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 STATE OF CONNECTICUT PS 2014(4) 
 DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES 

 

  POLICY STATEMENT 

Requests for Waiver of Civil Penalties 
 

 

Purpose: The purpose of this Policy Statement is to 

provide taxpayers with guidance regarding requests 

for waiver of civil penalties and the standard applied 

by the Commissioner of Revenue Services (the 

Commissioner) in determining whether to waive a 

penalty.  

Note: Requests for penalty waiver do not reduce 

interest that has been assessed. Additionally, a 

federal tax penalty waiver by the Internal Revenue 

Service does not automatically result in Connecticut 

tax penalty waiver. 

 

 

Effective Date: When released. 

 

 

Background:  Subject to the provisions of Conn. 

Gen. Stat. §12-3a, the Commissioner may waive all 

or part of a Connecticut tax penalty when it is proven 

to his or her satisfaction that failure to timely file or 

pay the tax was due to reasonable cause and was not 

intentional or due to neglect.  

Similar to the Internal Revenue Service, the 

Department of Revenue Services (DRS) has 

condensed this two-pronged requirement into a single 

requirement of reasonable cause. Therefore, the 

Commissioner will apply a reasonable cause standard 

when determining whether to waive a penalty 

($1,000 or less) or to recommend a waiver of a 

penalty (over $1,000) to the Penalty Review 

Committee.   

 

 

Reasonable Cause:   The Commissioner and the 

Penalty Review Committee will determine reasonable 

cause on a case-by-case, fact-specific basis.   Simply 

put, each penalty waiver request will be judged 

individually based on its facts and circumstances as 

presented in information provided by the applicant. 

In order to understand the facts and circumstances of 

each penalty waiver request, taxpayers must respond 

to the following questions: 

1. Why did the taxpayer fail to comply? 

The taxpayer must explain what prevented the 

tax filing or payment as required. The timing of 

these events along with specific facts and 

circumstances must be identified and 

documented.   

2. How did the taxpayer handle other financial 

responsibilities during the noncompliance 

period? 

In other words, was the taxpayer able to make 

mortgage payments, credit card payments or 

similar required payments at the time the state tax 

filing or payment was due.  

3. What efforts did the taxpayer make to 

comply? 

The taxpayer should explain and document 

efforts to determine the tax due and file or pay on 

time.  

4. Did the taxpayer make the required tax filing 

or tax payment as soon as possible after the 

facts and circumstances that caused non-

compliance changed? 

The Commissioner will consider how promptly 

the taxpayer took corrective action. 

 

 

Form DRS-PW: In order to request a penalty 

waiver, taxpayers must complete and submit Form 

DRS-PW, Request for Waiver of Civil Penalty, 

(available on the DRS website at www.ct.gov/DRS). 

Form DRS-PW, submitted under penalty of false 

statement, requires taxpayers to provide sufficient, 

specific and detailed information (including 

supporting documentation and relevant information 

from other parties) to support the penalty waiver 

request.  

A fully completed Form DRS-PW must be submitted 

to the following address: 

 Department of Revenue Services 

 Operations Bureau/Penalty Waiver 

PO Box 5089 

 Hartford CT 06102-5089 

Taxpayers should provide as much detail as possible 

and must attach any documentation supporting their 

claims to Form DRS-PW. Failure to provide 
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sufficient supporting documentation will result in 

the denial of a penalty waiver request. 

The taxpayer or, in the case of corporations, 

partnerships, limited liability companies, estates, and 

trusts, the person authorized to execute the return or 

pay the tax, must sign Form DRS-PW.  

Note: The Commissioner will not consider a penalty 

waiver request from a taxpayer with any outstanding 

Connecticut tax liability or Connecticut tax filing 

obligation.  However, taxpayers on a Connecticut tax 

payment plan and in compliance with the terms of the 

plan may submit penalty waiver requests. Taxpayers 

who have timely protested or appealed an assessed 

Connecticut tax liability are also eligible to submit 

penalty waiver requests. 

 

 

What Constitutes Reasonable Cause: Each 

penalty waiver request will be judged individually 

based on its facts, circumstances and supporting 

documentation. Reasonable cause will never be 

presumed.  

Circumstances beyond the taxpayer’s control. In 

general, the Commissioner’s main consideration is 

whether the taxpayer could have anticipated or 

otherwise foreseen the circumstances that resulted in 

noncompliance and the circumstances were beyond 

the taxpayer’s control. If there was an alternative 

means of compliance available to the taxpayer or 

sufficient time before the due date for the taxpayer to 

file or pay the tax due on time, it is unlikely that the 

Commissioner will find reasonable cause.  

