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The 2001-2002 school year was a busy one for the Bureau: new
requirements for criminal background checks have taken effect;
new assessments for world languages were adopted, and the ARC
program expanded.

The coming year will see a change in Bureau leadership. Dr.
Hilary E. Freedman is retiring, and Dr. Peter Behuniak will be-
come Acting Bureau Chief in August.

We hope the information contained in this newsletter is of help.
Our website is continually updated — please be sure to check it
frequently. www.state.ct.us/sde/dtl/cert/index.htm

Assessment Updates:

Praxis I — PPST has replaced the Praxis I - CBT.

Praxis I Waiver packets are available from, and processed by, the
Bureau.

ACTFL OPI and WPT exams replaced Praxis Il exams in Spanish,
German, French, and Italian. A score of “Intermediate High” is
required. Teachers may register for ACTFL by calling 914-948-
5100, or on line at www.languagetesting.com

Connecticut Administrator Test (CAT) is required for persons
applying for certification as intermediate administrators or su-
pervisors who are eligible for issuance of an initial or interim
initial educator certificate. CAT information is available from Heidi
. Goldsher at EASTCONN at 860-455-0707.

Legislative Action:

An Act Concerning Sexual Assault by a Coach or Instructor, Man-
dated Reporting of Child Abuse or Neglect and Issuance and Re-
vocation of Educator Certificates (Public Act 02-106)

The crimes of sexual assault in the 2™ and 4" degrees have been
expanded to include sexual intercourse (2™ degree) or sexual
contact (4" degree) with another person when the actor is a coach
in an athletic activity or a person who provides intensive, ongoing
instruction and the other person is the recipient of such coaching
or instruction and (1) is a secondary school student and receives
such coaching or instruction in a secondary school setting or (2)
is under 18 years of age. (Effective October 1, 2002.)

Coaches of intramural or interscholastic athletics are mandated

child abuse reporters. (Effective October 1, 2002)

Fines for mandated child abuse reporters who fail to make child
abuse reports have been increased to not less than $500 nor more
than $2,500. (Effective October 1, 2002)

Internet Updates:

Our website has certification forms and applications which can
be downloaded, completed, and mailed to the Bureau. There also
is information on CEUs, Title IX, multicultural education, and an
on-line presentation for graduates of Connecticut Educator Prepa-
ration Programs.

Durational Shortage Area Permits (DSAP):

A superintendent of schools may request a DSAP if a shortage
area has been established, or if a position cannot be filled by an
appropriately certified applicant. In order to review the request
for issuance of a DSAP, the following credentials must be sub-
mitted:

A DSAP application (ED 177);

Praxis [ PPST or Praxis I (PPST) waiver. (Not required
if the applicant holds a valid Connecticut certificate);

Official transcripts indicating the completion of a mini-
mum 12 semester hours of credit in the subject for which
the DSAP will be issued. (Official transcripts indicating
the completion of a bachelor’s degree must be included
if the applicant has never held certification in Connecti-
cut).

A letter from the superintendent of schools listing spe-
cific locations and dates of recent media advertiscments
for the position and outlining the steps taken to secure
an appropriately certified applicant. If appropriately cer-
tified applicants applied for this position, include a state-
ment as to why these candidates were not suitable for
the position. If the media advertisements are not recent,
include an explanation as to how this position has been
filled so far during the school year.

and ONE of the following:

ED 177 — Part VIII verifying enrollment in a planned



program leading to certification in the subject requested
or a letter verifying that the applicant has made applica-
tion to enroll in a planned program leading to certifica-
tion in the subject requested. The form or letter must be
completed and signed by the Certification Officer A
letter of application or acceptance into a master’s de-
gree program does not meet this requirement.

A copy of the letter of acceptance into the Alternate Route
to Certification (ARC) program. (Application for ad-
mission to the ARC program is not acceptable to meet
this requirement.)

DSAP Renewal

ED 177 —Part I, IL, I, TV, V1, VII

Official transcripts of any course work completed
while holding the DSAP.

Reminders:

Priority Review forms should be submitted with a candidate’s
application. Please remember that a priority form only works
effectively when all of the required information (transcripts, ex-
perience, etc.) is on file in the Bureau. The forms should only be
used when a district is interested in hiring an individual and needs
to determine certification status prior to issuing a contract.

Certificate validity dates are determined by the date that an appli-
cation is received in our office, if all requirements have been met
at that time.

During the summer the evaluation of applications may take 6 to 8
weeks.

There are many ways to contact the Bureau.
Web Site: www.state.ct.us/sde - Check the State De-
partment of Education (SDE) web site if
you have any questions. The SDE website
provides fact sheets, guides to assessments
and teacher preparation programs, lists of

approved courses, forms to download, links .

to related web sites, and other valuable in-

formation.
Email: teacher.cert@po.state.ct.us - General ques-
tions may be sent by e-mail. Including your
name, address, and social security number
will expedite a response. A detailed evalu-
ation of your credentials cannot be done
by e-mail.

FAX:

Telephone:

Office Hours:

Job Postings:

Mailing Address:

Express Mail:

(860) 713-7017 — FAX questions or re-
quests for course approvals. Do not FAX
applications or requests to review unoffi-
cial transcripts. A FAX is handled as cor-
respondence and will be entered as such and
given to the appropriate consultant for a
response in a timely manner. Including your
name, address, phone number, social secu-
rity number, and e-mail address will expe-
dite a response.

(860) 713-6969 — Available 24 hours a day
to check status of an application. Once a
certificate has been issued, a Faxed verifi-
cation can be requested by using the Inter-
active Voice Response (IVR) System. To
use the FAX verification option, listen to
the prompts on the Interactive Voice Re-
sponse (IVR) System for instructions.
Consultant support is available by phone for
general questions Monday to Friday from
1:00-5:00 PM. (Dial “O” anytime after the
greeting.)

8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. daily (Monday-Friday).
Applicants may pick up and drop off mate-
rials in Room 243, State Office Building,
165 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, however, we
cannot provide any evaluation services
at our reception area.

The Connecticut Regional Education Ap-
plication and Placement Program

(REAP) www.ctreap.net
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