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PARTNERSHIPS EXPAND TO NEW STATES 
 

The Deficit Reduction Act (DRA) of 2005 removed restrictions that had been in 
place since 1993 on new states who wished to develop Partnership for Long-
Term Care programs.  With these restrictions lifted, the DRA set the stage for 
Partnerships to expand to new states.  To date, three new states, Florida, Idaho 
and Minnesota have received approval to implement Partnership programs. 
 
Two more states, Georgia and Nebraska have applied for federal approval for a 
Partnership plan and there are likely close to 20 other states who are interested 
in developing a Partnership plan.  We will provide updates to you as more states 
receive federal approval for a Partnership program. 
 
In early 2007, the federal Department of Health and Human Services will be 
developing standards for reciprocity between Partnership states.  Our hope is 
that these standards will lead to more reciprocal agreements along the lines of 
the agreement Connecticut currently has with Indiana for the granting of 
Medicaid Asset Protection.   We will provide you with updated information on 
reciprocity as it becomes available to us.   
 
 

PARTNERSHIP SALES CONTINUE TO GROW 
 

In the quarter ending September 30, 2006, total Partnership sales passed the 
42,000 level with 42,730 sold to date.  In addition, over 840 Partnership 
applications were submitted, bringing the total number of applications to more 
than 52,500. 
 
93% of purchasers are under the age of seventy and 79% under the age of 65.  
The average age at time of purchase is 58 and the average maximum benefit 
purchased is $228,674  In addition, over $29 million in Medicaid Asset Protection 
has been earned as of 9/30/06 by Partnership policyholders receiving benefits 
under their policies.  For additional information about Partnership sales, go to the 
Partnership’s website at www.opm.state.ct.us/pdpd4/ltc/consumer/stats.htm      

http://www.opm.state.ct.us/pdpd4/ltc/consumer/stats.htm


 
 

POLICY COMPARISONS REPORT 
 
The Partnership’s Policy Comparisons Report has been revised to reflect 
updated information for 2007 for the Partnership’s minimum daily benefit levels 
and tax-qualified policies.   

 
To order copies of the January 2007 report, simply send an e-mail to: 
david.guttchen@po.state.ct.us - we will be able to provide up to 10 copies 
of the report per request.  Please note that, due to an anticipated high 
demand, it may take 2-4 weeks for delivery of your order.  Please include 
your mailing address in your email. 

 
 

WANTED 
 
Insurance professionals who have sold more than 10 CT Partnership policies 
during the six-month period between July 1st and December 31st 2006.  Please 
e-mail the Partnership office at david.guttchen@po.state.ct.us and give us your 
name and the number of policies you sold during the past 6 months.  Producers 
who respond will be recognized in the Spring issue of Quarterly UPDATE.  As a 
reminder, we must hear from you if you wish to be recognized in our next 
Update.  We do not receive agent-specific sales information from the 
insurers. 
 
 

NEW MINIMUM BENEFIT LEVELS 
 
Effective January 1, 2007, the minimum benefit amounts that can be purchased 
under the CT Partnership are $167 per day for nursing home care and $83.50 
per day for home and community-based care.  These minimum daily benefit 
levels do not necessarily reflect the recommended amount to purchase.  Rather, 
they reflect the least amount in daily benefits that are allowed on a Partnership 
application. 
 
Please keep in mind that the daily benefits must meet the minimum requirements 
that are effective in the year the policy is issued.  For example, if an application 
was taken in early November 2006 and the policy was issued before December 
31st, 2006, the daily benefits must be equal to or greater than the minimum levels 
established for calendar year 2006.  However, if the policy was issued January 1, 
2007, or later in 2007, then the daily benefits must be equal to or greater than the 
minimum levels established for calendar year 2007. 

mailto:david.guttchen@po.state.ct.us
mailto:david.guttchen@po.state.ct.us


 
 
 
The minimum daily benefit requirements under the Partnership also apply to 
existing policyholders.  In other words, if a policyholder wishes to reduce their 
daily benefit, they cannot reduce it to a level that is below the Partnership 
minimum for the current year. 
 

 
SPOUSAL ASSET LIMITS 

FOR CT MEDICAID 
 
Effective January 1, 2007, the maximum amount of assets a spouse living at 
home can keep when his/her spouse is on Medicaid and receiving long-term care 
services is $101,640.  The revised minimum amount of assets a spouse can 
keep is $20,328.  (The primary residence is not considered a countable asset 
when one spouse is residing in it.)  Remember, these spousal asset limits do not 
apply to most people because only about 25% of individuals are married at the 
time they apply to Connecticut’s Medicaid Program for long-term care services. 

 
 
 

TAX QUALIFIED PREMIUM LIMITS FOR 2007 
 
The limits for how much premium can be counted as an unreimbursed medical 
expense for tax-qualified policies has been revised for taxes filed for calendar 
year 2007.  The new limits are noted below. 
 

Attained Age Before the Close of the Tax Year Tax Limitation on Premiums 
Calendar Year 2007 

40 or less $290 
41 – 50 $550 
51 – 60 $1,110 
61 – 70 $2,950 

71 and older $3,680 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



NEW “BEFORE YOU BUY” PUBLICATION 
 
The Partnership’s “Before You Buy” publication, that is required to be provided to 
every Partnership policy applicant, has been updated for 2007. 
 
“Before You Buy” can be downloaded from the Partnership’s website at:  
www.opm.state.ct.us/pdpd4/ltc/advisor/Publications.htm      
 
If you would prefer to obtain printed copies of “Before You Buy”, please contact 
your general agent or insurer.  It is their responsibility to distribute printed copies 
of the publication to their producers. 
 
Other Partnership publications available for downloading from the Partnership 
website are: 
 
Cost of Care in Connecticut 
Frequently Asked Questions 
Connecticut Partnership Policies Can Save You Money 
The Cost of Waiting to Buy Long-Term Care Insurance  
 
 
Please note that these Partnership publications are not to be modified or 
altered in any manner for any purpose. 
 
 
 

CT PARTNERSHIP  
CERTIFICATION TRAINING 

 
Approved by the State of Connecticut Insurance Dept.  

for 8 continuing education credits. 
 

Sponsor #S11843   Course #C19619 
 

Advance registration is required. 
 

For more information and a list of available classes visit the Partnership’s 
website.  To register call (860) 418-6318. 

 
Quarterly UPDATE is published for certified producers and other professionals 

by the State of Connecticut, Office of Policy & Management. 
Direct inquiries to: Connecticut Partnership for Long-Term Care, 450 Capitol Ave.- MS# 52LTC, 

Hartford, CT  06106-1308, (860) 418-6318. 
 

http://www.opm.state.ct.us/pdpd4/ltc/advisor/Publications.htm
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