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 STATE OF CONNECTICUT SN 2013(5) 
 DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES 

 
25 Sigourney Street Ste 2 
Hartford CT 06106-5032 

  SPECIAL NOTICE 

2013 Legislative Changes Affecting Sales and Use Taxes 
 

 

Purpose: This Special Notice summarizes 
legislative changes made during the 2013 regular 
session of the Connecticut General Assembly 
affecting sales and use taxes. 
 

 

Effective Date: As noted below.  
 

 

Statutory Authority: 2013 Conn. Pub. Acts 150, 
§§4 and 5; 2013 Conn. Pub. Acts 151, §§1 and 2; 
2013 Conn. Pub. Acts 184, §§77 through 82. 
 

 

State Tax Payment Is a Condition of Being 
Issued a License: Effective July 1, 2013, if the 
Connecticut Department of Revenue Services (DRS) 
determines that taxes are owed to the State of 
Connecticut and that all administrative or judicial 
remedies are exhausted or have lapsed, DRS will not 
issue or renew a license or seller’s permit until the 
applicant pays the taxes or makes an arrangement 
with DRS to pay the taxes. 

This legislation also applies to cigarette dealer’s, 
distributor’s, or manufacturer’s licenses, and to 
tobacco products distributor’s and unclassified 
importer’s licenses. 
 

 

Seller’s Permit Compliance: Effective July 1, 
2013, penalties will be imposed for failure to obtain 
or renew a seller’s permit. A penalty of $250 applies 
for the first day the person engages in business 
without a seller’s permit, and a penalty of $100 for 
each following day that the person engages in 
business without a seller’s permit. The penalty may 
be waived if the person proves that the failure to 
obtain or renew the seller’s permit was due to 
reasonable cause and was not intentional or due to 
neglect. 
 
 

Vessels: Beginning in October 2013, the sales tax 
exclusion for otherwise taxable vessel mooring and 
storage services is expanded to include the period 

from the first day of October through the last day of 
May. 

Effective for sales occurring on and after  
July 1, 2013, sales of vessels that will be docked in 
Connecticut for 60 or fewer days in a calendar year 
are exempt from sales and use taxes.  

Effective for sales occurring on and after  
July 1, 2013, sales of vessels with a sales price 
exceeding $100,000 are taxable at the 6.35% rate, 
instead of the 7% rate. 
 

 

Exemption for Clothing and Footwear: 
Effective for sales occurring on and after  
June 1, 2015, the exemption for sales of any article of 
clothing or footwear intended to be worn on or about 
the human body costing under $50 is reinstated. 
Clothing or footwear qualifying for exemption do not 
include: 

 Special clothing or footwear primarily designed 
for athletic activity or protective use that is not 
normally worn except when used for the athletic 
activity or protective use for which it was 
designed; and 

 Jewelry, handbags, luggage, umbrellas, wallets, 
watches, and similar items carried on or about the 
human body but not worn on the body in the 
manner characteristic of clothing intended for 
exemption. 

Although the exemption for articles of clothing and 
footwear costing less than $50 will not be available 
until June 1, 2015, the one-week exclusion for 
clothing and footwear costing less than $300 per item 
from the third Sunday in August through the 
following Saturday remains in effect for 2013. 
 

 

Certain Retailers Must Remit Sales Tax 
Electronically: Effective for taxable periods 
beginning on or after October 1, 2013, and before 
April 1, 2014, where a taxpayer owing sales tax is 
delinquent as described in Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-7a, 
DRS may require the taxpayer to remit sales tax 
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electronically on sales made using consumer credit or 
debit cards, or made by electronic transfer. DRS must 
notify the taxpayers in writing on or before  
October 1, 2013, and must provide a complete listing 
of all DRS-approved processors of consumer credit 
or debit card payments or electronic transfers. A 
taxpayer that fails to comply with these provisions is 
subject to any and all penalties imposed under sales 
and use tax law, including revocation of its seller’s 
permit. 
 

 

Collection of Sales Tax by Cigarette 
Stampers and Nonstamping Distributors: 
Effective for sales occurring on and after July 1, 
2013, cigarette stampers and nonstamping 
distributors must collect sales tax on sales of 
cigarettes to licensed dealers, regardless of whether 
the dealer furnishes a resale certificate. Tax must be 
separately stated on invoices to dealers. 

Stampers and nonstamping distributors will report 
and remit the tax collected from licensed dealers on 
their sales tax returns.   

When a licensed dealer sells cigarettes, it must collect 
and remit sales tax on the sales price it charges its 
customers. However, when the licensed dealer files 
its sales tax return, it will deduct the purchase price 
of cigarettes on which it paid sales tax to the stamper 
or nonstamping distributor on the back of the return. 
 

 

Effect on Other Documents: Informational 
Publication 2006(12), Q&A on Purchases of Vessels, 
is modified and superseded to the extent it addresses 
the exclusion from boat mooring and storage 
services. 
 

 

Effect of This Document: A Special Notice 
announces a new policy or practice in response to 
changes in state or federal laws or regulations or to 
judicial decisions. A Special Notice indicates an 
informal interpretation of Connecticut tax law by the 
DRS. 

For Further Information: Call DRS during 
business hours, Monday through Friday: 

 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the 
Greater Hartford calling area only); or 

 860-297-5962 (from anywhere). 

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may 
transmit inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911. 
 

 

Forms and Publications: Visit the DRS website at 
www.ct.gov/DRS to download and print Connecticut 
tax forms and publications. 
 

 

Paperless Filing/Payment Methods (fast, 
easy, free, and confidential): Business and 
individual taxpayers can use the Taxpayer Service 
Center (TSC) at www.ct.gov/TSC to file a variety of 
tax returns, update account information, and make 
payments online. 

File Electronically: You can choose first-time filer 
information and filing assistance or log directly into 
the TSC to file returns and pay taxes. 

Pay Electronically: You can pay taxes for tax 
returns that cannot be filed through the TSC. Log in 
and select the Make Payment Only option. Designate 
a payment date up to the due date of the tax and mail 
a paper return to complete the filing process. 
 

 

DRS E-Alerts Service: Get connected to the latest 
news from DRS. Receive notification by email of 
changes to legislation, policies, and procedures. 
DRS E-Alerts provide information for employer’s 
withholding tax, News – Press Releases, and Top 100 
Delinquency List. Visit the DRS website at 
www.ct.gov/DRS and select Sign up for e-alerts 
under How Do I? on the gold navigation bar. 
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