.00 $64.45 $82.42 $80.88
$1,596 $1,615 $83.49 $75.69 $65.32 $83.49 $81.96
$1,615 $1,634 $84.54 $76.73 $66.18 $84.54 $83.00
$1,634 $1,653 $85.58 $77.78 $67.03 $85.58 $84.05
$1,653 $1,673 $86.66 $78.85 $67.91 $86.66 $85.12
$1,673 $1,692 $87.73 $80.54 $68.79 $87.73 $86.58
$1,692 $1,711 $88.77 $81.58 $69.64 $88.77 $87.62
$1,711 $1,730 $89.82 $82.63 $70.50 $89.82 $88.67
$1,730 $1,750 $90.89 $83.70 $71.38 $90.89 $89.74
$1,750 $1,769 $91.96 $85.39 $72.25 $91.96 $90.81
$1,769 $1,788 $93.01 $86.43 $73.11 $93.01 $92.24
$1,788 $1,807 $94.05 $87.48 $73.96 $94.05 $93.29
$1,807 $1,826 $95.10 $88.52 $74.82 $95.10 $94.33
$1,826 $1,846 $96.17 $90.21 $75.70 $96.17 $95.40
$1,846 $1,865 $97.24 $91.28 $77.43 $97.24 $96.48
$1,865 $1,884 $98.29 $92.33 $80.01 $98.29 $97.91
$1,884 $1,903 $99.33 $93.37 $82.63 $99.33 $98.95
$1,903 $1,923 $100.41 $95.06 $85.32 $100.41 $100.02
$1,923 $1,932 $101.23 $95.86 $87.82 $101.23 $100.84
$1,932 Over Refer to TPG-211, Withholding Calculation Rules

Withholding Code F has changed, the withholding amounts revert back to 2014 taxable year amounts. See TPG-211, Withholding 
Calculation Rules – Effective January 1, 2015 under P.A. 15-244.
Rev (08/15)



State of Connecticut
 2015 Withholding Tables

 (Effective January 1, 2015 under P.A. 15-244) 
Bi-Weekly Payroll Period

Bi-Weekly Wages

$0 $38 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $0.57 $0.00
$38 $76 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $1.71 $0.00
$76 $115 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $2.87 $0.00
$115 $153 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $4.02 $0.00
$153 $192 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $5.18 $0.00
$192 $230 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $6.33 $0.00
$230 $269 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $7.49 $0.00
$269 $307 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $8.64 $0.00
$307 $346 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $9.80 $0.00
$346 $384 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $10.95 $0.00
$384 $423 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $12.48 $0.00
$423 $461 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $14.41 $0.00
$461 $500 $0.14 $0.00 $0.00 $16.33 $0.00
$500 $538 $0.43 $0.00 $0.00 $18.26 $0.00
$538 $576 $0.72 $0.00 $0.00 $20.16 $0.00
$576 $596 $1.12 $0.00 $0.00 $21.61 $0.21
$596 $615 $1.51 $0.00 $0.00 $22.58 $0.36
$615 $634 $1.96 $0.00 $0.00 $23.53 $0.50
$634 $653 $2.46 $0.00 $0.00 $24.48 $0.64
$653 $673 $3.02 $0.00 $0.00 $25.46 $0.79
$673 $692 $3.65 $0.00 $0.00 $26.43 $0.94
$692 $711 $4.32 $0.00 $0.00 $27.38 $1.29
$711 $730 $5.05 $0.00 $0.00 $28.33 $1.71
$730 $750 $5.43 $0.07 $0.00 $29.31 $2.19
$750 $769 $5.81 $0.22 $0.00 $30.28 $2.72
$769 $788 $6.66 $0.36 $0.00 $31.23 $3.31
$788 $807 $7.56 $0.50 $0.00 $32.18 $3.96
$807 $826 $8.52 $0.64 $0.00 $33.13 $4.66
$826 $846 $9.55 $0.79 $0.00 $34.11 $5.43
$846 $865 $10.20 $0.94 $0.00 $35.08 $5.81
$865 $884 $11.01 $1.08 $0.00 $36.03 $6.18
$884 $903 $11.82 $1.22 $0.00 $36.98 $6.55
$903 $923 $12.65 $1.37 $0.00 $37.96 $6.93
$923 $942 $15.11 $1.82 $0.07 $38.93 $7.87
$942 $961 $15.92 $2.32 $0.21 $39.88 $9.00
$961 $980 $18.58 $2.88 $0.36 $40.83 $10.36
$980 $1,000 $19.64 $3.50 $0.50 $41.81 $11.83

