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 STATE OF CONNECTICUT SN 2019(9) 

 DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE SERVICES 
 

450 Columbus Blvd Ste 1 

Hartford CT 06103-1837 

  SPECIAL NOTICE 

Room Occupancy Tax on Short-Term Rentals 
 

 

Purpose: This Special Notice describes the 

Connecticut room occupancy tax as it applies to 

short-term accommodations in Connecticut. This 

Special Notice also describes the responsibilities of 

short-term rental facilitators in complying with 

Connecticut room occupancy tax legislation enacted 

by 2019 Conn. Pub. Acts 117, §§ 329-330, which 

becomes effective October 1, 2019.  
 

 

Room Occupancy Tax: Connecticut room 

occupancy tax applies to transfers for consideration 

of the occupancy of any room or rooms in a hotel, 

lodging house, or bed and breakfast establishment for 

up to 30 consecutive calendar days. The tax rate is 

15% (11% for bed and breakfast establishments) of 

the total payment received for occupancy of the room 

or rooms for up to 30 consecutive calendar days. 

Beginning on the 31st consecutive day of occupancy 

by the same person, the tax no longer applies.  
 

 

Short-Term Home Rentals: The short-term rental 

of all or a portion of a home is subject to room 

occupancy tax at the current rate of 15%. The terms 

of the contract between the operator and renter 

control whether there is a short-term rental of real 

property subject to room occupancy tax. Charges for 

services, accommodations, and other amenities 

provided by the owner or operator and accompanying 

occupancy are subject to room occupancy tax, 

whether or not separately stated. 

Rental contracts for a period of less than 90 days, 

including month-to-month contracts, are considered 

short-term rentals subject to room occupancy tax for 

the first 30 days of occupancy. 

Room occupancy tax does not apply to rental 

contracts for a period of at least 90 consecutive 

calendar days. Continued tenancy by the same renter 

after the term of such a contract expires is not subject 

to the room occupancy tax. 

A business may enter into a rental contract to keep a 

home on a long-term basis for use by its personnel. 

Room occupancy tax does not apply to the rental 

contract with the business if it is for a period of 

90 days or more. 

Room occupancy tax does not apply to rental 

contracts of any length if the owner or operator does 

not provide furnishings for the occupancy, including 

furniture and appliances. 
 

 

Short-Term Rental Facilitators: Beginning 

October 1, 2019, short-term rental facilitators are 

required to collect and remit room occupancy tax on 

Connecticut short-term rentals that they facilitate. 

This requirement applies to the facilitation of all 

short-term rentals (as defined in the new law, below) 

subject to the room occupancy tax, including short-

term home rentals. 

“Short-term rental” means the transfer for 

consideration of the occupancy in a furnished 

residence or similar accommodation for a period of 

30 days or less. A residence may include all or a 

portion of a home, apartment, condominium, or 

similar dwelling.  

A “short-term rental facilitator” means any person that:  

 Facilitates retail sales of at least $250,000 during 

the prior twelve-month period by short-term 

rental operators by providing a short-term rental 

platform;  

 Directly or indirectly through agreements or 

arrangements with third parties, collects rent for 

occupancy and remits payments to the short-term 

rental operators; and  

 Receives compensation or other consideration for 

such services. 

“Short-term rental platform” means a physical or 

electronic place, including, but not limited to, a store, 

a booth, an Internet website, a catalog or a dedicated 

software application that allows short-term rental 

operators to display available accommodations to 

prospective guests. Such platforms may include 

travel websites, home-sharing websites, and real 

estate agent offices or websites. 
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The $250,000 retail sales threshold includes all retail 

sales facilitated through a short-term rental platform, 

not just Connecticut retail sales.  

The threshold is determined using the period from 

October 1 to September 30 of the prior calendar year. 

In determining whether a short-term rental facilitator 

is required to register with the Department of 

Revenue Services (DRS) as of October 1, 2019, the 

short-term rental facilitator must determine the 

amount of retail sales it facilitated during the period 

from October 1, 2018, to September 30, 2019. A 

facilitator must perform this analysis each year to 

determine whether it has met the threshold amount of 

retail sales and must register with DRS.  
 

