
CONNECTICUT DOMESTIC VIOLENCE RESOURCES

If you or someone you know is a victim of domestic violence, there are CONFIDENTIAL, SAFE, and FREE 
services available throughout Connecticut 24 hours per day, 7 days per week. This document, developed jointly 
by the Connecticut Judicial Branch, Office of Victim Services (OVS) and the Connecticut Coalition Against 
Domestic Violence (CCADV), explains some of the available resources across the state.

What is Domestic Violence?
Domestic violence is a pattern of coercive, controlling 
behavior that may include emotional or psychological 
abuse, stalking and harassment, physical abuse, sexual 
abuse, technological abuse, and/or financial abuse. 
Abusers use a variety of methods to control, intimidate, 
and isolate their victims (see box). Victims are left feeling 
scared, confused, dependent, and insecure about their 
ability to survive on their own, financially or otherwise. 
The children of an abused parent must contend with 
these same fears and realities. 

SIGNS OF AN ABUSIVE RELATIONSHIP

Stalking and harassment, such as constantly 
checking up on you or showing up at your home 
or job uninvited

Economic control, such as not giving you access to 
money or running up debt in your name

Physical violence, such as pushing, hitting, or 
slapping you

Being overly jealous about your relationships with 
others and preventing you from seeing family or 
friends

Disrespecting you or calling you names in front 
of others

Controlling your means of communication, such 
as your phone or computer, including checking 
your phone without your permission

Threatening you, your children, your family, or 
your pets

Forcing you to have sex or do sexual acts when you 
do not want to

Available Services for Survivors

Domestic Violence Services
CCADV has 18 member domestic violence organizations 
that provide CONFIDENTIAL, SAFE, and FREE services 
throughout the state. Some of these services include:

• Safety planning – safety looks different for everyone 
and domestic violence advocates will help you think 
through the pros and cons of different options

• One-on-one counseling 
• Support groups 
• Emergency shelter and other housing options
• Criminal and civil court advocacy – domestic violence advocates can explain the court process, offer you 

guidance on getting available protections, such as a restraining order, and support you throughout the process
• Information and connections to other community-based resources such as SNAP, TANF, transportation, rental 

assistance, legal assistance, etc.

To learn more, visit www.ctcadv.org or www.CTSafeConnect.org

Compensation for Crime Victims

The OVS Victim Compensation Program offers financial help to:

• Victims of a physical injury, including victims of domestic violence and their family members,
• Victims of an emotional injury from a direct threat of either physical injury or death who received treatment or
• A child who witnessed domestic violence, including children not related to the victim or other persons who 

have experienced certain financial loss because of a crime.

http://www.ctcadv.org/
https://ctsafeconnect.com/


Prepared in accordance with Public Act 19-146. For more information, please contact:

Office of Victim Services
State of Connecticut Judicial Branch

(800) 822-8428
jud.ct.gov/crimevictim

Connecticut Coalition Against
Domestic Violence

(860) 282-7899
ctcadv.org

CTSafeConnect.org

If you are a victim of domestic violence and told a certified domestic violence or a certified sexual assault counselor 
(for example, an advocate at one of CCADV’s 18 domestic violence organizations) about the crime or if a judge 
gave you a restraining order or a civil protection order after a hearing, you may be eligible.

Only expenses and losses related to the crime that are not covered by insurance or other financial sources will be 
considered. Some examples of covered expenses include, but are not limited to:

• Medical, dental, counseling, and prescription expenses
• Counseling for relatives of sexual assault, domestic violence, and child abuse victims
• Lost wages because of crime-related injuries or care to a victim
• Lost wages or travel expenses for you and your relatives to attend court, juvenile, and Board of Pardons and 

Parole proceedings.

To review a complete list of program eligibility requirements and explanation of coverage, visit www.jud.ct.gov/
crimevictim/compensation.htm. OVS offers a series of videos explaining the victim compensation process, as well 
as a section of frequently asked questions. 

To receive an application, call the Victim Compensation Program at (888) 286-7347, email at  
OVSCompensation@jud.ct.gov or visit www.jud.ct.gov/crimevictim.

How Can I Access Services?

Safe At Home (Address Confidentiality Program)
The Address Confidentiality Program (ACP), which is administered by the Connecticut Office of the Secretary of 
the State, helps victims of domestic violence, among others, keep their new address confidential. The ACP offers 
its participants two services designed to help keep the victim’s new location secret. First is the participant’s use 
of an ACP substitute mailing address and cost-free mail forwarding services. The second part of the program 
prevents public access to a participant’s actual address on government records including voter registry lists and 
keeps marriage records confidential. Applications for the program are completed by domestic violence or sexual 
assault counselors.

To apply, please contact Safe Connect (see below).

Domestic violence services in Connecticut are accessed through a single point 
of entry known as Safe Connect. Safe Connect is a project of CCADV that 
strengthens access to safety for survivors of domestic violence by creating 
a comprehensive, coordinated, statewide response. Safe Connect’s certified 
domestic violence advocates provide survivors with extensive information, 
safety planning, counseling, and case management, as well as referrals to one 
of CCADV’s 18 member organizations and other available community-based 
resources, such as medical care, mental health services, and legal assistance.

Safe Connect offers CONFIDENTIAL, SAFE, and FREE services to survivors of domestic violence 24 hours per 
day, 365 days per year. Your safety is CCADV’s priority. If you or someone you know needs help, you can...

CALL / TEXT CHAT EMAIL
CALL or TEXT 888.774.2900

CHAT or EMAIL available at www.CTSafeConnect.org
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