$1,000 $1,019 $22.42 $4.18 $0.65 $42.78 $12.66
$1,019 $1,038 $23.52 $4.91 $0.79 $43.73 $13.47
$1,038 $1,057 $26.37 $5.70 $0.93 $44.68 $14.28
$1,057 $1,076 $27.22 $6.55 $1.08 $45.63 $15.09
$1,076 $1,096 $29.83 $6.93 $1.22 $46.61 $15.91
$1,096 $1,115 $30.71 $7.31 $1.37 $47.58 $16.74
$1,115 $1,134 $33.29 $7.68 $1.51 $48.53 $19.19
$1,134 $1,153 $34.15 $8.05 $1.65 $49.48 $19.99
$1,153 $1,173 $36.76 $8.43 $2.16 $50.46 $22.72
$1,173 $1,192 $37.64 $8.81 $2.72 $51.43 $23.83
$1,192 $1,211 $40.22 $9.18 $3.34 $52.38 $26.64
$1,211 $1,230 $41.08 $9.55 $4.02 $53.33 $27.78
$1,230 $1,250 $43.68 $9.93 $4.75 $54.31 $30.70
$1,250 $1,269 $44.56 $10.31 $5.55 $55.28 $31.58
$1,269 $1,288 $47.15 $10.68 $6.40 $56.23 $34.17
$1,288 $1,307 $48.00 $11.05 $7.30 $57.18 $35.02
$1,307 $1,326 $50.59 $12.30 $7.67 $58.13 $37.61
$1,326 $1,346 $51.47 $13.62 $8.05 $59.11 $38.49
$1,346 $1,365 $54.07 $15.14 $8.43 $60.08 $41.09
$1,365 $1,384 $54.93 $16.90 $8.80 $61.03 $41.95
$1,384 $1,403 $55.78 $17.70 $9.17 $61.98 $44.53
$1,403 $1,423 $56.66 $18.53 $9.55 $62.96 $45.41
$1,423 $1,442 $57.54 $19.36 $9.93 $63.93 $48.02
$1,442 $1,461 $58.39 $20.17 $10.30 $64.88 $48.88
$1,461 $1,480 $59.25 $22.61 $10.67 $65.83 $51.46
$1,480 $1,500 $60.13 $23.44 $11.06 $66.81 $52.34
$1,500 $1,519 $61.00 $25.90 $11.44 $67.78 $54.95
$1,519 $1,538 $61.86 $26.71 $11.81 $68.73 $55.80
$1,538 $1,557 $62.71 $29.15 $13.11 $69.68 $58.39
$1,557 $1,576 $63.57 $29.96 $14.48 $70.63 $59.24
$1,576 $1,596 $64.45 $32.42 $15.91 $71.61 $61.85
$1,596 $1,615 $65.32 $33.25 $17.40 $72.58 $62.73
$1,615 $1,634 $66.18 $35.70 $17.89 $73.53 $65.31

Greater Than
Less Than

Or Equal To A B

Withholding Amount

C D F

Withholding Code F has changed, the withholding amounts revert back to 2014 taxable year amounts. See TPG-211, Withholding Calculation 
Rules – Effective January 1, 2015 under P.A. 15-244.
Rev (08/15)



