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 STATE OF CONNECTICUT    SN 2014(3) 
 DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES 

 
25 Sigourney Street Ste 2 
Hartford CT 06106‐5032 

     SPECIAL NOTICE 

2014 Legislative Changes to the Sales and Use Taxes, Room Occupancy 
Tax, Prepaid Wireless E 9-1-1 Fee and Admissions Tax 

 

 

Purpose: This Special Notice summarizes legislative 
changes made during the 2014 regular session of the 
Connecticut General Assembly affecting the sales and 
use taxes, room occupancy tax, admissions tax, and 
prepaid wireless E 9-1-1 fee.  
 

 

New Due Dates for Payment of Taxes and for 
Filing Returns:  Under Connecticut law, the due date 
for paying sales and use taxes and the due date for the 
filing of sales and use taxes returns are the same.  
Pursuant to legislation enacted in 2014, these due dates 
have been changed from the last day of the month 
following the end of the applicable monthly or quarterly 
period to the 20th day of the month following the end of 
the applicable monthly or quarterly period.  The actual 
implementation of the changes in the due dates will take 
effect in 2015 and the Department of Revenue Services 
(DRS) will issue additional guidance to taxpayers in 
advance of the implementation date. 

It is important to note that the changes in these due 
dates also apply for purposes of the room occupancy 
tax and the prepaid wireless E 9-1-1 fee.  
 

 

Admissions to Two Venues Become Exempt 
from Admissions Tax: Admissions charges made 
on and after July 1, 2014 for events at the XL Center in 
Hartford and the Webster Bank Arena in Bridgeport are 
exempt. However, charges made before July 1, 2014 for 
events taking place after this date remain taxable.  
 

 

Sales and Use Tax Exemptions: 

Clothing and Footwear: Effective for sales occurring 
on and after July 1, 2015, sales of any article of 
clothing or footwear intended to be worn on or about 
the human body costing under $50 are exempt.  

Exemption for Nonprescription Drugs and 
Medicines: Effective for sales occurring on and after 
April 1, 2015, sales of nonprescription drugs and 
medicines will be exempt.  The exemption will apply to 
sales of the following nonprescription drugs or medicines 
available for purchase for use in or on the body:  
 Vitamin or mineral concentrates;  
 Dietary supplements;  
 Natural or herbal drugs or medicines;  
 Products intended to be taken for coughs, cold, 

asthma or allergies, or antihistamines;  
 Laxatives;  
 Antidiarrheal medicines;  
 Analgesics;  
 Antibiotic, antibacterial, antiviral and antifungal 

medicines;  
 Antiseptics;  
 Astringents;  
 Anesthetics;  
 Steroidal medicines;  
 Anthelmintics;  
 Emetics and antiemetics;  
 Antacids; and  
 Any medication prepared to be used in the eyes, 

ears or nose.  

Nonprescription drugs or medicines do not include 
cosmetics, dentrifrices, mouthwash, shaving and hair 
care products, soaps or deodorants. These items will 
remain taxable. 

Exemption for Sales to and by an Acute Care 
Hospital: For the period from July 1, 2014 to 
June 30, 2017, the sale of tangible personal property 
or services to and by an acute care hospital, operating 
as a sole community hospital in this state for its 
exclusive purposes are exempt. 

Sole community hospital has the meaning described in 
42 CFR 412.92, as one that is more than 35 miles from 
similar hospitals or located in a rural area and meets 
one of several other conditions.  
 

Note: Although the exemption for articles of clothing 
and footwear costing less than $50 will not be available 
until July 1, 2015, the one-week exclusion for clothing 
and footwear costing less than $300 per item from the 
third Sunday in August through the following Saturday 
remains in effect for 2014. 
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Exemption for Sales to Connecticut Credit Unions: 
Effective for sales occurring on and after July 1, 2016, 
sales of tangible personal property or services to, and 
the storage, use or other consumption of tangible 
personal property or services by, a Connecticut credit 
union are exempt from sales and use taxes.  

Connecticut credit union is defined in Conn. Gen. Stat. 
§36a-2(13).    
 

 

Certain Delinquent Taxpayers May Be 
Required to Make Weekly Payments of Sales 
and Use Taxes: The DRS may require, by written 
notice, certain delinquent taxpayers to remit sales and 
use taxes on a weekly basis. The DRS is in the process 
of developing guidance with regard to the 
implementation of this new legislation and expects to 
begin contacting affected taxpayers in early 2015. 

The new legislation prescribes that a weekly period 
will run from Saturday to Friday with each payment to 
be made by the Wednesday of the following week. 
 

 

Department of Motor Vehicles Will Not Grant 
or Renew Delinquent Taxpayers’ Seller’s 
Licenses: Effective July 1, 2014, the Department of 
Motor Vehicles (DMV) will not grant or renew a 
license to buy or sell cars if the applicant or licensee is 
delinquent in paying sales tax. This affects the 
following licenses that allow a business to buy or sell 
motor vehicles:  
 New car dealer;  
 Used car dealer;  
 Repairer; and  
 Limited repairer. 
 

 

Effective Date: As noted above.  
 

 

Statutory Authority: 2014 Conn. Pub. Acts 47, 
§§47-49; 2014 Conn. Pub. Acts 130, §15; 2014 Conn. 
Pub. Acts 155, §14; 2014 Conn. Pub. Acts 217, §§196, 
223, 225. 
 

 

Effect on Other Documents: 

Special Notice 2013(5), 2013 Legislative Changes 
Affecting Sales and Use Taxes, is modified and 
superseded in part, with regard to the effective date for 
the exemption for clothing and footwear. 

Effect of This Document: A Special Notice 
announces a new policy or practice in response to 
changes in state or federal laws or regulations or to 
judicial decisions. A Special Notice indicates an 
informal interpretation of Connecticut tax law by 
DRS. 
 

 

For Further Information: Call DRS during 
business hours, Monday through Friday: 

 1-800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the 
Greater Hartford calling area only); or 

 860-297-5962 (from anywhere). 

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may 
transmit inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911. 
 

 

Forms and Publications: Visit the DRS website at 
www.ct.gov/DRS to download and print Connecticut 
publications and tax forms for your records. 

 

 

Paperless Filing/Payment Methods (fast, 
easy, free, and confidential): Business and 
individual taxpayers can use the Taxpayer Service 
Center (TSC) at www.ct.gov/TSC to file a variety of 
tax returns, update account information, and make 
payments online. 

File Electronically: You can choose first-time filer 
information and filing assistance or log directly into 
the TSC to file returns and pay taxes. 

Pay Electronically: You can pay taxes for tax returns 
that cannot be filed through the TSC. Log in and select 
the Make Payment Only option. Designate a payment 
date up to the due date of the tax and mail a paper 
return to complete the filing process. 
 

 

DRS E-Alerts Service: Get connected to the latest 
news from DRS. Receive notification by email of 
changes to legislation, policies, and procedures. 
DRS E-Alerts provide information for employer’s 
withholding tax, News – Press Releases, and Top 100 
Delinquency List. Visit the DRS website at 
www.ct.gov/DRS and select Sign up for e-alerts under 
How Do I? on the gold navigation bar. 
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REMINDER: Beginning with tax periods on or after
January 1, 2014, all sales and use taxes, business use tax, 
room occupancy tax, admission and dues tax, income tax 
withholding, corporation business tax, and composite 
income tax must be filed and paid electronically.


