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PARTNERSHIP EXPANSION CONTINUES 
 

The Deficit Reduction Act (DRA) of 2005 removed restrictions that had been in 
place since 1993 on new states who wished to develop Partnership for Long-
Term Care programs.  With these restrictions lifted, the DRA set the stage for 
Partnerships to expand to new states.  To date, 24 new states have received 
approval to implement Partnership programs.  The new Partnership states are:  
Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, 
Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Dakota, 
Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, 
Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and Wisconsin.  This is in addition to the four 
original Partnership programs in California, Connecticut, Indiana and New 
York. 
 
Two other states, Arizona and Kentucky have applied for federal approval and 
there are several other states who are interested in developing a Partnership 
program.  We will provide updates to you as more states receive federal approval 
for a Partnership program. 
 
The federal Department of Health and Human Services recently released its 
standards for reciprocity between Partnership states.  If all goes well the 
reciprocity standards will be effective in January 2009.  The standards will create 
a reciprocity compact whereby any state that is part of the compact agrees to 
have reciprocity for the granting of Medicaid Asset Protection with any other state 
in the compact.  Connecticut has started the process to join the compact with the 
hope that Connecticut will be officially part of the compact sometime in early 
2009.  It won’t be known which states have joined the compact until the 
beginning of 2009.  We will provide you with updated information on reciprocity 
as it becomes available to us.   
 
 
 



 
 
Please note that states can opt in and out of the reciprocity compact over 
time.  Therefore, what matters is whether Connecticut has reciprocity for 
Medicaid Asset Protection with another state at the point an individual 
applies to that other state’s Medicaid program.  Just because Connecticut 
might currently have reciprocity with another state does not guarantee that 
such reciprocity with be in place when your client applies to Medicaid.   
 
Because of this, we advise that a decision to purchase a Partnership policy 
should not be made based on reciprocity with other states.  Reciprocity 
should be viewed as a potential bonus for your clients that doesn’t add to 
the cost for a Partnership policy.  The only firm guarantee we can provide 
to a Connecticut Partnership policyholder is that Connecticut’s Medicaid 
program will recognize their earned Medicaid Asset Protection. 
 
If you have any questions regarding reciprocity, please email David 
Guttchen at david.guttchen@ct.gov. 
 
 

 
PARTNERSHIP SALES CONTINUE TO GROW 

 
In the quarter ending September 30, 2008, total Partnership sales passed the 
49,000 level with 49,209 sold to date.  In addition, over 980 Partnership 
applications were submitted during the quarter, bringing the total number of 
applications to more than 60,500. 
 
94% of purchasers are under the age of seventy and 81% under the age of 65.  
The average age at time of purchase is 58 and the average maximum benefit 
purchased is $240,006.  In addition, over $53 million in Medicaid Asset 
Protection had been earned as of 9/30/08 by Partnership policyholders receiving 
benefits under their policies.  For additional information about Partnership sales, 
go to the Partnership’s website at  
http://www.ct.gov/opm/cwp/view.asp?a=2995&q=383430. 
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POLICY COMPARISONS REPORT 
 
The Partnership’s Policy Comparisons Report has been revised to reflect 
updated information for 2009 regarding the Partnership’s minimum daily benefit 
levels and tax-qualified policies.   
 
In addition, in the revised Report, the American Network insurance company has 
been removed since they ceased selling long-term care insurance in October 
2008. 

 
To order copies of the January 2009 report, simply send an e-mail to: 
david.guttchen@ct.gov - we will be able to provide up to 10 copies of the 
report per request.  Please note that, due to an anticipated high demand, it 
may take 2-4 weeks for delivery of your order.  Please include your mailing 
address in your email. 

 
 

WANTED 
 
Insurance professionals who have sold more than 10 CT Partnership policies 
during the six-month period between July 1st and December 31st 2008.  Please 
e-mail the Partnership office at david.guttchen@ct.gov and give us your name 
and the number of policies you sold during the past 6 months.  Producers who 
respond will be recognized in the Spring issue of Quarterly UPDATE.  As a 
reminder, we must hear from you if you wish to be recognized in our next 
Update.  We do not receive agent-specific sales information from the 
insurers. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

mailto:david.guttchen@ct.gov
mailto:david.guttchen@ct.gov


 

NEW MINIMUM BENEFIT LEVELS 
 
Effective January 1, 2009, the minimum benefit amounts that can be purchased 
under the CT Partnership are $184 per day for nursing home care and $92 per 
day for home and community-based care.  These minimum daily benefit levels 
do not necessarily reflect the recommended amount to purchase.  Rather, they 
reflect the least amount in daily benefits that are allowed on a Partnership 
application.  Please note that insurers can set their own minimum benefit 
levels for their Partnership plans as long as the amount equals or exceeds 
the Partnership minimums. 
 
