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SUBJECT: Highlights of the 2002 Regular Session of the Connecticut General
Assembly

As you probably know, the Connecticut General Assembly has adjourned its
2002 Regular Session and will be meeting sometime in the future in a special
session. Very few education proposals were enacted during the regular session.
While there were a large number of educaton proposals that had public hearings
and were approved by various legislative committees, many of them did not get
final approval by both the Senate and House of Representatives.

We expect that some of these failed proposals may resurface in the special
session. However, many will not because the matters that can be addressed in
the special session are limited to the budget, state agency deficiencies, state
bond authorizations, including school construction, and revenue.

Below is a list highlighting the most important education provisions that passed
and have been signed by the Governor or are awaiting his signature. One of
these bills has not yet been assigned public act number, but will have one
shortly. Once the General Assembly completes the special session, we will
provide you with a more complete summary of all of the 2002 legislation. Please
remember that we have scheduled the Back-to-School meeting for
superintendents for August 15, 2002, at the Legislative Office Building.

2002 HIGHLIGHTS

An Act Concerning Bullying Behavior in Schools and Concerning the
Pledge of Allegiance (Public Act 02-119)

Local and regional boards of education are to develop policies, for use on
and after February 1, 2003, to address bullying in schools. The statute
(attached) specifies what the polices are to include and defines “bullying”
(Effective July 1, 2002).



Local and regional boards of education are also to develop policies to
ensure that time is available each school day for students to recite the
“Pledge of Allegiance.” However, the statute is not to be construed to
require any person to recite the “Pledge of Allegiance” (Effective October
1, 2002).

An Act Concerning Sexual Assault by a Coach or Instructor, Mandated
Reporting of Child Abuse or Neglect and Issuance and Revocation of
Educator Certificates (Public Act 02-106)

The crimes of sexual assault in the 2" and 4" degrees have been
expanded to include sexual intercourse (2" degree) or sexual contact (4™
degree) with another person when the actor is a coach in an athletic
activity or a person who provides intensive, ongoing instruction and the
other person is the recipient of such coaching or instruction and (1) is a
secondary school student and receives such coaching or instruction in a
secondary school setting or (2) is under 18 years of age (Effective October
1, 2002).

Coaches of intramural or interscholastic athletics are mandated child
abuse reporters (Effective October 1, 2002).

Fines for mandated child abuse reporters who fail to make child abuse
reports have been increased to not less than $500 nor more than $2,500.
Formerly the fines were not more than $500 (Effective October 1, 2002).

State’s attorneys must notify the Commissioner of Education if a person
holding a certificate, authorization or permit issued by the State Board of
Education is convicted of a felony or fined for failing to make a child abuse
report (Effective July 1, 2002).

An Act Concerning Penalties for Sexual Assault of a Minor, . .. Reporting
and Investigation of Child Abuse and Neglect, . . . Disclosure of Records of
Teacher Misconduct . . . (sHB 5680, as amended)

Records maintained or kept on file by a local or regional board of
education that are records of the personal misconduct of a teacher are to
be deemed to be public records subject to disclosure under the state
Freedom of Information Act without the consent of the teacher (Effective
October 1, 2002).

A number of changes have been made to the statutes concerning
mandatory child abuse reporting including, but not limited to, reducing the
number of hours within which mandated reporters must orally report
suspected cases of abuse or neglect to the Department of Children and
Families or a law enforcement agency (Effective October 1, 2002).



An Act Concerning the Idling of School Buses (Public Act 02-56)

The engine of a stopped school bus cannot be operated for more than
three consecutive minutes except when:

1.

The bus is forced to remain motionless because of traffic
conditions or mechanical difficulties over which the operator
has no control;

It is necessary to operate heating, cooling or auxiliary
equipment on the bus when such equipment is necessary to
accomplish the intended use of the bus;

The outdoor temperature is below 20° F;

It is necessary to maintain a safe temperature for students
with special needs;

The bus is being repaired; or
The operator is in the process of receiving or discharging

passengers on a public highway or public road (Effective
October 1, 2002).

An Act Concerning Civil Preparedness and the Needs of Children (Special

Act 02-8)

On or before January 1, 2003, the Secretary of the Office of Policy and
Management is to report on planning and activities for children and youth
as part of homeland preparedness and emergency response planning to
terrorism. The report is to include provisions that address issues such as
training in safety and security measures and multi-hazard response plans
for school personnel, and others, and the coordination of school health
and mental health strategies (Effective when signed by the Governor).

We hope that this is helpful. Please contact Katherine Nicoletti at (860) 713-
6520 or katherine.nicoletti@po.state.ct.us if you have questions.
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Substitute House Bill No. 5425
Public Act No. 02-119

AN ACT CONCERNING BULLYING BEHAVIOR IN SCHOOLS AND
CONCERNING THE PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Assembly
convened:

Section 1. (NEW) (Effective July 1, 2002) Each local and regional board of
education shall develop a policy, for use on and after February 1, 2003, to
address the existence of bullying in its schools. Such policy shall: (1) Enable
students to anonymously report acts of bullying to teachers and school
administrators, (2) enable the parents or guardians of students to file written
reports of suspected bullying, (3) require teachers and other school staff who
witness acts of bullying or receive student reports of bullying to notify school
administrators, (4) require school administrators to investigate any written reports
filed pursuant to subdivision (2) of this section and to review any anonymous
reports, (5) include an intervention strategy for school staff to deal with bullying,
(6) provide for the inclusion of language in student codes of conduct concerning
bullying, (7) require the parents or guardians of students who commit any verified
acts of bullying and the parents or guardians of students against whom such acts
were directed to be notified, and (8) require each school to maintain a list of the
number of verified acts of bullying in such school and make such list available for
public inspection. The notification required pursuant to subdivision (7) of this
section shall include a description of the response of school staff to such acts
and any consequences that may result from the commission of further acts of
bullying. For purposes of this section, "bullying” means any overt acts by a
student or a group of students directed against another student with the intent to
ridicule, humiliate or intimidate the other student while on school grounds or at a
school-sponsored activity which acts are repeated against the same student over
time.

Sec. 2. Section 10-230 of the general statutes is amended by adding subsection
(c) as follows (Effective October 1, 2002):

(NEW) (c) Each local and regional board of education shall develop a policy to
ensure that time is available each school day for students in the schools under its
jurisdiction to recite the "Pledge of Allegiance". The provisions of this subsection
shall not be construed to require any person to recite the "Pledge of Allegiance".



