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PARTNERSHIPS EXPAND TO NEW STATES 
 

The Deficit Reduction Act (DRA) of 2005 removed restrictions that had been in 
place since 1993 on new states who wished to develop Partnership for Long-
Term Care programs.  With these restrictions lifted, the DRA set the stage for 
Partnerships to expand to new states.  To date, 15 new states, have received 
approval to implement Partnership programs.  The new Partnership states are:  
Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, 
Nebraska, Nevada, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota and Virginia. 
 
Four more states, Arkansas, New Hampshire, Oklahoma and Pennsylvania 
have applied for federal approval for a Partnership plan and there are several 
other states who are interested in developing a Partnership plan.  We will provide 
updates to you as more states receive federal approval for a Partnership 
program. 
 
The federal Department of Health and Human Services is required to develop 
standards for reciprocity between Partnership states.  Our hope is that these 
standards will be in place in the near future and will lead to more reciprocal 
agreements along the lines of the agreement Connecticut currently has with 
Indiana for the granting of Medicaid Asset Protection.   We will provide you with 
updated information on reciprocity as it becomes available to us.   
 
 

PARTNERSHIP SALES CONTINUE TO GROW 
 

In the quarter ending September 30, 2007, total Partnership sales passed the 
45,000 level with 45,430 sold to date.  In addition, over 910 Partnership 
applications were submitted during the quarter, bringing the total number of 
applications to more than 55,900. 
 
94% of purchasers are under the age of seventy and 80% under the age of 65.  
The average age at time of purchase is 58 and the average maximum benefit 
purchased is $234,392  In addition, over $40 million in Medicaid Asset Protection 
has been earned as of 9/30/07 by Partnership policyholders receiving benefits 
under their policies.  For additional information about Partnership sales, go to the 
Partnership’s website at www.ctpartnership.org. 
      

http://www.ctpartnership.org/


POLICY COMPARISONS REPORT 
 
The Partnership’s Policy Comparisons Report has been revised to reflect 
updated information for 2008 regarding the Partnership’s minimum daily benefit 
levels and tax-qualified policies.   

 
To order copies of the January 2008 report, simply send an e-mail to: 
david.guttchen@ct.gov - we will be able to provide up to 10 copies of the 
report per request.  Please note that, due to an anticipated high demand, it 
may take 2-4 weeks for delivery of your order.  Please include your mailing 
address in your email. 

 
 

WANTED 
 
Insurance professionals who have sold more than 10 CT Partnership policies 
during the six-month period between July 1st and December 31st 2007.  Please 
e-mail the Partnership office at david.guttchen@ct.gov and give us your name 
and the number of policies you sold during the past 6 months.  Producers who 
respond will be recognized in the Spring issue of Quarterly UPDATE.  As a 
reminder, we must hear from you if you wish to be recognized in our next 
Update.  We do not receive agent-specific sales information from the 
insurers. 
 

NEW MINIMUM BENEFIT LEVELS 
 
Effective January 1, 2008, the minimum benefit amounts that can be purchased 
under the CT Partnership are $175 per day for nursing home care and $87.50 
per day for home and community-based care.  These minimum daily benefit 
levels do not necessarily reflect the recommended amount to purchase.  Rather, 
they reflect the least amount in daily benefits that are allowed on a Partnership 
application. 
 
Recently a revision to the Partnership regulations was approved by 
Connecticut’s legislature.  With this revision the Partnership minimum daily 
benefit is now based on the date of application as opposed to the prior 
method of using the date of issue.  Under this new method it does not 
matter when the policy is issued.  The minimum benefit required will be 
based on the date the application is taken.  Therefore, someone applying 
for Partnership coverage on 12/31/08 would be subject to the 2008 
minimum benefit requirements even though the policy would be issued in 
2009. 
 

mailto:david.guttchen@ct.gov
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Please note that this regulatory revision is effective with policies applied for 
beginning in 2008 and going forward.  Therefore, individuals who have 
applied for Partnership policies in 2007 and have an issue date in 2008 
must meet the 2008 minimum daily benefit requirements. 
 
The minimum daily benefit requirements under the Partnership also apply to 
existing policyholders.  In other words, if a policyholder wishes to reduce their 
daily benefit, they cannot reduce it to a level that is below the Partnership 
minimum for the current year. 
 

 
SPOUSAL ASSET LIMITS 

FOR CT MEDICAID 
 
Effective January 1, 2008, the maximum amount of assets a spouse living at 
home can keep when his/her spouse is on Medicaid and receiving long-term care 
services is $104,400.  The revised minimum amount of assets a spouse can 
keep is $20,880.  (The primary residence is not considered a countable asset 
when one spouse is residing in it.)  Remember, these spousal asset limits do not 
apply to most people because only about 20% of individuals are married at the 
time they apply to Connecticut’s Medicaid Program for long-term care services. 

