
 

 

 

TO: Directors of School District-Based Adult Education Programs 
 
FROM: Paul Flinter, Chief 
 Bureau of Health/Nutrition, Family Services and Adult Education 
 
DATE: October 31, 2008 
 
SUBJECT:  Requirements for Selling Foods and Beverages in Adult Education Programs 
 
This memo serves as a reminder to adult education programs regarding the state requirements for 
selling foods and beverages under Connecticut General Statutes (sections 10-215f and 10-221q), 
which were effective July 1, 2006. The state statutes do not define students as being of a 
particular age, nor do they distinguish between regular and adult education programs. Therefore, 
any beverages sold in an adult education program under the local or regional board of 
education’s jurisdiction must comply with section 10-221q of the Connecticut General Statutes. 
If the local education agency has voted to implement healthy food certification under section 10-
215f, any food sold in an adult education program under the local education agency’s 
jurisdiction must comply with the Connecticut Nutrition Standards. 
 
The statutes only apply to the sale of foods and beverages that are under the control of the adult 
education program. If the school district rents, leases or borrows building space for an adult 
education program and the building owner maintains any sources of food and beverage sales 
(e.g., vending machines, food kiosks), they are not required to comply with the state food and 
beverage requirements.  
 
A summary of the statutory requirements follows. 
 

• Beverages: Section 10-221q of the Connecticut General Statutes allows only five 
categories of beverages:  
1. Milk (flavored or plain) with no more than 4 grams of sugar per ounce and no 

artificial sweeteners. 
2. Nondairy milks such as soy or rice milk, which may be flavored but contain no 

artificial sweeteners, no more than 4 grams of sugar per ounce, no more than 35 
percent of calories from fat per portion and no more than 10 percent of calories from 
saturated fat per portion. 

3. 100 percent fruit juice, vegetable juice or combination of such juices, containing no 
added sugars, sweeteners or artificial sweeteners. 

4. Beverages that contain only water and fruit or vegetable juice and have no added 
sugars, sweeteners or artificial sweeteners. 

5. Water, which may be flavored but contains no added sugars, sweeteners, artificial 
sweeteners or caffeine. 

 
Portion sizes of allowable beverages are limited to no more than 12 ounces, with the 
exception of water. For additional information on the beverage requirements, see 
Allowable Beverages in Connecticut Schools at http://www.sde.ct.gov/sde/lib/sde/PDF/ 
DEPS/Student/NutritionEd/Allowable_Beverages.pdf. A list of allowable beverages is 
available at http://www.sde.ct.gov/sde/cwp/view.asp?a=2626&q=320754#Healthy.  
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• Food: Section 10-215f of the Connecticut General Statutes specifies that each district 
participating in the National School Lunch Program must certify whether it will follow 
the Connecticut Nutrition Standards for all foods sold separately from school meals. If 
the board of education has voted to implement healthy food certification, any food sold in 
an adult education program under the local education agency’s jurisdiction must comply 
with the Connecticut Nutrition Standards. Information on the Connecticut Nutrition 
Standards is available at 
http://www.sde.ct.gov/sde/cwp/view.asp?a=2626&q=320754#Standards. A list of 
allowable food items is available at http://www.sde.ct.gov/sde/cwp/view. 
asp?a=2626&q=320754#Healthy.  

 
If the district is not participating in healthy food certification, the Connecticut Nutrition 
Standards do not apply. A list of participating districts for 2008-09 is available at 
http://www.sde.ct.gov/sde/LIB/sde/pdf/deps/Student/NutritionEd/CertifyingDistricts09.pd
f. 

 
The Connecticut State Department of Education has previously distributed numerous resources 
regarding these requirements to all school districts, including Questions and Answers on 
Connecticut Statutes for School Food and Beverages (September 2006). These resources are 
available online at http://www.sde.ct.gov/sde/cwp/view.asp?a=2626&q=320754#Standards.  
 
If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact Susan Fiore at 860-807-
2075 or susan.fiore@ct.gov. 
 
PFF:sff 
cc: CSDE Adult Education Unit 

District Contacts for Healthy Food Certification 
School Food Service Directors 
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