 

Responsibilities of Short-Term Rental 
Facilitators: The short-term rental facilitator is 

considered the retailer of the short-term rentals it 

facilitates. Each short-term rental facilitator must: 

 Register with DRS for the room occupancy tax 
using Form REG-1, Business Taxes Registration 
Application; 

 Collect and remit the room occupancy tax on 
Form OP-210, Room Occupancy Tax Return, for 
each Connecticut short-term rental it facilitates; 

 Comply with all obligations imposed by 
Connecticut room occupancy tax laws, as if the 
facilitator was the retailer of the short-term 
rentals, including timely filing all returns; and 

 Keep such records and information as may be 
required by DRS. 

Any facilitators who have entered into agreements 

with DRS prior to October 1, 2019, to voluntarily 

collect and remit the tax must comply with any new 

requirements beginning October 1, 2019. 
 

 

Short-Term Rental Operators: A “short-term 

rental operator” is any person that has an agreement 

with a short-term rental facilitator regarding the 

listing or advertising of a short-term rental in 

Connecticut.  

The collection requirements of short-term rental 

operators depend on whether or not their sales are 

made exclusively through one or more short-term 

rental facilitators. 
 

 

Responsibilities of Short-Term Rental 
Operators: A short-term rental operator is not liable 

for the collection of the room occupancy tax to the 

extent that a short-term rental facilitator collected the 

tax due. The short-term rental operator is still 

considered the retailer for any sales which are not 

made through a short-term rental facilitator, and must 

collect and remit room occupancy tax on those sales. 

If a short-term rental operator offers rentals 

exclusively through one or more short-term rental 

facilitators, the short-term rental operator is not 

required to register with DRS for room occupancy tax.  

If a short-term rental operator makes sales directly to 

customers in addition to sales through a short-term 

rental facilitator, the operator is still required to 

register for the room occupancy tax and collect the 

tax on its direct sales. On its Form OP-210, the 

short-term rental operator must only include its direct 

sales in its taxable receipts. 
 

 

Effective Date: October 1, 2019, and applicable to 

sales occurring on or after October 1, 2019. 
 

 

Statutory Authority: 2019 Conn. Pub. Acts 117, 

§§ 329, 330; Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-407(a); Conn. 

Gen. Stat. § 12-407(a)(12), as amended by 2019 

Conn. Pub. Acts 117, § 330; Conn. Gen. Stat. 

§ 12-408(1)(B); Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-411(1)(B). 
 

 

Effect on Other Documents: Policy 

Statement 2017(3), Room Occupancy Tax on 

Short-Term Home Rentals, is modified and superseded 

and may not be relied upon on or after the date of 

issuance of this Special Notice. 
 

 

Effect of This Document: A Special Notice 

announces a new policy or practice in response to 

changes in state or federal laws or regulations or to 

judicial decisions. A Special Notice indicates an 

informal interpretation of Connecticut tax law by DRS. 
 

 

For Further Information: Call DRS during 

business hours, Monday through Friday: 

 800-382-9463 (Connecticut calls outside the 

Greater Hartford calling area only); or 

 860-297-5962 (from anywhere). 

TTY, TDD, and Text Telephone users only may 

transmit inquiries anytime by calling 860-297-4911. 
 

 

Forms and Publications: Visit the DRS website at 

portal.ct.gov/DRS to download and print Connecticut 

tax forms and publications. 

https://portal.ct.gov/DRS
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Paperless Filing/Payment Methods (fast, 
easy, free, and confidential): Business and 

individual taxpayers can use the Taxpayer Service 

Center (TSC) at portal.ct.gov/TSC to file a variety of 

tax returns, update account information, and make 

payments online. 

File Electronically: You can choose first-time filer 

information and filing assistance or log directly into 

the TSC to file returns and pay taxes. 

Pay Electronically: You can pay taxes for tax 

returns that cannot be filed through the TSC. Log in 

and select the Make Payment Only option. Choose a 

payment date up to the due date of the tax and mail a 

paper return to complete the filing process. 
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