State of Connecticut
 2015 Withholding Tables

 (Effective January 1, 2015 under P.A. 15-244) 
Bi-Weekly Payroll Period

Bi-Weekly Wages

Greater Than Less Than
Or Equal To A B

Withholding Amount

C D F

$1,634 $1,653 $67.03 $36.50 $18.37 $74.48 $66.17
$1,653 $1,673 $67.91 $38.97 $18.87 $75.46 $67.91
$1,673 $1,692 $68.79 $39.79 $19.37 $76.43 $68.79
$1,692 $1,711 $69.64 $42.73 $20.01 $77.38 $69.64
$1,711 $1,730 $70.50 $44.06 $20.81 $78.33 $70.50
$1,730 $1,750 $71.38 $47.11 $21.64 $79.31 $71.38
$1,750 $1,769 $72.25 $48.52 $22.47 $80.28 $72.25
$1,769 $1,788 $73.11 $51.65 $23.28 $81.23 $73.11
$1,788 $1,807 $73.96 $52.50 $24.09 $82.18 $73.96
$1,807 $1,826 $74.82 $55.09 $24.89 $83.13 $74.82
$1,826 $1,846 $75.70 $55.97 $25.72 $84.11 $75.70
$1,846 $1,865 $77.43 $58.57 $28.19 $85.08 $76.57
$1,865 $1,884 $79.15 $59.43 $28.99 $86.03 $77.43
$1,884 $1,903 $80.89 $62.02 $31.44 $86.98 $78.28
$1,903 $1,923 $82.68 $62.89 $32.26 $87.96 $79.16
$1,923 $1,942 $84.53 $65.50 $35.14 $88.98 $80.08
$1,942 $1,961 $87.16 $66.36 $36.37 $90.79 $81.02
$1,961 $1,980 $89.08 $68.94 $39.32 $91.84 $81.96
$1,980 $2,000 $91.05 $69.82 $40.63 $92.91 $82.93
$2,000 $2,019 $93.04 $72.43 $43.70 $93.98 $83.89
$2,019 $2,038 $95.03 $73.28 $44.55 $95.03 $84.83
$2,038 $2,076 $97.37 $76.30 $47.57 $97.37 $86.24
$2,076 $2,115 $99.48 $79.76 $51.03 $99.48 $88.15
$2,115 $2,153 $102.37 $83.22 $54.49 $102.37 $90.06
$2,153 $2,192 $104.49 $86.69 $57.95 $104.49 $91.96
$2,192 $2,230 $106.61 $88.42 $61.42 $106.61 $94.56
$2,230 $2,269 $109.49 $90.15 $64.88 $109.49 $97.54
$2,269 $2,307 $111.61 $91.88 $68.34 $111.61 $101.65
$2,307 $2,346 $114.50 $93.62 $71.81 $114.50 $105.85
$2,346 $2,384 $116.61 $95.35 $75.27 $116.61 $110.13
$2,384 $2,423 $118.73 $97.08 $78.73 $118.73 $115.26
$2,423 $2,461 $121.62 $98.81 $82.20 $121.62 $118.54
$2,461 $2,500 $123.74 $100.55 $85.66 $123.74 $120.66
$2,500 $2,538 $126.62 $102.28 $89.12 $126.62 $122.78
$2,538 $2,576 $128.71 $103.99 $92.57 $128.71 $124.87
$2,576 $2,615 $130.83 $105.72 $96.03 $130.83 $127.75
$2,615 $2,653 $133.72 $107.45 $99.49 $133.72 $129.87
$2,653 $2,692 $135.83 $109.19 $102.95 $135.83 $131.99
$2,692 $2,730 $138.72 $110.92 $106.42 $138.72 $134.11
$2,730 $2,769 $140.84 $112.65 $109.88 $140.84 $136.22
$2,769 $2,807 $142.96 $114.38 $111.61 $142.96 $139.11
$2,807 $2,846 $145.84 $116.12 $113.35 $145.84 $141.23
$2,846 $2,884 $147.96 $119.16 $115.08 $147.96 $143.34
$2,884 $2,923 $150.08 $123.57 $116.81 $150.08 $145.46
$2,923 $2,961 $152.19 $128.05 $118.54 $152.19 $147.58
$2,961 $3,000 $154.31 $132.62 $120.28 $154.31 $150.47
$3,000 $3,038 $156.43 $137.26 $122.01 $156.43 $152.58
$3,038 $3,076 $158.52 $141.77 $123.72 $158.52 $154.67
$3,076 $3,115 $160.64 $143.79 $125.45 $160.64 $156.79
$3,115 $3,153 $162.75 $145.91 $127.18 $162.75 $158.91
$3,153 $3,192 $164.87 $148.03 $128.92 $164.87 $161.80
$3,192 $3,230 $166.99 $151.37 $130.65 $166.99 $163.91
$3,230 $3,269 $169.11 $153.49 $132.38 $169.11 $166.03
$3,269 $3,307 $171.22 $155.61 $134.11 $171.22 $168.15
$3,307 $3,346 $173.34 $157.73 $135.85 $173.34 $170.27
$3,346 $3,384 $175.46 $161.08 $137.58 $175.46 $173.15
$3,384 $3,423 $177.58 $163.19 $139.31 $177.58 $175.27
$3,423 $3,461 $179.69 $165.31 $141.04 $179.69 $177.39
$3,461 $3,500 $181.81 $167.43 $142.78 $181.81 $179.50
$3,500 $3,538 $183.93 $170.78 $144.51 $183.93 $181.62
$3,538 $3,576 $186.02 $172.87 $146.22 $186.02 $184.48
$3,576 $3,615 $188.14 $174.98 $147.95 $188.14 $186.60
$3,615 $3,653 $190.25 $177.10 $149.68 $190.25 $188.72
$3,653 $3,692 $192.37 $180.45 $151.42 $192.37 $190.83
$3,692 $3,730 $194.49 $182.57 $154.85 $194.49 $192.95
$3,730 $3,769 $196.61 $184.68 $160.04 $196.61 $195.84
$3,769 $3,807 $198.72 $186.80 $165.31 $198.72 $197.96
$3,807 $3,846 $200.84 $190.15 $170.66 $200.84 $200.07
$3,846 $3,865 $202.48 $191.74 $175.66 $202.48 $201.71
$3,865 Over Refer to TPG-211, Withholding Calculation Rules

Withholding Code F has changed, the withholding amounts revert back to 2014 taxable year amounts. See TPG-211, Withholding 
Calculation Rules – Effective January 1, 2015 under P.A. 15-244.
Rev (08/15)