The Partnership minimum daily benefits are now based on the date of 
application as opposed to the prior method of using the date of issue.  
Under this new method it does not matter when the policy is issued.  The 
minimum benefit required will be based on the date the application is taken.  
Therefore, someone applying for Partnership coverage on 12/31/09 would 
be subject to the 2009 minimum benefit requirements even though the 
policy would be issued in 2010. 
 
The minimum daily benefit requirements under the Partnership also apply to 
existing policyholders.  In other words, if a policyholder wishes to reduce their 
daily benefit, they cannot reduce it to a level that is below the Partnership 
minimum for the current year. 
 

 
SPOUSAL ASSET LIMITS 

FOR CT MEDICAID 
 
Effective January 1, 2009 the revised maximum amount of assets a spouse living 
at home can keep when his/her spouse is on Medicaid and receiving long-term 
care services is $109,560.  The revised minimum amount of assets a spouse can 
keep is $21,912.  (The primary residence is not considered a countable asset 
when one spouse is residing in it.)  Remember, these spousal asset limits do not 
apply to most people because only about 20% of individuals are married at the 
time they apply to Connecticut’s Medicaid Program for long-term care services. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
 

TAX QUALIFIED PREMIUM LIMITS FOR 2009 
 
The limits for how much premium can be counted as an unreimbursed medical 
expense for tax-qualified policies has been revised for taxes filed for calendar 
year 2009.  The new limits are noted below. 
 

Attained Age Before the Close of the Tax Year Tax Limitation on Premiums 
Calendar Year 2009 

40 or less    $320 
41 – 50    $600 
51 – 60 $1,190 
61 – 70 $3,180 

71 and older $3,980 
 
 
 

NEW “BEFORE YOU BUY” PUBLICATION 
 
The Partnership’s “Before You Buy” publication, that is required to be provided to 
every Partnership policy applicant, has been updated for 2009. 
 
“Before You Buy” can be downloaded from the Partnership’s website at:   
 
http://www.ct.gov/opm/cwp/view.asp?a=2995&q=383402
 
If you would prefer to obtain printed copies of “Before You Buy”, please contact 
your general agent or insurer.  It is their responsibility to distribute printed copies 
of the publication to their producers. 
 
Other Partnership publications available for downloading from the Partnership 
website are: 
 
Cost of Care in Connecticut 
Frequently Asked Questions 
Connecticut Partnership Policies Can Save You Money 
The Cost of Waiting to Buy Long-Term Care Insurance  
 
 
Please note that these Partnership publications are not to be modified or 
altered in any manner for any purpose. 
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NEW PARTNERSHIP TRAINING FORMAT PROVIDES REFRESHER 
COURSE OPPORTUNITY FOR CERTIFIED AGENTS 

 
As reported in previous Partnership Quarterly Updates, the Partnership has 
instituted a new format for its Producer Certification Training program.   
 
By regulation, any producer who wishes to sell or market a CT Partnership policy 
must have at least 7 hours of training on long-term care issues and the 
Partnership.  This training requirement had been met by producers attending a 7 
hour classroom training conducted by CT Partnership staff. 
 
The new training format consists of two components. 
 
The first component is a Prerequisite Online Course that covers basic long-
term care subjects, including how long-term care insurance works, Medicare, 
Medicaid, etc.  This course is currently being offered by two outside vendors, 
while additional vendors may be approved to offer the course in the future.  The 
course culminates in an exam that must be passed in order to be eligible to 
register for the second component of the training.  The fee for the online course 
and its related Continuing Education Credits is handled directly by the vendors. 
 
The second mandatory component of the training is a 4 hour Classroom 
Training Course to be conducted by CT Partnership staff.  This training will 
focus solely on the Partnership.  Only producers who take the Prerequisite 
Online Course are eligible to register for the Partnership classroom course.  The 
fee for the Partnership classroom course is $125.  Completion of both 
components is required before a producer will be certified to sell Partnership 
policies. 
 
This new training format only applies to producers who have NOT yet been 
Partnership certified.  If you are already Partnership certified, you are not 
required to take any additional Partnership courses since the Partnership 
certification is a one-time requirement. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



However, if you are already Partnership certified, you are welcome to attend the 
Partnership’s new 4 hour training course.  If you are already Partnership 
certified, you will not be required to take the Prerequisite Online Course in 
order to register for the Partnership classroom course.  We will just need to 
verify your Partnership certification when you call to register.  The 4 hour 
Partnership training course can provide a useful refresher for producers 
who are already Partnership certified, especially those that attended the 
Partnership training many years ago. 
 
For detailed information on the new training format, visit the Partnership website 
at: 
 
http://www.ct.gov/opm/cwp/view.asp?a=2995&q=383398
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Quarterly UPDATE is published for certified producers and other professionals 
by the State of Connecticut, Office of Policy & Management. 

Direct inquiries to: Connecticut Partnership for Long-Term Care, 450 Capitol Ave.- MS# 52LTC, 
Hartford, CT  06106-1379, (860) 418-6318. 
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