Note: A financial hardship cannot be considered in 

determining whether to waive a tax penalty.    

Ignorance of the law. Taxpayers must make 

reasonable efforts to determine their tax obligations. 

Ignorance of the law usually will not establish 

reasonable cause. Factors such as the relative 

complexity of the issue or significant recent tax 

changes may be considered in determining whether 

reasonable cause exists.  

DRS error.  Documented reliance on erroneous 

information provided by the DRS or its employees 

usually will constitute reasonable cause. 

Tax preparer error. Documented reliance on 

erroneous independent professional tax preparer 

advice or tax preparation may establish reasonable 

cause, provided the taxpayer made a good faith effort 

to confirm filing or payment.  Similarly, erroneous 

filing or payment by an independent third party 

payroll processer may constitute evidence of 

reasonable cause. 

Taxpayer error. Mere mistake by the taxpayer, 

employee of the taxpayer or any person unqualified 

to provide independent professional tax preparation 

will not, in and of itself, establish reasonable cause.  

Examples of mere mistakes include forgetfulness, 

inattention or inaction resulting in miscalculation, 

failure to include proper payment, failure to assure 

the availability of funds for purposes of payment and 

failure to file or pay electronically when, after 

reasonable notice or unless waived in writing by the 

DRS, the taxpayer is required to do so.       

Death, serious illness, or unavoidable absence. 
Death, serious illness or unavoidable absence of the 

taxpayer (or death or serious illness in the taxpayer’s 

immediate family) may establish reasonable cause. 

Any such determination will be dependent on the 

specific facts and circumstances and documentation 

provided. To this end, the Commissioner will, among 

other things, consider: 

 The relationship of the taxpayer to the other 

parties involved;  

 Date of death;  

 Date, duration, and severity of illness;  

 Date and reason for absence;  

 How the circumstances prevented compliance;  

 Whether other financial obligations were 

impaired; and  

 Whether tax filing or payment were made 

promptly after the illness passed or after the 

death.   

Taxpayers are advised to provide documented 

obituary or medical evidence.   

Note: For corporations, partnerships, limited 

liability companies, estates and trusts, death, serious 

illness or unavoidable absence of the person (or 

death or serious illness in such person’s immediate 

family) who had sole authority to execute the tax 

return or pay the tax may establish reasonable cause 

provided that another  person could not be assigned 

the authority.  

Inability to obtain tax records or information.  
Inability of taxpayers to obtain necessary tax records 

or information may constitute reasonable cause. The 

Commissioner may consider: 

 Why the records were necessary;  

 When and how the taxpayer became aware that 

the necessary records were not available;  

 Why the records were unavailable;  

 What steps were taken to secure the records;  
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 Whether other means were available and 

attempted to obtain the information;    

 Whether the taxpayer timely requested and 

received DRS approval of an extension to file or 

an extension to pay or otherwise made a 

reasonable estimate and payment of any tax due;  

 Whether the taxpayer contacted the DRS for 

assistance; and  

 Whether the taxpayer promptly complied once 

the missing information became available. 

Loss of necessary business records due to fire or 

other casualty beyond the taxpayer’s control may 

constitute reasonable cause unless there is sufficient 

time to reconstruct the lost records. As always, 

taxpayers are required to provide supporting 

documentation of efforts made to get the information 

or otherwise estimate the tax due. 

Note: Certain circumstances commonly present 

challenges for taxpayers with respect to the 

availability of necessary tax information. Such 

circumstances include the valuation and settlement of 

complex estates and late receipt of final reported 

Schedule K-1 income. Factors considered by the 

Commissioner in determining reasonable cause 

include: 

 Whether the taxpayer timely filed a request for 

extension approved by the DRS;  

 The extent of taxpayer ownership or involvement 

in the direction or finances of the business entity 

responsible for issuing the Schedule K-1;  

 Documented reliance on receipt of an estimated 

Schedule K-1 at the time of requesting an 

extension to file or at the time of payment;  

 Documented reliance on the final Schedule K-1 

for the prior tax period; and  

 Prompt payment of the tax due following 

documented receipt of the final Schedule K-1 for 

the applicable tax year. 

Prior history.  The Commissioner will consider a 

taxpayer’s prior history of state tax compliance in 

determining whether reasonable cause exists. 
 

 

Notification to Taxpayers: The DRS will notify 

the taxpayer in writing when a decision on the 

penalty waiver request has been made. 