State of Connecticut
2015 Withholding Tables

 (Effective January 1, 2015 under P.A. 15-244) 
Semi-Monthly Payroll Period

Semi-Monthly Wages Withholding Amount

C D FGreater Than Less Than
Or Equal To A B

$1,770 $1,791 $72.62 $39.55 $19.90 $80.69 $71.69
$1,791 $1,812 $73.57 $42.21 $20.44 $81.74 $73.57
$1,812 $1,833 $74.51 $43.10 $20.97 $82.79 $74.51
$1,833 $1,854 $75.46 $46.30 $21.68 $83.84 $75.46
$1,854 $1,875 $76.40 $47.76 $22.57 $84.89 $76.40
$1,875 $1,895 $77.33 $51.04 $23.45 $85.92 $77.33
$1,895 $1,916 $78.25 $52.53 $24.32 $86.94 $78.25
$1,916 $1,937 $79.19 $55.94 $25.21 $87.99 $79.19
$1,937 $1,958 $80.14 $56.89 $26.10 $89.04 $80.14
$1,958 $1,979 $81.08 $59.71 $26.99 $90.09 $81.08
$1,979 $2,000 $82.03 $60.65 $27.89 $91.14 $82.03
$2,000 $2,020 $83.87 $63.45 $30.53 $92.17 $82.95
$2,020 $2,041 $85.74 $64.37 $31.40 $93.19 $83.87
$2,041 $2,062 $87.64 $67.19 $34.06 $94.24 $84.82
$2,062 $2,083 $89.57 $68.14 $34.96 $95.29 $85.76
$2,083 $2,104 $91.57 $70.96 $38.06 $96.39 $86.75
$2,104 $2,125 $94.45 $71.90 $39.42 $98.38 $87.79
$2,125 $2,145 $96.52 $74.70 $42.61 $99.51 $88.81
$2,145 $2,166 $98.62 $75.62 $44.00 $100.64 $89.82
$2,166 $2,187 $100.77 $78.44 $47.32 $101.79 $90.86
$2,187 $2,208 $102.95 $79.39 $48.26 $102.95 $91.90
$2,208 $2,250 $105.51 $82.68 $51.56 $105.51 $93.46
$2,250 $2,291 $107.79 $86.42 $55.30 $107.79 $95.51
$2,291 $2,333 $110.91 $90.17 $59.04 $110.91 $97.57
$2,333 $2,375 $113.22 $93.93 $62.81 $113.22 $99.65
$2,375 $2,416 $115.50 $95.80 $66.55 $115.50 $102.45
$2,416 $2,458 $118.62 $97.67 $70.29 $118.62 $105.67
$2,458 $2,500 $120.93 $99.56 $74.06 $120.93 $110.14
$2,500 $2,541 $124.04 $101.42 $77.80 $124.04 $114.68
$2,541 $2,583 $126.33 $103.29 $81.54 $126.33 $119.30
$2,583 $2,625 $128.64 $105.18 $85.31 $128.64 $124.88
$2,625 $2,666 $131.75 $107.05 $89.05 $131.75 $128.42
$2,666 $2,708 $134.04 $108.92 $92.79 $134.04 $130.70
$2,708 $2,750 $137.18 $110.81 $96.56 $137.18 $133.01
$2,750 $2,791 $139.46 $112.67 $100.30 $139.46 $135.29
$2,791 $2,833 $141.74 $114.54 $104.04 $141.74 $138.41
$2,833 $2,875 $144.89 $116.43 $107.81 $144.89 $140.72
$2,875 $2,916 $147.17 $118.30 $111.55 $147.17 $143.00
$2,916 $2,958 $150.29 $120.17 $115.29 $150.29 $145.29
$2,958 $3,000 $152.60 $122.06 $119.06 $152.60 $147.60
$3,000 $3,041 $154.88 $123.92 $120.92 $154.88 $150.71
$3,041 $3,083 $157.99 $125.79 $122.79 $157.99 $152.99
$3,083 $3,125 $160.30 $129.10 $124.68 $160.30 $155.30
$3,125 $3,166 $162.59 $133.87 $126.55 $162.59 $157.59
$3,166 $3,208 $164.87 $138.72 $128.42 $164.87 $159.87
$3,208 $3,250 $167.18 $143.67 $130.31 $167.18 $163.01
$3,250 $3,291 $169.46 $148.69 $132.17 $169.46 $165.29
$3,291 $3,333 $171.74 $153.60 $134.04 $171.74 $167.58
$3,333 $3,375 $174.05 $155.80 $135.93 $174.05 $169.89
$3,375 $3,416 $176.34 $158.09 $137.80 $176.34 $172.17
$3,416 $3,458 $178.62 $160.37 $139.67 $178.62 $175.29
$3,458 $3,500 $180.93 $164.01 $141.56 $180.93 $177.60
$3,500 $3,541 $183.21 $166.29 $143.42 $183.21 $179.88
$3,541 $3,583 $185.49 $168.58 $145.29 $185.49 $182.16
$3,583 $3,625 $187.80 $170.89 $147.18 $187.80 $184.47
$3,625 $3,666 $190.09 $174.50 $149.05 $190.09 $187.59
$3,666 $3,708 $192.37 $176.79 $150.92 $192.37 $189.87
$3,708 $3,750 $194.68 $179.10 $152.81 $194.68 $192.18
$3,750 $3,791 $196.96 $181.38 $154.67 $196.96 $194.46
$3,791 $3,833 $199.24 $184.99 $156.54 $199.24 $196.74
$3,833 $3,875 $201.55 $187.30 $158.43 $201.55 $199.89
$3,875 $3,916 $203.84 $189.59 $160.30 $203.84 $202.17
$3,916 $3,958 $206.12 $191.87 $162.17 $206.12 $204.45
$3,958 $4,000 $208.43 $195.51 $164.06 $208.43 $206.76
$4,000 $4,041 $210.71 $197.79 $167.77 $210.71 $209.04
$4,041 $4,083 $212.99 $200.08 $173.38 $212.99 $212.16
$4,083 $4,125 $215.30 $202.39 $179.11 $215.30 $214.47
$4,125 $4,166 $217.59 $206.00 $184.89 $217.59 $216.75
$4,166 $4,187 $219.34 $207.71 $190.29 $219.34 $218.51
$4,187 Over Refer to TPG-211, Withholding Calculation Rules