 
 
 

TAX QUALIFIED PREMIUM LIMITS FOR 2008 
 
The limits for how much premium can be counted as an unreimbursed medical 
expense for tax-qualified policies has been revised for taxes filed for calendar 
year 2008.  The new limits are noted below. 
 

Attained Age Before the Close of the Tax Year Tax Limitation on Premiums 
Calendar Year 2008 

40 or less    $310 
41 – 50    $580 
51 – 60 $1,150 
61 – 70 $3,080 

71 and older $3,850 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
NEW “BEFORE YOU BUY” PUBLICATION 

 
The Partnership’s “Before You Buy” publication, that is required to be provided to 
every Partnership policy applicant, has been updated for 2008. 
 
“Before You Buy” can be downloaded from the Partnership’s website at:   
 
http://www.ct.gov/opm/cwp/view.asp?a=2995&q=383402
 
If you would prefer to obtain printed copies of “Before You Buy”, please contact 
your general agent or insurer.  It is their responsibility to distribute printed copies 
of the publication to their producers. 
 
Other Partnership publications available for downloading from the Partnership 
website are: 
 
Cost of Care in Connecticut 
Frequently Asked Questions 
Connecticut Partnership Policies Can Save You Money 
The Cost of Waiting to Buy Long-Term Care Insurance  
 
 
Please note that these Partnership publications are not to be modified or 
altered in any manner for any purpose. 
 
 
 

NEW PARTNERSHIP TRAINING FORMAT PROVIDES REFRESHER 
COURSE OPPORTUNITY FOR CERTIFIED AGENTS 

 
As reported in the last Partnership Quarterly Update, the Partnership has 
instituted a new format for its Producer Certification Training program.   
 
By regulation, any producer who wishes to sell or market a CT Partnership policy 
must have at least 7 hours of training on long-term care issues and the 
Partnership.  This training requirement had been met by producers attending a 7 
hour classroom training conducted by CT Partnership staff. 
 
The new training format consists of two components. 
 
 
 
 
The first component is a Prerequisite Online Course that covers basic long-
term care subjects, including how long-term care insurance works, Medicare, 

http://www.ct.gov/opm/cwp/view.asp?a=2995&q=383402


Medicaid, etc.  This course is currently being offered by an outside vendor, with 
additional vendors likely to be approved to offer the course in the future.  The 
course culminates in an exam that must be passed in order to be eligible to 
register for the second component of the training.  The fee for the online course 
and its related Continuing Education Credits will be handled directly by the 
vendor(s). 
 
The second mandatory component of the training is a 4 hour Classroom 
Training Course to be conducted by CT Partnership staff.  This training will 
focus solely on the Partnership.  Only producers who take the Prerequisite 
Online Course are eligible to register for the Partnership classroom course.  The 
fee for the Partnership classroom course has been reduced from $200 to $125.  
Completion of both components is required before a producer will be certified to 
sell Partnership policies. 
 
This new training format only applies to producers who have NOT yet been 
Partnership certified.  If you are already Partnership certified, you are not 
required to take any additional Partnership courses since the Partnership 
certification is a one-time requirement. 
 
However, if you are already Partnership certified, you are welcome to attend the 
Partnership’s new 4 hour training course.  If you are already Partnership 
certified, you will not be required to take the Prerequisite Online Course in 
order to register for the Partnership classroom course.  We will just need to 
verify your Partnership certification when you call to register.  The 4 hour 
Partnership training course can provide a useful refresher for producers 
who are already Partnership certified, especially those that attended the 
Partnership training many years ago. 
 
 
For detailed information on the new training format, visit the Partnership website 
at: 
 
http://www.ct.gov/opm/cwp/view.asp?a=2995&q=383398
 
 

Quarterly UPDATE is published for certified producers and other professionals 
by the State of Connecticut, Office of Policy & Management. 

Direct inquiries to: Connecticut Partnership for Long-Term Care, 450 Capitol Ave.- MS# 52LTC, 
Hartford, CT  06106-1379, (860) 418-6318. 

http://www.ct.gov/opm/cwp/view.asp?a=2995&q=383398

	Quarterly UPDATE 
	PARTNERSHIP SALES CONTINUE TO GROW 
	POLICY COMPARISONS REPORT 
	WANTED 
	NEW MINIMUM BENEFIT LEVELS 
	SPOUSAL ASSET LIMITS 
	FOR CT MEDICAID 
	 
	TAX QUALIFIED PREMIUM LIMITS FOR 2008 
	NEW “BEFORE YOU BUY” PUBLICATION 
	NEW PARTNERSHIP TRAINING FORMAT PROVIDES REFRESHER COURSE OPPORTUNITY FOR CERTIFIED AGENTS 