If the taxpayer disagrees with the Commissioner’s 

decision or the decision of the Penalty Review 

Committee, the taxpayer may appeal the decision by 

filing a timely appeal to the Connecticut Superior 

Court. Information regarding appeal rights is 

contained in the notification letter.  

 

 

Penalties Not Subject to Waiver: The following 

penalties are not subject to waiver: 

 Criminal penalties/willful violations; 

 Fraud and intent to evade penalties imposed in 

connection with an audit;   

 Negligence penalties imposed in connection with 

an audit; 

 Penalty imposed by Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-295; 

 Penalty imposed by Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-330i; 

 Penalty imposed by Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-414a; 

 Penalty imposed by Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-458e; 

 Penalty imposed by Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-547a; 

 Penalty imposed by Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-660; 

and 

 Penalty imposed by Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-736. 

If, however, a taxpayer disagrees with the DRS 

imposition of one of the above-listed penalties (other 

than criminal penalties), the taxpayer may file a 

timely protest with the DRS Appellate Division by 

completing Form APL-002, Appellate Division 

Appeal Form (available at www.ct.gov/DRS). 

 

 

Penalty Review Committee: Conn. Gen. Stat. 

§12-3a establishes the Penalty Review Committee 

comprised of the Commissioner of Revenue Services 

(or an employee designated by the Commissioner), 

the State Comptroller (or an employee designated by 

the Comptroller) and the Secretary of the Office of 

Policy and Management (or an employee designated 

by the Secretary). The Commissioner’s 

recommendation to waive any penalty in excess of 

$1,000 is subject to review and approval by the 

Penalty Review Committee. Meetings of the Penalty 

Review Committee are publicly noticed.   

Note: The Penalty Review Committee has no authority 

to waive penalties on its own motion.  The Committee 

may only consider penalty waiver requests 

recommended to it by the Commissioner.  

 

 

Questions Regarding Penalty Waiver: Any and 

all questions regarding a penalty waiver request 

should be directed to the DRS Operations 

Bureau/Penalty Waiver at 860-297-4944.  

 

 

Statutory Authority: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-206, 

Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-229, Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-

263c, Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-263m, Conn. Gen. Stat. 
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§12-268d, Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-284b, Conn. Gen. 

Stat. §12-293a, Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-330d, Conn. 

Gen. Stat. §12-390c, Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-392, 

Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-405d, Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-

419, Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-439, Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-

458, Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-488, Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-

502a, Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-509, Conn. Gen. Stat. 

§12-548, Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-590, Conn. Gen. Stat. 

§12-638c, Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-649, Conn. Gen. 

Stat. §12-655, Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-667, Conn. Gen. 

Stat. §12-668, Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-692, Conn. Gen. 

Stat. §12-735, Conn. Gen. Stat. §17b-320, Conn. 

Gen. Stat. §38a-277, Conn. Gen. Stat. §51-81b; and 

Conn. Agencies Reg. §12-689-4. 

 

 

Effect on Other Documents: Policy Statement 

2013(5), Requests for Waiver of Civil Penalties, is 

superseded and can no longer be relied upon. 

 

 

Effect of This Document: A Policy Statement 

explains in depth a current DRS position, policy, or 

practice affecting the tax liability of taxpayers. 

For Further Information: Call DRS during 

business hours, Monday through Friday: 

 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the 

Greater Hartford calling area only); or 

 860-297-5962 (from anywhere). 

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may 

transmit inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911. 

 

 

Forms and Publications: Visit the DRS website at 

www.ct.gov/DRS to download and print Connecticut 

tax forms and publications. 

 

 

Paperless Filing/Payment Methods (fast, 
easy, free, and confidential): Business and 

individual taxpayers can use the Taxpayer Service 

Center (TSC) at www.ct.gov/TSC to file a variety of 

tax returns, update account information, and make 

payments online. 

File Electronically: You can choose first-time filer 

information and filing assistance or log directly into 

the TSC to file returns and pay taxes. 

Pay Electronically: You can pay taxes for tax 

returns that cannot be filed through the TSC. Log in 

and select the Make Payment Only option. Designate 

a payment date up to the due date of the tax and mail 

a paper return to complete the filing process. 

 

 

Want DRS E-Alerts?  Get connected to the latest 

news from DRS. Receive notification by email of 

changes to legislation, policies, and procedures.    

DRS E-Alerts provide information for employer’s 

withholding tax, News – Press Releases, and Top 100 

Delinquency List. Visit the DRS website at 

www.ct.gov/DRS and select Sign up for e-alerts 

under How Do I? on the gold navigation bar. 
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