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What Parents Should Know About

KINDERGARTEN

Entry, Enroliment, and Attendance

Why shovuld my child
attend kindergarten?

Kindergarten instruction develops the foundation
for all other learning through grade 12. Students
learn important skills such as early reading and
self-regulation.

Dual language learners can get support in
kindergarten. They can learn English and the
value of their language spoken at home.

Any problems that may affect a child’s ability

to learn can be identified in kindergarten.
Developmental concerns will be identified. The
child will receive appropriate services through
general education and/or special education. The
earlier a problem is identified, the sooner the
child can receive support. This will improve their
ability to achieve throughout their school years.

Keeping children out of kindergarten typically
does not have long-term benefits. In fact, some
education experts have found keeping children
out of kindergarten may be detrimental for
some children.

For more information, contact
andrea.brinnel@ct.gov or 860-713-6910, or visit
https://portal.ct.gov/SDE/Special-Education/
Early-Childhood-Special-Education

The Connecticut State Department of Education is an
affirmative action/equal employment opportunity employer.
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Frequently asked questions about
kindergarten entry, enroliment, and attendance

At what age can my child enter kindergarten?

Connecticut law requires public schools to be open to
all children who reach age 5 on or before January 1 of
any school year.*

If my child is not 5 years old until after January 1
of the school year, can he or she still enter
kindergarten?

It is the local board of education’s decision to
admit your child before he or she is age eligible for
kindergarten.*

If my child is 5 on or before January 1 of the school
year, do | have to send my child to kindergarten?

Parents of a child who is 5 years old have the option
not to send their child to school until the child is 6 or 7
years old. If they choose not to send their child when
the child is age eligible, they must go to the school
district office and sign an opt-out form.**

Does my child have to be tested in order to enter
kindergarten?

There isn't any state requirement for a child to be
tested to enter kindergarten. Your school district may
require testing or screening but your child can't be
excluded from school when he or she is age eligible,
regardless of the results of any test or screening.

How long is the school year for kindergarten?

Public schools must provide half-day kindergarten pro-
grams for 450 hours of actual school work during school
hours. If a public school chooses to offer full-day kinder-
garten, it must provide 900 hours of school work.***

Can my child attend full-day kindergarten?

Some schools do not offer full-day kindergarten for all
children. If the school that your child will attend provides
full-day kindergarten for all children then your child will
attend full day kindergarten.

Should I hold my child out of kindergarten even
though he or she is age eligible?

The Connecticut State Department of Education
strongly encourages parents to send their children to
kindergarten when they are age eligible: 5 years old on
or before January 1 of any school year. However, some
parents do not send their children when eligible. This
can be due to concerns that the kindergarten program
may not be appropriate; that their child may be among
the youngest in the class or may not be “socially
mature enough”; or that their child is generally not yet
“ready for kindergarten.’ Please know that all school
districts are responsible for meeting the needs of all
kindergarten students. School districts are required to
provide an appropriate kindergarten experience for all
children that are age eligible.

*C.G.S. Sec. 10-15¢  **C.G.S. Sec. 10-184 ***C.G.S. Sec. 10-15




