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PARTNERSHIP REACHES NEW MILESTONES 
 

In the quarter ending March 31, 2006, Connecticut Partnership sales surpassed 
the 41,000 level with 41,362 Partnership policies purchased as of 3/31/06.  In 
addition, the number of Partnership applications submitted reached the 50,000 
level with 50,817 applications submitted as of 3/31/06. 
 
Ninety-three percent of purchasers were under the age of seventy, with 79% 
under the age of 65.  The average age at time of purchase is 58 and the average 
maximum benefit purchased is $225,914.  In addition, over $25 million in 
Medicaid Asset Protection had been earned as of 3/31/06 by Partnership 
policyholders receiving benefits under their policies.  34 Partnership 
policyholders have accessed Medicaid after first using their Partnership benefits.   
 
For additional information on Partnership sales, please visit the Partnership’s 
website at www.ctpartnership.org. 
 
 

JUST THE FACTS 
 
Q:     What type of inflation protection is required for LTC insurance products 

approved by the Partnership? 
 
A:     The Partnership requires that the daily, weekly or monthly benefits must 

increase by either 5% compounded annually or by changes in the average 
private pay rate.  Lifetime benefits for persons under age 65 also must 
increase by  5% compounded annually.  Persons age 65 and older may be 
offered the option to inflate only the daily, weekly and monthly benefits (and 
not the lifetime benefit).  The decision to offer this option for persons age 65 
and older rests with the company.  Therefore, the option may not be 
available from all insurance companies participating in the Partnership.  
Please consult the Partnership’s Policy Comparisons Report to learn which 
companies offer this option. 

 
 
 
 
 



 
Q: Once eligible for Medicaid, are there any restrictions on what Partnership 

policyholders can do with their protected assets? 
 
A: NO.  As far as CT’s Medicaid program is concerned, assets protected 

through the Partnership do not exist.  Therefore, the protected assets can 
be spent, transferred, donated, etc.  In addition, protected assets will NOT 
be recovered by Medicaid from the policyholder’s estate. 

 
 The only limitation placed on the policyholder is that the amount of assets 

protected under the Partnership are fixed based on the amount of benefits 
paid by the Partnership long-term care insurance policy.  This means any 
assets in excess of the amount protected under the Partnership and by 
other Medicaid allowances will need to be spent down. 

 
  Remember, the purpose of the Partnership's Medicaid Asset Protection 

feature is to give individuals control over their resources and to give them 
choices on how to utilize their assets.  This feature is provided by the State 
of Connecticut and does not add any cost to the premium. 

 
 

UPDATE ON MEDICAID PROVISIONS  
IN THE DEFICIT REDUCTION ACT  

   
In the last Partnership Quarterly Update we provided an overview of some of the 
Medicaid provisions included in the Deficit Reduction Act (DRA) that was passed 
by Congress and signed by President Bush on February 8, 2006.  Regarding the 
home equity provision, we provided the following information: 

 
Individuals with more than $500,000 in home equity are ineligible for 
Medicaid (states have the option to increase the home equity level to as 
high as $750,000 – CT has not yet decided what level it will allow).  If a 
spouse, child or adult disabled child is living in the home then the value of 
the home is not counted.  The maximum equity level amount will be 
increased each year starting in 2011 based on a formula.  The DRA does 
allow individuals to reduce the level of their home equity by taking out a 
reverse mortgage or a home equity loan. 

 
By way of an update, CT has officially decided to go to the $750,000 home 
equity level threshold.  As noted above, this figure will increase each year, 
starting in 2011, based on a formula tied to the Consumer Price Index. 
 

 



 
USE OF CT PARTNERSHIP LOGO  

 
The Connecticut Partnership logo can only be used by the Partnership office or 
by a participating insurance company in conjunction with their company’s logo, 
after receiving prior approval from the Partnership. 
 
Insurance agents and agencies are prohibited from using the Partnership 
logo.  Use of the Partnership logo by an agent or agency will result in a formal 
written complaint filed by the Partnership office with the Insurance Department. 

 
 

PUBLIC FORUMS 
 

In the near future, the Partnership will be scheduling its Public Forums for the 
Fall.  We will notify you of the dates and locations as soon as they are available.  
The Forum schedule will also be posted on the Partnership website at 
www.ctpartnership.org.  Click “Consumer” and then “Free Public Forums”. 
 
As a reminder, while agents are more than welcome to attend the Forums, no 
sales or solicitations are allowed at the events.   

 
 

INCREASE IN MEDICAID PERSONAL NEEDS ALLOWANCE 
 
Effective July 1, 2006, the Medicaid monthly personal needs allowance was 
increased to $61.00.  This is the amount a Connecticut Medicaid beneficiary who 
resides in a nursing home can keep each month to cover the cost of personal 
items such as clothing, toiletries, telephone, cable TV, etc.  All other income gets 
applied to the cost of care. 

 
 

WANTED 
 
Insurance professionals who have sold more than 10 CT Partnership policies 
during the six-month period between January 1st and June 30th 2006.  Please 
e-mail the Partnership office at david.guttchen@po.state.ct.us and give us your 
name and the number of policies you sold during the past 6 months.  Producers 
who respond will be recognized in the Fall issue of Quarterly UPDATE. 
 

 
 



 
CT PARTNERSHIP  

TRAINING CERTIFICATES 
 

The Partnership office has been conducting the required Partnership training 
sessions since 1994.  If you attended a training in 1994 or after and you’ve 
misplaced your training certificate, the Partnership office will have a copy of your 
certificate that we can provide you.  Just call us at 860-418-6318 or email at 
david.guttchen@po.state.ct.us. 
 
If you attended a training conducted before 1994, the Partnership office will not 
have a copy of your certificate on file.  In order to receive a copy of your 
certificate, you will need to contact Connie Fas at the CT Insurance Department 
at 860-297-3918 or email at Constantina.Fas@po.state.ct.us. 

 
 

CT PARTNERSHIP  
CERTIFICATION TRAINING 

 
Approved by the State of Connecticut Insurance Dept.  

for 8 continuing education credits. 
 

Sponsor #S11843   Course #C19619 
 

Advance registration is required. 
 

For more information and a list of available classes visit the Partnership’s 
website.  To register call (860) 418-6318. 

 
 

Quarterly UPDATE is published for certified producers and other professionals 
by the State of Connecticut, Office of Policy & Management. 
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