Withholding Code F has changed, the withholding amounts revert back to 2014 taxable year amounts. See TPG-211, Withholding 
Calculation Rules – Effective January 1, 2015 under P.A. 15-244.
Rev (08/15)



State of Connecticut
2015 Withholding Tables

 (Effective January 1, 2015 under P.A. 15-244) 
Semi-Monthly Payroll Period

Semi-Monthly Wages

$0 $41 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $0.62 $0.00
$41 $83 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $1.86 $0.00
$83 $125 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $3.12 $0.00
$125 $166 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $4.37 $0.00
$166 $208 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $5.61 $0.00
$208 $250 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $6.87 $0.00
$250 $291 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $8.12 $0.00
$291 $333 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $9.36 $0.00
$333 $375 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $10.62 $0.00
$375 $416 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $11.87 $0.00
$416 $458 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $13.52 $0.00
$458 $500 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $15.62 $0.00
$500 $541 $0.15 $0.00 $0.00 $17.69 $0.00
$541 $583 $0.47 $0.00 $0.00 $19.77 $0.00
$583 $625 $0.78 $0.00 $0.00 $21.87 $0.00
$625 $645 $1.22 $0.00 $0.00 $23.42 $0.23
$645 $666 $1.63 $0.00 $0.00 $24.44 $0.39
$666 $687 $2.12 $0.00 $0.00 $25.49 $0.54
$687 $708 $2.67 $0.00 $0.00 $26.54 $0.70
$708 $729 $3.28 $0.00 $0.00 $27.59 $0.86
$729 $750 $3.95 $0.00 $0.00 $28.64 $1.02
$750 $770 $4.68 $0.00 $0.00 $29.67 $1.40
$770 $791 $5.47 $0.00 $0.00 $30.69 $1.85
$791 $812 $5.88 $0.07 $0.00 $31.74 $2.37
$812 $833 $6.29 $0.23 $0.00 $32.79 $2.95
$833 $854 $7.21 $0.39 $0.00 $33.84 $3.59
$854 $875 $8.20 $0.55 $0.00 $34.89 $4.30
$875 $895 $9.24 $0.70 $0.00 $35.92 $5.06
$895 $916 $10.34 $0.85 $0.00 $36.94 $5.88
$916 $937 $11.04 $1.01 $0.00 $37.99 $6.29
$937 $958 $11.94 $1.17 $0.00 $39.04 $6.70
$958 $979 $12.83 $1.33 $0.00 $40.09 $7.10
$979 $1,000 $13.72 $1.48 $0.00 $41.14 $7.51

$1,000 $1,020 $16.36 $1.97 $0.08 $42.17 $8.52
$1,020 $1,041 $17.23 $2.51 $0.23 $43.19 $9.74
$1,041 $1,062 $20.13 $3.12 $0.39 $44.24 $11.23
$1,062 $1,083 $21.28 $3.79 $0.54 $45.29 $12.82
$1,083 $1,104 $24.28 $4.53 $0.70 $46.34 $13.71
$1,104 $1,125 $25.49 $5.33 $0.86 $47.39 $14.61
$1,125 $1,145 $28.58 $6.18 $1.01 $48.42 $15.48
$1,145 $1,166 $29.50 $7.09 $1.17 $49.44 $16.35
$1,166 $1,187 $32.32 $7.50 $1.32 $50.49 $17.24
$1,187 $1,208 $33.26 $7.91 $1.48 $51.54 $18.13
$1,208 $1,229 $36.08 $8.32 $1.64 $52.59 $20.80
$1,229 $1,250 $37.03 $8.73 $1.80 $53.64 $21.69
$1,250 $1,270 $39.83 $9.13 $2.34 $54.67 $24.62
$1,270 $1,291 $40.75 $9.53 $2.95 $55.69 $25.80
$1,291 $1,312 $43.57 $9.94 $3.62 $56.74 $28.85
$1,312 $1,333 $44.51 $10.35 $4.35 $57.79 $30.11
$1,333 $1,354 $47.33 $10.76 $5.15 $58.84 $33.27
$1,354 $1,375 $48.28 $11.17 $6.01 $59.89 $34.22
$1,375 $1,395 $51.08 $11.57 $6.93 $60.92 $37.01
$1,395 $1,416 $52.00 $11.97 $7.91 $61.94 $37.94
$1,416 $1,437 $54.82 $13.33 $8.32 $62.99 $40.76
$1,437 $1,458 $55.76 $14.76 $8.73 $64.04 $41.70
$1,458 $1,479 $58.58 $16.41 $9.14 $65.09 $44.52
$1,479 $1,500 $59.53 $18.32 $9.55 $66.14 $45.47
$1,500 $1,520 $60.45 $19.20 $9.95 $67.17 $48.26
$1,520 $1,541 $61.37 $20.07 $10.34 $68.19 $49.19
$1,541 $1,562 $62.32 $20.96 $10.75 $69.24 $52.01
$1,562 $1,583 $63.26 $21.85 $11.16 $70.29 $52.95
$1,583 $1,604 $64.21 $24.52 $11.57 $71.34 $55.77
$1,604 $1,625 $65.15 $25.41 $11.98 $72.39 $56.72
$1,625 $1,645 $66.08 $28.05 $12.38 $73.42 $59.51
$1,645 $1,666 $67.00 $28.92 $12.78 $74.44 $60.44
$1,666 $1,687 $67.94 $31.58 $14.21 $75.49 $63.26
$1,687 $1,708 $68.89 $32.48 $15.69 $76.54 $64.20
$1,708 $1,729 $69.83 $35.14 $17.24 $77.59 $67.02
$1,729 $1,750 $70.78 $36.03 $18.86 $78.64 $67.97
$1,750 $1,770 $71.70 $38.68 $19.38 $79.67 $70.76

