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SPECIAL NOTICE

2009 Legislative Changes Affecting the Tobacco Products Tax
Effective October 1, 2009

Purpose: This Special Notice describes changes
made to the tobacco products tax during the 2009
session of the Connecticut General Assembly.

Effective Date: Octoberl, 2009.

No Tax on Tobacco Products Inventory as of
Close of Business on September 30, 2009:
P.A. 09-3 does not impose a tax on the inventory of
licensed tobacco product distributors as of the close
of business on September 30, 2009, so no inventory
needs to be taken.

Statutory Authority: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-330c,
as amended by 2009 Conn. Pub. Acts 3, 8107, (June
2009 Spec. Sess.), and Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-330b, as
amended by 2009 Conn. Pub. Acts 3, §156, (2009
June Spec. Sess.).

Tax Increase on Tobacco Products
Purchased, Imported, or Manufactured On or
After October 1, 2009: The purchase, importation,
or manufacture of tobacco products (other than snuff
tobacco products) by a licensed tobacco products
distributor on or after October 1, 2009, is taxable at
the rate of 27.5% of the wholesale sales price. For the
purchase, importation, or manufacture of tobacco
products (other than snuff tobacco products) prior to
October 1, 2009, the rate was 20% of the wholesale
sales price.

The purchase, importation, or manufacture of snuff
tobacco products by a licensed tobacco products
distributor on or after October 1, 2009, is taxable at
the rate of 55 cents per ounce. For the purchase,
importation, or manufacture of snuff tobacco
products prior to October 1, 2009, the rate was 40
cents per ounce.

Increase in the Annual Fee for a Tobacco
Products Distributor’s License: Effective
October 1, 2009, the annual fee for a tobacco
products distributor’s license increases from $100 to
$200. Distributors whose existing licenses were
renewed as of July 1, 2009, are not affected by the
fee increase. New licenses issued on or after October
1, 2009, and existing licenses renewed on or after
October 1, 2009, are subject to the fee increase.

Effect on Other Documents: None.

Effect of This Document: A Special Notice
announces a new policy or practice in response to
changes in state or federal laws or regulations or to
judicial decisions. A Special Notice indicates an
informal interpretation of Connecticut tax law by the
Department of Revenue Services (DRS).

For Further Information: Call DRS during
business hours, Monday through Friday:

e 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the
Greater Hartford calling area only); or

e 860-297-5962 (from anywhere).

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may
transmit inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911.
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Forms and Publications: Visit the DRS website at
www.ct.gov/DRS to download and print Connecticut
tax forms and publications.

Paperless Filing/Payment Methods (fast,
easy, free, and confidential):

Business and individual taxpayers can use the
Taxpayer Service Center (TSC) at www.ct.gov/TSC
to file a variety of tax returns, update account
information, and make payments online.

File Electronically: You can choose first-time filer
information and filing assistance or log directly into
the TSC to file returns and pay taxes.

Pay Electronically: You can pay taxes for tax
returns that cannot be filed through the TSC. Log in
and select the Make Payment Only option. Designate
a payment date up to the due date of the tax and mail
a paper return to complete the filing process.

DRS E-Alerts Service: Get connected to the latest
news from DRS. Receive notification by email of
changes to legislation, policies, and procedures.
DRS E-Alerts provide information for employer’s
withholding tax, News — Press Releases, and Top 100
Delinquency List. Visit the DRS website at
www.ct.gov/DRS and select e-alerts from the left
navigation bar.
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