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- PRESS RELEASE - 

MERRILL & JEPSEN COLLECT $1.6 
MILLION IN PENALTIES FROM COMPANIES 
TRANSACTING BUSINESS IN CONNECTICUT 

WITHOUT LEGAL AUTHORITY 
JOINT EFFORT BENEFITS CONSUMERS, EDUCATES BUSINESSES ON 

REQUIREMENT TO REGISTER WITH THE STATE; MORE THAN 312 COMPANIES 
PAID PENALTIES FOR VIOLATING THE LAW IN FY 2014 

 
HARTFORD: Connecticut Secretary of the State Denise Merrill and Attorney General 
George Jepsen today announced that during Fiscal Year 2014, a joint effort by their 
offices resulted in the collection of more than $1.6 million in penalties from out-of-state 
companies operating in Connecticut without legal authority to transact business. The 
penalties collected during FY 2014 were paid by 312 out-of-state firms. The 
$1,621,053.66 in penalties collected during FY 2014 is a nearly 25% percent increase 
from the total fines collected during the previous fiscal year.  
 
“Here in Connecticut, we strive for fair competition in the market place so that all 
businesses in the state have a chance to make a profit in this economic climate,” said 
Secretary Merrill, Connecticut’s Chief Business Registrar. “Whether intentionally or not, 
out-of state companies that fail to register and obtain a certificate of authority to do 
business here undercut Connecticut companies and make it difficult to provide 
accountability for Connecticut consumers. All out-of-state firms should be aware that if 
they wish to conduct business in the state of Connecticut, they must be registered to do so 
or they may face penalties.  Though many of the companies paying fines self-report that 
they were not registered with the state, the Attorney General and I hope this enforcement 
action will encourage those doing business here to be in compliance with the law so they 
can avoid paying penalties in the future.” 
 
“Often, out-of-state companies are not aware that they must register before conducting 
business in Connecticut,” Said Attorney General Jepsen. “Registering with the state 



provides consumers with a layer of protection and helps ensure that all businesses are 
operating on a level playing field. Through joint enforcement with the Secretary of the 
State, it’s my hope that we can educate out-of-state companies so that those operating 
honestly and in good faith – and by far the vast majority of businesses do just that – can 
transact legally and openly in our state.”  

Howard Schwartz, Executive Communications Director for Connecticut Better Business 
Bureau, said, “Best marketplace practice and the law both dictate that businesses must be 
registered, licensed and insured. These requirements are designed not only to help 
maintain a fair marketplace, but also protect consumers.” 

Under state law, business corporations, nonstock corporations, limited partnerships, 
limited liability companies, limited liability partnerships, and statutory trusts formed 
outside of Connecticut must obtain a certificate of authority from the Secretary of the 
State’s Office and pay the statutorily established fee before transacting business in 
Connecticut.  Approximately 50,000 of these foreign entities have properly filed with the 
Secretary of the State’s Office.  
 
The requirement to obtain authority to do business exists to protect domestic 
organizations from unfair competition and place domestic and foreign organizations on 
an equal footing. The law also protects consumers with a grievance against an out-of state 
firm by requiring businesses to appoint an agent for service of process in Connecticut 
to accept legal papers if court action is taken.  Companies that violate the law face a fine 
of $300 for every month the company is transacting business in Connecticut without legal 
authority.  In addition, some business corporations are required to pay the annual license 
fee required by statute for years they should have been registered with the Secretary of 
the State’s office.  After obtaining a certificate of authority to transact business in 
Connecticut, out-of-state companies must also file a yearly annual report with the 
Secretary of the State’s office. 
 
The joint, multi-year enforcement effort between the offices of the Attorney General and 
Secretary of the State in Connecticut has aggressively pursued thousands of delinquent 
out-of-state businesses, bringing legal action when necessary.  During FY 2014 this joint 
effort recovered $1,621,053.66 in fines from 312 out-of-state companies for violating the 
statutory requirement to register with the state.  Penalties collected from each business in 
FY 2014 range from $100.00 to $38,910.00. The five largest settlements came from:  
 
Name of Entity     Amount Collected  State Formed 
1.) John Hancock Assignment Company  $38,910.00   DE 
2.) Brown & Brown Insurance of Arizona, Inc. $37,650.00   AZ 
3.) Richard Dudgeon, Inc.    $28,322.16   NY 
4.) Marshall & Swift/Boeckh, LLC   $25,560.00   DE 
5.) C & C Market Research, Inc.   $25,320.00   AR 
(A complete list of companies paying fines is attached) 
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