Withholding Amount

C D FGreater Than Less Than
Or Equal To

A B

Withholding Code F has changed, the withholding amounts revert back to 2014 taxable year amounts. See TPG-211, Withholding Calculation 
Rules – Effective January 1, 2015 under P.A. 15-244.
Rev (08/15)



State of Connecticut
2015 Withholding Tables

 (Effective January 1, 2015 under P.A. 15-244) 
Monthly Payroll Period

Monthly Wages

$0 $83 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $1.25 $0.00
$83 $166 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $3.74 $0.00
$166 $250 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $6.24 $0.00
$250 $333 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $8.75 $0.00
$333 $416 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $11.24 $0.00
$416 $500 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $13.74 $0.00
$500 $583 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $16.25 $0.00
$583 $666 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $18.74 $0.00
$666 $750 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $21.24 $0.00
$750 $833 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $23.75 $0.00
$833 $916 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $27.06 $0.00
$916 $1,000 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $31.23 $0.00

$1,000 $1,083 $0.31 $0.00 $0.00 $35.41 $0.00
$1,083 $1,166 $0.93 $0.00 $0.00 $39.56 $0.00
$1,166 $1,250 $1.56 $0.00 $0.00 $43.73 $0.00
$1,250 $1,291 $2.43 $0.00 $0.00 $46.86 $0.47
$1,291 $1,333 $3.28 $0.00 $0.00 $48.93 $0.78
$1,333 $1,375 $4.25 $0.00 $0.00 $51.03 $1.09
$1,375 $1,416 $5.34 $0.00 $0.00 $53.11 $1.40
$1,416 $1,458 $6.56 $0.00 $0.00 $55.18 $1.72
$1,458 $1,500 $7.90 $0.00 $0.00 $57.28 $2.03
$1,500 $1,541 $9.37 $0.00 $0.00 $59.36 $2.81
$1,541 $1,583 $10.96 $0.00 $0.00 $61.43 $3.71
$1,583 $1,625 $11.78 $0.16 $0.00 $63.53 $4.75
$1,625 $1,666 $12.59 $0.47 $0.00 $65.61 $5.90
$1,666 $1,708 $14.43 $0.78 $0.00 $67.68 $7.18
$1,708 $1,750 $16.40 $1.09 $0.00 $69.78 $8.59
$1,750 $1,791 $18.49 $1.40 $0.00 $71.86 $10.12
$1,791 $1,833 $20.71 $1.72 $0.00 $73.93 $11.77
$1,833 $1,875 $22.13 $2.03 $0.00 $76.03 $12.59
$1,875 $1,916 $23.89 $2.34 $0.00 $78.11 $13.40
$1,916 $1,958 $25.66 $2.65 $0.00 $80.18 $14.21
$1,958 $2,000 $27.44 $2.97 $0.00 $82.28 $15.03
$2,000 $2,041 $32.75 $3.93 $0.15 $84.36 $17.06
$2,041 $2,083 $34.51 $5.03 $0.47 $86.43 $19.51
$2,083 $2,125 $40.31 $6.25 $0.78 $88.53 $22.49
$2,125 $2,166 $42.58 $7.59 $1.09 $90.61 $25.66
$2,166 $2,208 $48.56 $9.06 $1.40 $92.68 $27.43
$2,208 $2,250 $50.98 $10.65 $1.72 $94.78 $29.21
$2,250 $2,291 $57.17 $12.37 $2.03 $96.86 $30.98
$2,291 $2,333 $59.04 $14.21 $2.34 $98.93 $32.74
$2,333 $2,375 $64.68 $15.03 $2.66 $101.03 $34.52
$2,375 $2,416 $66.55 $15.84 $2.97 $103.11 $36.29
$2,416 $2,458 $72.17 $16.65 $3.28 $105.18 $41.59
$2,458 $2,500 $74.06 $17.47 $3.59 $107.28 $43.38
$2,500 $2,541 $79.67 $18.27 $4.68 $109.36 $49.26
$2,541 $2,583 $81.54 $19.08 $5.90 $111.43 $51.63
$2,583 $2,625 $87.18 $19.90 $7.25 $113.53 $57.74
$2,625 $2,666 $89.05 $20.71 $8.71 $115.61 $60.25
$2,666 $2,708 $94.67 $21.52 $10.31 $117.68 $66.54
$2,708 $2,750 $96.56 $22.34 $12.03 $119.78 $68.43
$2,750 $2,791 $102.17 $23.15 $13.87 $121.86 $74.05
$2,791 $2,833 $104.04 $23.96 $15.83 $123.93 $75.92
$2,833 $2,875 $109.68 $26.68 $16.65 $126.03 $81.56
$2,875 $2,916 $111.55 $29.52 $17.46 $128.11 $83.42
$2,916 $2,958 $117.17 $32.81 $18.27 $130.18 $89.04
$2,958 $3,000 $119.06 $36.65 $19.09 $132.28 $90.93
$3,000 $3,041 $120.92 $38.41 $19.90 $134.36 $96.55
$3,041 $3,083 $122.79 $40.18 $20.71 $136.43 $98.42
$3,083 $3,125 $124.68 $41.96 $21.53 $138.53 $104.06
$3,125 $3,166 $126.55 $43.73 $22.34 $140.61 $105.92
$3,166 $3,208 $128.42 $49.03 $23.15 $142.68 $111.54
$3,208 $3,250 $130.31 $50.82 $23.97 $144.78 $113.43
$3,250 $3,291 $132.17 $56.12 $24.77 $146.86 $119.05
$3,291 $3,333 $134.04 $57.89 $25.58 $148.93 $120.92
$3,333 $3,375 $135.93 $63.21 $28.43 $151.03 $126.56
$3,375 $3,416 $137.80 $64.98 $31.40 $153.11 $128.42
$3,416 $3,458 $139.67 $70.28 $34.49 $155.18 $134.04
$3,458 $3,500 $141.56 $72.07 $37.71 $157.28 $135.93
$3,500 $3,541 $143.42 $77.37 $38.77 $159.36 $141.55

