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 STATE OF CONNECTICUT PS 2015(6) 
 DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES 
 

25 Sigourney Street Ste 2 
Hartford CT 06106-5032 

  Policy Statement 

“15-Day” Rule for Nonresident Employees 
 

 

 

Purpose: This Policy Statement explains the 

Connecticut sourcing rules and withholding 

requirements for personal income tax affecting 

nonresident employees performing personal services 

in Connecticut for 15 days or less. 
 

 

Effective Date: January 1, 2016.  
 

 

“15-Day” Rule: Recent legislation excludes from 

Connecticut income tax any compensation for 

personal services that a nonresident employee 

performs in Connecticut if the nonresident employee 

is present in Connecticut for employment purposes 

for not more than 15 days during the taxable year.  

For this reason, the Department of Revenue Services 

(DRS) is changing its “14-Day” Rule with respect to 

withholding. 

 

As long as the nonresident employee performs 

personal services in Connecticut for 15 days or less, 

this compensation is not Connecticut-sourced income 

and is not subject to Connecticut income tax.  As a 

result, employers are not required to withhold 

Connecticut income tax from this compensation.  
 

 

What is a Connecticut Day for Purposes of 
the “15-Day” Rule? For purposes of the “15-Day” 

Rule, presence in Connecticut for any part of a day 

constitutes presence for that entire day unless this 

presence is purely for purposes of transit through 

Connecticut. Presence in Connecticut for reasons 

other than performing services as a nonresident 

employee are not relevant for purposes of the 15-day 

limitation. 
 

 

Does the “15-Day” Rule Apply to Business 
Income? The “15-Day” Rule does not apply to 

income from a business, trade, profession, or 

occupation carried on in Connecticut.  It only applies 

to compensation for personal services performed by a 

nonresident employee.   
 

 
How Does the “15-Day” Rule Apply When an 
Employer Expects a Nonresident Employee 
to Work More Than 15 Days in Connecticut 
During a Calendar Year? If an employer expects 

that a nonresident employee will work more than 15 

days in Connecticut during a calendar year, all the 

compensation paid for services performed in 

Connecticut is subject to Connecticut income tax and 

the employer must withhold on all such 

compensation paid to the employee.  
 

 

How Does the “15-Day” Rule Apply When a 
Nonresident Employee Who Was Not 
Expected to Work More Than 15 Days in 
Connecticut During a Calendar Year Actually 
Works More Than 15 Days? If a nonresident 

employee who was reasonably expected to work 15 

or fewer days in Connecticut during a calendar year 

actually works more than 15 days in Connecticut 

during said calendar year, the employer must 

withhold on all the compensation paid to that 

nonresident employee for services performed in 

Connecticut, including the compensation paid for the 

first 15 days.  

 

However, the nonresident employee may be required 

to make estimated payments for the compensation 

received for the first 15 days of performing personal 

services in Connecticut, if the employer did not 

withhold with respect to this income.  Failure to 

make an estimated payment could result in an 

underpayment penalty. See Informational 

Publication 2011(26), Estimated Connecticut 

Income Taxes.   
 

 

Does the “15-Day” Rule Apply to 
Nonresident Athletes, Entertainers or 
Performing Artists? The “15-Day” Rule does not 

apply to payments made to entertainers, performing 

artists, or athletes, including members of athletic 

teams.  For more information on the withholding tax 

requirements for nonresident athletes, entertainers, or 
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performing artists, please see Policy Statement 

2016(5), Income Tax Withholding for Athletes and 

Entertainers.  
 

 

Statutory Authority: 2015 Conn. Pub. Acts. 1, 

§26, (Dec. Spec. Sess.).  
 

 

Effect on Other Documents: Announcement 

2010(3), “14-Day” Withholding Rule for 

Nonresident Employees, is superseded and may not 

be relied upon on or after the effective date of this 

Policy Statement. 

 

 

Effect of This Document: A Policy Statement 

explains in depth a current Department of Revenue 

Services (DRS) position, policy, or practice affecting 

the tax liability of taxpayers. 
 

 

For Further Information: Call DRS during 

business hours, Monday through Friday: 

 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the 

Greater Hartford calling area only); or 

 860-297-5962 (from anywhere). 

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may 

transmit inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911. 

 
Forms and Publications: Visit the DRS website at 

www.ct.gov/DRS to download and print Connecticut 

tax forms and publications. 

Paperless Filing/Payment Methods (fast, 
easy, free, and confidential):  

Taxpayers can use the Taxpayer Service Center 

(TSC) at www.ct.gov/TSC to file a variety of tax 

returns, update account information, and make 

payments online. 

File Electronically: Follow the prompts to log into 

the TSC to file returns and pay taxes. 

Pay Electronically: Use the TSC to make payments 

for most Connecticut taxes, even ones that cannot be 

filed electronically. 

 

 

Want DRS E-Alerts? Get connected to the latest 

news from DRS. Receive notification by email of 

changes to legislation, policies, and procedures. 

DRS E-Alerts provide information for employer’s 

withholding tax, News – Press Releases, and Top 100 

Delinquency List. Visit the DRS website at 

www.ct.gov/DRS and select Sign up for e-alerts 

under How Do I? on the gold navigation bar.
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