F

Withholding Amount

Greater Than Less Than
Or Equal To

A B C D

Withholding Code F has changed, the withholding amounts revert back to 2014 taxable year amounts. See TPG-211, Withholding Calculation 
Rules – Effective January 1, 2015 under P.A. 15-244.
Rev (08/15)



State of Connecticut
2015 Withholding Tables

 (Effective January 1, 2015 under P.A. 15-244) 
Monthly Payroll Period

Monthly Wages

F

Withholding Amount

Greater Than Less Than
Or Equal To A B C D

$3,541 $3,583 $145.29 $79.14 $39.83 $161.43 $143.42
$3,583 $3,625 $147.18 $84.46 $40.90 $163.53 $147.18
$3,625 $3,666 $149.05 $86.23 $41.96 $165.61 $149.05
$3,666 $3,708 $150.92 $92.61 $43.36 $167.68 $150.92
$3,708 $3,750 $152.81 $95.51 $45.15 $169.78 $152.81
$3,750 $3,791 $154.67 $102.10 $46.91 $171.86 $154.67
$3,791 $3,833 $156.54 $105.11 $48.68 $173.93 $156.54
$3,833 $3,875 $158.43 $111.93 $50.46 $176.03 $158.43
$3,875 $3,916 $160.30 $113.80 $52.23 $178.11 $160.30
$3,916 $3,958 $162.17 $119.42 $53.99 $180.18 $162.17
$3,958 $4,000 $164.06 $121.31 $55.77 $182.28 $164.06
$4,000 $4,041 $167.77 $126.92 $61.08 $184.36 $165.92
$4,041 $4,083 $171.52 $128.79 $62.84 $186.43 $167.79
$4,083 $4,125 $175.34 $134.43 $68.17 $188.53 $169.68
$4,125 $4,166 $179.17 $136.30 $69.93 $190.61 $171.55
$4,166 $4,208 $183.15 $141.92 $76.12 $192.79 $173.51
$4,208 $4,250 $188.89 $143.81 $78.84 $196.76 $175.59
$4,250 $4,291 $193.07 $149.42 $85.24 $199.04 $177.64
$4,291 $4,333 $197.30 $151.29 $88.05 $201.33 $179.69
$4,333 $4,375 $201.60 $156.93 $94.68 $203.64 $181.77
$4,375 $4,416 $205.92 $158.80 $96.55 $205.92 $183.83
$4,416 $4,500 $211.02 $165.36 $103.11 $211.02 $186.92
$4,500 $4,583 $215.62 $172.87 $110.62 $215.62 $191.05
$4,583 $4,666 $221.85 $180.35 $118.10 $221.85 $195.16
$4,666 $4,750 $226.44 $187.86 $125.61 $226.44 $199.30
$4,750 $4,833 $231.03 $191.62 $133.12 $231.03 $204.93
$4,833 $4,916 $237.26 $195.35 $140.60 $237.26 $211.36
$4,916 $5,000 $241.86 $199.11 $148.11 $241.86 $220.28
$5,000 $5,083 $248.12 $202.87 $155.62 $248.12 $229.38
$5,083 $5,166 $252.68 $206.60 $163.10 $252.68 $238.63
$5,166 $5,250 $257.27 $210.36 $170.61 $257.27 $249.75
$5,250 $5,333 $263.53 $214.12 $178.12 $263.53 $256.87
$5,333 $5,416 $268.10 $217.85 $185.60 $268.10 $261.43
$5,416 $5,500 $274.36 $221.61 $193.11 $274.36 $266.02
$5,500 $5,583 $278.95 $225.37 $200.62 $278.95 $270.62
$5,583 $5,666 $283.51 $229.10 $208.10 $283.51 $276.85
$5,666 $5,750 $289.77 $232.86 $215.61 $289.77 $281.44
$5,750 $5,833 $294.37 $236.62 $223.12 $294.37 $286.03
$5,833 $5,916 $300.60 $240.35 $230.60 $300.60 $290.60
$5,916 $6,000 $305.19 $244.11 $238.11 $305.19 $295.19
$6,000 $6,083 $309.78 $247.87 $241.87 $309.78 $301.45
$6,083 $6,166 $316.01 $251.60 $245.60 $316.01 $306.01
$6,166 $6,250 $320.61 $258.20 $249.36 $320.61 $310.61
$6,250 $6,333 $325.20 $267.75 $253.12 $325.20 $315.20
$6,333 $6,416 $329.76 $277.46 $256.85 $329.76 $319.76
$6,416 $6,500 $334.36 $287.35 $260.61 $334.36 $326.02
$6,500 $6,583 $338.95 $297.40 $264.37 $338.95 $330.62
$6,583 $6,666 $343.51 $307.23 $268.10 $343.51 $335.18
$6,666 $6,750 $348.11 $311.61 $271.86 $348.11 $339.77
$6,750 $6,833 $352.70 $316.20 $275.62 $352.70 $344.37
$6,833 $6,916 $357.26 $320.76 $279.35 $357.26 $350.60
$6,916 $7,000 $361.86 $328.02 $283.11 $361.86 $355.19
$7,000 $7,083 $366.45 $332.62 $286.87 $366.45 $359.78
$7,083 $7,166 $371.01 $337.18 $290.60 $371.01 $364.35
$7,166 $7,250 $375.61 $341.77 $294.36 $375.61 $368.94
$7,250 $7,333 $380.20 $349.03 $298.12 $380.20 $375.20
$7,333 $7,416 $384.76 $353.60 $301.85 $384.76 $379.76
$7,416 $7,500 $389.36 $358.19 $305.61 $389.36 $384.36
$7,500 $7,583 $393.95 $362.78 $309.37 $393.95 $388.95
$7,583 $7,666 $398.51 $370.01 $313.10 $398.51 $393.51
$7,666 $7,750 $403.11 $374.61 $316.86 $403.11 $399.77
$7,750 $7,833 $407.70 $379.20 $320.62 $407.70 $404.37
$7,833 $7,916 $412.26 $383.76 $324.35 $412.26 $408.93
$7,916 $8,000 $416.86 $391.02 $328.11 $416.86 $413.52
$8,000 $8,083 $421.45 $395.62 $335.55 $421.45 $418.12
$8,083 $8,166 $426.01 $400.18 $346.79 $426.01 $424.35
$8,166 $8,250 $430.61 $404.77 $358.21 $430.61 $428.94
$8,250 $8,333 $435.20 $412.03 $369.80 $435.20 $433.53
$8,333 $8,375 $438.74 $415.47 $380.63 $438.74 $437.07
$8,375 Over Refer to TPG-211, Withholding Calculation Rules

Withholding Code F has changed, the withholding amounts revert back to 2014 taxable year amounts. See TPG-211, Withholding 
Calculation Rules – Effective January 1, 2015 under P.A. 15-244.
Rev (08/15)



Statewide Services
Visit the ConneCT website at www.ct.gov for 

information on statewide services and programs.

Federal Tax Information
For questions about federal taxes, visit www.irs.gov or 

call the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) at 800-829-1040.
To order federal tax forms, call 800-829-3676.

Department of Revenue Services
State of Connecticut
25 Sigourney Street Ste 2
Hartford CT 06106-5032
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l Send routine tax questions to drs@po.state.ct.us (do not 
send account related inquiries). For account-related questions, 
including bill and refund inquiries, use the Secure Mailbox 
feature by logging into the DRS electronic TSC.

Forms and Publications

800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the 
Greater Hartford calling area only) and select 
Option 2; or 860-297-4753 (from anywhere).

Email requests, including your name, 
address (street, city, state, and ZIP code), and 
the name or number of the tax product to 
ctforms.drs@po.state.ct.us

Tax Information

For telephone assistance, call the Department of Revenue 
Services at 800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the 
Greater Hartford calling area only); or 860-297-5962 (from 
anywhere).

 Free personal taxpayer assistance and forms are available by visiting our offi ces. Walk-in assistance at all 
DRS locations is available Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (arrive by 4:00 p.m.). Directions 
to DRS offi ces are available using the DRS phone menu or by visiting the DRS website. If you require 
special accommodations, please advise the DRS representative.

 Bridgeport Hartford Norwich Waterbury
 10 Middle St 25 Sigourney St 401 West Thames St 55 West Main St
   Building #700 Suite 100

All calls are answered at our main offi ce in Hartford, not at the fi eld offi ces.
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Connecticut forms and publications may be 
viewed, downloaded, or printed by visiting 
www.ct.gov/DRS the DRS website.
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The TSC includes a comprehensive FAQ database with 
more than 600 searchable answers.  Search by category, 
tax type, keyword, or phrase.

Choose to fi le returns, pay amounts 
due, and direct deposit refunds 

electronically using the TSC.

 It’s fast and free!It’s fast and free!


